Reading Reviews for Truth
  
12 Reviews Found

Review #1, by lil_hermione_at_heart It is a beautiful and terrible thing.

14th September 2011:
Haha oh do I know that feeling. Ever since I got my hands on that first book, my life has been solely owned by one J.K. Rowling. But anyways, back to the story. I really like it, vey well written. Cute too, about it being his daughter. I thought that was a great view to tell it and great main character. Also, ive never read a story where someone actually quoted the book so when I recognized them I had a "wtf?" moment but I think you did them justice. Well done.

Author's Response: I know what you mean :P A large chunk of my life belongs to Jo Rowling :D I'm glad you enjoyed this story. I'm planning to extend it at some point, but there are a lot of details to work out first. As for the book quotes, this was written for a staff challenge at the forums, and the challenge was to choose quotes from a list and use them in a story. I'm glad you thought I did the quotes justice, even though they were used in different ways than in canon. Thanks so much for reading!

 Report Review

Review #2, by UH60TI It is a beautiful and terrible thing.

13th July 2011:
How true that truth is a beautiful and terrible thing. This is an incredible story. Very easy to read.

As we get older we want to know more about our parents and their lives, but we don't always like what we find in the truth.

You are fast becomming my most favorite author on this site. And I have a few.

Working my way through all of you writings.

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked this story. I'm working on expanding it into something longer, just trying to work out some of the details before I get started.

I really appreciate that you're taking the time to read so many of my stories. I enjoy hearing from you. :) Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #3, by Alife74 It is a beautiful and terrible thing.

5th January 2011:
Wow, what an incredibly well written story! It held my attention the entire way through. I found myself really connecting to Lily here. Everybody wants the truth... but it really can be a dangerous thing. I actually paid attention to that aspect in my own fic. The search for the truth is an interesting thing. Anyway, fantastic job! Thank you for sharing your work with us!

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing! I'm really glad that you enjoyed this and that you felt a connection with Lily. It's the first time I've ever written her and wasn't sure about her characterization.

It's like Dumbledore said, "Truth is a beautiful and terrible thing and therefore, should be treated with extreme caution." I might've paraphrased a bit there, but you know the quote.

Thanks again for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #4, by Pacific Wizard It is a beautiful and terrible thing.

1st January 2011:
Singularity: First Happy New Year! I so look forward to all of your magnificent stories this new year. You're one of my favorites and I wanted to greet this new year with one of your stories.

This story was truly awesome. Your storyline had such clarity and your characterizations were right on the mark. I liked the way you portrayed Harry's heavy reluctance to tell the story and his subtle yet firm way he challenged Lily to make her question if she was doing the right thing.

There's a reason a veteran doesn't like to talk about his or her own actions or what they have witnessed in a war. You can't do the truth of the event justice. You had to have been there, felt the fear, felt the horror, felt the sadness and then there are no happy endings.

When you had Lily question herself, I felt that you were preparing yourself to write the continuation of what I am sure will be one of the most remarkable stories to grace the pages of this site. I hope you will. You are a great storyteller, a wonderful writer but most of all, you have two traits that are most important, imagination and heart. I urge you to take on this challenge. You're ready.

You are Lily now. Write the story. Well Done. PW

Author's Response: Happy New Year, PW! This review was a lovely way to start off 2011. So lovely in fact that I'm not even sure how to respond to it.

I've thought a lot about continuing this story, but I'm just not sure how. Do I write Harry, Ron, and Hermione telling her the story? Do I skip that part and write Lily actually writing the story after the interviews? I'm just not sure how to go about it. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. I'd like to give it a shot, but I've never been great at risk taking (I'm definitely not a Gryffindor :P).

That being said, thank you for this. Just knowing that you enjoyed this story so much and think it (and I) has such promise really means a lot.


 Report Review

Review #5, by Ayla It is a beautiful and terrible thing.

29th December 2010:
I loved this one-shot. it had a very unique plot. The only changes I would make would be to delve deeper into Lily's character and to change the banner. It confused me at first because Lily is supposed to have green eyes. :)

Author's Response: Thanks :) I'm glad you found it unique and enjoyed it.

As for the banner, I'm almost positive that Lily didn't have green eyes. I think the DH epilogue says something about Albus being the only one of Harry's children to inherit his mother's eyes. I'll have to go back and check.

Thanks so much for your review :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by spencefa It is a beautiful and terrible thing.

25th December 2010:
that was very good, well written and interssting.

Author's Response: Thanks, I'm glad you enjoyed it :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by Catherine It is a beautiful and terrible thing.

7th December 2010:
LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT!!! I always wondered about how they handled telling their kids. But I have to admit I'm still curious about the kids reactions to the stories

Author's Response: Aww, thanks so much! I'm really glad you liked it :) I've toyed with the idea of a follow up to this, but I haven't figured out a way to make it work. This is all the plot bunnies have gifted me with thus far :P Thanks for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #8, by xLauriePotter It is a beautiful and terrible thing.

3rd December 2010:
Singularity: Laurie here with your requested review!
First of all I'd like to *clap* I enjoyed this story, I found both quite touching and humorous rolled into one.
I think the language you used throughout was perfect for Lily's age, for example at the beginning you seemed to use simpler vocabulary for when she was younger, and it seemed to be more sophisticated as she grew. I don't know whether this was intentional, but I picked up on it anyway.

My favourite lines were as follows;
"There once was a very bad man and I helped to send him away so he couldn’t hurt anyone anymore. Lots of people know that I helped. Now finish your vegetables, Lily. You too, James.” " - Somehow just by the way that Harry spoke to his children, I can imagine the soft tone behind the serious line and it just made me smile.

"frightened by the sad look in his eyes" - Even though Lily was at a young age you can already tell the bond between Father/Daughter, She's literally frightened she might of upset her father, and the way you have written this makes it feel her guilt.. sort of. Fantastic!

"this isn’t about a boy, is it, Lily? Because if it is, I really think you should talk to your mother...” - This really made me laugh, It reminded me a lot of my own dad actually. It's defiantly something most fathers would say to their daughters. I can imagine the awkwardness of Harry here, I think this line alone really helped you characterised him well.

I also love way Lily calls her father "daddy" in the last line, even though she's 24, again it reminds me of something I would do with my father.

Generally, I really enjoyed this story as I feel the language you used was perfect. The characters were well thought out and I thought you characterized both perfectly! The awkwardness of Harry, and the affection shown for Harry by Lily was touching.
I like the basic plot, and also love the idea of Lily wanting to help her father by showing everyone the truth.
9/10!

Laurie.

Author's Response: Thank you for such a wonderful review, Laurie. It's really awesome. I've always thought that Harry would make a great father, and I really wanted to write him as a father. I'm really glad that you thought he and Lily were in character. Thanks for picking out your favorite parts. It's always nice to know what readers specifically enjoyed :)

I really appreciate you taking the time to leave such a nice review. Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #9, by Crepe It is a beautiful and terrible thing.

15th November 2010:
This was a beautiful story, although short and in a way, ended right before where the interesting part could've begun. One of the things that intrigue me the most about the happenings after the book (before and after the epilogue) is how Harry and the others coped with everything that had happened. This is my favourite portrayal of Harry, showing him as a scarred man. I don't like seeing him as a perfect hero who just managed to put most of it behind him, who doesn't get the sadness in his eyes when talking about those things. Thanks for this short story!

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing! I think you have a point about this story ending right when it could start to get interesting, but I'm not sure I could pull off the next chapter. It's something I'll consider, though.

I also don't think Harry will ever be able to completely put everything behind him, much as he would like to, but he also won't fall apart. He'll always have these demons in his past, but at the same time, he has family and friends who love him and help hold him together, as well as his own inner strength and resilency.

Thanks again for reading. :)


 Report Review

Review #10, by Canadian_Hogwarts It is a beautiful and terrible thing.

2nd November 2010:
I love this story. It's so sweet, and yet it had a bit of underlying sadness that was written in really perfectly. You were totally right in saying that there would have been tonnes of books written about the war (probably by Rita Skeeter too). Lily definitely would have wanted to write the real version... and she would be the only person that Harry would have allowed to interview him. I loved that she asked Ron ad Hermione first (my favorite line was definitely "Well, I figured Aunt Hermione would really understand the importance of people knowing the truth, and if I could get her on board, then Uncle Ron would be a pushover. I figured you were the real challenge and I might as well get the easy part over with." It made me smile) The characters were all written extremely well. Harry especially was perfect. I think that Lily's book would be really great... as great as this story :) Really awesome work! I enjoyed it a lot.

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing! I really appreciate that you keep coming back and reading my stories. It means a lot *hugs*

Yeah, I think we can be fairly certain that Rita Skeeter would have written her own ridiculously skewed version of events, and probably many other people would have as well. You're definitely right that there is some underlying sadness, and a sense loss or disconnection. I'm glad you were able to pick up on that.

Thanks for pointing out your favorite line :P As much as I love Ron, I think Hermione would have him totally whipped by the time they had adult children. :P Thanks again for your review!


 Report Review

Review #11, by lauraf68 It is a beautiful and terrible thing.

27th October 2010:
Good Day Singularity,
Been checking back with some of my favorite authors to see you there were any new stories and picked this one.

Wow!! That was a good, no GREAT one-shot!! (10/10) Left me with Goosebumps. AND Hoping you will write Lily's story, telling Harry's story? :-)

Happy Writing ~Lauraf68

Author's Response: Hi Laura! I appreciate you continuing to check out my stories :) I'm glad you enjoyed this one. Thanks for your review! I probably won't be continuing this, but you never know where the plot bunnies may lead :P

 Report Review

Review #12, by Aether It is a beautiful and terrible thing.

14th October 2010:
Wonderful one-shot! I love the way you portray Lily in this, and Harry's character seems very realistic. I do sort of wish that you'd shown Lily's reaction to the story, or why Harry was so sensitive about it. But I can see that you might've wanted to focus on the quotes that came with the challenge, too. Great job! 10/10 :)

Aether

Author's Response: Thanks so much for your review! I've never written Lily (or any next-gen character) before, so I'm glad you like her and adult Harry.

I'm a big fan of revising my stories...over and over and over, so I'll definitely keep your suggestions in mind. I might be able to expand upon those things in the future, so thanks so much for your feedback!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login