Reading Reviews for Run From The Darkness
  
40 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Elphaba and Boyfriends (September 1994)

8th August 2012:
Wow, I loved this story! I haven't read anything quite like it. I've wondered for a while about what Remus would have done in between studying at Hogwarts and teaching at Hogwarts, and even though this is AU it is totally believable.

I had never really thought much about what would have happened to Remus if James hadn't gotten to the shack in time -- that Remus would end up in Azkaban or that he would lose his wand, but what you've imagined seems very likely. I think him going wandless was probably the saddest part, well, aside from Sirius losing his soul (although that was his own fault in a roundabout way). If I could change anything about your story, it would be to have more interaction between Remus and AU Snape. :)

I think that Remus getting to teach Harry is a huge part of what kept him going in PoA, so I loved how you made their relationship such a key component of your story.

Anyway, thanks for sharing such a thought-provoking story. :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm very glad you found it believable - that was my main fear about trying AU for the first time, that people would just read it and think "um, that would never happen..."

Having re-read this quite recently, I completey agree with you that there should be more Snape. Him as a werewolf is something I should definitely have done more with. Editing here I come...

Thank you so much for reading! I'm very glad you enjoyed it :)



 Report Review

Review #2, by AmeliaQ (September 1994)

19th April 2012:
Super!! The ending is far from what I would have expected. Actually far better!! No fluffy ending and that really made my day(;

Author's Response: I'm so glad you liked it! I've never actually completed a story on here before and so I was unsure about how to do it, before eventually deciding that a semi-hopeful but still pretty grim ending was probably suitable. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #3, by DarkDragonne (September 1994)

19th March 2012:
This story was amazing. I feel so sorry for Remus, especially because this is so similar to canon, but a few things happened which changed everything for the worst. The small details are the ones that matter, i guess.

Author's Response: Thank you! I did really try to make it similar to canon, to show how small things can make a huge difference to someone's life. I'm glad you enjoyed it, thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #4, by ILoveBeatleGeorge (September 1994)

13th February 2012:
This was amazing! Poor Remus. Your writing skills are excellent and the story flow is of the same. You should write a sequel, I would read it! Again, awesome AU!

Author's Response: Thank you, I'm really glad you liked it! Haha well I haven't got any plans for a sequel at the moment, but inspiration may strike, who knows... Thanks so much for the review!

 Report Review

Review #5, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap (August 1994 to September 1994)

17th November 2011:
I thought for a second Snape was going to attack Remus, actually attack him. Is that foolish of me? How very interesting this chapter was! I was wondering if Harry was going to show up, I thought perhaps since this is AU maybe he just wasn't around, maybe he never went to Hogwarts, maybe he hadn't survived because you didn't mention him before but you did mention the prophecy.

My heart skipped in my chest at the last sentence. I really don't want to know what happens next. I do but I don't. I'm conflicted. Stop playing with my emotions! :D

 Report Review

Review #6, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap (July 1990 to July 1991)

17th November 2011:
How interesting. I was wondering how you would incorporate Dumbledore asking him to come back to Hogwarts and be a teacher. It made sense that he would be offered to teach a subject that requires no wand because you can't teach Defense without a wand.

You were really able to break up Remus's everyday life, his routine and give it more life. I felt a slightly happier Remus, no, not happy but content? I can't think of the right word.

Even though his mother died and his father, it's clear they have a strained relationship. I appreciated how he took it upon himself (out of guilt) to write to him and send him letters about a false life. It shows that after everything that happened he still loves him and doesn't want him to worry no matter how angry Remus is. It's a true trait of Remus.

 Report Review

Review #7, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap (November 1981)

17th November 2011:
I was on the verge of crying while reading this. It really made me think. I mean I'm not a huge Peter fan but I don't necessarily despise him, I include him in my stories unlike others who just want to erase him from memory. It was so sad, I could feel the pain and sorrow in Remus, it leapt right off my computer screen because it's so believable. This was how he essentially felt when he found out before he knew the truth and for the life of me I can say that no one has written how pained he was and how he felt when he found out Sirius had 'betrayed' the Potters. Of course he would have weeped for Peter, of course.

I keep forgetting it's AU because it does feel like you follow canon in a way. Excellent chapter.

 Report Review

Review #8, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap (January 1979 to January 1980)

17th November 2011:
Oh what a chapter! Oh what a story! Remus is breaking my heart. How sad to read him write those letters, to leave his parents and try and start this new life that just isn't working for him. I knew from the moment he met the waitress it would not work out and he would end up alone but I will say I wasn't too fond of her anyway.

I loved the ending.

Author's Response: I loved writing the letters (even though they really are rather depressing...) so I'm glad you liked that, and nooo he and Jenny were never going to work out were they? Silly Remus. At least he saw sense eventually though. Thanks for reviewing again!

 Report Review

Review #9, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap (September 1976 to September 1977)

17th November 2011:
I'm so glad this story was recommended to me. I really didn't know if it was going to be something I would read because I always go towards humor but this was...well, to be frank it was actually quite scary! Even though it's AU, I feel like you captured the characters of Sirius and Remus perfectly. Not only that but the entire concept, this could have happened, it's entirely believable and it's just so heart breaking.

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I'm really glad Sirius and Remus seemed in-character - even though this is AU, I did intend them to be similiar to how they are in canon (in this chapter, at least). I'm so glad it's believeable as well! That's one of the things that really worried me about writing AU. I'm really glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #10, by Roots in Water (September 1994)

26th August 2011:
Everything made wonderful sense. I think you did a great job of keeping elements of canon in your story while still entering this alternate universe.

Sirius Black- kissed? Of course this would have happened, without Harry being convinced he was innocent, without Dumbledore knowing the truth, but I'm so glad you explained this more fully in this chapter.

Your story was very well done. The girlfriend he used to have- how was he supposed to convince her he was a wizard? He had no wand and he certainly wasn't going to take her with him on a full moon. And then him realizing he probably didn't even love her... That was beautifully written.

Rosmerta's reaction to him- I thought she was going to smile and say she understood him. That she sided with him. Not scream in fright, not yell at him to leave her store, the monster. It was very well done to show to reaction most would have to Remus. At least McGonagall "rescued" him.

You wrote the human emotions fantastically well in this story- the way they would help him, pity him, unintentionally and how Remus would hate this; Remus' hesitance to go to Hogwarts once again.

I have just one question: wouldn't students have written to their parents about Lupin being their teacher (even just mentioning the name)? Wouldn't parents remember his name, his story? It's just a very small thing.

Your ending suited the story. There couldn't be a "happy ever after"- too many wrongs had occurred that were irreversable. As Remus said, the truth, the justice, will almost be enough.

I think that this was very well done and I really enjoyed reading it.

Author's Response: Oh, I'm so relieved it all made sense - that was definitely my biggest worry. Writing AU can get so complicated sometimes! I kept forgetting what was meant to happen in 'my' HP universe.

I'm genuinely felt rather bad making Sirius be kissed :( It is almost certaintly what would have happened to him though, if it hadn't been for Remus helping to convince Harry that he was innocent. I'm glad you liked it.

Glad you liked the bit with Jenny. Something that can annoy me in Remus/OC stories is that his Muggle girlfriends are generally very accepting of his being both a wizard and a werewolf... if my boyfriend suddenly announced he was a werewolf I'm pretty sure I'd just think he was a pyscho and make a run for it xD

Glad you liked the bit with Rosemerta too - in the HP books Remus mentions quite a few times how badly people treat him when they discover he's a werewolf, how hard it's been for him to find a job etc, so I wanted to really emphasise that.

About that question... basically, yes, they probably would *looks sheepish* I considered having Remus change his name and stuff, but thought that might just be too much. My only excuse is that it is a very long time after the event so parents might not necessarily remember the name... Also, in canon both Snape the Death Eater and Hagrid the supposed deadly-monster-owner were allowed to work at the school, so people might be more accepting of Dumbledore taking on slightly questionable staff members xP

I'm really glad you liked the ending - I've never actually completed a story on here before (terrible, I know) so I was nervous about how people would react to this one.

Thank you so much for your amazing reviews!


 Report Review

Review #11, by Roots in Water (September 1976 to September 1977)

26th August 2011:
Oh. My. Gosh. I've never before read a story about what might have happened if James hadn't stopped Snape that night. You've written such a poignant perspective of this. You didn't shy away from writing Remus' fate behind bars.

Poor Remus! The way the wizarding world regards werewolves... The way they treat him in Azkaban... The way you wrote this, abstract, without revealing each detail, makes it that much deeper. And then when he's finally released, he can't leave his own home.

The way you've written the way he's changed- detesting his parents for reasons beyond his or their control, detesting his old home because he cannot leave it...

This is brilliant and I'm off to read the rest of the story.

Author's Response: I'm really sorry it's taken me so long to reply to all your reviews! I've been on a bit of a break from HPFF so didn't realise you'd left them until now :(

I'm glad you like the idea! Writing Marauders-era stuff scares me a bit because there's so much of it out there that it can be difficult to write something new, so I decided to cheat and go AU xD

Oh I know, poor Remus :( I'm glad you found it poignant, and that I wrote Remus's emotions well - I found it quite difficult to get the balance right with them. Obviously he's gone through something really awful, but I didn't want him to be so self-pitying that it was just annoying.

Thanks so much for your lovely comments! I'm really glad you enjoyed it :)


 Report Review

Review #12, by forsakenphoenix (September 1994)

7th August 2011:
To think what could have been. The ending killed me. Even before you said it, when Harry brought up the map, I thought...if only he had said something earlier, they had said something to Remus - he could've have righted what was wrong. Then I remembered what had already happened and realized that now it was too late.

I'm a little disappointed this chapter was so short, but I think that it was time to end. Another chapter finished. There isn't anything Remus can really do now.

I'm happy still that Remus got to spend some time with Harry and Harry got to know the boy who had once been friends with his parents, who had felt their loss just as acutely as him.

I absolutely adored this story to pieces. I am so glad it was recommended to me because I do love Remus and you have written him so well here, so old and broken but with the resilience and courage of the House that was his home. You have a beautifully written story and I wish more people would read it.

forsakenphoenix (ravenclaw)

 Report Review

Review #13, by forsakenphoenix (August 1994 to September 1994)

7th August 2011:
I'm heartbroken (again!). Stop stealing my words. I think I need a thesaurus just to tell you how wonderful your story is. I love Sirius to pieces - him and Remus are my two favorite characters - so of course I'm devastated by this turn of events, though it makes sense. It's the natural progression of things. Remus is not there, Remus never saw the Marauders Map, couldn't prove that Pettigrew was still alive. He will never know the truth and instead live in blissful ignorance, hating Sirius for what he thought he had done. But it's still sad that Sirius received the Dementor's Kiss.

I find it interesting and fitting that Remus continually refers to Sirius as Black. No recognition of his first name, of familiarity because that's how he feels isn't it? That this boy he used to know...well, he doesn't know him anymore. And anyone who could murder his best friends doesn't deserve any more recognition than that.

I'm glad he took the position at Hogwarts, if only because I think he deserved that second chance. Hogwarts won't turn him away again this time, but it seems he still doesn't feel like he deserve it.

It's curious though that Snape chooses to try and out Remus as the werewolf, but he's a werewolf too, isn't he? I guess he sees Remus as the monster because Snape was the victim of circumstance, but Remus didn't ask for the disease anymore than Snape did. I loved the line you wrote about how Snape just blamed Remus because it was easier than blaming himself.

I'm glad he's finally met Harry - I've been waiting for this moment. I can't wait to read the last chapter. :)

forsakenphoenix (Ravenclaw)

 Report Review

Review #14, by forsakenphoenix (July 1990 to July 1991)

7th August 2011:
I love the path this has followed. That naturally, Remus should teach a subject where a wand is not required because his was taken from him.

I felt sorry how awkward and uncomfortable the conversation was between Remus and his father. But I think it must've been hard for them between his parents overbearing presence in his life and his absence from theirs when he finally got away. His train of thought that perhaps he was at fault for his mother's death was terribly depressing, and the fact that he just wanted reassurance from the one man who wouldn't give it to him.

Your Dumbledore is fantastic here, just spot-on. I love that he and Remus get to catch up and share a drink here and there. Break up the monotony of Remus's dreadfully lackluster life.

His comment about Fenrir, about how no one was petitioning for him to be released was so poignant, and I hope he realizes how lucky he was in his youth to have such strong supporters.

I'm curious now to see how this will end, how this next chapter in Remus's life will play out and how similar it will be to canon. Though I have no doubt I won't be disappointed in whatever you write. :)

forsakenphoenix (Ravenclaw)

Author's Response: Oh, thank you! I decided on it because of his lack of a wand, and also because it felt right to me that he would have been good with animals, being a werewolf and all.

I'm so glad you've said all that! The last thing I wanted was for his father to come across as completely cold and uncaring towards him - he does care, and Remus cares about him, and they want to be there for each other at this awful time, it's just that they have got to the point where that isn't really possible anymore.

I was so scared to write Dumbledore, so that's brilliant to hear, thanks! (I know he was in the first chapter as well, but only for a couple of lines...)

Yes, I think that now Remus is older and has been able to move on slightly from what happened to him in his youth, he can appreciate that actually he was very lucky. That's part of the reason he is so awkward around his father, as well - he recognises now that he didn't treat his parents fairly at all.

Thanks again! Gahh you've really got me grinning :D


 Report Review

Review #15, by forsakenphoenix (November 1981)

7th August 2011:
Um, so, you've made me cry. I am a weeping mess. This chapter was just so heartbreaking, and I feel like I say this for every chapter because I probably have, but this alternate universe is sad. I don't know if it makes the canon events even worse or it's just the way you write them. Your Remus is simply just perfect, and I feel so much hurt for him.

The first two sentences are a great way to start this chapter. I don't know, I feel like sometimes people forget how young James and Lily really were when they died and just those two simple sentences really bring it to heart how young and tragic their deaths were. And it's sad too because so many people were essentially celebrating their deaths. Yes, Voldemort has been defeated but at what cost? For Remus, the cost is more than he can bear.

Madam Rosmerta's reaction to him - it's not unnatural but it still makes me angry the deep prejudices people hold against creatures like him.

I loved that Remus went to Peter's funeral though I hate that Remus's parents don't want to let him out of their sight like he's still a child. We all know the truth of what happened that night, about Peter and Sirius, but seeing it from Remus's perspective, from someone who knew them but didn't know the truth, you really feel sad for Peter. Especially this line killed me: "merely a mother who does not even have a body to lay to rest beneath the white stone sentry that marks the place where he should be."

The ending was so perfect, such a great way to encompass everything about the Marauders. How when they went their separate ways, they were still boys. Even now, still too young to have died. At least they have Remus to keep them alive, even if they're only memories.

forsakenphoenix (Ravenclaw)

Author's Response: *hands out tissues* I was slightly evil here, wasn't I? Leaving Remus on a positive note in the last chapter and then... this. But obviously, from my perspective as the-girl-who's-written-an-angst-ridden-story, it's really great that you're a weeping mess - thank you! xD

Glad you liked those sentences - I did consciously include their ages, because like you said, I'd never really appreciated just how young they were.

Oh I know, poor Remus :( I always feel so sorry for him in the books when he talks about all the prejudice he faces, about how difficult it is for him to get a job etc, so I wanted to include some of that in here.

It felt strange, actually, writing something that was so sympathetic towards Peter. I kept thinking, "Wait a minute, this is Wormtail you know!" But I'm really glad you liked that - it's one of my favourite sections of the story, I think.

I'm glad you thought the ending was fitting - I tend to struggle a bit with finishing chapters. Thanks for reviewing again!


 Report Review

Review #16, by forsakenphoenix (January 1979 to January 1980)

7th August 2011:
Oh Remus, stop breaking my heart! It's rather sad, thinking of how much his parents love him and want to protect him like he's still their young child even though he's an adult. His apathy to his mother is upsetting considering how much of their lives they've probably put on hold or has been taken away because of his condition, but it's understandable.

Remus feels very hm...stagnant, maybe? in this chapter. Kind of like he's not going anywhere and he's just going through his routine. The ending was nice though, when he realizes he just needs to close the book on that chapter of his life and he needs to just get up and do something with his life. Finally in motion.

The letters! Oh, that was so sad and referring to them as ghosts. I loved that he included Lily in the friends that he wrote to. Oh, and Peter! That was just...gut-wrenching. "He ends it with a message of good luck, because Peterís future does not have the certainty of James or Lilyís." And now Peter is the spare wheel because Remus and Peter were always on the edge of that bold and loud friendship between James and Sirius. Such a perfect way to describe the dynamic of the Marauders.

I was happy for Remus for a few moments when he asked Jenny out, but then the strain of his secrets on their relationship started becoming more and more obvious. It makes me angry how Remus told her that he would tell her if she believed him and then she basically thought he was crazy. Stupid girl. Remus is better off without her anyway.

This story is just so unique, and I love how you go down this path that Remus's life would've taken. This could've been his life if James had been a second or two late. It makes you stop and think of how precious time is, how it could make such a huge difference in anyone's life. Just so so lovely.

forsakenphoenix (Ravenclaw)

Author's Response: Sorry it's taken me so long to reply to the rest of your reviews - I've been on holiday (which was great) and internet-less (which wasn't so great).

I meant Remus to be really teenager-y in this chapter - he's feeling sorry for himself even though, all things considered, he's been pretty lucky, and he's angry and resentful towards his parents, even though they've been doing their best for him. So yes, his poor mum :( She's rather under-appreciated.

Ooh stagnant is a good word for it, I might have to use that in future ;) I'm glad you got the sense of routine, of monotony, and I'm glad you liked the ending too - even though he isn't very successful in attempting to break up the routine he has fallen into, and his relationhip with Jenny was a huge failure, it has still helped him move forward in the long run.

I'm really glad you liked my take on Remus and Peter! I'm always a bit nervous that people will just go "nooo, Remus and Sirius were best friends!" But I always imagine James and Sirius as being unbreakably close - so much so that Remus and Peter would probably have felt sometimes that they were just tagging along.

Thank you! I'm really glad you liked this chapter, and the story as a whole. I'm quite a fan of "what if?" stories, and yeah, it is strange to think about how something so small can have such a huge effect on events...

Thanks for another lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #17, by forsakenphoenix (September 1976 to September 1977)

7th August 2011:
So, this was rec'd to me because I adore Remus to pieces and I am so glad someone told me about this. It's gorgeous, and heartbreaking and I feel like I'm about to cry. I never really thought about what would have happened if James hadn't stopped Snape that night from going into the Shack and you write it out without apologies, without any kind of coddling, not like Remus's parents. It's kinda like a punch to the gut. You bring so much depth and emotion to this and oh, I just want to hug Remus.

Your characterization of Sirius is perfect. This line? "Sirius never thinks, and Sirius is always sorry afterwards but only afterwards when the damage has been done" - you pretty much describe Sirius in one sentence but it's so powerful, it holds so much meaning.

I love love love your Dumbledore in this. Just those small little lines that really show his character. "But then Dumbledore is there, appearing suddenly in the doorway like the sun in a stormy sky, and there is triumph in his smile and pity in his piercing eyes..."

The ending really choked me up, how Remus feels trapped, only moving from one prison to the next. My poor, poor Remus. Oh, and at the trial when he's sentenced to Azkaban and he keeps repeating that he is a Gryffindor over and over again..sorry that I keep jumping around but that's how I usually write my reviews. But gah, I just loved this so much. Thank you for writing such a beautiful AU piece.

forsakenphoenix (Ravenclaw)

Author's Response: Firstly - wow, thank you for leaving such brilliant reviews for every chapter! It's always exciting to see the review count shoot up like that. Secondly, I'm really glad you liked it, that's really lovely to hear :)

I'd always been hesitant to write something Marauder-era, because I think it can be difficult to find something that hasn't been done dozens of times before, so my solution to that was to go AU where I could do anything I wanted. Glad you liked the idea!

Oh I know, Remus really needs a hug :( I'm really glad you approve of my Sirius and Dumbledore characterisations as well.

I'm really glad you found it moving - I really love angst, both for reading and writing, but I often get a bit too into it and it ends up being rather OTT, so hopefully I kept the balance alright here.

Thanks so much! This has genuinely brightened up my day a little bit :D


 Report Review

Review #18, by A Person (September 1994)

1st August 2011:
Wow... This is amazing. The ending seemed a bit abrupt but fitting. It was awesome.

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm so glad you liked it :) I agree with you about the ending though, so don't worry, I'm working on it x)

 Report Review

Review #19, by Fallinginthedark (September 1994)

30th July 2011:
The last line, to make it 'end-y', kinda needs something else to it, something like 'and he walked away'. I loved this whole story, it's the first ive read on HPFF! It's SO good, and I hope other people jave said the same!

Author's Response: Yeah I'm still not entirely happy with that bit... thanks for the suggestion, I'll definitely be looking over it again :)

Haha I'm honoured that this was the first story you've read! I'm glad you enjoyed it, I wouldn't have wanted you to get a bad first impression of the stuff on this site - there are so many amazing stories on here. Thanks so much for all your wonderful comments, I'm grinning like an idiot right now :D


 Report Review

Review #20, by Fallinginthedark (August 1994 to September 1994)

30th July 2011:
It's really good, this chapter, but I'm a little confused as to why Remus teachers Care of Magical Creatures and DADA! I think the story would fit better if he DID teach DADA, but I do rather like your twist on it. The scene with Snape made me shiver!

Author's Response: Remus teaches Care of Magical Creatures because it was the only subject I could think of that you wouldn't need a wand for (and his was confiscated after he was expelled) - that's why, in the books, Hagrid gets that job I suppose. I also thought it would be a subject that Remus would have been good at, bearing in mind he has a certain link with animals. Also, this chapter is set in Harry's fourth year at school, because I needed it to be set after Sirius's escape from Azkaban - but Moody/Barty Crouch Jr is DADA teacher in Harry's fourth year.

Sorry, long explanation there, hopefully that all made sense xD I'm really glad you liked the chapter though, especially the bit with Snape because I was worried about how I'd written him. Thanks so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #21, by Fallinginthedark (September 1976 to September 1977)

30th July 2011:
This needs more comments! It's one of the best Remus Lupin fanfics I've ever read. The idea was simply fantastic, and your style of writing is breathtaking! You make this whole piece amazing, just by the way you dont put much talking in, only his thoughts and how he sees things. I loved the bit with Sirius, and. ALL OF IT! This was so good! I'm going to go re-read it!

Author's Response: Wow, thank you! I don't really know what to say, that's so amazing to hear! I'm glad you like that there isn't much dialogue, and the bit with Sirius - this is the only time I've ever written him but I rather enjoyed it xP

Thanks so much for this lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #22, by academica (September 1994)

29th July 2011:
Hey again! I'm so glad you finished this! I've been looking forward to reading this final chapter for quite some time :)

Your characterization of Lupin is spot-on, as always, and I loved the way you did Ron and Hermione as well. You made it very easy for me to imagine watching them bicker while a unicorn looks on apathetically.

Lupin's interaction with Harry just broke my heart, in the very best way. It was so touching thinking of Harry, as you said, desperately wanting to know more about his parents, and for Lupin to finally feel connected to someone after wandering for so long. His attempts to answer Harry's questions about Sirius were similarly saddening and impressive, very true to life.

Your imagery is one of the starring elements of this piece. Bits like "memories shiver through him" are so effective. I literally teared up at "cruel scar of responsibility".

This was an amazing story, and the ending was quite fitting. Thank you so much for sharing. I hope you don't mind, but I'm going to go ahead and file it under Remus Lupin in Story Recommendations on the forum. It's easily the best Lupin fanfic I've ever read, and I mean that.

academica

Author's Response: I was a bit evil about this, wasn't I - I said all chapters were written and would be up soon... and actually this has taken me quite a while to post. What can I say, I'm a terrible updater xD

Haha that sentence made me laugh a bit - "while a unicorn looks on apathetically". It just tickled me. Anyway, thank you! I liked including Ron and Hermione - I've never been brave enough to write them in a Hogwarts-era piece because I'm sure I'd get them horribly wrong, but I figured I couldn't do too badly if they were just in it for a few lines.

I'm so glad you liked that bit - honestly, I had all kinds of worries about that section. In the books, I think the relationship Harry develops with Remus is absolutely lovely, especially in PoA, so I really wanted to do it as well as I possibly could here.

Oh of course not, I don't mind at all! I feel really rather honoured, actually - thanks so much! It's just so amazing to hear stuff like this - thank you so much for all your lovely comments, you've really made my day :) I'm so glad you've enjoyed this story!


 Report Review

Review #23, by academica (August 1994 to September 1994)

8th July 2011:
Fantastic chapter. The interplay between Snape and Lupin was incredibly engaging, since it paints an interesting picture of Dumbledore's capacity for compassion. I am very, very excited for you to post another chapter! :)

Author's Response: I'm so glad you liked this one - it's a) rather an important chapter and b) one of my favourites ;) I was worried about writing Snape (never done it before, and he is sooo easy to get wrong), so I'm glad you liked that bit. The next chapter should be up pretty soon - I've written it, but it's the last chapter (dun dun DUN!) so I'm going over it obsessively before posting it, just to make sure I'm happy with it all. It should be up soon though (she says hopefully!)

Thank you so much for all your reviews! It's always great to get feedback on a story, especially when it's complimentary xD


 Report Review

Review #24, by academica (July 1990 to July 1991)

8th July 2011:
Another touching chapter. Poor Remus really has it hard. Once again, your ability to tap into his emotions is impressive. Great job!

Author's Response: Aww I know, the poor guy :( I'm probably a bit mean to him really. I'm really glad it's all coming across well, though, and I'm conveying all his emotions properly, so thank you!

 Report Review

Review #25, by academica (November 1981)

8th July 2011:
I think you did a great job with sticking to canon and simultaneously illuminating parts of it that were not shown to us :) Great work! I thought the way you began the chapter, by showing the wizarding world's reaction to the downfall of Voldemort (rather than focusing on the tragedy, since those not close to James and Lily would not have done so) was perfect.

Author's Response: Aww yay, thank you! This is the only marauder-era story I've ever written (even if it is AU) so I rather enjoyed touching on a few canon-ish elements as well. Glad you liked it too!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>