Reading Reviews for Surfacing
  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by DumbledoresArmyOfOne There is only the Rain

19th July 2012:
This is so beautiful. I love all of the imagery, with the rain and the copper.this is truly exquisite and I love how much you were able to say in so few words.
The story has wonderful flow and artistry, and you set the scene so well it was likei was there.
Breathtaking.
~Gill

 Report Review

Review #2, by charlottetrips There is only the Rain

4th May 2011:
Beautiful. Utterly beautiful. I love your writing. I'm going to gush right now so hang on.

The words you string together are perfect and align with the story and take it from being a matter-of-fact recitation of what could have been and uplifts it into a tale, one that needs to be heard and experienced.

I was so happy that there was a sequel to "Solace" because it ended so tragically. This leaves room for happy endings.

Thank you.

x Char

Author's Response: goodness char, what a lovely review. thank you so much. i am really pleased you enjoyed it and thank you for all the lovely comments - i am kind of blushing right now!!

it does leave space for a happier ending.

Kate xx


 Report Review

Review #3, by The Empress There is only the Rain

5th January 2011:
I adore Ted/Rose, and the possibilities of their story coupled with your exquisite talent has created yet another story I will read again and again. Each time I read it anew I will see something new, something else to love about it. There is such depth to your style and a simple beauty I cannot even describe. If only I could so effortlessly display such extraordinary talent!

I have, of course, added this to my list of favourites. And I wish I had something coherent to say, but I am literally speechless after reading this. I love it. Love, love, love it.

xoxo
Shiloh

Author's Response: SHILOH!!!
xx

thank you darling - you are way too kind. so much flattery!! i am really pleased you enjoyed this and that it worked - teddy was a little hard to pin down in this. he is nowhere near as easy to write as Rose in her heartbreak and drama, lol.

thanks again love!
xx
Kate


 Report Review

Review #4, by Novadestin There is only the Rain

26th December 2010:
Ok, so it took me a bit longer to read this then I thought hehe but no worries I just got done and greatly enjoyed it. I think it's a wonderful continuation of Solace. I especially like how kissing Rose makes Teddy feel like he is surfacing; so many people do it the other way around but I much prefer your way :)

I feel bad for Teddy having to go through all that, its such a hard place to be in, but I think you did a great job conveying the feelings that go along with it. On both sides too, for Rose and Teddy. This fic is oozing with drama and yet one doesn't even really notice it until they pull back a little and look at things as a whole. That's the way drama should be, subtle, building just even to move things forward but not enough for you to notice it weaving a web.

Nice work hun!

Author's Response: oh thank you! i was worried about that - the usual metaphor focuses on drowning, esp in a situation like this, but i didn't like that. i needed this to be mildly positive, considering he was leaving one woman for another. i am pleased that it worked!!

wow thank you. what a lovely compliment!! I am really pleased you liked this!!

xx


 Report Review

Review #5, by slytherinchica08 There is only the Rain

25th October 2010:
very well written. the narritive was very good and remained the same perspective throughout the whole one shot. im sure reading the other story before this one would have helped me understand this one a little better but reading it alone didnt have me completely lost. altogether it was a good read and i liked the ending. great job

~Slytherinchica08~

Author's Response: thank you and I'm pleased you liked it!
xx


 Report Review

Review #6, by SeverusLove There is only the Rain

19th October 2010:
MajiKat,

I am so late and I am so sorry. :( I got addicted to Potters World and couldn't tear my eyes away. =_=" I have to warn you though, I am not very good at reviewing this sort of stories specifically, Next Gen ones, but I'll try. I'll be honest with you, I hate to break it to you but... ... ... ... ... ... ... ...this is the first Fanfic I've read that's Teddy/Someone as the Main Pairing and... ... ...I absolutely love it! :D It was ah-mazing, you never fail to fantabuloustic me (if there ever is such a word). I've never really thought about Teddy/Rose as a pairing, I thought he's always been destined for Victoire but after reading this, I have come to consider Teddy/Rose and find them an unusual but possible pairing. And it's not so bad after all. :) But I still like Teddy/Victoire and Rose/Scorpius better. :) Oh, and I think the flow was very good. I don't see anything wrong with the characterization and your spelling has only one slip-up I could spot.

lightening streaks across the heavens, --I think it's 'lightning' and not 'lightening' but I'm only 85% sure.

Ever thought of submitting all your one-shots for the TWH in the Gryffie Common Room? I think it would be awesome! ;) *hinthint*

Best Wishes,
Sevvy

P.S. Once again, you're very welcome to request another review. :) :^^:

Author's Response: goodness hun, you're not late!
thank you SO much for such a wonderful review! I really appreciate you taking the time to read this and I am so pleased you enjoyed it!
I first came across teddy/rose through Violet Gryfindor - I highly recommend you check out her teddy/rose fics (or any of her fics really ^_^). I quite enjoy this pairing!

ugh i always spell that wrong! thank you for finding it - I shall have to fix that up!

TWH? I'm not sure what that is, lol, but I might have to find out (I think I'm in Slytherin though...)

thanks again hun!!
I shall drop you another to read very soon!!

Kate xx


 Report Review

Review #7, by Danceinggirl109 There is only the Rain

16th October 2010:
Wow. This and Solace are both so poetic and meaningful. They are both amazing. The flow and charcterization are great. Amazing amazing amazing. I can't describe it any other way. I love it and I encourage you to keep writing because you are fantastic. Thank you for sharing this with me. :)

~Danceinggirl109

Author's Response: thanks so much hun! i really appreciate it and im glad you enjoyed this and wow, thank you. you've made me blush ^_^

thank you for reading and reviewing!!
Maji xx


 Report Review

Review #8, by Violet Gryfindor There is only the Rain

13th October 2010:
*sigh* A really big, romantic and satisfied sigh. Wow. It's the kind of story that should be fluffy, but has more depth to it, a darker feel that places the happy ending in danger until something (perfectly low-key in this case) makes that ending actually happen.

The descriptions on this were fantastic. I lost myself in the flow of the words, the impossibly slow fall of the raindrops as they hit the ground to the image of Rose as a princess in her tower. They did reveal a bit about Teddy in the detail of his observations and his uncertainty about his feelings about Rose - how he takes so much time to look at everything was perfect procrastination while he tried to make his decision. The descriptions are also very sensual, which not only suits the romantic atmosphere, but also incredibly draws the reader in.

I could gush some more, but all you need to know is that I really loved this and it makes a fantastic sequel to "Solace". You write the ship amazingly. ^_^

Author's Response: aww Susan. you make me blush!

thank you so much for such a fabulous review - i really appreciate it and i'm very pleased you enjoyed it.

i am happy the imagery was so strong and that Teddy was okay. i was worried i was going a little overboard with his procrastinating and pondering, so i'm pleased that wasn't the case.

thank you thank you thank you! i really love this ship and i have thought about writing a longer rose/teddy but i don't think i can - it deserves short bursts of angst really, which is hard to sustain over something longer. but i don't know - i really want to write one so i might find some way around it.

thank you!
xx


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login