8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by ImaRavenclaw Chapter 1

12th July 2016:
I don't know what to say (in a good way I promise). This is definitely a story I would have never considered in passing, but now that I've read I'm just like "this was good". I think you did a really good job with making an extremely minor character, major, and telling a story for him.

At the beginning I was a little confused on how it was supposed to be Post-Hogwarts, but I get it now. That just takes a little bit of reading to get used to!

I found the Tonks/Charlie pairing interesting, I've never seen it before. I love how you made that a school thing.

I also really liked how you had Luna work at the conservation, so that things could easily be canon.

No no no, don't worry about your flashbacks. I have a whole one-shot of flashbacks and yours transitioned much more smoothly then mine did. You need not fret about them!

Your writing flows beautifully, I love reading your works now, so I think I'll go read some!

Yours sincerely,

ImaRavenclaw

P.S. This was better then Mr. Ted's Picnic :) Thanks for recommending it!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. I thought you might enjoy this, and I'm glad I was right.

Ah, Charlie/Tonks, how I love it. I can see it having happened at school, but not being able to continue for various reasons, and I think they'd have good chemistry.

Interesting that you thought it was better than Mr Ted's Picnic, I always thought the writing was better for Mr Ted, but I can see how the content might be more interesting here.

Thanks for the feedback on the flashbacks, as well. I feel it's a weak point of my writing, so I'm glad it works here.

Glad you enjoyed it.


 Report Review

Review #2, by toomanycurls Chapter 1

4th January 2015:
A CHARLIE/TONKS STORY!??!

Okay, I realize they're not going to last but 1. I love stories about Charlie and 2. I adore Tonks and 3. I'm excited by your Charlie/Luna idea.

I really like your characterization of Charlie. He's so kind and good natured with Tonks and everyone else he interacts with. Their scene together is so hopeful and forward thinking until you zoom to her death. i hate you (except not). it's a wonderful clash.

The scene at Tonks' grave is just heartbreaking. You've done such a fantastic job at channeling Charlie's grief and blame that he places at himeself. There aren't words for that scene - just brilliant.

I love how you zoom to new scenes. I enjoy this style of writing and you do it so well.

NO YOU CAN'T GIVE LUNA TO CHARLIE AND THEN PULL HER AWAY. I loved reading their section and then you had to break my heart.

no. he can't be their best man. I won't let him go through that pain. WHY ARE YOU DOING THIS TO ME!?!

I am glad that Luna is at least understanding and has words of comfort for him.

Ilike that you end with the hope of a new love rather than showing him completely happy. It changes the tone slightly which gives this a nice end.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for your kind words. I love shipping Luna, but for me it has to make sense, and Charlie actually makes some sense to me.

I always pictured Charlie as either unlucky in love or just playing the field, so this is more an unlucky in love kind of story.

Charlie/Tonks is my second OTP, but it usually has to be unrequited. I also think that Charlie has to be kind and likable so the sting hurts a bit more.

Thanks again for the review.


 Report Review

Review #3, by Dalek194 Chapter 1

4th May 2011:
Wow. I... I don't know what to say, except wow. What an amazingly insightful, well written, clever and enjoyable one-shot - pretty much the whole story of Charlie's love live told in just short of 3000 words. It's so real, and yet it still keeps brilliantly in with canon, proving you can do seemingly non-canon pairings in a canon story. It flows so well, the style of flashbacks and changing timelines works perfectly, and it was just a joy to read. The grammar was spot on, too, which adds to the experience, though I did spot this;

- "wonít be about defending it ourselves" (no need for an it in between defending and ourselves)

But this is a very tiny and insignificant thing. You've got pretty much everything in there - Luna's understanding of how he felt was so much like her. I've never read Charlie/Luna or Charlie/Tonks before, but this works just so well. Bravo!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the very kind review. I adore Charlie/Tonks pairings, but I generally like to keep it canon, which means it can't end with them together. I also had been dying to write a Charlie/Luna piece and I finally felt this would be a good opportunity to do it.

I'm so glad you liked it and the flashbacks and flow. I have trouble writing flashbacks well, so validation of having done okay with it feels great.

Thanks for pointing out the typo and I've already fixed it (benefit of being a TA).

It had been a while since I had a review and your kind words made my day. I guess I've got to get back to writing. Haven't been doing it much lately.



 Report Review

Review #4, by sunaneko Chapter 1

14th February 2011:
This is amazing, I love Luna and Charlie and I love them even more together. This is tragic, this is happy, and this warms my heart while breaking it. Its beautiful

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed this story. Luna is my fave character to write and I knew this story would go Charlie/Luna, but end with Luna/Rolf.

So glad you thought it was beautiful. I can picture them having a very good relationship, but eventually realizing that they're just not 'the one' for each other.


 Report Review

Review #5, by Marzipan Chapter 1

13th January 2011:
...

^^ That is me rendered speechless by the awesomeness that is the one-shot. You mentioned that this was very similar to what you've written before. This is the first piece of yours I've read, so I can't really say whether or not that is true, but if it is OMG YOU ARE MY NEW LITERARY HERO.

I love everything about this; the way you have it divided into the different sections corresponding to the waxing and waning of his relationships; that you have Charlie Weasley as your main character; THAT YOU PAIRED HIM WITH LUNA; slipping in little details like having Lupin tutor Charlie and Tonks when they were younger; how you are clearly am absolute writing champ and you have written this so that it seems to be so effortlessly genius.

Since you mentioned it, I adored your characterizations. Charlie is wonderful: he's strong, and kind of cheeky, a bit on the reserved side and HOMG MAKES ME WANT TO SWOON. Luna is just as wonderful; she has that matter-of-fact dreamy quality (without going way overboard as I've seen done before), but a bit more mature, more solid which is fitting, I think. Rolf is also well done, very different from what I expected of him (although I'm not really sure what I expected, I think yours is the first Rolf I've read), although I'm not a squee-ish over him. (He did rip my ship apart, after all.)

Your shouldn't worry about your flashbacks, since they work perfectly here. Gives us enough perspective on each of Charlie's relationships that we can fully appreciate what he loses each time without bogging things down. I honestly truly loved this, and will DEFINITELY have to check out more of your stories!

-heart-

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the squee. I appreciate your kind words and I'm glad you enjoyed the story. When I said it was similar to what I had written before, I specifically meant the scene with Charlie over Tonks's grave. I had written a similar scene in a drabble.

Thanks for the reassurance about the flashbacks. I've had trouble with them in the past, and I'm glad this came out okay.

I tend to write one-shots in this format, where it's divided into a few mini-scenes, so I'm glad you enjoyed that.

People really seem to respond to my characterizations of Luna. I think I've got her down now. You're right that too many people make her too strange and she just becomes fey rather than eccentric.

Ah, the ships. I love Charlie/Tonks, and I like to write about one a year or so. I've never written Charlie/Luna before, but I always thought they'd have a good relationship, but not necessarily a long one.

I have this picture of Rolf in my head as a Viking, about 6'4", 320 lbs and with a shaggy red beard. But I also picture him speaking very cultured and not quite posh, but almost.

Thanks so much for the review. Your review made my day at a time when I was fairly down because of RL.


 Report Review

Review #6, by Elysium Chapter 1

22nd November 2010:
To be honest, at first I was a little uncertain about the segmentation of parts in the story, not so much in terms of the flashbacks - because with them being italicised, it was fairly clear - but between the leaps in time during the present. But by the end, I actually think it worked quite well. It was jolting, but that's sometimes more successfully than slowly trekking from one moment to the next. Particularly because it was pointed, you were showing us the different phases, if you will.

I really like the unapologetic way you showed that love can change, and not because of something drastic or horrible, but because it alters when someone new comes on the scene. It's far more indicative of real life... the mundane and entirely undramatic way that people can fall in and out of love (without someone cheating or dying etc). There was a wistful sort of hopefulness at the end, when you introduced Griselda. It was the perfect foil for what could otherwise have been a rather depressing end for Charlie.

I think your characterisations were well-formed, particularly Luna. You captured her pureness of spirit and her quirkiness in a really lovely way, without going overboard as some writers are wont to do. No mean feat, because in my opinion she's actually one of the most difficult HP characters to pin down in a really authentic way.

You also had some really nice imagery in this piece, simple, but lovely nonetheless. An example of this would be: Their bright yellow robes stood out in the crowd like goldfinches in a murder of ravens.

Very pretty, indeed.

Anyway, overall I think you did a great job :D I always enjoy reading about minor characters because the experience is always refreshing... there's more of the author invested in the character than we get with the more popular choices.

- Kylie

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the very kind review. I'm sorry that it took me a few days to respond; work has been crazy and I've been extremely tired.

I appreciate the honest commentary on the flashbacks. I think this story needed them, but I don't think I write them particularly well, so it's nice to hear that these were okay.

I really, really enjoy writing Charlie/Tonks unrequited. I just have a vision of them having been more than friends.

Love is complicated and I really wanted to show that. I don't think Charlie and Luna fell out of love because of Rolf, I just think it was their time. I can picture Luna being more sanguine about it than Charlie and I hoped that came through.

Luna's my fave character to write and I'm always glad to hear that I got her characterization down. I agree that too many fan writers overdo Luna. I try not to do that. On a side note, I find Snape hard to write.

Again, thanks for the kind words and the CC. I really appreciate the time you took to read my story.


 Report Review

Review #7, by SaphireSmiles Chapter 1

31st October 2010:
Poor Charlie. I enjoyed reading this a lot.
In a way I wish that JK had written more about him in the series, but then you wouldn't have been able to.

As always, fabulous job. :)
The flashbacks were perfectly placed and perfectly written.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the very kind review. I love writing Charlie stories because there's so much leeway to create his character.

Thanks for the validation on the flashbacks, I struggle with them so I like to hear when they're done well or not done well.

I truly appreciate your read and review.


 Report Review

Review #8, by moonbaby11 Chapter 1

13th October 2010:
This was really good! I have to say, the fact that it was a Charlie/Tonks drew me in, since I love that ship! I thought you did a really great job with this!

I just have to say, poor Charlie! He's definetly one of my favourite Weasley's so I felt so bad for him! I liked hwo oyu followed canon with this, as most people don't really seem to put Luna with Rolf. I'd never really thought about it before, but Luna and Charlie would make a good couple, since they're both into magical creatures and such.

I liked how you characterizaed Luna. The bit you mentioned about Harry was interesting, since lately I've been thinking that there was definetly something between her and Harry, whether it was one-sided or not. I thought that was a nice little part to add in!

Anyways, I really enjoyed this! The flashbacks were fine with me and I think they made the story flow better! Overall, really great! :)

Author's Response: Thanks for the validation on the flashbacks. I struggle with them, so I tend to avoid them, but I really felt this had to be told that way.

Ah, Charlie/Tonks is my 2nd OTP after Harry/Luna. I'm glad you noticed how I snuck that in. I've always thought that if Luna had been a character since the first book that she might have been Harry's first kiss rather than Cho. I really think she probably had a crush on Harry, but didn't want to pursue it and hurt Ginny.

I did mostly follow canon, at least in the characterisations. We know that Charlie's a bachelor forever from JKR, so this is all speculation. But, I agree that I think Charlie/Luna is an interesting pairing.

I've written a lot of Luna, so it always makes me happy when someone likes the characterisation. She's my favourite character to write (Snape's the hardest for me).

Thank you again for the review and I'm glad you enjoyed it.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login