Reading Reviews for The Hogwarts Bucket List
  
51 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Sarah A Hufflepuff For A Reason

28th November 2013:
update soon please !!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Titi139 A Hufflepuff For A Reason

15th August 2011:
awesome!!! dude i need more!!! ohhh and i love dis!! make more pliz ^^

 Report Review

Review #3, by Rockiie_Evans A Hufflepuff For A Reason

27th June 2011:
YOU MADE FLITWICK THE HEADMASTER! OHMYWORD I LOVE YOU! *deathlyhuggles* This is brilliant - this *hand flail* beauty has cheered me up desperately xD And distracted me greatly but meh. I adore this though, entirely adore this story and I greatly anticipate the next chapter of this wonderful story (:
Ox

 Report Review

Review #4, by hplovesmeback...IKNOWIT How It All Started.

14th April 2011:
I love your stpry, please keep updating. It's is a lot better than other stories I have read. Of course that is just one girl's opinion. btw.seems as though can go on to be a very good story...well, bye

 Report Review

Review #5, by ilharrypotter How It All Started.

7th April 2011:
Snog a person from each of the four houses in one day.

Ask out the girl/guy of your dreams.


---

Those two parts of the bucket list are gonna be fun, I think. :) [Well, they all are, but I'm thinking of romance and fluff and all of those fun things. :D]

 Report Review

Review #6, by kittiesnpotter A Hufflepuff For A Reason

30th March 2011:
this is a really good story
please continue
i want to read more
ive read a few "bucket list" stories but this one is my favorite so far
=]

 Report Review

Review #7, by gingersnape A Hufflepuff For A Reason

20th January 2011:
Ooh! I really like this so far and can't wait to read more! The Bucket List was wonderful, and I am really excited to see how this Luke Taylor turns out, as he seems pretty interesting. May many a plunnie and muse visit you, and have a great day,
-ginger

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review! I'm glad you like it. :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by Miss Writer A Hufflepuff For A Reason

17th January 2011:
Whooo! I love the idea, it's original. :) And I love the characters, who doesn't love a Puff? And I love your writing. :)
I can't wait for another chapter because you'll be starting the good stuff, I'm pretty excited! :D
Well done! :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm really happy that you like it! :D

 Report Review

Review #9, by andyj A Hufflepuff For A Reason

17th January 2011:
Awesome awesome, I can't wait for the rest of the story! I always love something fresh and exciting :)

Author's Response: Yay, I'm so happy you like it! Thanks for the review :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by catkid25 A Hufflepuff For A Reason

16th January 2011:
I just started reading your story and I think its really good! It seems to me that James is getting jelous. I love your idea of a Hogwarts bucket list! I really want to see what will happen!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review, I'm really happy that you liked it! :D
I'll update when I'm done writing chapter 3.


 Report Review

Review #11, by The Blunt Phoenix  A Hufflepuff For A Reason

15th January 2011:
I loved this chapter! And the idea for this story is just so original. I can't wait to find out more! I hope she talks to Luke! Update soon!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review, I'm glad you liked it! I'll update as soon as chapter 3 is done. :D

 Report Review

Review #12, by TheGoldenKneazle A Hufflepuff For A Reason

15th January 2011:
This was a really cool chapter! I feel sorry for Hallie with James going all older-brother on her, though. But, I like the sound of Luke ;)

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review!! I'm really happy you liked it :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by TheGoldenKneazle How It All Started.

15th January 2011:
Wow, this is just the coolest idea! It would be amazing to do all that stuff at Hogwarts! Although, I really identify with Hallie - I'm a lot like her - and would be slightly regretting it afters, before you'd actually done it ;)

Author's Response: Thank you so much!
Yeah, if I went to Hogwarts, I would totally do this. :)
Thanks for the review, glad you liked it!
Jackie


 Report Review

Review #14, by Suman A Hufflepuff For A Reason

15th January 2011:
hey when will u write the next chapter.?? i really liked it ... plz do so soon...

Author's Response: Im in the middle of writing the third chapter, I've kind of got some writers block. But I'll get it up as soon as I can. :) I'm glad you liked it, thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #15, by libby103 A Hufflepuff For A Reason

14th January 2011:
Hey! It's Liberty from my review thread on the forums!
Sorry it took me a bit to do these reviews...

Characterization...

Again...Hallie's a bit cliched plain.

Your plot is a little cliched. Like when Hallie blossomed over the holidays causing Fred to just notice her. Or the fact that James' is exhibiting a bunch of jealousy. I feel like the last item on the bucket list obviously points to James asking out Hallie. There's just a little list of cliches I can see developing here.

However, I cannot stress enough that cliche is inevitable, and a good writer can write a better cliched story than a bad writer can write the most insanely amazing plot bunny ever. And you seem to be a good writer so far.

Plausibility-wise, you're still maintaining a realistic plot. The whole transfer student thing always irked me, but you actually managed to come up with a background story on this Luke character that makes sense! You also managed to set up a system at Hogwarts unlike which we saw in the original book in which people can sit wherever they like, the interhouse relationships excuse was a very good one. I didn't even notice how out of place it sounds for people to not sit at house tables at Hogwarts.

The story's flow was good, once again, as well. You inserted that memory from her first year in there well. I didn't even notice it really.

Oh! And I love that memory from the boats in first year. I think it's just the right amount of cutesy-funny to add to the story.

Amazing beta you get there, no errors spelling or grammar-wise, once again.

Sorry if this review was a bit long!
from,
Liberty (Libby103)
p.s. Feel free to re-request me on my thread once you have chapters up if you like the way I review :)

Author's Response: Hi Liberty, thanks for taking the time to review!

Making my story too cliche is something I tend to do wrong. I'll make sure to keep an eye out for that from now on. :)

And once again- I LOVE long reviews, so no need to apologize!

Anyway, thanks for taking the time to review this, it really does help me out!

Jackie


 Report Review

Review #16, by libby103 How It All Started.

14th January 2011:
Hi it's Liberty from my review thread on the forums!
Sorry it took me a bit to get around to dropping by and leaving my review!

Anyways, I love the concept of bucket lists. They're just adorable.

So Characterization. I guess I have a little rant here.

Hallie is a little...plain. Perhaps you mean to make her that way, but it's not that she's plain plain, she's cliched plain. She swears she won't give in to her nickname and puppydog eyes, but does anyways. She has one loose parent and one clingy parent. And the bookworm and the prankster is a very cliched relationship, but if you're a good writer, you'll be able to make it work.

James is James, and I think you got his down well enough.

The flow of the chapter went by well. You transitioned in between Hallie being with her parents, then finding James, then being alone with James, well.

The plot, while there are some pretty outrageous stuff on that bucket list, is plausible and the outrageous bucket list definitely makes the reader interested in how this is all going to be pulled off.

I saw absolutely no grammar or spelling errors! (Though I wasn't looking, but I usually spot them anyways...) So I think you have a good beta on your hands there.

Sorry if this review is a bit long...
from,
Liberty (Libby103)

Author's Response: Hi there! Thanks for taking the time to review my story!

That's one of the things I was worried about- Hallie being too plain. It's not the character I usually write about, most of my stories that I don't post feature outspoken and daring main characters. But what I'm hoping for is that my story will focus on character development. James will help her break out of her shell with the Hogwarts Bucket List, and she'll start to become a lot less plain.

The absence of grammar and spelling issues is all thanks to my beta, Ash! You should have seen this chapter when I first posted it. So yes, I'm very happy with my beta!

No problem, I love long reviews! I really appreciate you reviewing, thanks so much!

Jackie


 Report Review

Review #17, by Melliex A Hufflepuff For A Reason

11th January 2011:
OH! awesome chapter!

From in my head, my impression of Luke is like that new guy from Glee last night; Sam? correct me if I'm wrong but that's how I imagine him to look like (:

As for the actual chapter.

Again, great characterisation of Hallie, you get right inside her head which makes her so much more believable and realteable and makes the entire story seem more plausable.

Something I didn't mention on the other review was; the ideas for the list made me laugh loads, I wonder who they're going to get drunk? Probably Hagrid (: and pants? Hum. I'm thinking someone from a subject they both really hate, so potions? Anyway, really good clever ideas (even if you didn't come up with them all by yourself, still ingenious!)

This chapter also sheds more light on James, I sort of got the feeling he was more jelous than protective when he saw Hallie gawping at Luke, hum interesting (especially if you think about the last thing on the list!)

My faveourite thing about your stye of writing is that it is axeactly how a girl of 16/17 would think, zone out of the boring speeches to gorm at a really hot boy, be haughty when someone called you up on said gawping and also being really annoyed when guys actually notice you're female for the first time! She seemed really annoyed about that, and that seemed really real? (does that make sense? It does in my head anywhoo)

Please update soon (: I'm really looking forward to seeing what they get up too!
Mellie x

Author's Response: Haha, I love Glee! Especially Sam... he's yummy. Actually I based Luke off of Zac Efron, though!

Hmm, you'll just have to keep reading and see! Yes, i did have a lot of help from my forums buddies to make the list. I came up with about half of it, though.

Thanks so much! i actually thought that I was writing Hallie too young- I'm only 13, so I don't really know how to write about older people that much.

Thanks so much for reviewing!!!


 Report Review

Review #18, by Melliex How It All Started.

11th January 2011:
Hello, Melliex here from the forum :)

Well well well... This story certainly sounds really interesting and definatly has a lot of potential and seems really thought out. The characterisation of Hallie seems really good, you've got her emtions and inner thinking right there for all of us to see and that, in my opinion, makes a great main character. Then the fact that you have James that's a character that's really hard to read and is throwing all sorts of different messages to Hallie (not that she recognises them) and we, the reader, don't really know his full intentions such as his glaring at Fred II after he flirted with her; was that brotherly protection or boy rivalry (I guess we'll find out!)
Your style of writing is brilliant, I assume you've written before and if not then you're naturally talented at painting an awesome plot, with believable characters and outstanding empathy is given for Hallie people can relate to her (you find a girl OR boy who hasn't at one stage felt like Hallie and I'll be very shocked!)
Hope this has helped and encouraged you to keep writing! It's really looking to be a fun facted year at Hogwarts :)

Melliex

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing I really appreciate it! And yes, I made those situations hard to read on purpose :) I'm really happy you noticed that!

I don't really write much but I read a lot on here. Thanks so much!!! :D


 Report Review

Review #19, by stepnhunguyen A Hufflepuff For A Reason

10th January 2011:
Now I can't WAIT until the next chapter. Bucket List is rolling.

Luke Taylor, I'm only guessing here, but I think he's going to pop up in the next couple of chapters. :) I love how James is so protective of Hallie, I'm a sucker for that kind of stuff. :D

10/10

haPpy DaZe

Author's Response: Thanks once again! :D
I'm kind of a sucker for the protectivness, too. :)


 Report Review

Review #20, by stepnhunguyen How It All Started.

10th January 2011:
What a fantastic story so far! I love Hallie and James already. :D Adding it to favorites and continuing on to the next chapter! Can't wait until they start marking off the bucket list's insane ideas. :)

10/10

haPpy DaZe,
Steph.

Author's Response: Thanks so much! :D I'm glad you like it!

 Report Review

Review #21, by Aderyn A Hufflepuff For A Reason

9th January 2011:
Hi, Aderyn here again. =]

I think this chapter is a bit less strong than the one before. Hallie repeats herself a lot at the beginning of the chapter, when she's regretting her decision. Some of the sentences felt very repetitive and I think you might want to try to change that up.

I like the pacing of the story however. While is is relatively fast paced, you don't overload the reader with new characters. I do wish that you had taken time to have Hallie describe her roommates more. Since this is written as a first person point of view, you're allowed to have Hallie be introspective and think about things in her head, rather than saying them out loud. This can be helpful when describing people or settings.

One more note, you call Fred's mom "African-English" which I'm pretty sure is not the correct term. I'm not British, but I've never heard that term used before. Maybe do a bit of research to find the correct term.

I hope this was helpful! When you post chapter 3, feel free to request a review for that one. =]

Author's Response: That's exactly one of the things I was worried about- being too repetitive. Thanks for letting me know that it is so I can keep an eye out on that from now on!

I had Fred's mom originally described as 'black', but my beta changed it to African English. I'm pretty sure she knows what she's talk about but I'll check up on that for sure!

Thanks so much for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #22, by Aderyn How It All Started.

9th January 2011:
Hi, Aderyn here for you review.

This is a great start to what seems like a light hearted story. You did a good job introducing characters naturally. While I'm not always a huge fan of really light stories, this one has an infectious sort of nature. =]

I didn't see any spelling or grammar errors, which is great! The one thing I was unsure about though was maturity. For being 17 years old, Hallie and James seem very energetic. I'm not sure that they're really acting their age. That's all right, I guess, but make sure to have some moments where they act more mature in the story!

Now, on to read chapter 2.

Author's Response: Thank you very much! :)
Yeah- when this story was first posted, it was full of spelling and grammar issues. My beta fixed all of them, though!

Thanks- that's good advice! Yeah, I'm only a thirteen year old writing about seventeen year olds... so I'm probably making them too young. I'll try to work on that from now on :)

Thanks so much for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #23, by philly94 A Hufflepuff For A Reason

9th January 2011:
great chapter! can't wait to see where the plot goes next!

Author's Response: thanks for the review, i'm glad u like it!

 Report Review

Review #24, by PUFFLEtwins A Hufflepuff For A Reason

8th January 2011:
WOW!! keep writing :)

Author's Response: Don't worry , I will! :) Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #25, by maskedmuggle A Hufflepuff For A Reason

8th January 2011:
Hello! I read the first chapter awhile ago, but I only just saw today that you had the 2nd chapter up!

Wow, I really loved this. Really enjoyable read, written really well. I love your characters, the plot so far. LUKE TAYLORS SOUNDS YUMMY! I admit the transfer student thing is a bit cliche, but who cares, another hot guy.. maybe some romance.. I'm definitely hooked.

Please keep writing! Update soon! I really want to hear about the first crazy antic James gets Hallie to do! :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I'm really happy that you like it :) He does sound quite yummy, I would agree with that. And I agree, it is cliche, but I wanted him in there for a reason!

Anyway, thanks for the review!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>