Reading Reviews for Je Souhaite
  
32 Reviews Found

Review #1, by SunSation Gal 07 Letters from Home

5th January 2013:
Oooh, ouch. Mixed up the letters. That just sucks, horrible. I just want to give Vicky a hug after that. Poor girl.

Merry Christmas!

Author's Response: Hello. You're definitely right, Vicky isn't having the best year so far...

Thanks for all these reviews!


 Report Review

Review #2, by SunSation Gal 07 Sorting

4th January 2013:
Hahaha! I love your Vic! She's awesome. And yeah, I'd probably be a little irked if I saw my sister doing that. That has got to be a record. And Teddy looking lost when she spoke French, I could totally see his expression in my head.

Merry Christmas!

Author's Response: Hi again :) Yeah, as you can see those two don't exactly get along very well. And haha, yes I think Victoire sort of enjoys speaking in French, if only to confuse people or tease them.

Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #3, by SunSation Gal 07 'ogwarts

2nd January 2013:
Merry Christmas again! I really like this beginning you have here and the dynamic in the family is something I know I haven't read before. Really curious to see where this is going.

Author's Response: Hi and thanks. I'm glad you like the beginning, but honestly, this story is quite old and perhaps not my best :hides: Don't get too excited :P

 Report Review

Review #4, by Maximum Dusk The Unexpected

8th April 2012:
I just read this story, so this is kind of the review for all chapters... sorry! I know I'm being lazy, but typing up a review for every chapter would take really long, since I love this story so much!

So firstly, I'm really happy that we finally have a story where Victoire isn't the perfect and most loved child, thank merlin! Most stories that I've read has Victoire as the perfect one, and it was starting to get a bit old. This was like a breath of fresh air for me, I've never really liked Victoire all that much in other stories, but I love this one. She's just so real, not like the usual Vick who's just a bit too perfect and unlikeable. I'm not saying that that is always the case, there are still quite a few stories with likeable Victoire's. But I like your version the most because she's so honest with her feelings, and a lot stronger than would be expected (if I was neglected like my mother like that, I'd be a lot more bitter than Victoire, that's for sure. I also love how she's not generic as a part veela, I really like how she isn't the type to enjoy male attention and the like; she's still a human being, she still has problems.

I also like how you're steadily moving at a good pace. You've been able to establish Vick's relationships with her friends and family well, and it's kind of nice to read about a Teddy who isn't instantly in love with her, nor a Vick whose instantly in love with him. I'll enjoy there relationship now, since I'll (hopefully) get to see it grow from the start. So far I'm liking what I'm seeing, so keep up with the good work!

Please update quickly! I can't wait to see how this story will develop.

Author's Response: Hi!

I'm glad you enjoyed this story.

Yes, I definitely was trying to make sure that Victoire was an original characterization. All the things you mentioned were pretty intentional, or what I was hoping the reader would get, in terms of lack of cliche, etc.

I don't know when I'll have time to update, but I will try to think about doing so, since there are people who really seem to enjoy this story.


 Report Review

Review #5, by watchoutfornargles 'ogwarts

25th March 2012:
Review Swap :)

I like this, a lot :) Its a nice change from all of the negative Victoire stories that I read. Quick question, what does the title of the story, "Je Souhaite," mean? This was a great read :)

Author's Response: Thanks :)

Je Souhaite means "I Wish" in French. I think it's on the banner. I'm glad you liked this chapter.


 Report Review

Review #6, by ginerva_molly_weasley 'ogwarts

8th March 2012:
Hey :)

I really do like this chapter because it shows that not even the Weasley family is perfect in whatever they do. Fleur to me seems a little OOC with having favourite children and being dismissive of Victoire when she's at school even though I love her detestation and disapproval for Hogwarts.

Victoire seems to be a very genuine character with her sticking with her friends and not really getting to involved with the lads but you also give us information about her life in this chapter by saying that she's a Gryffindor and that Teddy is a prefect.

My only criticism is that you said Victoire was a quater Veela rather than an eighth but that's not really a big deal!

Well done a nice chapter!

Author's Response: Hi!

I was focused on trying to make the Weasley's not perfect, so maybe I did go a bit overboard with Fleur, but I think that in the books, she's a bit volatile anyways. But I do see your point.

Hmm, I guess I made a mistake about the Veela part. You're right, of course! I probably was thinking about Fleur when I wrote it, and didn't think to change it for her daughter! Thanks for catching that!

I appreciate your review. :D


 Report Review

Review #7, by charlottetrips 'ogwarts

7th March 2012:
A solid start I must say. It's interesting to read of Victoire as slighted in her family, not the perfect girl that she's made out to be and thinking of Teddy as her cousin (sort of)! That raised my eyebrows a bit. I like that you're taking a less traveled road on that (unless I missed something on the pairings of this story...oh well).

It was a good intro, inserting us into the family at this time in her life, showing that everything isn't perfect all the time just because the books are over and also getting us familiar with her friends. There was a certain ease to reading this!

xChar

Author's Response: Hello!

I'm glad you mostly liked the start of the story. I was trying, back when I started this story, to go anti-cliche. Victoire isn't the golden girl, she and Teddy aren't obviously in love, etc.

I guess that's a bit of a pattern in my stories: not everything is perfect, and not everything is as neat and tidy in life.

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #8, by Cavell Sorting

1st March 2012:
This was a very-easy-to-relate-to story, and I really enjoyed reading it. You wrote everyone, especially Victoire, brilliantly, and made them come alive, honestly. The plot so far is good, the flow of words okay, and yay! Translations for the French! Personally, it drives me mad when the author doesn't translate a foreign language back to English, and then I have to do it myself! I can't wait to read more after this review, and it's definitely going into my favourites.

Author's Response: Hi!

I'm glad you enjoyed the story, so far. I haven't really written on it for a while, but it's good to know you still enjoyed it.

Yep and I did want to make sure people got what the characters were saying in french. It is annoying when you have to look it up and interrupt your reading.

Well, thanks so much for the review! It's great to hear you liked the story so much!


 Report Review

Review #9, by :( The Unexpected

28th January 2012:
really good story. i think vikkis 2 nice 2 dom/ family.
cant wait 2 see wat happens next!!!

Author's Response: Thank you.

 Report Review

Review #10, by :( The Unexpected

28th January 2012:
really good story. i think vikkis 2 nice 2 dom/ family.
cant wait 2 see wat happens next!!!

Author's Response: Thanks, through sadly, I'm not sure when I'll get to update.

 Report Review

Review #11, by EmilyChristine The Unexpected

1st September 2011:
What a lovely story! I accidentaly stumbled upon this and I'm really glad! It's very dramatic and I like how you've transformed Fleurs character, I could really see her turning out this way! haha. Can't wait for more! Keep writting!

Author's Response: Hello!

I'm glad you enjoyed the story. :)

Unfortunately this story is on a bit of hiatus while I work on another story, but I'll write more sometime.


 Report Review

Review #12, by lilypotterfan123 Aftermath

31st May 2011:
I like the contrast of this chapter! I was honestly expecting another really dramatic one but it's nice that you cooled it down to let the previous chapter sink in for the readers! I hope Xander grows up a little because otherwise not even Lola will want him.

LpF123 x

Author's Response: Hello,

I'm glad that the pacing is good between chapters. Sometimes I worry about that, since I write pretty infrequently.

Xander is an interesting character. He is cruel, but Lola definitely likes him for more than his popularity.


 Report Review

Review #13, by lilypotterfan123 Unexpected Occurences

31st May 2011:
Another awesome chapter! It was filled with a lot more drama so it was very unexpected as the other chapters have been a little softer. I was really surprised, I never saw it coming at all. I feel sorry for Victoire and I hope she has a happy ending because in this story she's not having much luck.
Nice chapter, it was like the first firework on bonfire night, not expected but it's usually the best one!
LpF123 :)

Author's Response: Hi!

I like the metaphor you used to describe this chapter. I hope that the story doesn't go downhill from here though!


 Report Review

Review #14, by lilypotterfan123 My Dear Sister

31st May 2011:
I love how calm this story is, especially with all that's going on. There isn't too much drama either which is good to say that the story's still in it's early days. Another thing I like about this story is the characterisation of everyone, even Walters. I hate it when people use the word love to me (if that makes sense) and all the cheesy pick up lines so I can understand why he's bugging victoire so much.
LpF123 :)

Author's Response: Hi again!

I'm glad you're still reading this story and that it hasn't bored you or anything like that. I know that right now it is relatively calm, which sometimes makes me afraid that it won't hold people's interest. So I"m glad you like that aspect.

And yes, I know what you mean about not liking to be called "love"or "darling" or whatever.


 Report Review

Review #15, by lilypotterfan123 Letters from Home

9th May 2011:
Poor Victoire! I suspected it was the wrong letter but then I thought no, Fluer couldn't be that horrid! Then OMG the change in letters was great. If it was me I would send back Dom's letter with my own saying, why aren't mine like me. I'm not asking to be pampered but a little love would be nice. I hope Fluer comes to her senses soon!

LpF123 x

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.

Yes, I feel sorry for her too. Fleur doesn't hate her, but they just don't see eye to eye.


 Report Review

Review #16, by lilypotterfan123 Sorting

9th May 2011:
Another nice chapter! I'm loving all that's going on right now, there's not too much drama that makes it too over the top before the sorting even begins. The way you put Teddy in there was nice too, it's great that they're on good terms because with the fics I've read it's a rarity to see them on good terms! Another 10/10!
LpF123 x

Author's Response: Hello again!

I'm glad that you still like the story! Yes, I really hadn't read too much Tedoire fanfiction when I started this story, so I wasn't trying to copy anyone. It was just what I wanted their story to be. :)


 Report Review

Review #17, by lilypotterfan123 'ogwarts

9th May 2011:
Hi there, you came first in my challenge so I'm starting the reviews. So I started reading this and expected it to be one of those usual teddy/victoire stories. However this was a completely different take on the Tedoire ship! Teddy was mentioned once I think. I liked how it was all about Victoire and her relationship with her mother. Then there was the chat she had with her friend. It was a lovely general chapter because it set the mood of the story nicely. Can't wait to read more! 10/10, there wasn't an awkward moment in it which I think is great! :D
LpF123 x

Author's Response: Hi!

That's exciting, I'm glad that you enjoyed my entry! And I'm glad that you liked this first chapter as well!


 Report Review

Review #18, by Arcturus The Unexpected

17th April 2011:
My thoughts

"Yes! finally a nice long Teddy/Victoire Fic!"

"Oh, its a work in progress, whatever, thats fine!"

Awesome its really good, and actually has a story rather then just running to the mush!

"Well, just finished it. Man, I can't wait until the next chapter!"

>Not updated for 3 months
:( :( :( :(

Please please keep going!

Author's Response: Hello!

I'm glad that you enjoyed the story. And I'm really sorry I haven't updated in so long. I'm not abandoning it though I can't promise when I'll update next. I'm quite busy right now, with very little time. However, for sure, once the summer comes around, I'll update. That's not much of a promise, I know, but at least it's something?

Sorry! I know how awful it can be to find a story you really like and not have it been updated.


 Report Review

Review #19, by adahpfan Sorting

12th March 2011:
this story really is fab! i am hooked... i just have an issue from this chappie or maybe its the first one... basically victoire isnt a 1/4 veela, shes an 1/8. i know it isnt really important but im picky about stuff like that!

8/10

Author's Response: Thanks :)

I'll try to find that error and fix it. Sorry that I didn't pick up on it before.

I am glad you liked the story though!


 Report Review

Review #20, by couldyoureallyknow The Unexpected

18th January 2011:
yiikes. Victoire really let loose with everything she's feeling.
more soon please :)

Author's Response: yes she did indeed. thanks for the review! i'll try to update soon, alright?

 Report Review

Review #21, by weasleywitch Quidditch

9th December 2010:
MERLIN THIS IS BLOODY FANTASTIC! PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE WRITE AGAIN SOON!

Author's Response: Thank you!!

You made my day! I'll update soon I promise! I'm so glad that you love it.

Aderyn


 Report Review

Review #22, by Rowdy18 Aftermath

26th November 2010:
So I just read the whole thing and I really love it. I usually don't read Vicky stories, but this one has my attention! Post more soon please!

Author's Response: thank you so much for the review! sorry i didn't respond earlier. i'll post more once the queue opens

 Report Review

Review #23, by Ravenclaw333 'ogwarts

22nd November 2010:
Hey, I'm so so sorry it took me so long to get onto this review! I've been insane busy with exams and NaNo, but enough with the excuses...
My first thought is how refreshing it is to see Dom, not Victoire, being the favoured child. I've always had a view of Victoire being the more snobby, Fleur-like of the sisters, so I definitely appreciated the change in perspective. You've included a lot of good background detail, like the relationship she has with her mother, father and sister, and generally you've introduced the character well while still leaving room for more development in later chapters. The one thing I would wonder about is the capitalisation of first year, fourth year, sixth year etc...it just doesn't seem like something that should be capitalised, but other than that, a very good first chapter :)

Author's Response: thanks for the review!

i'm glad you liked the role reversal, I always though Dom was just more perfect, not sure why, but that's how I see the characters. Maybe it has to do with Victoire kissing Teddy, I can't see a golden girl going for a guy like him...

I'm glad you liked the background as well. I'll look into the capitalizing of the years. I think I changed that in the later chapters, but i need to go back and edit the first ones.


 Report Review

Review #24, by Jennifer My Dear Sister

9th November 2010:
I quite like fleur in the 4th movie but not in the books much. The story was great. Really enjoyed but you could use less damns and go to hells

Author's Response: thanks for your review! i'm glad you like the story so far. I've put the next chapter in the queue :)

Alright, I'll try to watch the language a bit, sometimes I forget how much I've used words like that, because I don't always write all at once.


 Report Review

Review #25, by couldyoureallyknow Letters from Home

3rd November 2010:
i really like this !!! great story :) write more soon!

Author's Response: Thank you for your review! I'm glad you liked the story! I'm writing more, don't worry! Chapter 5 is in the queue right now.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>