Reading Reviews for The Water Goblet
  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by kestral14 The Water Goblet

28th October 2011:
Very interesting. 9/10

Author's Response: Thank you. ^.^ --Jenna

 Report Review

Review #2, by ilharrypotter The Water Goblet

5th April 2011:
Hello there, this is one of your 7 reviews from winning my challenge back in like... September? I'm doubting my sanity and my ability to take a reasonable hiatus. It's been six months at least. Heh.

I absolutely love this, automatically. I love that you didn't make them fall deeply in love in that exact instant and pledge their undying devotion to one another. You made it possible and you made them have a future, and it's wonderful. I absolutely love this one-shot.

Also, the quote fits in /perfectly/. Taylor Swift plus Founders should be a strange combination, but this is amazing.

Really great fic, Jenna!

Author's Response: Admittedly, I had to go back and see which challenge it was. o.o Very long hiatus. But you're back. Yay, welcome back!

Thank you. I really wanted to give a "could happen" feel to it. And keep it period relevant. Oh I agree, when I got Helga as my character, I was really freaked out about how to make Taylor Swift go into a Founders fic. :P Guess I got a good quote for it though. :) Thank you so much for reviewing! --Jenna


 Report Review

Review #3, by Ginny45 The Water Goblet

29th November 2010:
Hi! RandomRed here from the forums with your reivews. Which are rather long overdue.

This is the first Founder's Fic I have read, so I dont have any comparison. Which kind of cuts my review down.

Anyway, I really like how it is the meeting of Helga and Godric. It is really sweet and your description it amazing. My favorite bit has to be, "Her hand raised and extended towards her water goblet; her fingers curled, ready to receive its form."

Which sounds weird but it is just the language you have used, it sounds so simple and different to the way magic is normally described. With all the bangs and amazement.

Aww Helga is so sweet, I think you have her character really well done, in my opinon. She is sweet and shy with having a little bit of female independece. Which you showed well by having her stand up to ger Father and Husband by running away.

I was just about to write,I wish I could tell what the Taylor Swift quote was but it is right above the review box. I can blame the fact I don't have my glasses on though. :D

Well I am off to review more stories :)
9/10
Ginny45/RandomRed xxx

Author's Response: Aww, well I appreciate you coming and reviewing. :D

That means a lot. I really wanted to show magic in a more raw and unexplored way, so I'm glad that it came across as different.

I always imagined Helga to be the kind type. The one with cookies and a smile. Thanks for that.

I loved that quote. :D Thank you so much for reviewing! --Jenna


 Report Review

Review #4, by Silversong The Water Goblet

23rd November 2010:
What happens!!! I love it Jenna sooo good!

Author's Response: Ah, I'm considering writing out a set of short stories about all of the Founders, so you just might find out. ;) Thanks Cassie. ♥ --Jenna

 Report Review

Review #5, by MajiKat The Water Goblet

25th October 2010:
hey hun
here to review and I apologise for taking so long!!
okay I'm typing as I read - I find it easier that way ^_^

From the first sentence, I was sucked in. The tone is perfect for this era - the language use, the pacing. Perfect. The dialogue is also spot-on! well done! I'm really impressed by that aspect of the piece. You have kept the temperance of both characters, that beautiful propriety of the time in perfect check.

this is my favourite line: Godric reached out and rested his fingers underneath the girl's chin. “The dirt does not deserve your gaze.”

-sigh- I am not a romantic, not really, but that...if a man did that to me...wow. amazing. that one line speaks so much of his character.

what i also love about this is you have kept the historical context - not the magical one, but the real history. The class system, the way a woman has no worth...wonderful!

you wanted to know about characterisations? i think they were superb. absolutely lovely and so realistic. Even though you didn't use a lot of descriptive language (didn't overdo it I mean) i could see everything so clearly. perhaps i have just read too much/watched too much set in this time but this really came alive for me.

so yes, overall, this definitely works! it is a brilliant piece and thank you so much for asking me to read it! I am putting this in my favourites.

Kate xx

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Ah, better late than never, eh. Nothing to apologize for. :D

I'm quite the avid studier of Medieval times. Love them. The festivals, the books, the movies, the shows; so I'm glad that this came across as proper. :D Thank you so much for all your wonderful thoughts and the fave!! --Jenna


 Report Review

Review #6, by schoenemaedchen The Water Goblet

20th October 2010:
So, hello there! Schoenemaedchen here from the boards.

You're actually the first person that has requested a true founder fic from me and I just have to say.I LOVED IT. I just want to gush gush gush gush.

Well, I suppose I should first say that I love anything historical like this as it is. I suppose I should have put 2 and 2 together in the first place that Founder's Era would be right up my alley.

Whatever the case, I love everything that you've set up here. Absolutely everything.

The plot, the flow, the characterization...wonderful.

Your attention to detail is impeccable. I'm certainly not an expert at all the Middle Ages terminology, but for me it appears you've done your fair share of research in this case. The etiquette you present is wonderful.

One of your strengths is really the dialogue. I loved the dialogue so much. It was natural, and not once did something "modern" sneak in. Magnificent!

It's exciting to see how you have everyone coming together, Gryffindor, Ravenclaw, Hufflepuff...Looking forward to seeing how you integrate Slytherin in here.

Please, please, please re-request, even if I'm filled up in slots. I definitely can't wait to read your next chapter!!

Take care and happy writing!
-schoenemaedchen

Author's Response: You've awakened the Plot bunnies within!

Okay, thank you for coming by. :D You're review was so kind, left me with one of those cheek hurting smiles. I was terrified taking on a Founders Fic, but about two sentences in I was like "I can do this"! I live for Medieval stuff. The festivals, the books, the costumes, the games, the movies, the role-play! It is sooo fascinating to me and I've been interested in it since I was like 10 (we're talking 15 years) so it almost felt easier than I expected. :D

Still, it was terryifying, that whole "trying a new thing/what will they think/am I butchering this" feeling. *shiver* I spent quite a bit of time researching where they were all from, which was way too much considering I barely mentioned "from the North" and "to the East" a few times. LOL.

*happy dance* I was worried that the dialogue would be too much. That I would lose people in trying to get it right. I feared the modern speak but still wanted it to make 100% sense to people who don't enjoy Medieval stuff.

And here, you've unleashed the Plot Bunnies! I'm so tempted to create a short story to go along with this now. Show how Gryffindor met Slytherin and Ravenclaw. Show how Slytherin would have gotten on with Helga. :D If I ever do, then I know exactly where to take it for feedback!

Thank you so much for a wonderful review. :D --Jenna


 Report Review

Review #7, by Kayla Lay The Water Goblet

16th October 2010:
oh. my. god. I LOVED IT!! i love the way you characterized godric :) great ussage of the quote and amazing job with the setting and era. seriously amazing!!

10/10

-Kayla

Author's Response: *blushes* Thank you so much! Your challenge was just what it took to get me to take a chance and try something like this. Thanks for making it! :D --Jenna

 Report Review

Review #8, by Danceinggirl109 The Water Goblet

16th October 2010:
The characterization of both Helga and Godric were great. I love how you made them similar to the houses of Hufflepuff and Gryffindor. I'm not sure if you planned it that way but Helga is so sweet and kind just like a Hufflepuff and Godric is brave and ready to save her when she needs it. The story does seem realistic in an almost fairytale like way. I wishethat this story wasn't just a one-shot because there is so much more that could happen. You could possibly turn it into a short story or novella because there is so much more that you could write about. Fantastic story and keep on writing because you are amazing :D

~Danceinggirl109

Author's Response: Thank you so much!! I did try to give them House traits, so I'm glad that it came across the way I hoped. I have thought about this possibly becoming a shorty story or a collection, but I don't know how soon it could happen. :D Thank you so much for the review. :D --Jenna

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login