Reading Reviews for Shattered
  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Lady Penelope Rouge One

7th July 2012:
This was beautiful. An exciting read and a brilliant take on the relationship between Rodolphus and Bella and how the Dark Lord is involved in it.

I've always pictired Bella being madly in love with Voldemort and thus completely ignoring her husband. I think a person such as her is pretty much incapable of feeling love for anyone except her Master -and perhaps her sister, but that's a whole different thing.

We pretty much have zero information by J.K. Rowling about Bella's marriage to Rodolphus, so that allows everyone to portray it in whatever way they want, but, in my head canon, Bella only married him because of what was expected from her as a pureblood lady and a Black. And Rodolphus did grow to love his wife, but she never returned his feelings and allowed herself to give her heart only to the Dark Lord.

It's a tragic situation, really... Both Bella and Rodolphus seem to be in love with the one person who will never love them back...

I think you've written this whole concpet perfectly, this story is truly amazing. I must admit I felt extremely sad for poor Rodolphus, something that most certainly does not happen often to me, as I am a Bella-Voldemort shipper and I generally hate anything and anyone who gets in the way of their... "relationship", if I can call it that. But Rodolphus' emotions were so beautifuly shown through this story, it almost brought me tears... Poor guy.. All he wants is to be loved by his Bella...

And, wow. Bella's public display and flirting while her husband was present... That woman has some guts. And an unbelievable lack of morals -which I love. I do.

And Bella declaring "love is for fools" when she herself has such strong emotions for Voldemort... Of course, she must know he can never return them, but it is obvious she feels something more than lust for her Master... Thus I cannot decide whom I feel the most sorry for; Rodolphus, or Bella? I still haven't decided.

The last paragraph was chilling, I adored it, although it made me feel sadder for both.

Once again, amazing work.

Author's Response: Hello! I'm sorry I took so long to get back to you on this!

I became a bit obsessed with Bellatrix and Rodolphus a while ago, and I guess part of it never really died down after all this time. Rodolphus is one of those characters that intrigues me a whole lot. We've all seen how Bellatrix was written in the books, and even in the movies her husband pretty much did not exist. I wondered a lot about him, and how he felt about his relationship with his wife. Did they only get married because it would do their families well? Or was there more to it than that? I'm a closet romantic, so I like to think it was the latter :D Well, for Rodolphus' part anyway.

Oh yes. That sums up my thoughts on the couple to a T. I wondered how he could stand by and watch her carry on with a man who has no emotions whatsoever - except hate. Rodolphus to me is the strong, but silent type. And he loves, even if those feelings are not returned. Bellatrix's only love, like you rightly said, is for her sister. Her perception of Voldemort goes beyond the definition of 'love', for her it's something so much more than that. It's akin to worship, adoration, obsession. Voldemort was the definition of power, and every belief that ran through Bella's veins. He's the physical manifestation of all the things she ever dreamed of.

That's exactly it. When it all boils down to it, that's what I feel too - pity. When I wrote this story, I wanted to bring Rodolphus' feelings to the surface. After how many years of knowing this woman, and living with her, I imagine he would develop some feelings for her. To not get any in return is hard, especially since he is a man, and he's pretty much stuck in this marriage. He's a human being after all. Ooh wow, Bella/Voldemort shipper? You guys are rare! I'm glad you enjoyed this even if it isn't your ship.

Yeah, I thought she might do something like that. She's Bellatrix Lestrange, all thoughts of pureblooded decorum go out of the window when it comes to her.

'Love is for fools'. The irony of that statement is strong, and not lost at all on Rodolphus, and maybe Voldemort if he really paid attention to it. And at the end of it, I felt sorry for Rodolphus more.

Thank you so much for stopping by to leave such a lovely review. It took me by surprise!

Lia


 Report Review

Review #2, by WeepingWillows One

23rd April 2012:
Wow. Well first off I just loved Rodolphus's reaction to Bella being so flirtatious towards another man. His hurt was surprising and it was interesting to see Bella's reaction to his hurt as well.

I also thought it was chilling during the exchange between Bella, Vodelmort and Rodolphus. Voldemort asking Bella what she thought of love was interesting since we all know what Voldemort thinks of love. I thought it was rather sad to see Rodolphus blame him saying that he loved his wife on drinking.

This was very well written! I really enjoyed this! =D

Author's Response: Helloo!

I'm so sorry for waiting so long to respond. I haven't looked at this story in a long time, so seeing the review for it was a surprise!

I wrote this during my Rodolphus Lestrange phase. I didn't think of him as just the strong, silent type who watched as his wife did all these awful things to him. Most people think theirs was a marriage of convenience, but it's still a marriage, and that should still mean something.

Oh dear. Yes. I don't think there was anything else for him to say, but that. Besides, he knew Voldemort already knew the truth. Bella might be a bit more difficult to read, or maybe she shows him what he wants to see.

Thank you so much for reading! I'm glad you enjoyed it :)

Lia


 Report Review

Review #3, by Cleopatraa One

18th April 2011:
Well I just read your other story and I decided to read this one also it was great when Rosier said he was seeing Amelia Wilkes it reminded me of your other story. The hypocrisy Bellatrix showed was great because human beings are hypocritic (sp?) even if they donít admit it. I felt really bad for him because I sometimes think that in canon she really didnít know how to love and that she only cared for Narcissa and in the beginning her other sister Andromeda because why would she otherwise stay with her sister in the books. Also like you I didnít think Bellatrix was crazy before going to Azkaban so Iím glad you share that view with me.

Author's Response: Hi, (I really hope this one sends)

Haha, I have to include them in most things I do :) Yes! Yes! I'm glad you noticed that! But like you said, I don't think she really understood the concept of 'love'. She couldn't understand why Narcissa went to such lengths for Draco nor could she understand (beneath all her fury) that Andromeda ran away to marry Ted. Her relationship with her husband wasn't much different and I think he did all the loving for both of them. Her relationship with Voldemort was much different even though she thought, in a twisted way, that's what love was but it was purely adoration clouded by something else.

Bellatrix is zealous and mad and fiercely loyal and it was that which sent them to Azkaban. Rodolphus followed her and his brother followed him. Being in there as long as they were was enough to send a person insane. You're one of the few people I've come across who, like me, doesn't think she was crazy before she went to prison.

Thank you for your review, I really appreciate it!

Lia.


 Report Review

Review #4, by maskedmuggle One

19th December 2010:
Hey!
Here to review as promised.

First impressions, a well written fic that's quite engaging and very interesting to read.

The plot of this story is one told many quite a few times, but this is the first time that I"ve read it, simply because I much prefer the humourous and happiness of the Marauders and Next-Gen eras. Anyway, should I happen to read more Death Eater/Voldemort fics, you've definitely set a high standard! So yes, the plot is absolutely fine. The writing is really good. Honestly, you're a talented writer. You convey the emotions across really well, and the dialogue, along with everything else flows.

The characterisation was interesting, especially of Rodolphus. He has always been overshadowed by Bellatrix, so it was canon to keep it like that. The fact that he did love Bellatrix is believable, and that Bellatrix did not love him back is also believable. Quite a realistic representation of their relationship. Voldemort was great. It might just be me, but I place him as a difficult character to write, so you did a great job with him. The other characters were great too, Lucius, TraversÖ realistic portrayals. For Bellatrix, she was great as well, but I always thought she'd be a bit moreÖ crazy? Especially in the dining room scene the morning after Bellatrix enters Rodolphus' room, Bellatrix seemed almost civil. I imagined she'd have more sarcastic comments, and her 'stiffness' seemed a bit unrealistic.

Your spelling/grammar/punctuation is perfect. I didn't spot any mistakes, so well done! I just found one thing with a sentence that isn't even such a big deal, but I'll mention it anyway: "She entered my room without knocking; immediately I could tell that she was drinking." Technically, you're saying Bellatrix walked in with a drink, but from the rest of the sentences, it's quite clear that she didn't. So you should either say, "I could tell that she was drunk." or, "I could tell that she had been drinking." Simple!

Overall, a very interesting fic. Well done on the Death Eaters/Voldemort. Well written, quite an enjoyable read.

- maskedmuggle / Charlotte :)

Author's Response: Hey Charlotte!

It's true when you say the plot's been done quite a few times. I guess I just wanted to write it in my own way, letting Rodolphus have a voice, he just fascinates me. I'm used to writing more Death Eater/Voldemort fics than I'd care to admit. To me it's much easier to write them than to tackle the humour/romance of Next Gen and Marauders, though I am trying to branch out. And thank you so much for the compliment. I'm glad you got what I was trying to bring across.

As I mentioned before, Rodolphus Lestrange fascinates me. I do believe he's my new favourite character to write. This is my third story for this pairing and I've always written in from his perspective. Like you said, he had always been overshadowed by his over zealous wife and I was curious about what he really thought of it all. As for Bellatrix, I don't think she actually knew how to love, perhaps the only person she truly cared for was Narcissa.

A lot of people have said Voldemort is difficult. To tell you the truth, I only write him when necessary, but I'm glad you think I did a good job with him, I have been told so for the other stories of mine he's featured in :) My perspective of Bellatrix before Azkaban is that she would've been less crazy, haha, that's why she's so "toned down" here but you do make a point about her being sarcastic.

*nods* That makes a lot of sense. Thank you, I'll go fix it :)

Thank you so much for reviewing.

Happy Holidays,
Lia



 Report Review

Review #5, by SiriuslyPeeved One

11th October 2010:
I think you did a marvelous job with the characters in this story. Making a Death Eater a nuanced and sympathetic character is not an easy task; you show how Rodolphus was used for others' advantage throughout his adult life, and (in canon) he never managed to get out of the trap. I particularly enjoyed the dialogue you wrote for Voldemort, he's a tricky one!

It was a pleasure working with you :)

Author's Response: Oh wow! Hi Mary!!!

I really did not expect this! Writing Death Eaters is something I enjoy. They're so complex and incredibly intriguing. I like to think they have lives outside of being the minions for an evil overlord. And Rodolphus Lestrange is one character in particular that I've always wondered about and felt really sorry for too!

You are right when you said he never managed to get out of his trap, perhaps only through death or Bella and Voldemort's deaths. But then I wonder if he would've been happier with the latter (had he survived).

Haha, everyone always says I have a knack for writing Voldemort...something I don't put much effort into but thank you :)

Thank you so much for being my beta, you did a fantastic job, especially with your suggestions. You'll definitely hear from me again =]

Lia


 Report Review

Review #6, by MidnightBlue_x One

8th October 2010:
Hey,
I'm here for your review. Whoa, I seriously love this so much. I haven't read anything anywhere near to this on the scale of amazing-ness. It's something different, refreshing and totally believeable. Well done. Thank you so much for requesting.

x Ely

Author's Response: Hey Ely!

Aww, thank you! I know Bellatrix/Rodolphus isn't as popular...or, it isn't popular at all but it's a ship (or non-ship, depending on how you look at it) that is close to my heart. Poor Rodolphus, he's so angst-filled, isn't he? I guess that's what unrequited love does to a person.

Thank you so much for your review!
Enjoy your weekend:)
Lia


 Report Review

Review #7, by AlopiasLamnaXV One

6th October 2010:
Hi,
I really liked your story - the contrast between the different world Rodolphus is living in makes clear, what kind of life those Deatheaters are actually experiencing. Also Bella's inconsistence about love being useless but adoring Voldemort is a thing well done, I think.
Keep on writing stories like this;)
Alopias Lamna XV
Salve!

Author's Response: Hello!

I'm glad you liked it :) If you were able to pick that out then it means I was doing something right then. I like to write from the Death Eaters' perspective because it isn't as simple as it appears.their lives I mean. They're still people with relationships and such and of course, they have their share of problems. Rodolphus' relationship with his wife was always a source of interest for me and this is the third story I've written of the pairing.

Bella's inconsistency kind of makes you wonder which side of the fence she's really sitting on, doesn't it? And it was ironic in this situation but the thing with her adoration, in my opinion, is all it really was. Hmm.

Thanks again for reviewing. I appreciate the discussion :)

Lia.


 Report Review

Review #8, by Nichole One

25th September 2010:
Brilliantly written. Ingenious and deep plot. A truly clever inside look on the other side. Write on!

Author's Response: I'm glad you think so. Thank you, Nichole :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login