Reading Reviews for Life of the Party
  
22 Reviews Found

Review #1, by parashar_harry Life of the Party

4th December 2011:
i like this story
oh my god a ghost love story first time i m reading. it was fun to read it.
j k rowling myrtle was so annoying but i love ur myrtle.
i am waiting for next chapter and also the peeves reaction when he will find out that she is dating. ( hope u add peeves , it will be really fun )
10/10

Author's Response: Sorry it took so long to get back to you. I had some computer problems. Thanks for the review! I wrote this story for a challenge. I don't think that I would have thought of it otherwise. I'm glad you liked my Myrtle. She is a bit annoying as a character, but I still love her, so it was nice to give her a bit of happiness for a change.

I don't have any plans to continue this story however. Sorry! Thanks again for the review :)


 Report Review

Review #2, by MyMyMiss Life of the Party

5th August 2011:
Boy oh boy :)

Can you write a story or what? Do you know your very talented at what you do? Not kididng either, you can actually write a one-shot that I like, *Audience Applauding && Throwing roses.*

This story was amazing. I personally think Myrtle is a whiny, whingy little ghost of girl who can't stand on her own back bone alive or dead, but you brought her back from the dead creating a new type of story ^.^ This was splendid to read, never in my life would I think of even reading Myrtle let alone favouriting your story ^.^

Thsi was an amazing read, and i'm glad I took the time to scan your Authors page finding this amazing one-shot ^.^ xx

Forum Name: MyMyMiss
House: Slytherin.

Author's Response: You are beyond sweet. Thank you so much for your overly kind review :P

I wrote this for a Moaning Myrtle Romance challenge, which was just too bizarre of a topic to pass up. Besides, I like writing about disliked characters and finding a way to make them a little less annoying. I'm glad I succeeded at least a little :P Myrtle is pretty whiny, but I think I went through a whiny phase too, and I can't imagine being stuck in my awkward whiny phase forever. Talk about a nightmare...

Anyway, I'm so glad that you enjoyed this story. I really enjoyed writing it. Thanks for your review and for the favorite :)

~Singularity


 Report Review

Review #3, by PotterandPadfoot4eva Life of the Party

18th July 2011:
This was... bloody hell!! There are no words! Wonderful is the best I can come up with at the moment, but it is not good enough!!! This story is just... wow. Just wow. Epic. 20/10

Author's Response: Wow, thanks :) I'm glad you liked it so much. I rather like this story myself :P Myrtle is a fun character. Thanks for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #4, by AuraLight Life of the Party

20th January 2011:
That was really really cute!! The first story I've read about a happy Myrtle. Brilliant plot, and excellent characterization! Love Sam's character too :)

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing! I always felt kind of bad for Myrtle, so I wanted to give her at least a moment of happiness :) I'm really glad you liked Sam. I really like him, too. Thanks again for your review!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Hufflepuffgirl93 Life of the Party

5th January 2011:
This was sooo good! I loved Myrtle when I read the books and was so excited to see a fanfic about her! Loved how you explored her feelings and thoughts, rather than just have her, well, moaning!

Myrtle was really well written...she made me laugh! :) Liked how you gave a background to the whole Olive Hornby thing too, that was good even though it was sad. It was nice to see Myrtle able to open up instead of just complaining!

And Sam...what can I say? I loved him, and how with his upbeat, jokey attitude he was the opposite of Myrtle. Their different viewpoints on death were interesting! And I loved how he was so sensitive, it was nice to see someone being caring towards Myrtle! Loved how he liked her glasses, and of course how they kissed at the end! Liked the warmth when they touched too-that was a nice touch! (God, my jokes make Sam's look hilarous! Ha ha)

Great characters, interesting story and just really cute! Made me laugh, and smile a lot (am still smiling!) Would love to read more Myrtle actually, you write her really well!

Great work! :D

Author's Response: Thanks for your review! I really loved Myrtle when I read the books as well. She's a great character! Not one that I would probably like if I actually met, but she's fun to read about :)

Sam on the other hand, I think I could be good friends with Sam. We could sit around and have bad joke battles. It would be epic :)

Myrtle was really fun to write. I don't have any plans to write any more of her at the moment, but we'll have to see.

Thanks for your lovely review! :D


 Report Review

Review #6, by RUMBLERORE Life of the Party

2nd January 2011:
this was so cuteee. I'm still really giddy right now from reading it. yay. I actually just finished reading a really depressing story that had me bawling my eyes out so I'm really surprised that this cheered me up:) hmmm...lets see...what else, oh I actually really love your banner. hunter parrish is my life:) so yeah. this was really good and I'm glad I took the time to read it! :D

Author's Response: First of all, I love your username :) If I'm a good student, can I ride on your back? Please? I promise to be quiet as to not wake your slumbering cubs.

*cough* Anyway...thanks for the review! I'm glad you enjoyed this story and that it cheered you up :) Didn't Iriki do an excellent job with the banner? I loved that picture of Hunter Parrish, it's perfect. He's cute but kind of in a nerdy/normal person kind of way.

Thanks for your review!


 Report Review

Review #7, by SnapesBoggart Life of the Party

29th December 2010:
This is so adorable. I have to say that I'm in love with your title; it's so funny! This whole story is funny. Your dialogue is fantastic, everything Sam sad made me giggle and I absolutely adored when Myrtle was all "dying in the bathroom was her thing." It was so ridiculously funny that she'd be annoyed by something like that. XD

I also really loved how you managed to make Myrtle likable. When reading the books, Harry never really makes her out be the best company to have around. Here, she's still in character, yet you captured a part of her that isn't seen in the books but isn't unbelievable.

Sam is perfect for her. He's hilarious, yet he's sensitive to Myrtle's feelings. He reminds me of a Weasley twin, only with much more empathy towards others' feelings. I had to hold back from saying "Aw!" over Sam's comment about Myrtle's glasses. He's so sweet!

Overall, I really love this one-shot and it's definitely something I'd recommend to my friends if they're looking for a good laugh. :)

Author's Response: First of all, THANK YOU for commenting about the title. I had this story done for days before I finally submitted it because I couldn't come up with a title. I wasn't quite sure what I thought of this one, but I'm really glad that you liked it.

I have to admit that the "dying in a bathroom was her thing" was definitely the idea of my wonderful beta, VioletOctober. It is quite hilarious and very Myrtle, isn't it?

I'm really glad that you liked my portrayal of Myrtle and thought that she was different but not out of character. I was hoping to show a different, less obnoxious side :P

And again, I'm super glad that you said Sam reminded you of a Weasley twin. In my head, he's a bit of a cross between the twins and Neville (the sweet, awkward Neville moreso than the fantastically awesome snake-slaying Neville).

Anyway, I'm so glad that you read and reviewed this story and that you like it enough that you'd consider recommending it to your friends (rather than people you don't like) :P That makes me feel all warm and fuzzy inside :*


 Report Review

Review #8, by xxpetrapan Life of the Party

28th December 2010:
Oh My God! That was absoultuly BRILL! I loved every second of it. I adored Sam and I loved seeing a differnt, happier side of Myrtle. I loved that when they touched they got warm and I loved when they kissed. Great Job!

-Kattia

Author's Response: Thanks for your review! I'm really glad you enjoyed this fic. Myrtle and Sam were quite fun to write, so I hope they were fun to read as well. :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by Ravenclaw333 Life of the Party

28th December 2010:
A snowball review for you! This is such a great story, you've characterised Myrtle prefectly, but beyond that, you've taken her beyond the role of caricature she had in the books and created someone quite real and believable, who the readers can sympathise with. The bit about Olive Hornby being her best friend was a nice touch, and I enjoyed the touches of humour throughout as well. This is a sweet, light-hearted story, well written with a very good main character :D

Author's Response: Hey RC Triple 3 :) Thanks for your review *dodges snowball*

I'm really happy that you enjoyed my characterization of Myrtle. She's a bit tricky and my beta was SUPER helpful with that part.

I'm really glad you enjoyed the part about Olive. It was actually an idea for a one-shot I had awhile ago, but I decided to just smoosh it in here instead. I figured there had to be a reason why Myrtle seemed so vengeful against Olive beyond just her teasing. And nothing hurts worse than betrayal by a friend.

Anyway, thanks so much for your sweet review. I'm really glad you liked this :)


 Report Review

Review #10, by FoundriaPenguin Life of the Party

27th December 2010:
AWWW!
okay here from the snowball thread xD
THEY ARE SO. CUTE. AGH. < 3

I love how you included a romance for poor Myrtle. I have a certain fondness for her after writing a one-shot about her for the final battle collab during the House Cup, and I LOVE HOW SHE'S GOT ROMANCE IN HER LIFE NOW (well, at least according to your one-shot, anyway). I MEAN, THEY KISSED. That is the sweetest thing!

*spazzes*

Anyways, I thought your characterization of Myrtle was really spot on! You accentuated her sensitiveness extremely well, and her reluctance to act as free spirited (PUN!!!) as Sam was drawn out pretty accurately, too, IMHO. :) LOVING THE FLUFF HERE. LOVING THE FLUFF.

I've never seen a ghostly romance written on the site, and I think you pulled it off well (if you couldn't tell by the caps, haha!). So creative! Well done :D

~foundriapenguin

Author's Response: Tee hee, thanks :P And can I say that I am loving this snowball fight? It's 'clawesome!

I'm really glad you enjoyed this. I always had a soft spot for Myrtle and I love writing about characters that most people hate :P Also, I really love Sam, so I'm glad that you liked him too. And fluff...I love me some fluff.

Thanks again for your review!



 Report Review

Review #11, by ArielleM Life of the Party

26th December 2010:
Hello there! I liked this story you gave Myrtle a whole new personality while keeping her in cannon well done! Instead of thinking she was annoying (like usual) I felt bad for her and I liked that you gave her a friend especially someone as nice as Sam. :)

Author's Response: Thanks for your review :) I'm glad you enjoyed the way I wrote Myrtle and found her less obnoxious than usual :P I kind of love Sam, so I'm glad you like him too.

 Report Review

Review #12, by maskedmuggle Life of the Party

26th December 2010:
Hey!

Wow, I remember reading one of your fics for my challenge a long time ago, and wow. This is just as fabulous, if not even better, because the concept, the plot of this story is just so unique. There are a few Moaning Myrtle stories out there, but I have never read one like yours, where it has a bit of romance in it!

This is SUCH a well written fic, honestly.. superb. I loved the little death and life jokes, they were tied in really well with Myrtle's great characterisation. Sam seems so well portrayed as well - it was so Myrtle when she had no idea he was about to kiss her. The three things in common was a nice touch too, Sam's way of dying seems kinda fitting, but it's nice he's such a positive 'life' of the party ;)

Very well written, you developed a lot of ideas in this original fic, and I enjoyed reading it so much! :)

Author's Response: Aww, thanks for your super sweet review :* I'm really glad you enjoyed this story and thought it was unique. Yay!

I've always loved Myrtle. She's so obnoxious, but I feel a little bit bad for her as well. It has to be terrible to be stuck as the girl that everyone makes fun of for all eternity.

Thanks again for reading and reviewing :)


 Report Review

Review #13, by Pacific Wizard Life of the Party

26th December 2010:
Singularity: Well, you taught me the lesson, never judge a book by its cover. I honestly avoided this story for awhile because I thought, what could there be about Myrtle that would interest me? I enjoyed her character in JKR's books as a necessary minor plot to the exploits of the golden trio but found her obnoxious and rather silly. But because this is one of YOUR stories, I had to read it. I am humbled. This was a fun read and captured my interest. I've said it once before, you are a talented storyteller. And yes, I like the characters and would love for you to continue this story.

Btw, the warmth by touch between two ghosts was brilliant. Kudos to Kels91 for that. Special kudos to you for taking me by surprise. Brilliant Singularity. Well Done. PW

Author's Response: Aw, thanks PW :) I really enjoy writing stories that show a different side of some of the more unlikeable characters. I find them to be really interesting and like getting inside their heads and trying to figure them out (*cough*psychology major*cough*).

I'm really glad that you read this story and that you enjoyed it despite your initial reluctance.

Thanks for your lovely review :)


 Report Review

Review #14, by k Life of the Party

23rd December 2010:
Super cute! I always feel so sorry for Myrtle, now she has a friend. Good job :)

Author's Response: I'm the same way. I always felt bad for Myrtle (I mean, it must stink to be stuck in the awkward stage of adolescence for all eternity), despite the fact that she is completely annoying. I think Sam will be good for her :)

Thanks for your review!


 Report Review

Review #15, by GryffinClawTherin_Vicky Life of the Party

23rd December 2010:
The ending was absolutely adorable! Sam trying to kiss Myrtle and she actually goes back and kisses him! I can honestly say I didn't expect that.
You managed to keep Myrtle within her characters throughout all of this, which I think is apretty amazing feat when Sam was there. It's good to finally see Myrtle enjoying herself. I never thought I'd see the day when that would happen. You did a great job with her characterization.(:
Sam, oh, Sam. He's such a lovely character! He's funny, outspoken, even a tad annoying, and jokes about death. But Myrtle still likes him. O:
You had great details as well. Like Myrtle Ministry decree, who Sam went to the party with, Sam's story and background information.
Great job on this! You actually made me like Myrtle as a character. :D I had never thought much of Myrtle while I'd read through the books, but as soon as I came across this fanfic and saw the title I HAD to read this.(:

Victoria(:

Author's Response: This story is an embodiment of why I love challenges so much :P If it weren't for a challenge, I don't think I would have ever written a Moaning Myrtle fic like this...she doesn't exactly scream romance :P

Thanks so much for your review! I'm really glad you enjoy the characterizations. I kind of love Sam :P

I'm really glad that you took the time to read this story, and even happier that you enjoyed it so much :) Thanks again for your review! Happy Holidays!


 Report Review

Review #16, by Akussa Life of the Party

19th December 2010:
Hey,

This was such a cute story, I really enjoyed it. The idea in itself is very original; giving this annoying character a bit of a good time and actually manage to make her enjoyable in all her quirkiness is really quite something!

I have to say your characterization of Myrtle is spot on. I love how you introduced her at first, setting the reasons why she is, once again, thinking about death and hating it. You also did a great job at keeping her in character all through the story, bringing back her teary and touchy side at times.

I enjoyed Sam quite a lot; original and fullfledge character. He was a perfect counterpart to Myrtle; his nervous and overboard personnality working quite nicely with Myrtle's distanced and quiet one.

I noticed a couple of typos and little errors through my reading and wish to point them out to you so you can improve the (already really great) quality of your story.

How?Ē she barked, suspiciously; you forgot the opening quotation marks before the 'How'

"Thatís right17 years old, "; should be a space between 'right' and '17'

"... throwing in humorous anecdotes from his own life, (and death)."; very small but the coma before the parenthese isn't necessary

Well it was a really good, light and fresh story. I had a really good time reading it and thank you for requesting it; I have to say I greatly enjoyed your style. This story flows naturaly, as if it wrote itself down without work (which I'm sure isn't the case but it goes to show you have a great sense of writting).

Hope you have a great holliday and feel free to request again if you ever feel the need; I would love to read more of your work!

Akussa

Author's Response: Thanks for your wonderful (and speedy) review, Akussa!

Typos like that are really embarrassing, so I appreciate you pointing them out. I will be correcting them ASAP. I'm really glad that you enjoyed Myrtle's characterization and thought that she was true to her character. I'm also happy that you liked Sam. I don't write many OCs, but I really enjoyed writing him. He's fun :)

Thanks again for your lovely review! Happy Holidays!

~Singularity


 Report Review

Review #17, by lyla_bell Life of the Party

6th December 2010:
Hey, it's Salem from the forums. Sorry it took so long to get this to you!

Wow, you're a really great writer. I don't usually like reading fan fiction very much but you write in a way that makes it seem like everything is your own while effortlessly staying true to JKR's characters. I like how you characterized Myrtle because she is exactly how she is in the books. I liked Sam, too, though I do wonder if Myrtle would have really liked him because she didn't like Ron at all and he made similar jokes. Though I suppose it's different when the other persons dead too!

Good job. I really enjoyed it :)

Author's Response: No worries, I'm just happy that you got my message and stopped by to read it. :) Thank you so much for your review and all the lovely compliments. I'm so glad that you enjoyed this and thought that Myrtle was in character. I always worry about that. I think the fact that Sam is also dead makes all the difference. Well, that and the fact that Ron was never really 'joking' he was just being blunt and tactless :P

Thanks again for reading and reviewing. I really enjoyed your challenge. It was fun :)


 Report Review

Review #18, by JLLshinystar Life of the Party

26th October 2010:
Awww, this story was just too cute :D
I loved it :)
xxx

Author's Response: Aw, thank you :* Glad you enjoyed it! Thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #19, by moonbaby11 Life of the Party

24th October 2010:
Okay, I know I said I'd review this, so here I am! I read this the first day it was validated, but I keep putting off reviewing! (I'm a horrible procrastinator).

Anyways, I love Myrtle. After I wrote my entry for this challenge, I've been wanting to read more and more about her! This one-shot was really good, and definetly satisfied my craving for Myrtle! I thought you did a good job of characterizing her. I've always felt really bad for her, so I really liked how you gave Myrtle someone that she could finally be friends with. :)

I really loved Sam! The way he kept cracking jokes, and he was really optomistic, even though he was dead. The way he tried to kiss Myrtle was really cute, sweet and funny. ;) I thought he was a really great character. Him and Myrtle would make a good couple, just because they're so different from each other!

Overall, I really enjoyed this peice. Keep up the great writing. :)

Author's Response: I'm a horrible procrastinator, too, so I completely understand. :P Thanks for coming back and reviewing!

I love Myrtle as well. I think part of it is that she reminds me a bit of myself when I was about 13...and I would have hated being stuck at that point for all eternity. Poor Myrtle... I'm glad that you like her characterization. I wasn't quite sure that I had captured her in all of her mopey glory.

I love Sam too. I figure that anyone who is going to be friends with Myrtle has got to be pretty easy going.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #20, by liza_potter Life of the Party

23rd October 2010:
Aww, that was so sweet! :) Yay for fluffiness!

Can I just mention how much I love the title? Especially when you mention Myrtle in your summary. I was like, "Myrtle and life of the party in the same story? Whaa-?" :P But it turned out very cute and so so sweet.

Sam's adorable, with his little jokes and how awkward he was when he wanted to kiss Myrtle.

Very nicely done!

Author's Response: Thanks for your review! I think everyone (whether they admit it or not) likes a little bit of fluffiness every now and again :)

I'm so glad that you said that about the title! I wasn't really a huge fan of it, but basically wanted to submit the story for validation and had to call it something. It's kind of growing on me a bit. I like that it is so incongruous with Myrtle's character.

Thanks again for reading and reviewing :)


 Report Review

Review #21, by Harrypotterbookworm Life of the Party

20th October 2010:
Aww! This is insanely cute. Personally, I've always liked Myrtle and always wanted her to get someone to be friends with. And Sam sounds like just the right person! It actually answers a few questions I had about ghosts. The ending is a little choppy, but the rest of the description was well done. I especially liked the start. :)
Hugs, HPB

Author's Response: I'm super glad that you like this little piece of fluffiness :) I've always had a bit of a soft spot for Myrtle myself. It must be terrible to be forever stuck in your awkward phase with no chance of ever growing out of it. :P

If you have any pointers on how to smooth out the ending a bit, or any parts that seem especially choppy, I'd love to hear more! I have the same name on the forums :)

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #22, by PetrificusTotalus Life of the Party

18th October 2010:
Aw that was so cute :)
Great idea for a one shot, I really enjoyed it!!
xx

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing! I'm really glad you enjoyed it :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login