Reading Reviews for Common Ground
  
27 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Mrs_H A New Beginning

6th December 2012:
Lovely story -- looking forward to the sequel!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Dobby is a hippogrif A New Beginning

19th October 2012:
Num num num. Candy

This is sort of anti-James, isn't it

Still good though

Author's Response: Well, you have to remember just what a jerk James was to Severus for all of his schooldays and Severus would not have any sort of kind thoughts about someone who made his life a misery.

Also, Harry would have more and clearer memories of his mother at that stage because Mom would be with him the most which is why he has nightmares of her--she died right in front of him. So, her death is the thing which traumatized him and impacted his psyche. My guess would be that Dad (James) was gone a lot, and Harry rarely saw him. So he has no concrete memories and if memories aren't there, neither are emotions. So Harry has nothing to connect him to James, except for the knowledge that he was his father and he died.

Because of that, in the books Harry idolized what he knew of his father and didn't want to hear the truth Severus knew--that James wasn't some perfect student--he was a rule breaking bully who was a troublemaker.

However, here Harry listens to both Severus and his mother, who returns to assuage both her son's guilt and Severus' and also her own for treating Severus so coldly.

James, on the other hand, doesn't regret his actions in his life and so has no need to return to speak to either of them. He obviously feels no guilt at misjudging Severus so he is content to stay in heaven.

I believe that if a spirit does return to the material world after death its because it left something unfinished in its former life and it needs to settle it before it can rest in peace. That's why Lily returns. So she can make peace with Sev and Harry.


 Report Review

Review #3, by hp fan A Library of Memories

19th February 2012:
Great story:) It's written really well 10/10

 Report Review

Review #4, by xXharry and draco_luvrXx(unofficial) A New Beginning

25th December 2011:
Yay.loved it very good great job.to the sequel

-*Liz*

Author's Response: Thanks! Hope you enjoy the sequel!

 Report Review

Review #5, by LunaLily Another Battle

17th December 2011:
Like the story, it's very well written. I like a redeemed Snape though I did have to roll my regarding his reasoning for why he told Voldemort the prophecy. Couldn't buy that.

Author's Response: You couldn't buy that Snape didn't believe Trelawney's prediction? That a seer who was known for not preditcting anything real or true was a fraud and whatever she said, she was drunk at the time, was false? The prophecy was so vague, it could have been anyone born at the end of July, and Snape only heard part of it before he was scared away. How could he know it referred to Lily's son? I doubt very much that Severus would deliberately set out to harm a child, even the son of his rival, much less the woman he loved. So he repeated what seemed like a ridiculous comment made by a half-drunk woman, figuring if he didn't Voldemort would find out he was keeping something and then curse him. True prophecy is supposed to be rare, Snape had no reason to think Trelawney predicted true, he wouldn't have been able to read the globe in the Hall of Prophecy. Had Voldemort decided the Longbottoms were the ones, he would have gone after them that night, and the Boy Who Lived Would have been Neville. It could have gone either way, considering the ambiguity, and it was really Voldemort who made the decision, not the prediction.

Once he decided on a target, Snape could do very little save plead for Lily's life.


 Report Review

Review #6, by spencefa A New Beginning

23rd October 2011:
excellant story, i always enjoy hary/snape stories.

Author's Response: Thanks! Hope you enjoy the sequel.

 Report Review

Review #7, by Anonymous A New Beginning

8th August 2011:
Oh good! I'll probably get around to reading your other stories then.

Author's Response: Great! I just posted a new chapter of Common Interests, the sequel to this story.

 Report Review

Review #8, by Anonymous A New Beginning

5th August 2011:
I really liked this story and want to read the sequel and many others of your stories, but I'm only 15, and since they are rated mature, I am reluctant to do so. Should I really not read those stories? I don't care too much about bad cursing in it. My mom regretted taking me to see the Black Swan movie, though it's not like I didn't know that stuff went on. Do you think I should stay away from your mature stories?

Author's Response: Most of my stories are rated mature because this site has strict policies regarding stories with sensitive topics like abuse and violence. I do not go into graphic detail on the abuse or the violence and I only have mild sex scenes, nothing pornographic. The worst word I use and it's very rare, is the f-word, and that may occur one time in a story. I rate them M to be safe, just in case a child younger than 13 reads this or some of the content offends someone. If a story isn't rated properly, it can be removed so that's why most of my fics are rated M. I will however always warn a person if there is a mild sex scene or implied abuse or something like that in the chapter.

 Report Review

Review #9, by TdotBr1 A New Beginning

3rd January 2011:
Awesome sauce! I like this Snape a lot.

 Report Review

Review #10, by Liana A New Beginning

20th December 2010:
What a lovely ending. It's sad but still happy. I guess that's the way a death should be remembered. Severus and Harry have definitely had a new start. I'm glad Lily visited both of them and they found each other. I will very much be looking forward to your sequel. See you next time.

 Report Review

Review #11, by Liana Another Battle

15th December 2010:
I loved Harry in this. If I had been there, my heart would've melted. I could picture 11-year old Harry standing to fight the troll because he didn't want anyone else to die for him. I was touched when Severus felt bad because he thought he was going to die without fulfilling his promise to Lily. I was glad that Severus understood enought to let Harry stay in the Hospital Wing. Great chapter. Very touching.

 Report Review

Review #12, by Liana Common Ground

14th December 2010:
I sure do like the way things are going. I really liked this chapter. I liked the way both Harry and Severus seemed to want to snipe at each other but showed some restraint. That gave them each some understanding of the other. I love the slant on this. It was a strange little incident in the first book but you've added a totally different dimension to it. Great chapter.

 Report Review

Review #13, by Liana A Library of Memories

13th December 2010:
What a great premise for a story. Sometimes I think it might have been nice if Harry and Severus had known about each other earlier. On the other hand, I don't know if Harry was mature enough to know about the deep love Severus had for Lily until he was older. And Severus was such a perfect tragic character. I guess you're going to tell the story of what happened when Severus and Harry found out they had a lot in common and could learn a lot from each other. Great chapter.

 Report Review

Review #14, by dramoineforever A New Beginning

28th November 2010:
that was sooo good!! i could not stop crying! it was really great! (:

 Report Review

Review #15, by s A New Beginning

20th November 2010:
awesome! wright another as soon as possible!

 Report Review

Review #16, by micking A New Beginning

26th October 2010:
very enjoyable and very sweet. Always love the bond between Harry and Severus. Didn't think it was going to be such a short story but it was fantastic. thank you for these bits of enjoyment that you allow us to read. Hope you update the other stories that you have or any new ones too?

 Report Review

Review #17, by Vermouth A New Beginning

26th October 2010:
You've really outdone yourself in this story!

Happy Halloween to you... and good luck on that sequel.

Remembrance Day is also drawing near... virtual red poppies for you, Severus and the rest who care to celebrate.

 Report Review

Review #18, by Shirley A New Beginning

25th October 2010:
Wow.I have tears in my eyes! I do love your Harry/Severus stories.

 Report Review

Review #19, by benpowerman A New Beginning

25th October 2010:
it made me cry 10/10

 Report Review

Review #20, by Sandra Fiore A New Beginning

25th October 2010:
I'm new to this site, but very pleased by the quality of writing I've found. You do a good job of balancing story with dialogue. I also admire your skill at drawing pictures with words. That isn't easy. I'm looking forward to finding the rest of your work. Peace, Sandy

 Report Review

Review #21, by Vermouth Another Battle

25th October 2010:
Favorite line: "I must have hit my head harder than I thought, because I just gave Gryffindor all their points back and then some. I definitely need my head examined! "
Really, I believe this is the first time Severus ever added points in your stories.

Who cares if Quirrell is still using the troll as a distraction for evil purposes? I'm just glad that everyone's okay.

Severus should really taik to Dumbledore about that issue, I figure that he did not deliberately forget about the losses, he was just too relieved that Voldemort is dead.

Ron and Hermione would faint instead of actually saying anything, I think.

P.S. Forgot to say this in my mail, but do you think that the picture I sent you, "The-classic-shot-alan-rickman", can be used as the "I'm Too Sexy" photo (I see you that still don't have a banner) in Object of Affection? I wonder how many real-life people you know ogle over that picture...? :)

Author's Response: It is. Normally since Sev is a father and not doing much as a teacher in my fics, I don't really use the point system. But in this one I will.

He will be speaking to Dumbledore in the next chapter.

One of them DOES.

Yes, and I would guess almost all the straight females who luv Sevvy do!


 Report Review

Review #22, by Saffiecat911 Another Battle

25th October 2010:
Awww... So sweet! And such a brilliant and new idea! Well done, I heartily approve!

Always,

Saffiecat911

 Report Review

Review #23, by benpowerman Common Ground

21st October 2010:
i love you story i hope you make more 10/10

 Report Review

Review #24, by Vermouth Common Ground

21st October 2010:
Yes I really did enjoy this!

It's totally right to say that people should never celebrate a victory without at least thinking about the casualties. That's why we have Remembrance Day in Canada, Veterans Day in the US, and a Monument to the People's Heroes in Tian'anmen Square, Beijing (it's main structure was a single piece of granite transported from Qingdao). Mere stone can never be heavier than the fallen lives, though.

Please save Harry, Professor. You've just begun to truly know each other.

10/10

Vermouth

 Report Review

Review #25, by micking Common Ground

20th October 2010:
Oh WOW! beauty and love and understanding and danger all in one. Absolutely Amazing. You've got me on the edge of my seat. Can't wait to read what happens next. These cliff hangers are awesome but mean. Only because this story is really starting off with such a Fire. Please update soon. Please?

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>