Reading Reviews for Memento
  
49 Reviews Found

Review #1, by KatsClarinet VII

15th August 2014:
I really enjoyed this story. It was definitely one of the most unique astoria/draco combos that I've ever read. I think it was so good though, because Draco seemed to be really in character. Very, very good job.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Sharvi VII

10th September 2013:
That was such a perfect ending! They can get to know each other over again and be together. I'm going to believe that her short term memory comes back eventually- maybe after Scorpius is born. I especially like the last line- "In his pocket, his fingers brushed against a small box. An engagement ring. For someone else. "

Maybe it's the for someone else part? I don't know. I like beautiful words and sentences and the ending was simply beautiful. Thank you so much for writing this lovely story! =)

Author's Response: Awh, thank you so much! It's a bit corny, but I felt I had resolve the story with at least some degree of satisfaction for the three people reading it.

Thanks for your reviews, I'm really happy you liked the story! ♥


 Report Review

Review #3, by Sharvi VI

10th September 2013:
... that was intense! Of course Draco found it difficult to accept her obliviating her- any sane person would and I wonder why Astoria did the things she did in school. I suppose we'll find out with time right? Another great chapter =)

Author's Response: Intense indeed! Ah, yes - all will be revealed in the final chapter! (Denouement! Plot twists! Quirky bookshop Draco!)



 Report Review

Review #4, by Sharvi V

10th September 2013:
Haha, trust Draco to gush and be made fun of! I loved that scene! Knees? Quirky much Malfoy? But still lovely chapter, it brought a smile to my face =)

Author's Response: 'Quirky much Malfoy?' has got to be the phrase of the day.

Glad you liked it! ♥


 Report Review

Review #5, by Sharvi IV

10th September 2013:
Astoria is a strange character, but I love it so much! She's revealing more about herself and Draco has no idea what to do! Though I do wonder why Astoria was disowned... Well great chapter =)

Author's Response: All will be revealed in due course...!



 Report Review

Review #6, by Sharvi III

10th September 2013:
Ha! Yes a conversation! And a visit home! And sleeping on the couch! YESS!! Again great chapter and I love the Draco didn't let Astoria know that he loved the book she was mocking. Insecurity can be cute

Author's Response: I sense a Drastoria shipper...

Eee, glad you liked this chapter! ♥


 Report Review

Review #7, by Sharvi II

10th September 2013:
Wow, trouble in the horizon for Pansy and Draco? YES! What was Astoria doing in Diagon Alley at 8 anyway? I really hope that they start talking to each other more now. At least she's gone from Tweed Girl to Astoria which a big step for our Draco =P Great chapter!

Author's Response: Baha - I sense Pansy/Draco might not be your OTP! Can't a girl wander about Diagon Alley at 8 without inviting judgement? *lament*

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #8, by Sharvi I

10th September 2013:
So I've just started this and I already love it! Personally I have a soft spot for quiet love stories and I think Draco and Astoria as characters fit the bill perfectly! Also, why is Pansy STILL with Draco? Or even around? Lol, I never liked her =P Ok, I'll just continue reading now!

Author's Response: Aww, thank you! Ah, I must admit I do have slight angst-driven Pansy/Draco tendencies, but I'll let you in on a secret (that isn't a secret because you've reviewed all of this story): Pansy and Draco don't last very long.

Thanks for reviewing and I'm glad you're liking it so far! ♥


 Report Review

Review #9, by my_voice_rising I

10th January 2013:
I was really excited that you requested a review from me! I've been wanting to read your stories for a long time, but there are so many, and they all look so promising, that I've only just begun Blunderland. :3

Wow, one sentence in and I'm already hooked. Whether done intentionally or not--and I have a sneaking suspicion that it was--I love that you've taken the "love-at-first-sight" cliche and turned it on its head. (You do the same thing in Blunderland so I believe it's true here, too!) The fact that the only reason he even saw her was because her watch glinted, and even then he only saw the back of her head, is brilliant. The mention of her tweed jacket and the musty bookstore is really wonderful and unique imagery.

You tell us so much about Astoria with so little words. The fact that she probably only owns one jacket, that she bought a book solely because of the typeface. Brilliant. The idea of Draco working in a used bookstore is so unique, too, that I had to double-check that he was really the main character in the story description. Really nice.

My only criticism is that Draco seems to go under a strange transformation that isn't really addressed. We see that he's in a repetitive cycle, filled with ennui, but doesn't feel strongly enough about it either way to change anything. So we get the impression that he's become this passive person, willing to give up the mansion and the Ministry job and whatever his father had lined up for him. (Which is not the criticism; I actually love this very unique characterization of him.) But then he suddenly starts forming these opinions about Astoria (like "avoid at all costs," and that her tweed jacket was stupid) that contrast with his indifference to everything else. As I'm writing I'm beginning to think that maybe this was your intention, and if so then I suppose ignore me? It just struck me as a little jarring.

There are also a few punctuation errors, mostly within dialogue, where you write "hi." he said instead of "hi," he said. (A particularly creative example, I know, haha)

Your description of Draco's and Pansy's breath in the air was beautiful, and I loved that he even said "Whatever, Pansy was a better poet." I love their complicated relationship, and that you aren't portraying her as the pug-faced wench that Harry was only capable of seeing. She obviously had some human qualities if somebody could have feelings for her.

This is such an interesting take on the children of Death Eaters, post-war. Your ending was so haunting and desolate. Beautifully written. Adding to my favorites. :)

Author's Response: And I was really excited to /get/ a review from you! hehe.

To tell the truth, I didn't plan this story very thoroughly before writing it. I think I just had this idea of characterising Astoria from the outside in, if you get me - as Draco sees her. It was good fun. Especially seeing how she turns out...

I'm glad you picked up on Draco! He's fiendishly hard to write, so anything you have to say about him in this story would be much appreciated. Yeah, I think you've got an excellent point there - I'll be sure to focus on that when I edit.

(A teeny confession: I do ship Draco/Pansy. Kind of. A little bit. So I could never cast her as that, ahem, 'pug-faced wench', haha!)

Thank you so much for your review! ♥


 Report Review

Review #10, by ericajen VII

9th April 2012:
Baww, it was a happy ending. I mean, full of crazy drama and lying and deception and Draco almost marrying that Cathy girl, but you know, happy in the very last sentences. I'm glad you decided to satisfy the Drastoria shippers. I mean, who would ship Draco/Cathy really? Draco and Cathy doesn't have near the ring to it that Draco and Astoria does, amirite?

Anyway, this was a fantastic story, Julia! I super loved it. It's made me want to read more Drastoria. I do rather like the two of them together. I shall have to look into this.

Great work, dear!

ERICA.

Author's Response: ERICA, YOU ARE A CHAMP OF THE FIRST WATER. this truly is a lovely set of lovelies to log into HPFF and find.

heee. it wasn't going to be a happy ending but i caved in. drastoria is my otp and i couldn't really leave it hanging. but i'm a fan of the unhappy ending.

drathy vs drastoria.

thank you oroco! your reviews are rarr wonderful~ ♥ ♥ ♥


 Report Review

Review #11, by ericajen VI

9th April 2012:
OMG JULIA I CANNOT BELIEVE YOU DID THIS.

Actually, I can. Pretty awesome little plot point you got there. I don't mean awesome in a good way. I mean it in like an.. awesome way. It makes sense maybe. Because like, you suck for doing that to Astoria but it's awesome, so. Yeah.

Only one chapter left! I am somewhat nervous. What's going to happen? Happy or sad ending? Scary thoughts, man.

ERICA.

Author's Response: WELL SHAKE IT UP BABY NOW
(SHAKE IT UP BABY)
plot TWIST AND SHOUUUT

yes. it was a bit...well, it's a bit like the plot equivalent of getting run over, right?

scary thoughts indeed. ♥


 Report Review

Review #12, by ericajen V

9th April 2012:
I almost skipped to the next chapter without reviewing - shame on me! Shame!

you continue to impress, my dear! You really have a knack for OCs and characterization in general. Plus your dialogue is like, supa fab. Supa supa fab, even. I mean, Draco and Astoria's interactions are pretty flawless. I love them. They flow so well and it's witty and fun but can still be deep and etc. Basically, you are awesome.

ERICA.

Author's Response: shame be upon thouuu

thank you dear! :D eee that's so nice. deep like the marinas trench?

i would say something meaningful but...it's a wednesday.

BOB.


 Report Review

Review #13, by ericajen IV

9th April 2012:
OH THEY KISSED. THEY DID, THEY DID, THEY DID. Draco was so awks about it, omg. Haha. Astoria is such a champ. I'm a big fan of her. She's so cool. I have like this perfect mental image of that tweed jacket and her big silver watch, etc.

Also. License of obliviate. That is pretty cool, man. Pretty damn cool.

ERICA.

Author's Response: i imagine draco was actually a pretty awks guy. i mean, did you see the hug in DH2?

when you say fan, you do mean oscillating fan right right

she's like james bond. but magicer.

JIM.


 Report Review

Review #14, by ericajen III

9th April 2012:
OMG JULIA YOU TORTURE ME WITH THIS. Although, at least with this story I know it's finished, whereas with Blunderland I sadly did /not/ wait until it was completed to read it and am therefore now in the terrible position of having to wait for updates (which you better do soon).

I really love the flow and style of this story. It's very unique and it flows very easily. Like, some stories seem a bit forced, you know? Doesn't mean their bad, but they just don't have much of a flow to them. But this story just sort of effortlessly trails along but it's still all interesting and fab.

ON TO THE NEXT.

ERICA.

Author's Response: well, it's short and sweet, this one. in that i did not have the energy to, you know, invent subplots. heee.

aww thank you oroco! that's so lovely ♥~

MICHAEL.


 Report Review

Review #15, by ericajen II

9th April 2012:
I AM SUPER CURIOUS ABOUT ASTORIA NOW I WANT TO KNOW HER LIFE. WHAT DID SHE DO THAT MADE HER FAMILY DISLIKE HER. WHAT DID SHE DO. WHAT.

I'd leave a longer review (lol like a couple sentences longer) but I pretty much have the need to go on to the next chapter right now, soo..

ERICA.

Author's Response: short story: astoria is actually a lizard animagus. long story: she isnt. OR IS SHE. brrrm.

hee. you know i love you, you honorary spoons player of the raverpuffins ♥

ALAN.


 Report Review

Review #16, by ericajen I

9th April 2012:
I have heard so much about Memento from the chattering of the puffins, so I figured I simply must read it. Plus, Drastoria. Amirite? I am.

You are such an awesome writer, dear Juliar, it is not even fair. And I'm sorry that all of my reviews are terrible, but I don't have the time/energy to be deep and thoughtful, as those things require both time and energy.

Anyway. This is supa great so far. I mean, it's beginning to be set up. I'm curious about Astoria and her story. There's just a hint about what's gone down in the wizarding world since the war. I mean, it's all very intriguing so far. Can't wait to read more!

ERICA.

Author's Response: areurite? uare!

awww oroco thank you so much~ i would also say something profound, but i am far too preoccupied with photos of andrew garfield for that. srsly his face does something to my knees.

i'm digressing~ but.

TOBY.


 Report Review

Review #17, by tydemans VII

14th October 2011:
Apparently, I'm stalking you. ( Don't blame me, blame Snitches. )

I don't read much Draco/Astoria, but this - these two you created - I think the only term would be gloriously disfunctional. I'm still contemplating the line between forgetting the past, simply not sharing it, or outright lying. Nice!

All I can say is POOR Scorpius!

Take care!
~Ty

Author's Response: Ah, no worries! It's good to hear from you.

Gloriously dysfunctional - yes, that fits, haha! Draco/Astoria may be my OTP, but I firmly believe that the two of them would be nothing but dysfunctional. After all, what sort of woman would fall for Draco Malfoy? I always think there's so much potential for this ship. Also, yes, poor Scorpius indeed! A bitter father and an amnesiac mother...

Thank you for another lovely review! ♥


 Report Review

Review #18, by redherring VII

26th May 2011:
Brilliant, brilliant ending! I must say I was a little anxious before starting this chapter - when you've read and loved a really wonderful story and then the ending is just a bit meh, it's like the world's ended, but this was just perfect. I can't think of a better conclusion to the story. I'm glad you decided against that inconclusive ending though, but at the same time it's great that you didn't have Draco professing his undying love for Astoria and proposing on bended knee or something in some awkwardly cliche scene. That final section was perfect, though. Loved it.

I may have to go and stalk your author page now to catch up on everything I haven't read. I've read about half your stories, I think (and In Dreams and Starving Artists have been on my to-read list forever), but anyway, there's my afternoon sorted! xD To conclude, I've enjoyed this story a ridiculous amount and am insanely jealous of your writing ability. Thanks so much for writing it :D

Author's Response: Argh, I hate it when that happens! Haha, yeah, when writing this ending chapter I was basically sitting with my fingers hovering over the keyboard, thinking 'oh god, what if I write a rubbish ending? What if everyone hates it?' - so I came up with an inconclusive ending in the idea that people could come up with their own version, kind of like a 'choose whether you ship draco/astoria or not' thing, haha. But that was really lame, so I scrapped that. This was written in such a rush though, I tell you. It was probably the only section of the fic I didn't make a note for. I just sat down and wrote it with no idea of where I was going D:
Thank you so much for your reviews on this story -they've been really lovely and put a smile on my face ♥


 Report Review

Review #19, by redherring VI

26th May 2011:
Ok. Wow. The obliviating thing? Best. Idea. Ever. So, so genius. Them having the same argument again and again, her justification of "well-I-love-you-so-I-had-to-obliviate-you"... just wow. When Astoria said, "This always ends with shield charms on your part" I got chills, actually. The whole idea of her being able to manipulate him in that way, to be able to have such control over his life, was just so... chilling. Amazing. A really brilliant idea, one I'm pretty sure I've never seen done before either. Must read the next chapter right now! I'm rather sad it's almost over though :(

Author's Response: Yeah, I know. It's the biggest plot twiiist and shouuut I've possibly ever written and I was so terrified of it going wrong, so, wow, I'm really glad you approve, haha! I really wanted to set Astoria up as such a nice and lovely person, and then have her turn out to be mega manipulative and really actually quite horrible - I mean, this is Draco Malfoy she's going out with. She's got to be a tough one. So I suppose the utter reversal here...yes, chilling is kind of what I was going for. I'm really glad you liked it ♥

 Report Review

Review #20, by redherring V

26th May 2011:
Loved the Draco/Blaise banter at the start - 'What, it's all about kneecaps? Come off it, Draco.' The Draco/Astoria interaction was lovely too - the whole thing with the sunflowers was adorable and the tree-climbing wonderfully Astoria-ish.

I'm rather worried about this "Mount Everest of angst and misery". I think this might actually be as far as I read last time around, though I thought I'd read more. Even though I'm a firm believer than Drastoria's should, on the whole, be angsty and dysfunctional (as you said, Draco = tortuous angst. So true, so true), I think I love your Astoria and Draco too much for that! Oh well, I'm sure I'll manage to keep reading somehow x)

Loved it, again! Very, very excited for the next chapter.

Author's Response: Blaisey Blaise. He is rather fun. He's the light comic relief in this melee of angst.

Ah, yes, the mount everest of angst and misery - with the benefit of hindsight, you should be very worried. It doesn't bode well. But that's just true to form - Drastoria should be, as you said, angsty and dysfunctional. He's a tortured soul of epic proportions with some pretty dodgy views.

Glad you liked it! ♥


 Report Review

Review #21, by redherring IV

26th May 2011:
Sooo... I read this a while back, reviewed a few chapters, read the rest of the story but completely forgot to review. My bad. So now I'm reading this all again and actually doing the decent thing and reviewing this time x) Hi again!

Anyway, I'm loving this just as much as I did the first time around, possibly more, and I'm really looking forward to seeing how it ends as I didn't get that far last time. Plus, your new banner is TO DIE FOR. Gorgeous, gorgeous, gorgeous. Did you make it yourself?

Sorry, tangent. Anyway, wonderful chapter, absolutely loved it! 'Yeah, we kind of slept together-' - oh, Draco, Draco, Draco. Think before you speak, man. Pansy's reaction was priceless though, I loved reading that whole bit.

Author's Response: Hi again! I love hearing from you every now and again, your reviews are always lovely ♥

Yeah, I did make the new banner. The old one was so lovely, but I'd taken it from the UFG thread at a time when the story was still in the early stages, and it didn't really suit it anymore. I was revamping a few old banners, so decided to make a new one for this too. Glad you like it (:

Oh, draco - bigmouth strikes again.

Thanks very much for the review! Really glad you enjoyed it (:


 Report Review

Review #22, by GubraithianFire VII

4th May 2011:
I think I've expressed to you how much I adore you -- from the first I read of you (Nocturne) and from what I now obsessively stalk (SA♥). Now I can say with some confidence that I kind of sort of worship you.

I love a good Drastoria (of which there is a definite dearth on the archives) so when I finally noticed you had a completed one, I ran over (well, not ran. I was bored. So I was trudging, I guess. But mentally.) And I read and I read and as it went on I was thinking to myself "Ooh, pretty and downtrodden!" And then chapter six happened. And I felt like I was hit by a car. Just -- I cannot in 12+ terms express how shocked I was. And then this chapter kind of broke my heart and I remember you saying that this slots into the SA canon and suddenly everything makes sense now. I finished reading on my phone, so I reminded myself to review when I got the chance. But then today I was really very bored, and I couldn't stop thinking about this. So I decided to read it again, the entire thing through. And now I can truly say everything makes sense now.

Somehow when I read chapter 6, the bomb Astoria drops didn't really register to me. It was a shock but, since I'm a quick-ish reader, I thought it was out of the blue. It seemed to fit, but only in a vague "ooh look at this plot twist" way. That's really why I read this for a second time: I could tell that this was put together so very carefully, and I wanted to see how the beginning read knowing what would happen. And now I want to congratulate you for writing one of the tightest, most cohesive, gorgeous/heartbreaking fics I've ever read. I don't know if you've noticed by now, but I don't believe in plotting or pacing, and it really comes across in most of my stories, but this is just like. Plot. It all fits in perfectly and it makes me really jealous of how well-thought-out this is. I wish I could pull this off without the reader ever being the wiser, because I certainly wasn't.

I expected that she had been in Azkaban because of the tattoo -- I agree, it wasn't convincing at all -- but the character of Astoria. Just, eek. What a dynamic person. At first I wasn't sure what to think of her because she seemed put-upon quirky, like what fic writers assume "quirky" is and pair that "quirky" girl with Gaspard Ulliel or something and suddenly it's a "non-typical" romance, you know what I mean? Not that Astoria was shallowly drawn at all, even at the first read. But I was wary of her, always. And with the realization that she's been playing him but "out of love" came my own realization that everything makes sense (I'm repetitive today, aren't I?). Astoria seems shallow because she is playing shallow quirky! SO GENIUS I AM GREEN WITH JEALOUSY (but my fingers are blue with cold).

I noticed in your reviews that people are iffy about your Draco characterization, that it's OOC or exaggerated or something. But I think the point of fic many times isn't about staying necessarily super "in-character" as much as creating an environment in which this version of a character can reasonably exist, and I think you did a marvelous job explaining and showing why Draco is the way he is. It never struck me as OOC or weird. I think I've told you this, but I love seeing a well-written Draco, especially when he's a down-on-his-luck-cynical-downtrodden type, which you do so well. I liked him much more on this second read (THE DRAWER WAS OPEN OMG -- I keep having little realizations like this as I let the story mull in my head) because I was more used to him, but both times I couldn't help but want everything to work out well for him, which is a very rare thing for Draco most of the time. I'll be honest, I don't like that he goes back to Astoria. I understand that he does it, and I can't imagine your Draco doing anything else, but I can't help but think what a self-destructive relationship this will inevitably be. I'm not surprised that he would do this to himself (Does he love her? I hope so, but I'm not sure), but it makes my heart ache that he does it anyway. I wish I could save him. And that is a ridiculously hard thing to do in any fic and now I'm really green/blue.

I could say that I have no more words for this review, but that's obviously untrue. I could go on for days shrieking about how much sense everything makes now. I am, in my head, but these review boxes have a habit of cutting me off when I get super duper verbose, so I'll stop here and say I really really really idolize you right now. Thank you for writing this. ♥

Author's Response: Okay, I've had this review sitting in my unanswered reviews box for about a month, totally unwilling to answer it because I just wanted it to stay there forever - honestly, I don't think I've ever received a better review in my entire life - but now I feel I should really bite the bullet and answer it.

Deep (typing) breath.

Drastoria ♥ my otp. For reals. I have absolutely no idea what sort of person Astoria would be to end up marrying a prat like Draco, so I love coming up with endless ways for them to meet, him to change, endless people she can be, etc. This was an absolutely tiny idea that kind of just exploded into something a lot bigger. Honestly, it was only meant to be four or so chapters, and there was no omg!dark past or drama or anything - it was just going to be a mildly angsty story of love, with the whole car accident thing still happening and then the two of them having to start again with Astoria's memory problems. It was always intended to be downtrodden, but my initial Astoria was a very flat character. There really was no substence to her, which is why I changed the plot totally. I think I'm actually lucky to get away with it being a 'coherent' fic - this version of chapter one is still the one that fits the old plot and the old characters. I think I must have changed my mind around the end of chapter two. I'm pretty indecisive.

I was a little apprenhensive about chapter six, I must say. Everything's revealed at once in one big go - thing is, I couldn't think of another way to do it. I considered going back and rewriting it as a retrospective narrative so that Astoria's dark!past would be known from the start and the accident and everything - but, honestly? Effort. Lowe that. This must have been one of the last stories I didn't extensively plot for. I just had a vague sketch in my notebook - everytime I wanted to reference an earlier chapter (e.g the drawer) I had to go back and re-read to find those references. Honestly, I feel this was such a fluke. I was actually dead nervous about posting chapter six - I thought it would go down really badly. So for you to come along and say that it's cohesive and gorgeous, I'm not even kidding, gubby, it means the world to me. This review put a massive smile on my face for about a week, I tell you.

Astoria's character, haha. Yes, she is very flat in those first chapters - more originally because she was. But as I was writing it it did actually make sense to the plot to make her so shallow. I wanted to sort of portray Draco's...confusion, maybe? Yeah, the way he couldn't make sense of her. Like she was quirky and enigmatic, and then normal and enigmatic, and then criminal and still enigmatic - like a chameleon, haha. You know, Memento #2 (this is #5) had her confessing she'd been a prisoner and him basically saying 'alright, yeah, that's cool. Totally fine with that.' then her losing her memory. But after writing that, I realised it was such a naff reaction - he'd be way more shocked. It hurt to split up one of my favourite pairings in the argument - it was actually a bit painful having to write him having a go at her, I loved writing her character so much - but it felt the most right. If that made any sense.

Oh my word, I'm rambling. I really need to get to the point.

I know what you mean about wishing Draco sort of wouldn't get back with Astoria. I can reveal now that, well, it doesn't end happily. Of course not. I don't do happy endings ;D I'm having writing the SA prequel - the only angsty bits in an otherwise humour fic are when Draco and Astoria are around. I can't help it, I love the pairing too much.

All in all, Gubby, I think I'm slightly in love with you. It's not wrong to say that, right? Right? To get such wonderful praise like this from the person who wrote snow red and lovely - snow red AND lovely!!! - ah, it feels awesome. You really cheered me up with this review, and I'm really glad you enjoyed the story ♥


 Report Review

Review #23, by mMalfoy VI

26th April 2011:
Hm, this didn't turned out the way I thought. So sad.

Author's Response: I was kind of hoping that it would be a bit of a twist at the end...yes, it was a little...well, a bit of a drain on the emotions to write. So much angst. Thank you very much for reviewing the story - I hope you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #24, by mMalfoy V

26th April 2011:
"Oh, no way, I reckoned you were an elf all these years". Haha, Blaise is funny.

I like Draco and Astorias relationship - at least for now. Seems like the next chapters won't be just as happy as this. I make myself ready to hate Astoria. Lol.

I'm agree with your last line, that Draco is a sad character. Well, I really like him, regardless how he behaves.. gosh.

Author's Response: Ooh, no, I don't want you to hate on Astoria! Ahha, she's my favourite. Yes, the next few chapters are certainly going to be an angstfest. I'm glad you liked Draco; I feel I kind of got his character a bit wrong here. Too angsty :')

thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #25, by mMalfoy III

26th April 2011:
So good! Draco/Astoria is interpret in many ways, and yours is very different. And I like it.

Author's Response: Ahha, it's my favourite ship, and I do like to think of alternative plot bunnies for it. I also always see Astoria as a stronger character than Draco, so a lot of the stories kind of end up based on that. Glad you do like it (:

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>