Reading Reviews for Napoleon's Complex
  
110 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Elizajane I.

9th July 2012:
"The 12+ rating isn't about sacrificing any sense of 'reality' or 'drama.' You don't need strong language or scenes of a sexual nature to create a story with depth." Bravo! I whole-heartedly agree!

Author's Response: Aww, thank you so much! It's kinda the pillar on which the story and the challenge was built, so I'm glad you agree. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Cavell XI.

12th March 2012:
I don't quite have any words for this, except for strange. This story was strange in a way, and startling too, but why I really do not know. However, I liked the way you wrote it. Albus and Eugenie were most definitely something else, something different from all the other pairings on this site..and I liked it. I liked how they didn't end in a love story, I liked how everyone thought they should be together and they just weren't, and to be completely and utterly honest with you, I liked it all. This was a really enjoyable read, and I can't quite believe I haven't read it until now. 10/10

Author's Response: Strange is probably a pretty apt word for this, all things considered. I'm glad you liked it, though! I strive to be different from the mainstream (lol that makes me sound super hipster, but I swear I'm not), so that's lovely to hear. I like to think that this is a love story, in its own little way, although it's not at all a romance. I'm so glad to hear all of that, so thank you for stopping by and reviewing and enjoying! (:

 Report Review

Review #3, by Violet Gryfindor XI.

4th December 2011:
It's very suiting that they actually get along best at this point in the story, when it's absolutely certain that nothing is going to happen between them. It's like that "maybe" thing that everyone else expected to happen hung between them all of this time, preventing itself from happening.

So not making sense right now. It's time to get back to my essay.

But first! I'm in awe of the way that you kept up the un-conventionality of this story right until the end. The added touch of them continuing to be "friends", still involved in each other's lives, only adds to the uniqueness of this story and these characters. With all the other failed relationships in this story, you could have gotten away with having Albus and Eugenie drift apart, but in the end, they're like siblings - not really liking one another, but still drawn to one another because there's something they share. What that something is, I don't know.

I'm wondering why Albus told this story, though, and who he's meant to be telling it to. Is it a parable, a fable with a lesson at the end about life and love and all that? A story to show that not all "boy and girl" stories end in true love, and how fake those kind of stories are? I'd like to be something along those lines, but whatever it is for you, it doesn't change my positive admiration of what this story does and how it breaks about all the rules.

Thank you for this story, Gubby. It's fantastic that story like this got you back into writing, and I'm really glad that it did. The quality of your work is always astounding and I look forward to catching up with the rest of your new next-gen fics. ^_^

Author's Response: No, I think it makes sense! Now that any ambiguities are (relatively/comparatively) well defined, they're actually at a pretty good place. Which is exciting, because I think they each deserve the stability and functionality they've wanted but weren't ready for until now.

But eee! You know how I treasure unconventionality when it's possible, so hearing that is just the best thing possible. I like the way you phrased that, btw, "not really liking one another, but still drawn to one another because there's /something/ they share. What that something is, I don't know." I know I've been arguing that very point, but I couldn't pinpoint what that something is, either. At the same time, I'm not sure that it matters -- they choose to be 'together' in that way, so that's the important thing. They're not interested as much in /why/ they're still friends, but they are, and they embrace that, each in their individual ways.

You know, it's funny you ask that question, because I honestly have no idea. Albus knows he has an audience, but I think that's mostly because I knew I had an audience (the size of which I always imagined would be tiiiny if anything). But I think you're right, that it serves the best purpose if it's something along those lines. Not every story is a romance, yet this is its own kind of love story, etc.

Susan, I know it's been forever, and I don't know if you'll see these responses, but I want to thank you for... everything, really. Pretty much everything you do is an inspiration to me, and I know I wouldn't be half the writer I am today without your influence. It's such an honor to have someone like you get invested in something like this, and being able to read your take on it and respond to it is always such a pleasure. I do, however, beg you not to touch most of my other stories, because they are dead and not good and etc. And again, I thank you from the very bottom of my squee-swollen heart. You are such a legend, and I love you, and thank you (:


 Report Review

Review #4, by Violet Gryfindor X.

4th December 2011:
Oh my gosh! I want to scream "no" to the heavens, but you know, Albus deserves it. He's been such an utter idiot through and through. Eugenie's right in that he never understood her. He's loved her, or thinks that he does, he's thought about her, he's been involved in her life, but he doesn't really know her. He still can't get beyond her aura of mystery, still can't anticipate her in the slightest.

Gah! She's a brilliant character. How did you come up with her and develop her in this way? I've never seen an OC quite like her before. Oddly enough, for all her mystery, she seems more canon and real than even Albus. I like to think that I understand her, which is perhaps why Albus is such a frustrating character - he just doesn't get it. ><

Anyway, I'm very much enjoying this story and while I look forward to reading the last chapter to find out how all of this mess resolves itself, I will miss the great reading experience I've had.

Author's Response: -squish- Oh, Susan, your praise makes me want to dissolve into a puddle and never re-solidify. I think I can die happy now. Again, I think it's really interesting that you read Albus as loving her/at least thinking he loves her, because I don't think he did. He tells her, when she asks whether he'd ever had any romantic thoughts about her, “It never… no. I mean, no. It never occurred to me. I’d never do that. I’d never think that. I never have." It doesn't strike me as being about Albus deserving anything in particular, although I think you're right that he doesn't really know her, can't anticipate her, etc. Albus is definitely a frustrating character, but then again, so is she. So that you're so invested in them is so, so gratifying to hear, and that you'll miss this reading experience... that /floors/ me, for real. Thank you, thank you so much.

 Report Review

Review #5, by Violet Gryfindor IX.

4th December 2011:
I don't think I can review this chapter coherently. It's rather brought me to the near-tearing up level of feeling and I think it'd be best to express my love of your writing, your plotting, your characters, and, most of all, your way of putting everyone else to shame.

I mean, even Albus and Eugenie ship themselves, and they can't bring themselves to actually make it happen. It's probably true that they'd make a mess of things. They're too dysfunctional as individuals to make a functional relationship. or are they? That'd be re-entering convention, though, the broken people who find solace in each other sort of plot. How can there be solace for people who simply don't want it?

Amazing amazing work on this story, Gubby. I have way too much emotional investment in it now, but gosh, do I love it. ^_^

Author's Response: OH GOD. (That was not supposed to be in caps but it happened and I won't backspace it because it fits). I just... that... I don't know what to say. I... gah this is unfair. Unfair! -shakes fist at sky-

I would like to make a distinction, though -- Albus doesn't ship himself with Eugenie. Only Eugenie vaguely shipped them at one point. I do think they'd definitely make a mess of things if they were together, but I don't know if they don't want solace. I think they do, at a certain level, but they both know they aren't going to find it in each other. They both indulge in massive amounts of self-pity at times, but they do want to be functional, be in functional relationships, etc. The problem is that they aren't ready for it at this time. Albus definitely thought he was ready. Eugenie doesn't, but that could change.

Aaah emotional investment! That is scary and exciting all at once. :D


 Report Review

Review #6, by Violet Gryfindor VIII.

4th December 2011:
Oh that ending! It's funny because I was just going to ask what had happened to the other people in Albus's life, particularly the family that he manages not to mention at all. But he's playing the unreliable narrator here, I see. :P It's perfect, though, because it only adds to the ways that this story is different from other stories about Albus, or even of the next generation in general. There are always so many cousins leaping over one another in next-gen stories, but here, there's only Albus. And Eugenie.

They're definitely more alike than Albus seemed to think as a teenager at Hogwarts. It's like you're going about the whole "soul mates" thing in an entirely backwards and twisted way, producing the least conventional romance in the history of fanfiction, if not all of romance.

Leave it to Gubby. You're the only one who could actually pull all of this off in a story that's at once darkly emotional and wittily hilarious. Thank you for entering my challenge with such a story as this - it's just brilliant to read! :D

Author's Response: Ah, yes, the unreliable narrator! They frustrate me terribly when I read them, but they fascinate me at the same time. (I remember a review drawing a parallel between this and Gatsby, which is apt, because Nick is one of the unreliable narrators I most despise/am intrigued by). As I think I've said before, the very narrow focus is partly because it is the story of Albus and Eugenie, and also because I was on a deadline and really, really wanted to finish, and thus couldn't afford a lot of the sideplots very much.

I do like the idea of producing the least conventional romance in fanfiction, even if I think I fell faaar short of that :P Perhaps one of the more nuanced love stories in the multitudes of fics probably just like this one? But thank you -- that you see so much potential in just this little thing is truly mindboggling, and I can say variations of that phrase in every response and I will never stop because it's so true~ So thank you for the incredible challenge, without which this would never have come to fruition, and for reading and reviewing, which nuances my understanding of my own story and that makes me happy. :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by Violet Gryfindor VII.

4th December 2011:
What are you trying to do to your readers? Kill them with feelings? There are far too many feelings in this chapter. A dead cat will always rip my heart to shreds, and I can entirely sympathize with Eugenie's odd state of denial and demands for justice. Like Albus said, the cat was her only real friend (apart from Albus? Does he count? I suppose it depends on your definition of "friend"), so once he's gone, what does she have? Nothing left to tie her down, making her existence more fluid than before.

And Albus acts like an utter poop. Like really, what is he doing here? Why must he be so cruel? It was perfect, though, in how you foreshadowed his reaction to Eugenie's "use" of him with Rose's use of Scorpius all those years ago - he hated Rose for it, and now he hates Eugenie for it. He still doesn't understand her. She's different from Rose, or at least I like to think that she is. She goes to Albus when she needs help - he's the only one she's got for support.

Then again, he says that he rejects her and hates her and then he still goes to "investigate". He could have said no if he really wanted to escape her, but he won't because he can't. They're too much alike to entirely go different ways.

This story is insane, just like its two main characters. I can't even think about stopping reading now - my poor essay must suffer and wait some more while I continue on. This story is a cruel, but wonderful addiction, Gubby.

Author's Response: This chapter actually has the least reviews, if I'm not mistaken (-checked- and I'm not!)! Which is a shame, because it's still one of my favorites, because of the feelings ;A; I like that analysis, too: once he's gone, what does she have? Nothing left to tie her down, making her existence more fluid than before' -- I think it's true, and I also think that an even more amorphous existence is really scary for her. I've never thought that she wants a life without anything to give it shape or structure. She does want stability, but she doesn't want it to be hard, even though she's built so much of her life off of it having been very difficult for her. If that makes sense /late-nightrambling

Baww, I don't think Albus is being an 'utter poop'! I get why you do, though, but I think it's more him trying out a tough love policy for her. He does understand that she's mourning, and he respects it, but there's a limit, even for mourning a cat. I do think she's different than Rose, because I think Rose was sneakier and more scheme-y. Eugenie can be like that, but she isn't always. There isn't constantly an agenda with her, and we've seen moments of levity with her and Albus, and he does support her, in his way.

This may be my memory failing me, but when does he say he hates her? Where's the bit about rejecting her? He does go, in the end, because he wants to comfort her. Again, it's in his new tough-love-ish way, because he's still tired of indulging her whims (and certainly going to the Hit Wizards to investigate the death of a cat is a pretty crazy whim), but he still goes. It's not about wanting to escape from her, because he really doesn't want to, and it's not that he couldn't if he did want to. They frustrate each other, but there's also something in their association that makes it worth that. Moments like these, I think, were the ones I had in mind when talking about the latter condition. She wants help, he gives it to her. And, with Philip's presence too, it works. It's almost cathartic, because Eugenie gets honest with herself with Philip there to mediate. Albus would never explode at her for being upset about Napoleon's death, because he gets what that is at its most basic level, but what she's doing is still kinda ridiculous. So basically: it's not about not being capable of escaping. He does not want to. He does not think he needs to. He is still there for her when it counts.

Ahem! You'll have to forgive my ranting, because you know by now I am /extraordinary/ at that, but still. Thank you so much, for honoring me with the time devoted to procrastination and for such wonderful reviews and analyses! They make me so happy, really they do.


 Report Review

Review #8, by Violet Gryfindor VI.

4th December 2011:
Wow! This chapter! How you managed all of these things within the 12+ range is phenomenal because there's so much intensity here, so much potential violence and things that lesser authors would have shamelessly exploited, but you don't need to. The feelings are still here, and they're very powerful, if not more so than in a more explicit version.

I don't know what to think about Albus's reaction to the events. I don't agree with him and how he handled them in the aftermath because the Daniel guy seems like quite a stalker-y sort of fellow, infatuated with Eugenie for some ungodly reason. Maybe it's because of Albus's point of view that I can't see how Daniel would have become infatuated with her. Albus feels a connection with her, but it's tenuous, almost absent at times, and that's what keeps bringing Eugenie back to him, I think - he encapsulates it all in those last two paragraphs.

This story is amazing! The way that you're developing the plot and characters has me glued to the screen. Once again, a story of yours has me in awe of your mad talents. ^_^

Author's Response: ... Somehow I thought I'd responded to all of these reviews. Evidently I haven't, and I do so little on the archives nowadays that I didn't realize this until four months after you posted this. So... :3

I remember being a bit iffy about this chapter, because it's kind of the crux of the whole "12+ fics can have depth too!!1!!11" thing. Here was the depth that would have lent itself well to language or violence. I do have my issues with a dirty mouth, clearly, but I've never been good at choreographing violence, so it was kind of a relief to not have to do that here, hehe. I'm so, so glad that the feelings were there, though, because without those, where would it be?

Looking back on it all, I'm not sure that I agree with Albus' reaction, either, but I think I understand it. Albus hasn't met Daniel, and he never does and all he knows is what Eugenie's told him about this not-fiance, and -- something he knows much more about -- Eugenie herself. From what she told Albus, he just sounds like an ordinary guy falling for a not-ordinary girl and suffers for it. It doesn't really matter what Daniel could have seen in her, but Albus still trusted Daniel's testimony over Eugenie's because he knows what she is like when it comes to emotional matters. She does not deal well with them, she runs away, leaving everything in ashes in her wake. To Albus, it makes sense that someone who had such a strong emotional connection to her would want to see her again after happening by her. It's kind of like he's projecting his own experience onto Daniel.

So when he finds out the truth, his concern isn't primarily about her being stalked (although when she comes to his office, he's clearly distraught at the thought of her being in danger), but rather, that she didn't tell him it was her ex. I don't think his connection to her is really absent, but it's definitely tenuous. And I think it's important to note that they go back to each other; Eugenie could have ignored him once she came back, too, but she didn't. She responded, met with him, and still hangs out with him. It's her choice to be around him just as it's his choice to be around her. But yeah, those last paragraphs say everything, except anything about love. He isn't in love with her (which I think is something a lot of readers miss: he's saying that all of those things are true even without having to be in love. So yeah.)

Ergh seeing your praise on my page always makes me want to crawl into a ball of warmth and joy and confusion. It's incredible, you're incredible, thank you thank you etc. (:


 Report Review

Review #9, by Violet Gryfindor V.

4th December 2011:
It's really interesting to see that, even after all the years he's known her, Albus still can't "read" Genie, her emotions, her words, anything. She remains an enigma to him, and perhaps that's why he doesn't want her to forget him like he did his last girlfriend - he wants to be something to her because she means quite a bit to him. Of course he'd never admit how much she means to him, especially not to her, but it's there in his narrative - he reveals a lot about himself and his feelings, which makes for a perfect use of the first person on your part.

Another stunning chapter, Gubby! I like this story more and more with each chapter because it's not just a cute humourous love story, but rather one with a lot more depth. There's something intensely sad about Albus's narration in this chapter; he's all nostalgic and lost, existing, but not living. Even Genie's a little different, sharper, more bitter in her responses. Albus better tread carefully if he doesn't want her to forget him completely.

Another fantastic chapter, Gubby! This story isn't what I imagined it would be - it's better. I think I'm addicted now. ^_^

Author's Response: You're right, she is an enigma. And I quite like that analysis: 'he wants to be something to her because she means quite a bit to him.' It's something that, although I may not have said it explicitly (... I honestly don't remember whether I did), it's something that runs through the whole story. No one wants to be forgotten, of course, not even Eugenie, and when an association can be as unequal as this one, of course Albus wants his association with her to be worth more than effort that will not be reciprocated. Again, to be honest, I don't remember why I wrote this in first person, but I can't imagine it having gone in any other way.

'Cute humourous love story' is something I've tried. A lot. And almost every time, with every story of any one-shot-plus length, the story devolves into something a bit more... I would like to say unsettling, but that implies something explicitly horrific, which isn't true. But this story probably is the shining example of all of my more recent ones because I did set out to create something with more depth than the 12+ rating implies. It's interesting that you think Albus is existing instead of living, though. I know I've been making the case for he and Eugenie's association having very strong positive slants in these responses to you, but I'll play devil's advocate and say that Eugenie is not his /whole/ life. He has other friends, other concerns, that don't involve Eugenie. In a way, his association with her was put to the backburner the same way she seems to have done to him while in France. He's changed, and though he wants to make sure their association doesn't go to waste, he doesn't want to have to deal with her the same way he's had to before; he wants to be mature about it, I guess you could say, and get answers from her. Which does tie in with what you said about Eugenie herself -- she is sharper and a bit more bitter, so of course, they're in for a crash course of tension~ and etc (not necessarily of the unresolved sexual type, I should say).

Woohoo for addicting stories! And you reading mine. ^___^


 Report Review

Review #10, by Violet Gryfindor IV.

4th December 2011:
OH MY GOSH, THOSE TWO!

They're just so... ARG. There's no word to describe how frustrating they are. Genie is vague and mysterious and Albus just doesn't understand, or rather he tries to, and fails miserably. I probably should have felt sorry for him, but by the time the end of the chapter came, and he still tries to ask her to be his date, the real issue for him in all of the conversation, I just wanted to knock some sense into him.

But either way, the conversation was absolutely brilliant. How you made it work, I don't know, but the cleverness factor was very, very high. The realism factor is even higher.

Oh Gubby, why must you be such an amazing writer like this? It's really not fair that you are and that everyone on this site is reading you all the time. I'm mightily enjoying this story - if I had actually managed to get the energy to do anything about that 12+ challenge of mine, this story would most certainly have been the winner. ^_^

Author's Response: LOLOLOL I'm sorry, you have no idea how much vindictive glee I get from making you of all people go into frustration capslock. It's like watching JKR tear up at fanfic or something: very strange, but lots of /muahahaha I did this to YOU of all people/ pride. /tangent

Although to be honest, this was one of my favorite chapters because it's less about Genie being ~mysterious~ and Albus failing to understand her and more about how this is an association -- a friendship, if you will -- that does work on some level. Because Eugenie's issue is not the question of being his date (which she does agree to, I hasten to add); she just wants to share this incredible news with him, and sees an opportunity to do it with this invitation. As such, I wouldn't feel sorry for Albus; he isn't asking her to be his date out of any latent romantic feeling, but out of a real feeling of friendship, of knowing what her dream has always been and out of the positive strength of their friendship. And she, in her quiet way, accepts that, and reciprocates that real sense of friendship. But yeah, this conversation is one of my favorites of the fic, and yay for cleverness and realism! ^___^

But shh, let's not try to inflate my absurd ego anymore with such gross falsities. However -- /EEE/. I always wondered what happened to that challenge, but a;wjerltdwohrkd I can't believe it. Thank you from the bottom of my heart; I can't tell you how much that means to me.


 Report Review

Review #11, by Violet Gryfindor III.

4th December 2011:
The way that you're developing your characters and their complicated interrelationships is entirely unconventional for next gens, at least the ones I've read, and thus I entirely love what you've done here. Rose and Scorpius are together and over within a few paragraphs! Genie and Albus approve of each others' choices! These things don't happen in next generation stories - there's some unwritten rule about it in fanon, a rule that I've never actually seen, but people tell me it exists. :P

Your version is much, much better. More realistic because the characters are so human and irrational in their behaviour. Albus has the added bonus of being hilariously adorable with his cluelessness - What would she need him for? - and obvious attraction to Genie - I would have kissed her cheek, but Eugenie was towering over her. It felt awkward. .

It's a fun story to read! Hopefully I'll be able to catch up on it and your newer next-gen stories soon! ^_^

Author's Response: Although I do say that I never get to read anymore, I do like to keep myself abreast (... please forgive me for using that word, I swear I'm not like this usually) of trends in plot and characterization in fanfic. Mostly so I can tear them apart in my own fanfic, but also because I'm genuinely fascinated by what draws people in and what keeps them hooked. I'm still incredibly grateful that, even though I like to think I bucked trend with this fic, people found their way to it (and continue to find their way to it, every now and then) and seem to at least have an opinion about it, which is more than I ever hoped for. But actually, the things you've pointed out were written that way less to buck trend than to get to the point. If this hadn't been for a challenge with a deadline I actually wanted to stick to, I would have taken much more time developing the Scorpius/Rose and other B-plots. You know, this was supposed to be a monster one-shot instead of a short story, so I didn't want to waste too much time on things that did not strictly involve Albus and Eugenie. I agree, though: fanon is a funny thing, the way everyone seems to know what constitutes it :P But yeah, if I hadn't had a length and time limit I was consciously sticking to, I probably would have fallen into the same tropes so many others do all the time.

But, to be frank, I wouldn't have it any other way. These quick snapshots into such large chunks of time (two years every chapter) were difficult to balance -- how much is exposition, how much reflection, how much action, etc -- but I'm so glad that this structure with these plot points worked out the way they did. Although, as usual, I will qualify what you term Albus' 'obvious attraction to Genie' by saying it isn't really a romantic attraction at all, it's just him being very aware of Eugenie's issues about love and relationships. There's something almost tense about their interaction sometimes, especially when they've just had such a conversation, so Albus doesn't feel this is the time to engage Eugenie more.

Oh lordy, please stay away from the newer next-gen stories. Whenever I hear that you're interested in what I'm doing or that you're reading something of mine, I quake a little in my boots and bury my face in my hands, because inevitably I know I'm about to die of embarrassment because /I am not worthy/. But you have no idea how glad I am that you read things I write at all, so, as always thank you so much.


 Report Review

Review #12, by Violet Gryfindor II.

24th October 2011:
Oh my gosh, Gubby, what a chapter! I can't stop giggling over the immense silliness of it. Albus is hilarious. He takes a whole chapter to discuss storytelling, show how bad he and his friends are at it, then return again to restate his argument as though he'd written a grand thesis. However, he did "save" the story from its ridiculous plot hole, very creatively too - have to give him kudos for that. His introductory paragraph was genius - after seeing so many Albus/OCs around, that paragraph made me cheer. So much truth there.

The fairy tale, though rather on the fail side of things, did say a lot about the characters, revealing their personalities based on what contributions they made - it's a wonderfully subtle method of characterization.

I'm so behind on this story, and I'm sorry about that. Been meaning to finish reading this for ages, but now I will do it! It's a fabulous story - the humour is fantastic and just what I need right now. You = insanely amazing writer. ^_^

Author's Response: Aaah, so sorry for the response delay, Susan! But we both know I've never been good with this, so I hope you can forgive me and I'll get to the actual response now:

I'm actually relieved that someone found Albus hilarious; as I remember it, everyone seems to comment more on how hypocritical he is than on how inherently ridiculous he is. He takes himself very seriously, I think we can agree. And he would be flattered that you actually concur with his self-appointed Most Creative title. As I said in another response a long time ago, I almost wish I waited to spring that first paragraph later in the story, because to me nowadays, it reads pretty abruptly, but I haven't changed my opinion on it. And please, don't apologize! Again, we all know what I'm like with keeping up with things and reviewing them as well, but I'm so excited to see you around these parts, and also look forward to shaking my head affectionately at you for spouting such sweet but undeserved nonsense :P Thank you so much for stopping by, as always (:


 Report Review

Review #13, by Celestie XI.

8th September 2011:
So, I finally finished it and stuff (in one sitting, no less; I've got a vague suspicion it was meant to be read in one sitting), so I feel like someone somewhere owes me a cookie because this is the third WIP I can effectively cross off my reading list.

Okay, thoughts: Albus sounded really mature even during his teenage time, but you've said that this was a retrospective look backwards. For some reason, I don't always prefer a mature retelling of a teenage time and still like the idiocy and immaturity to peek through, but Eugenie and Albus do sound older than their age from when they meet to when they graduate.

I really disliked Eugenie. I know Al said that he disliked telling pointless stories, but she felt like a pointless element of his story. Not that that's anything against your stellar characterization or your lovely writing, but I felt like Eugenie served no purpose in his life. He himself attempted to define why they still had an association and kind of flailed all over an explanation. But I didn't like Eugenie. And through the story, I hoped they wouldn't get together (or even remotely so, really), because she was too aimless for him. There was some kind of void there that Albus couldn't fill even if he tried - which of course, he didn't. Eugenie was too pretentious (without really trying to be)for my taste. She was too all over the place, too unfettered to care. She seemed to have reasons for everything she did and that probably annoyed me more than anything about her.

Not to say that Albus wasn't annoying in his own way. He was...an irksome narrator at times. It felt like he was angling towards something even if he was trying hard not to. For all his rambling about how unattached Eugenie was, he barely cared enough to really try to make anything happen between them. In the end, it's for the best. I honestly don't believe they would've made each other happy. They deserve each other in a way, but they wouldn't've been happy.

Lovely story, Gubby. Really. There were a lot of things - and characterizations - that I would've liked to see more explored, if only because I'm that weird kind of hungry reader. But this story was oddly complete in a way. The concept itself - a story of two people who barely liked each other - was brilliant. I adored it; I don't think it's really been done before. Their relationship seems aimless and it is, in some sense of the word, but it's there for a reason. I don't think I've ever disliked any OC as much as I disliked Eugenie, but that is a testament to the strength of your writing. I kept reading even though I didn't like Eugenie, didn't particularly care for Albus or even really the idea of a them together.

This was so refreshing to read. A story that isn't about love but dances around the borders, refusing to look in.

Author's Response: You and I have discussed this already, but yes, precocious characters pop up more than once in my stuff. At the same time, I don't want to underestimate these characters just because they are a bit young; I would rather they be a bit precocious-sounding than totally idiotic, which is much more grating to me. I do, however, think that the point of II. was that there /is/ idiocy and immaturity in these characters.

You're not the first to say you hate Eugenie. But allow me to quote from VIII. as to that 'pointless element' point: "The story of Eugenie and I is not the story of Eugenie and the story of myself." They /do/ maintain a presence in each other's lives, therefore there is a point. From the standpoint of a reader, I wouldn't disagree that Eugenie 'served no purpose' in his life, but Albus as a person wouldn't think that. Yes, he kind of flailed over explaining why they're still together (in whatever sense of together they are), but who says there has to be a point to being with people? I think what a lot of people who've made this sort of point forget is that the episodes narrated in this fic do /not/ make up the entirety of Albus and Eugenie's twenty-some years of knowing each other. There are things that Albus acknowledges (and I acknowledge) have not been shared. We don'€t have their respective life stories, nor are we meant to. This isn'€t Albus'€ story, as you deemed it -€ again, I go to that quote from the end of VIII and say that this is supposed to be the (admittedly incomplete) story of their association. Now, it'€s up to the reader to decide if there'€s a point to a story, which you obviously have, but I tend to disagree with the people who think that they are both hateful people who deserve each other. I do think they deserve each other, but not because they'€re both awful people who deserve lifelong misery. There was a deep-rooted distrust between them both, but there was an even more deeply-rooted affection which accounts for the perpetuation of the association. Of, more precisely and truthfully, I think, the /friendship/.

The '€aimless'€ thing you mentioned seems to contradict what you said about Eugenie '€having a reason for everything she did'€. I agree that she was pretentious and agree that there is a void in her that Albus cannot fill. Not that he hasn’t tried - which is where the bit about him 'not trying hard enough'€ gets me. He has done all he thinks he can to maintain his association with Eugenie. Of course he cares about her; if he didn’t, he would stop trying to be part of her life. He wouldn’t have confronted her about Philip’s impending proposal if he didn’t care about her well-being and his Auror partner’s. But, and this is something I think a good segment of readers do not understand, /Albus is not in love with Eugenie/. He tells her this definitively in X: he’s never had one romantic thought regarding her. He is not heartbroken that she’s said yes to Philip; he’s only nervous because of the repercussions of the refusal he thinks is imminent. Why would he try to push himself on her romantically if the thought of being in love with her never even occurred to him? What could he have tried to make happen between them?

I don’t think the relationship is aimless just because it has little conventional forward motion. There's nowhere to reach (besides perhaps a much more healthy place), there’s nowhere to go. It is what it is. It’s not equilibrium and it's not chaos.

It may sound like I'm being super argumentative and/or defensive in this response, but I promise you I'm not trying to sound that way. I really did appreciate this review and your ideas, Celeste. They really helped me figure out some things I'd been thinking of for awhile. Thank you, dear, as always.


 Report Review

Review #14, by Loony_Scorpy XI.

30th August 2011:
So I quite liked this story, very different to what I usually read though! I really liked your final sentence, how it was the repeat of earlier lines (kind of) and it summed it up so well! I love how you write, it so different to what I usually read yet soo good! :D

Author's Response: It's always nice to step a bit out of one's comfort zone, isn't it? And I'm glad you liked the final sentence; it took a lot of verbal finagling to get it to work. I'm so happy that this particular step out of your comfort zone was a good one, and thanks so much for reviewing :D

 Report Review

Review #15, by mugglemania XI.

11th March 2011:
Really great story!!! I love the ending. I did forget it was only 12+ because it was so good.
Amazing job!!!
10/10
~mugglemania

Author's Response: Two things I wanted to do with this fic were to not get flamed for the ending and for the readers to forget, as I did, that this was an utterly 12+ story. Thanks so much for this review and for stopping by!

 Report Review

Review #16, by Cookies & milk XI.

8th March 2011:
I really liked the unexpected ending and repetition of some of the characters quotes, this is a really good story

Author's Response: Wow, thank you very much! Glad you enjoyed it. :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by ericajen XI.

7th March 2011:
Okay. The end. I am here. I guess I do like/understand/accept the way it ended. You did warn that Eugenie and Albus were not made for each other :P It would have been nice, but perhaps unrealistic and a little too fanciful for the actual story. So I like/understand/accept the ending. Because you are too good to deny.

EXIT REVIEW LLAMA.

Author's Response: Here you are indeed. And so quickly, too. I am relieved that you accept this ending -- I knew it wouldn't gel well with some readers, but I look at that "not made for each other" line a different way. I don't entirely believe in that doctrine, I guess you could call it. I think love is based largely on the situational, and you can be in love or love someone without being made for them. So in my view, and in that of the story's characters, there was a chance that they may have been together. But you're right, I think: that would have been nice, but it wouldn't have suited them.

Review llama, you actually sort of made my month, so thank you. This blitz of reviews was totally unexpected and brought a huge smile to my face. Thank you. *hug*


 Report Review

Review #18, by ericajen X.

7th March 2011:
WHAT. GUBBY WHY DO YOU DO THIS TO ME? I SHIP ALBUS/EUGENIE. I DON'T LIKE THIS. YOU ARE EVIL. BUT STILL AMAZING.

And. And. And. I don't know what else. I have to read the last chapter before I explode.

Author's Response: If it helps, it wasn't just you I did this to? A whole host of readers has gone through this too. Not to mention the actual Albus and Eugenie. Not that there is an actual Albus or Eugenie, since they are fictional characters. But eeevil is my favorite thing ever.

Preventing spontaneous combustion is always a good thing. I think so, anyway.


 Report Review

Review #19, by ericajen IX.

7th March 2011:
NOOO. COME BACK, ALBUS. COME BACK.

Still, though. Two chapters left. I'm waiting for the moment. The Albus-Eugenie moment that shall change the world (or at least this story). But maybe this world. Maybe.

Moving on.

Author's Response: Teehee, this reaction. Exactly what I like to see. So, eee, thank you for reviewing. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #20, by ericajen VIII.

7th March 2011:
It's hard to think of things to say because I really just want to go on to the next chapter and read more because this story really has me hooked. It's so nice and pretty and good.

Three chapters left. Looking forward to them. :D

Author's Response: Haha, I feel the same way a lot of the time! Which explains why I have issues reviewing. *hides* But I'm glad you like it so much anyway, and especially flattered that you take the time to review anyway :)

 Report Review

Review #21, by ericajen VII.

7th March 2011:
Poor Napoleon. Kind of. I mean, he was mildly evil. To Albus at least. But I do feel bad. For Eugenie. Because losing pets is sad. Very, very sad. These sentences are really awkwardly short (except this one).

Rawr.

Author's Response: I love love love Napoleon (cat and dictator). He (cat) is the reason a new version came into being in the first place, since I felt bad about shutting him out for the rest of the fic. Eugenie also deserves your pity, at least now. Awkward sentences are awkward. But when you break them up with longer ones, they aren't so bad.

Ahem.


 Report Review

Review #22, by ericajen VI.

7th March 2011:
Aww. Hmm. What to say. Well it WAS a pretty eventful chapter, what with Daniel and all. And poor Albus, who I think is quite right about Eugenie.

I HAVE NOTHING ELSE TO SAY. GOING ON TO NEXT CHAPTER.

Author's Response: I'm actually quite relieved that you agree with Albus. I was always worried that his characterization of her would seem incompatible with her earlier portrayal. But the potential was always there, I think. And events! Plot! LE GASP. It cannot be happening! Or... maybe it is. ;)

 Report Review

Review #23, by ericajen V.

7th March 2011:
WELL OBVS SHE DOESN'T WANT TO MARRY HIM BECAUSE SHE'S IN LOVE WITH ALBUS, DUH. OKAY. MAYBE SHE DOESN'T REALIZE THAT YET. BUT I'M EXPECTING AN EPIPHANY AT SOME POINT.

That's probably enough capslock for one review. Have I mentioned that I love this story?

Author's Response: I won't say what happens, but I assure you, epiphanies are essential. Always. :)

THERE IS NEVER ENOUGH CAPSLOCK IN A REVIEW. OR A RESPONSE.

*love*


 Report Review

Review #24, by ericajen IV.

7th March 2011:
OOH. FRANCE. THINGS CAN HAPPEN IN FRANCE. THINGS ALWAYS HAPPEN IN FRANCE. I DON'T KNOW WHAT I'M TALKING ABOUT BUT THAT'S OKAY.

I adore this story, Gubby. Honest. It's just so perfect and lovely. Also: Scorpius. Enough said.

Author's Response: NO, IT'S TRUE. Something always happens in France. In fanfic (my own included), "going to France" is a euphemism for "experiencing a life-changing event" or something. But eee, I'm so so so happy! I don't know if it will continue to be lovely, but hurray hurray! Sadly, no more Scorpius, but I'm glad he made an impression on you anyway!

 Report Review

Review #25, by ericajen III.

7th March 2011:
Aw, I'd pick Scorpius over Rose in that situation, too. Of course, that has more to do with Scorpius being supahot than anything :P Another great chapter that makes me jealous of you and your skills. Rawr.

Author's Response: I would, too, actually. The entire situation is just so awful for everyone involved, I think, even Rose, who would say otherwise. I actually don't think this Scorpius is supahot or anything. Ambitious, driven, and... ugh, I can't help it. He's probably intellectually hot. But I'm glad, as always, that you're enjoying it all :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>