Reading Reviews for Bella Rosa
  
48 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Vermouth Gabe and Bella Went Up the Hill

11th February 2014:
It's been way too long since I was notified by mail that you've updated this fic, Liana, sorry I couldn't get back here sooner. I've sent you an email back in December telling about recent things in my life. Did you get it? I recc'd you to The Petulant Poetess and The Harry Potter Network.

I've also posted a review to chapter one over at MNFF. I've reread your fics many times and had lots of new things to say about them. -- But onto this chapter. I'm really excited to read something more about the couple's Italian holiday.



He heard a ladylike cr[ ] and Bella appeared in their suite. "I'm still not used to you doing that," he said. "Don't you feel odd just suddenly appearing somewhere?"


This alone is a very interesting description. What kind of a 'cr[ ]' would sound "ladylike" to you, exactly? I've no idea myself, I thought a daintly "pop" would do just fine. ;) I like how Gabe is gradually getting warmer to the way witches do things. It would serve as a contrast, I believe, to his reactions when Bella eventually betrays him to maim or death/loses him to horrifying situations/whatever you have in store for them.



"Have I mentioned what an amazing woman you are?" Gabe wrapped his arms around her from behind.

"I dont think you've mentioned it yet today," she said. "Let's toast to my amazing self." After taking a sip, she said, "Now let me show you how witches wear tattoos."


(Did you not say it yourself before that the difference between the two lovers is that "Gabe has a big heart and Bella has a big ego."? Heh heh)



I learned a new word recently, and it's quite the lovely one: Huggle [n. (& v.)] A hug from a person who stand behind another and wraps his/her arms around the person in front; etymologically it's made of hug+snuggle but the combined effect is so much more than a mere sum of the two . . . There's a saying floating around tumblr that goes, "You know you ship it bad when you're like: Oh look at them / in the same room together / not interacting / but breathing the same air / that's so great!" Gabe's giving Bella a huggle here, it felt so erotic to me in a weird sort of way; in fact I'm amazed that it doesn't happen more often in fics. A great story can make readers swoon for the characters because they're breathing the same air, and a well written huggle can evoke more than kisses or even "xth base activity" sometimes does. I wanted to fan myself reading this part just as much as I typed out the part in Chapter Thirteen of that other story where Rebecca surprised Severus with a warm, tender, squishy *Huggle* as was leaving her apartment, begging him to stay a bit longer and better yet turn around so they might -- okay I think I'll stop now. Whew :D


And that implied strip tease... O_o



Now where was I? Oh, this wasn't the first time Gabe mentioned to Bella's face that he considered her a wild rose with thorns but lovable all the same?



They gathered their things and prepared to leave. Gabe couldn't help but notice all the glances Bella drew with her self-tailored garments. How did I get so lucky to find this woman? She basically fell into my shop come to think of it.

Oh darling, you simply have no idea.

And it's funny that Bella would also find the notion of a flying motercycle as cool. Even in your current AU I'd say that she wouldn't be too thrilled to have something so in common with Sirius.



So these two yet-unnamed wizards have picked up their scent, again. Last chapter you had them speaking in French, which is a clue I guess (though how could they consider speaking French in the heart of Italy as "going native"?) and I wonder if they're the LeStrange brothers, or at least someone close to the LS bros.



Oh, after the last time we conversed I finally watched The Lone Ranger, it was a great film, but I wouldn't be surprised if it flopped, and I'm wondering if there's any actual sequel material to work on, since the narrative frame of the elderly Tonto works as a stand-alone as well. HBC was clearly having a grand old time playing Red; it's marvelous that the same actress can play two ends of a character spectrum so well, from the English Roses like Lucy of A Room with A View (also taking place in Florence, Italy!) to the near-hopelessly self-destructive gothic lolitas like Mrs Lovett and Marla Singer (I urge you to watch Fight Club some day if you haven't already). Bellatrix's character is lucky in the way that she can have both of these "sides" in one woman. :)



I may not have time for an email tonight (it's past midnight, actually) so I think I'll ask here instead: There's a very, very deep and emotional Slytherin-centric fanfic that I have discovered and hope to translate one day, only I haven't the time for even one chapter, so I wonder if there's someone in your family who knows enough Chinese that he/she might be able to transcribe the plot of the story (whose entirety I would be sending over) to you? I'd wish I could send you a summary but even that seems to taking a hundred pages in length. Or maybe I can break it into parts and tell you about it in future reviews on the MNFF site? I still have over a dozen chapters to go through. :P






It's great to have someone like Kerichi for beta reader, that's for sure; I wish she would keep reviewing here, though.






10/10 all the way. *tips hat*


P.S. It's my birthday today! Give me a PO address so I can sent you a slice of chocolate cake. :)

Author's Response: Once again I can't believe I waited so long to reply. I know it's very late but Happy Birthday. Did you do something fun? My oldest daughter's birthday is on Feb. 14th. I think I'm the only person in my family that fools around with languages other than English and I haven't even thought of trying Chinese. I wish I could say, "yes, I read Chinese so please send the story over" but, alas, I can't. I guess I didn't think of a "dainty pop" when I was writing that part of the story:D I suppose a "ladylike crack" could sound like a "dainty pop". I think I put the latest version of your story on my flash drive. I'm going to check--that way I can read chapter by chapter and send you reviews. I keep forgetting. I wonder how I can save it on my iPad. I'm not as good with my iPad as I should be. I'm glad you're getting the sexual overtones in the story. I'm not good about writing real graphic stuff. I like the reader to paint those pictures in their minds. Huggle is indeed a lovely word. I don't think I've seen that used before. Come to think about it there is something very erotic about breathing the same air as your love is. I do try to describe intimacy but again I just find it hard to be graphic. Yeah, maybe I blew it with the flying motorcycle but I wanted to write Gabe with a bike so I had to have Bella liking it. Keep in mind that so far it's a regular motorcycle that he's giving her a ride on. How did you like the April 1st prank on this site? I giggled my way through a few chapters:D I must run for now. See you next time.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Vermouth Chapter 19: The Tattoo

25th December 2012:
First of all: Merry Christmas, Liana! Gee, time really flies past so quickly.

Reading this chapter reminded me of many things. One is too embarrassing to mention here, I'll put it up in my next email; the other one is about other chapter written by Ms K, where Tonks went to a beauty parlor and had her friend help create a special henna design onto her ankle that could actually grow along with her passionate emotions. Know what I'm referring to?

And there's also that picture with Bella, I mean H.B.C., alluringly topless unless you count that black, see-through wrap. There are no tattoos in sight, though, such a shame. Would you like me to send it to you, for inspiration's sake? ;)

You're being very graceful, providing the translations to not one but two non-English languages, (due to listening to audio clips, I've learned a few words and I could almost hear her saying "Lei parla inglese?" and "Grazie." to a local Italian) not all stories are so accommodating, back at TPP there was a well-written SS/OC story with the OFC as someone from Ecuador and of a Native American tribe to boot, and she would sometimes speak Spanish AND her native tongue as well. And the authoress provided no translations at all. I don't know how to run the sentences with GoogleTranslate if I have no idea which is what.

Actually, I think you should consider registering an account on TPP. You could make some possible adjustments to the text, and who knows, you might attract a bigger crowd there. Their ratings can go right up to NC-17 (MA), so you could express more freely if need be (something I would love to see in your stories), and you could also place different ratings and content warnings on each individual chapter to let readers know what they're dealing with, pictures could be inserted in chapters, and best of all though, the reader could reply to the author's reply, like in a chatboard!

Author's Response: And, Happy New Year to you, David. I was surprised and delighted to hear from you again. As I recall when writing this chapter, I was concerned that I was mixing French and Italian. The tattoo parlor had a French name and Bella was fluent in French but she went in not sure which language the artist spoke. I thought the phrases I used were close enough to English and first tried to validate the chapter with no translation. Then the chapter wasn't validated because I didn't have translations. That made sense but I was just being lazy:D I remember Kerichi's story about Tonks and the henna tattoo that had the capability of growing when it got the urge:D That was a very good set of stories. That picture of HBC could be inspiring if you can send it or tell me where to find it. You'll also have to send info about TPP in an e-mail. I'm not familiar with it but the chatboard feature sounds very useful and fun. Talk to you soon, my friend. Hopefully I'll be able to do a little writing tomorrow. I have an idea for a new short story that came from a dream I had this morning. I'm hoping to write that into a story.

 Report Review

Review #3, by Pretense Of Perfection Chapter 19: The Tattoo

4th December 2012:
I'm so glad you updated, I've been having some serious Bella withdrawls lately. Please don't leave us in suspense for too long!

I hope we find out who the two men were that see Bella in later chapters. They obviously must be involved with Voldemort to know so much about him and what Bella might be doing.

Poor Gabe, he has no idea what he's getting himself into. I only hope Bella doesn't end up getting him killed.

Author's Response: I'm so delighted you reviewed. I finally have my desk top back so I can respond to reviews. I was working on an iPad and for some reason it wouldn't let me respond. I'm glad you let me know that you were having some Bella withdrawls. Sometimes I don't write because I figure no on cares, although I will finish the story:D It's too important to me to tell about Bella's past. She didn't have a good life and the sad thing is I don't think it was her fault how things turned out. She was manipulated just as she manipulated others. But let's focus on her during her happy times. Gabe really doesn't know what he's getting into. I hope his spirituality and strength will get him through and not in too much of a psychological mess. I hope Bella doesn't get him killed either. I don't think she'd do that on purpose but she associates with some really horrible people. I have a closeness to Gabe. He's modeled after my real life son. I think those two wizards taking pictures were in the lower ranks of Voldemort's army and we may never see them again. Thanks for reading and reviewing and look forward to at least two new chapters when the site opens up again and I can get them validated and posted.

 Report Review

Review #4, by Vermouth Ch. 18: Isn't That Bellatrix Black?

17th November 2012:
Stories make it sound so easy, but I might never survive the luxury of Apparation or Portkeys. There are over a score amusement park devices I simply cannot stomach, friends and family call me chicken, but I'm afraid that's me.

I was wondering whether you'd ever even so much as drop Andromeda's name in this fic. After all you've been centering the focus on the eldest Black daughter and secondarily the youngest. I wonder if Andy (wonder if she'd mind me calling her that?) would be making an actual appearance before the show's over? I envision her watching sadly as Bella was fitted into a straitjacket and being dragged away, kicking and screaming.

{Some person did her research on the family tree and realized that Cygnus Black was only thirteen when Bellatrix was born! I understand he could've been betrothed at birth on something, but talk about a family being dysfunctional. Wonder if that in any measure contributed to Bella's unhingedness}

Ah yes, the Bottomless Bag, that is one plot device I am so going to include if my own fic[s] ever come to fruitage. It never left my mind ever since I first watched Mary Poppins as a kid.

One of my own perks of reading FF is staying in touch with western culture, most prominently, pop songs. I underwent the sensations of a thorough education reading Ms K's fics, starting with the ones featuring Lorelei. I rediscovered "Tubthumping" (as in being familiar with the lyrics and melody but not with the title), to make an example. Too bad the "soundtracks" couldn't be actually embedded into fanfics themselves.

You know, sometimes I have dreams about visiting certain places, and when I was enjoying myself in the crowd, I suddenly see someone whom I honestly don't want to be recognized by, so I avoid them with drastic measures like jumping out of windows -- or rather, off my bed. I envy her blissful ignorance. Are they the Lestrange brothers, like you revealed in the next chapter?

Author's Response: Finally I get to respond to my reviews. Hopefully I can respond to e-mails soon also. I know what you mean. I often wish I could Apparate here and there but honestly I think it would make me sick. I have never been good on amusement park rides. I rode a few when I was younger and it really sucked. I don't think Andy is going to make much of an appearance in this story. I know how the basic storyline goes but there may or may not be a couple of detours. I haven't decided yet. I'm not sure if Gabe ever meets Andy or mistakes her for Bella or if Andy ever has to get involved in Bella's capers. I agree--I love music and wish we could embed it into our stories. Maybe technology will let us do that at some point. Sometime in the next five chapters, there is a Muse song that has reminded me of Gabe and Bella--since before I even started writing this story. I think it's called The Resistance. The two wizards taking pictures are from the lower ranks of Voldemort's army and think that by taking pictures of Bella they might be able to get in better with Voldemort. We may never see them again. I don't know yet. Thanks for reading and reviewing. I love to hear what you think.

 Report Review

Review #5, by Vermouth Ch. 17: Bella's Secrets

14th October 2012:
Sorry it took so long for me to return here. I was attempting to freshen up some of my translation chapters, among other things. Chapter XVI is just about finished, though I'd advice you to start from the beginning when you receive them, and see for yourself if I'd made a difference or not.

Well, I suppose this is as close as Bella could get to telling the truth the whole truth and nothing but the truth. True about romantic feelings . . . heh. Did Gabe ever tell her how much Autumn Rain still meant to him? Even an un-Dark witch could get insanely jealous over that, wouldn't you think? Like Rebecca over Lily, if I actually did it right and conveyed the feelings.

Have you brushed up on your OotP lately? The room in the DoM that was kept locked at all times (never mind that the Unspeakables were supposed to be *researching* it in the first place), containing, and I quote, "a force that is at once more wonderful and more terrible than death, than human nature, than forces of neture". We now all know, of course, that it refers to Love. This makes a lot of sense, since if they ever managed to get hold of a bit (or maybe more) of pure hypostatic Love (the kind that practically pervades so many fics which I don't particularly care for but you seem to review so eagarly even though the author doesn't reply so often) and contained it, then it would be equally probable that once you opened the door, all that Love might just burst from the bottle and wisk away to seek those who are desperately in need of it. I shared this theory with my brother, and we both were quite satisfied with it. That is, until I found out that Jo revealed what really was in that room: a large fountain filled with Amortentia, a.k.a. the worst Date Rape drug in the entire HP-verse. I mean, wtf? Which brings us back to this chapter: I think you're actually being harsh on Bella, because if this is the best they can do, then by their holy standards Bella really does love Gabe. In her own special, tender, creepy little way. ;D

I liked the way that you seemingly casually referanced certain events from past chapters, events which I actually had to go back and re-read since it had been such a long time.

Speaking of instant-stripping, how familiar are you with Tim Burton, besides the recent Dark Shadows? The demonically hilarious Beetlejuice once mimicked "Bam, you're dead!" with his fingers, and a chubby guy's outfit literallt peeled off . . . to transform into a black-and-white striped suit just like his. I daresay that would entice more shock than stripping starkers!

Italy sounds like a wonderful place to go. I hope they have fun there. Have I mentioned before that when my mother was younger, she used to go on business trips to many European countries, including Italy? I actually went there with her, but I don't rememer much. It was sometime during the second trimester, you see. *lips splitting into a slasher grin and shaking with mirth*

Author's Response: Sorry I'm so slow to return here. I had too many balls falling out of the sky for me to juggle. But now I have the whole thing rotating smoothly--for today at least. I'm a huge fan of the love story. I think that's part of my problem in life. I hold love to a high standard and I don't think I'll ever achieve it:D Bella is learning to love Gabe in her own sad way. I think she needs Gabe right now and I hope she's learning some things from him. He can teach her things she has no idea about. Can you imagine her cavorting with Muggles if she hadn't met Gabe? At least this 2-3 year interlude in her life can be happy and she won't wreak havoc on anyone or get too close to Voldemort. In the end we'll probably grieve for the poor crazy bitch but we need to live in the present, for now. I'm hoping to get a couple more chapters ready to post when vacation's over. It sounds like you enjoyed your "limited" visit to Italy:D Hey that slasher grin becomes you:D See you next time and in e-mails.

 Report Review

Review #6, by Jessie Ch. 17: Bella's Secrets

5th August 2012:
Keep writing! I want to read more of this story, was really good well done :)

Author's Response: I plan to continue this story to the very end. I like the story, I'm committed to it, and I know how it ends. Real life does get in the way though:D I should have another chapter up in a couple of weeks, so please hang in there. I'm so glad you took the time to tell me you enjoyed the story. See you next time.

 Report Review

Review #7, by Vermouth Chapter 16: Just Like the Wizard of Oz?

3rd July 2012:
No, of course not like TWoO, Bella's not like that total hypocrite (and I meant the so-called "good witch of the south") who sends Dorothy off into all those dangers and Dissolve another witch so that she could 'go home', when all the time she could've utilized those bloody shoes! Even Dumbledore wouldn't stoop so low: at least his "Harry must eventually be killed or else Voldemort would always have an extra Horcrux" theory is valid.

I remember watching that film back in Canada, and the only things that actually stayed in my mind are the witch melting and her weird, reddish-pink hourglass.
@
So here comes the moment of truth. I wonder if Gabe's pissed off at the standard "why did you hide this from me for so long" thing, or is it because he's wondering if Bella's been enchanting him to love her?

BTW, seeing that you spend a lot of your time on RL and preparing for the next chapter, I think it would be a good idea if you edited the chapters' titles: either let them all bear the 'Chapter ()' captions, or remove them all and just leave the titles themselves. It's for regularity's sake, you know.

When I read you description to Bella's party attire, I wanted to cover my eyes and groan, "Arrgh, too much information!" -- while struggling not to grin. lol H.B.C. could look good in anything, let alone those elaborate dresses. Have you seen her in that $1 bridesmaid dress in Fight Club yet? The only other actress in the HP cast that could compete in this "only she could pull this off successfully and then some" business is Evanna Lynch who played Luna. In the male category, though, no one comes close to Alan Rickman.

I wonder if you had time to read more of the stuff I sent you. If you did some comparing you'd notice that I've made some pretty big editions. Did you like the parts concerning Rebecca in Chapter VIII, for instance?


P.S. There's more I wanted to tell you, but I've included them in an email in respect of the site regulations regarding non-chitchat in reviews.

Author's Response: So good to hear from you. I thought I'd respond to this finally:D Remember that Gabe is familiar with shamans and medicine men but not with witches. His only reference was the Wizard of Oz. I guess I never thought how the Good Witch could've given Dorothy the ruby slippers right off the bat, but you're right. That movie always terrified me so I didn't choose to watch it and always covered my face and ears when the Wicked Witch came on. Did you get your question answered as to whether Gabe was worried about Bella bewitching him? I agree--Helena Bonham Carter can wear anything. I wholeheartedly agree the same of Alan Rickman. I was going to say that I wonder if he's aware of what a sex symbol he is, but I'm sure he's totally aware. I wonder what his partner thinks about that:D Thanks David, so much for following my story so faithfully. It means a lot to me. If you haven't noticed there's a new chapter up and I've got another chapter with Kerichi for betaing. I'll see you soon, my friend.

 Report Review

Review #8, by Vermouth The Dark Mark

3rd July 2012:
*Rubs hands* Where do we begin? Ah yes. First, a little laugh at my expense: we both are aware that your stories are not exactly the most sought-after on either of the three sites you posted on, despite their sterling quality, maybe it's your unusual and unconventional pairing . . . anyway, I've been checking on your profile for more times than I'd care to admit, since this lovely site sees fit to not include update-alerts to registered users. When your Chapter XVI came out on the other site, I've been mentally ticking the days off the calender till I could see an update here as well, which unfortunately has yet to happen. And after what seemed like the fifth time disappointed, I realized that there was a big fat ugly 0 on Chapter XV as well. Imagine my mortification: I could've sworn that I've reviewed this one, but reality begs to differ.
*
Obsessions can turn very ugly, I shall not belabor on how horrifying it would be if those sketches should fall into the wrong hands, but aesthetically speaking the Dark Mark does have its unique appeal. Have you ever read Charles Baudelaire's Les Fleurs du Mal? Apparently the Slytherins would luuurve the poems. I've once started a topic on a HPNetwork forum (the site had somehow crashed now, F...) asking them what books they believed would find their way onto Severus Snape's floor-to-ceiling bookshelves. I picked C. Bauldelaire and said that he'd fit nicely right next to Franz Kafka and perhaps James Joyce. I wonder if any HP fan has ever written an ode to the Dark Mark, if only to be sarcastic. I believe you'd find poems in that book chillingly wonderful, be it in English or original French. As for me? I'm in possession of a Chinese version, complete with a score of pages of artwork inspired by Baudelaire's writings, and to date I haven't made it past the introduction and Dedication. ;-)

Apparently they have this kind of stick-on tattoo that resembles the Dark Mark, both ScholasticBook and PotterFilm versions. Have you ever seen any of those for sale? Sticking them on to show others would be a laugh.

If Bella had did a little more research she would have told Gabe that she read 'somewhere' that the symbol belonged to a secret ultra-Right neo-Nazi organization who finds it more appealing than the more 'traditional' Hakenkreuz; which is in fact not very far from the truth and would guarantee his disgust towards it.


One thing I found curious is the way JKR sampled out her usages of characters' names: the people she refers to by first names only include the trio, the rest of the Weasley children, Neville, Sirius, and surprisingly --- Bellatrix. Isn't that fascinating? It's not like the case of, say, Sherlock Homes, where just about everyone including the two heroes are referred to by their last names (which I believe is simply the way things were back in Victorian times; it's an issue of respect, formality and affections, much like the way Chinese people would not, unlike Americans, address their parents --- and that includes stepparents --- directly by their names unless they want their bottoms reared); nowadays first-name-only implies endearment or value or both or even more. So what should we make of Bellatrix then? Why does Jo bestow on her a literary significance/honor she did not give to Dumbledore, Hagrid . . . let alone Severus Snape? *frustrated sigh*

So if anyone wonders why you get so "cozy" with Bella, you could reply that apart from the fact that Bella is the protagonist of your fic, Jo herself has also displayed an almost weird . . . partiality towards what is inarguably the most horrifying female character of her books. Umbridge comes close, though if I'm not mistaken Jo had let her live and keep her old job in the MoM. I mean, OK, so she's somehow guilty of nothing . . . but why didn't the Dementors get her when Harry stunned her when they were stealing the Locket? Does the fact that the Dementors are loyal only to the highest bidder (i.e. those who provides the most souls to feed on) count for nothing?

Author's Response: You'll be pleased to know I have another chapter almost ready to go. I haven't read any of Baudelaire's books. If I'm looking for something to read in French I'll check that out. You've made them sound very enticing. I haven't seen the stick on tattoos either. I always say go real if you're talking about tattoos. I have a wreath of red roses and thorns around my left ankle. I have three roses for each of my children. Your comments about the Dark Mark were very informing. But, did this neo-Nazi group come into existence back in the 70s or later? And, remember how Bella first saw the Dark Mark? She saw it on some drawings in the possession of the Dark Lord. She knew it was something sinister but do you think she would really have done any research on it? Her comments to Gabe were given for a different reason. But that was interesting information all the same. I always wondered why JKR didn't kill Umbridge when she was hauled off in the forest. I've always been "cozy" with Bellatrix. She's always fascinated me. I think she's beautiful. She's powerful and knows how to get what she wants. She's so mentally ill, yet so independent. She's a product of her environment. She's grown that way but I thihk she started out way more innocent. As always thanks for writing a review. If it weren't for you I'd probably have no reviews:D

 Report Review

Review #9, by Vermouth A Black Dinner with the Dark Lord

29th September 2011:
. . . And I apologize for reviewing this so late, after reading it for no less than five times on my cell phone in txt format. ;)

It's such fun, isn't it, keeping certain characters such as Gabe in the dark, while you the author, your beta and all of your readers know exactly what's going on? Fireworks indeed . . .

This kind of show, I mean Bella's Juggling Act, can't last for long, it just can't. I wouldn't put it past you to kill Gabe off, but I do hope that you don't let him (or anyone else for that matter) to die not knowing what got them.

See you next chapter! It looks kinda lonely around here, but at least you've got me *smug grin*

Author's Response: I was giving up hope that anyone would review this chapter:D I guess I should've known I could rely on you. And you read it five times. I'm very impressed! I think you're kind of hinting for me to let you know what's going to happen, but I'm not:D I will say that Gabe is not going to die. He might come close but, well, you'll see. I know it's hard for Bella to juggle things. Maybe I'll give her a break soon:D I wish I had more time to write. I've been so busy at work. I should be close to having a chapter to add to Sybil's story. We've had crazy weather too--it's been hot so my sense of timing and the seasons has been thrown off. I'm still wearing summer clothes and using the air conditioning and it's October. Tell me, do you have Halloween in China? Dumb question, I know. Thanks for reviewing. Your reviews are always thoughtful and mean a lot to me. I'll see you next time.

 Report Review

Review #10, by Vermouth Chapter 13: Prelude to Dinner

24th July 2011:
So this is where Bella starts to juggle Gabe AND the Dark Lord, and apparently, she isn't having so much fun doing that. Dinner sounds creepy enough. So Cissy accepts Lucius' proposal? And the Minister's in the same room as Voldemort?

Nice chapter, I could write some more, but first of all, one of our mutual friend's entering a contest on FIGMENT dot com, using her Snowflakes and Memories story. Go to her profile on FF dot net for more information on that. I'm sure that she'd appreciate your support.

Author's Response: I'm sorry it took so long to respond. I've been busy at work with a big project and I just moved my office to another building. Can we still read in the contest on figment? I thought that closed on July 22. I meant to do something with that but I lost track of time. I thought my summer was going to be more relaxed but it sure isn't. Are you out of school for the summer or do you take summer classes? Do you see DH2 this coming weekend? I won't say anything about it except that I went for the fifth time yesterday. That will probably be my last time unless it comes to the old drive-in theatre in a town about 23 miles from here. That would be fun to see on a huge screen. I never saw it in 3D. Well, I didn't mean to turn this into an e-mail:D Yes, this is the inevitable time when Bella starts to juggle Gabe and the Dark Lord. She'll have fun for a little while but she'll start to feel conflicted over her two different lives. Yes, the Minister is in the same room as Voldemort. Remember, this is the late seventies and they don't know how evil the Dark Lord's going to become. Gabe isn't a canon character but the story does follow the timeline and events in the books--so Cissy has to accept Lucius' proposal. Gosh, where do you think Draco came from?:D See you next time.

 Report Review

Review #11, by Vermouth Chapter 12: The Invitations

28th June 2011:
Oh wow, so they finally . . .? How dumb of me not to take that hint from last chapter's ending. +_+ And after I realized that my head was filled up with . . . well images. [shaky laugh]

Just wait 'till I send you the translation of Chapter 15 . . . btw did you get my email?

"Bloody hell! I almost hexed you. You're the last person I want in my bed. Not my type at all," -- Ouch. Could Bella get any more blunter in her wording? I didn't realize what she was (sarcastically) implying until a full minute had passed! That was definitely a LOL moment.

Looking forward to the Dinner Party. Mayhem will ensue, I guess? The sisters-working-together-to-mess-with-mommy's-mind scene was hilarious already!

Author's Response: I responded to this yesterday and my computer ate it. I’m trying it again. This time I’ll put it in another document and copy it over. I’m glad I left the sex scene to the reader’s imagination. I’m sure your creative imagination gave you a very clear picture of what happened:D I wasn’t going to let that happen for another couple of chapters but my beta thought it was time. I had to agree since it saved me from writing an uncomfortable scene and maybe not quite doing it justice. That’s one thing about Bella—she’s very blunt. She thinks it makes her meaning more clear. Cissy really isn’t her type in more ways than one. Bella likes men and she likes them looking like Gabe—not pale like Cissy. I almost had Bella Imperious their mother but Confundo seemed to do the trick as well, and as Kerichi pointed out, wouldn’t land Bella in Azkaban. The next chapter is with Kerichi now and is titled, “Prelude to Dinner.” Hopefully, I’ll be able to get it submitted before too long. Yes, I received your e-mail and hope to respond in the next week. I’ve been busy at work and with doctors’ appointments but I think things might slow down soon. I just wanted to say how much I appreciate your thoughtful reviews. I always enjoy hearing from you. I learn a lot about different things from you and I love your insightful comments. So, until next time . . . .

 Report Review

Review #12, by Vermouth Chapter 11: No, Not Owls!

10th June 2011:
Clearly Bella had been enjoying herself in Gabe's arms, but there's nothing like being in the midst of something passionate only to get interrupted somehow. ;)

No offence but, it's quite funny to think that with all the embrace-nature ideologies, some Native Americans would still consider owls as messengers of death. I could almost hear Hagrid 's voice now: "Seriously misunderstood creatures, owls are . . ."

Back in the 1960s and 1970s, there was this policy for Chinese educated youths to take part in long-term manual labor in the rural areas. My mother, then nineteen years old, once saw an owl perching on a branch, she thought it was adorable and tried to attract its attention. She did NOT know that owls were capable of so suddenly turning their heads 180 degrees backwards, and stare at her intently with those amber eyes! lol It's a long way of me saying that I loved this chapter.

Do not fear, Bella's still very much in character so far. This story belongs to the filling-the-period-blanks catagory, rather than the rewriting-certain-canon-periods one. There's little chance of spoiling things, if you know what I mean.

Turns out that you've got yerself a new admirer for this story, eh? Congratulations. Fate must have something to do with a certain person landing himself onto a certain story he enjoys . . .

Oh yes, I could just see Cissy's reaction to all this, she might have an apoplexy on the spot?

What do you mean? That you thought dancing knives and owls who crave grapes are not fit for the public eye? Because they are! Ms K is a great reader and advisor though . . . so humorous and wise.

Wonder what happens next?


On a more personal note, how are you these days? Did your trip in early May go well? Hope you're enjoying the reading material I sent you.

Author's Response: Hey there--it was so good to hear from you again. I enjoyed the story about your mother and the owl. I can just see it happening. Now, come on--certainly there are some Chinese superstitions; some good luck or bad luck animals or rituals. That's something interesting to think about--different superstitions across cultures. You know, I think it is fate that brings some people into our lives. I know it was fate that led me to reading fan fiction. I wish I had known such a thing existed before two years ago. I'm learning a lot about writing:D I was recovering from a broken leg and reading fan fiction saved my sanity. I guess it is easier to fill in the blanks in a story line but every once in a while I get comments that Bellatrix isn't mean enough:P I'm doing OK, I guess. My trip in May was uneventful. Have you done any more translating? I need to send you reviews of what I've read. I seem so busy at work. Hopefully, I can finish up some projects that are almost finished and do some more reading. I have Chapter 12 ready to submit. I just haven't had time. Maybe tonight. That means you'll get a new chapter early next week. Thanks for your long and insightful review and for sharing a couple of stories. See you next time.

 Report Review

Review #13, by Pretense Of Perfection Chapter 11: No, Not Owls!

8th June 2011:
Update please! I'm so in love with this it's boggling my mind. I don't think I've ever been this wild about a story before. It's literally one a.m. and I should've been in bed hours ago.

Anyways, like I stated earlier, love it. The ceremony was beautifully written, and I sort of rather like Gabe's friends. I can't wait to see what type of portrait gabe paints of Bella, the chemistry between the two is just so amazing.

Author's Response: You don't know how happy you've made me with your comment about the chemistry between Gabe and Bella. I try really hard to make Bella stay in character. And, I don't want Gabe to come off as some dumb Muggle who doesn't know what's going on either. Any ceremonies I've written about were recalled from memories and observations and I had a couple of Native readers who read the chapters for authenticity. Any bits of Lakota language I've used came from a Native speaker. I remember in one chapter, I used the word "kola" the wrong way in my thank yous in the Author's Note. You can only use that when men are talking about male friends, and not with female friends. So, I had to go back and change it. I've learned many things and learned to write about many things as I've researched these chapters. Anyway, thank you for your lovely reviews. You've inspired me to write more. I need to edit Chapter 12 (probably this weekend) and then I'll submit it for validation. See you next time.

 Report Review

Review #14, by Pretense Of Perfection The Drum Lesson

8th June 2011:
Maybe it's the fact that I'm like one percent Native American, but I absolutely adore everything about your story. It's truly mesmerizing. I planned on reading a few chapters and returning to my tv, but I literally just cannot stop.

I smell a favorite coming on. I'd also like to submit your story to the Story Seekers, if it hasn't been submitted already, because you are definately not recieving the recognition you deserve for this. Everything is incredibly well thought out, and it's clear that you've done your homework regarding Native American culture and traditions.

And Bella is amazingly in character to me, even though she's developed an obsession with a muggle. I honeslty don't think I would've thought that possible if I hadn't read this story with my own eyes. She's still cruel, manipulative, conniving, cunning, and slightly insane, yet she's passing as the one thing she hates most. I can't tell you how intesne this is.

Oh, and I loved the part with "Roddy" and Rabastan. Do I sense a slight foreshadowing there?

Author's Response: I'm so happy you're enjoying this story. I really do love writing it. I am Native and I work in a totally Native school. There are some spiritual and mystical aspects of Lakota culture (and other Native cultures) that I thought paralleled the Magical culture. I decided I wanted to point that out. I haven't heard of Story Seekers, but this story is posted on two other sites that I don't think they'll let me mention here. Maybe you can PM me and tell me about Story Seekers. That may be another possibility for both reading and posting. Thank you so much for thinking that Bella is still in character despite the fact she's fallen in love with a mixed blood Yank Muggle. She's still herself even though she's different. My theory is that she always had the underlying addictive, mentally ill personality but it didn't obviously show up until something traumatic happens to her. There was always that insanity lurking below the surface. It's sometimes hard to write because I want Gabe to love her but not to see her obvious faults--yet those faults still have to show. I have to walk a fine line. Yes, "Roddy" is the Lestrange she eventually marries. But just wait until you see what happens before then. (Mwahaha--the sound of evil cackling.) I'll respond to your third review tomorrow. Gotta get my boys to bed. Thanks for your review. As I said, it made my day.

 Report Review

Review #15, by Pretense Of Perfection At Angel's Crossing

7th June 2011:
I'm loving this fic so far! Bella is portrayed in such a different way than most authors portray her, it's hard not to get pulled in! Just like poor Gabe, I'm afraid.

He too, is a complex and interesting character, he seems well thought out, and I sort of love him. His background and culture are quite out of the norm for what one normally reads on here, and I must say he is brilliant.

I can't wait for more!

Author's Response: I must say, that reading your reviews made my day. Not a lot of people leave reviews so it meant that much more. I'm writing Bella as I see her. I like to think the best of people and it's hard for me to believe that someone can be that evil and cruel. So, I'm trying to fill in Bella's history. Something had to have happened to twist her so badly. And, this is the story of what happened; the trauma she suffered. Gabe is a character based on a real person, sort of:D I have the next chapter written but I have to edit it. Right now, I'm working on another short story that's a spin-off from this one. I will decide in the next couple of days which story I'm going to submit next. Did you check out my Christmas story and Valentine's Day story? They're both related to this one. Thanks again. I hope you keep reading.

 Report Review

Review #16, by Vermouth Two Dreams and . . . An Omen?

21st April 2011:
Well, to be honest the concept of warning in dreams is kind of cliche, but this chapter itself is not. At least, Gabe could really use the comfort from Rain, who has now been granted a bit of omniscience of the situations around him. I was a little annoyed at her haughtiness towards Bella, though. Weren't angels supposed to be patient towards the slow-minded? :D Or maybe I confused Native Americal spirits with Buddist monks, who value discipline and calmness while attempting to sway the minds of bad people. They would remain so even in the face of an invading army bent on breaking in and killing the innocent people taking refuge in their temple.

"You're in God's country," the woman replied, in a definitely non-British accent. "And I'm Rain."

This showed, to me at least, some of Rain's haughtiness. If I had dreamt of a ghost like her I may have acted in the same way (dodges freak lightning bolt hurtled down from the heavens). While reading this line for the first time, I thought Bella would be saying something more, other then "Muggles don't have ghosts" (though that is a very good breach of canon thought) and later, "Get me the hell out of here." Don't you see what I mean? Well, I'm rambling . . . Ahem, anyway, I had thought that Bella would use her contempt against her dead competitor to mock her, here's one version I can think of:

"You are Rain? Fat lot of help you turned out to be, your precious 'God's country' is still hot as an inferno."

See the possibilities?

There's something else: I had been expecting Gabe in his heart-warming to see little Autumn Rose as well, alive for once (boy am I cynical) and laughing at daddy in Rain's arms. That would provide some more emotional closure, since Gabe always grieved that the stupid auto accident had took away not one but two lives. Why can't Rain be doing that? Such a lousy mother . . . Yikes, that's the second time I was forced to jump away at light speed, you drunken Thor!

Is it possible that my two suggestions here could be put to some use?


The scene of "the people in the portraits ran for cover" as Bella slammed the door shut really brought a grin to my face. It's the kind of thing that could happen in the magical world all the time but we don't actually think of until someone puts in down into words.


How could Bella listen to Rain's warning, if three ghosts in a row had failed to make a mark on her before? (Of course, that's another story we're talking about . . .)


Anyway I'm glad to see Gabe and Bella back on scheduled orbit, and that he finally mentioned doing paintings of her. Wasn't that a notion he had had since the very first chapter? Ms. K is right, it would've been more realistic for Bella to smirk meaningfully at Gabe's slip of tongue (or is it?) about not needing to wear anything.


Fret not, whatever happens you'll always have (at the very least) two dedicated readers. And I really don't mind that it takes so long for another chapter to come out, because all good things come to those who wait. Every since I found you bombarding (is that a nice word to use?) other people's chapters with reviews all those months ago, I was like, wow, pity he/she only reviews but doesn't write yet . . . and when you told me your own story would be coming out, and I was exhilarated. It means a lot to me as well. Though the chapters are relatively short -- but hey, few of us ever can type 200 words per minute -- they were all very enjoyable. I only hope that you would keep doing this for a very long time. Writing stuff sustains the soul, you know. Ba Jin (Pa Chin), a famous Chinese writer who suffered himself and also lost his wife in the Cultural Revolution, wrote a very important book called Random Thoughts (400,000+ words) introspecting that horrible historical period, it sort of sublimated his inner self and he later lived to be 101, passing away six years ago.

Oh, and our mutual friend Ms. K has been proofreading that little translation project I've been working on. Expect to receive Chapters 1 - 12, fully edited, soon.

Author's Response: Your two suggestions were pretty good (and funny). I questioned myself about whether Autumn Rose should be brought in, but I will tuck your suggestions away in my memory file for possible later use. I thought Rain had to be haughty. She wasn't about to be threatened by Bella. She doesn't even want Gabe around Bella. Keep in mind that she's a Native woman who's protecting her man from someone she knows to be evil. Gabe is Rain's soul mate. She would die again rather than have him hurt in any way. I was writing her more from a Native woman perspective. That's just how she'd be.
Also, keep in mind that Ch. 10 happens before the Christmas story. Bella really doesn't think that Muggles can come back as ghosts. Bella doesn't have much experience with Muggles until she meets Gabe and his friends. I know it would've been better for Bella to smirk at Gabe's end of the chapter comment, but she didn't. Well, she kind of did in my mind but I didn't write it down.:D I will keep writing for a while. I find that I really enjoy it. Writing fan fiction has helped me work on my kids' book that I'm writing right now. I have some ideas for Chapter 11 so I might start writing that too. Thanks for your very constructive review. I'll see you next time and I await the arrival of your Chs. 1-12. I've been trying to enter this all day. I hope it stays this time!


 Report Review

Review #17, by Kerichi Two Dreams and . . . An Omen?

16th April 2011:
I'm not a fan of ex lovers coming back in dreams, but I did like that you had Rain visit Bella, too. The scene at the end was revealing, we haven't really seen Gabe and Bella act playfully together. On third reading Bella's questioning look strikes me as wrong when she tosses out entendres like hexes. I think it would be more "At Bella's smirk" heh.

No matter how many fan fiction stories you write, reviews will always mean everything, :D, but don't be discouraged if readers don't faithfully review. This story isn't Bella/canon character, so some people might not want to admit they're reading, although you know they are (thanks to the view count).

Author's Response: You always know the right thing to say. I suppose I will always treasure hearing that someone likes or loves a chapter or that it was very good:D People do seem to read even though they don't review. I'm at a point, also, that I have the story and I want to tell it. I like it myself:D A smirk would've sounded better. I can see gentle Gabriel feeling embarrassed at having suggested such a thing and Bella chuckling behind her hand. At first, I wanted Rain to just visit Bella in a dream to give her a warning. Then, I added Gabe. I don't think Bella had anything over on Rain, except being alive, and Rain seems to think Bella's wasting her time on that:D Someone asked me if Gabe could end up with Rain and get rid of Bella:D, but I told her that Rain is gone--she walked on and is waiting for Gabe, although not wishing to rush him there. Thanks for faithfully reviewing. I couldn't ask for more from a friend. See you next time.

 Report Review

Review #18, by Kerichi Chapter 9: Rain and Autumn Rose

2nd March 2011:
"I felt I was a little too old to be living with my motheryou know what I mean, Im sure."

Yes, she does! :D

Bella nods, but now I wonder if she should have made a face or given a rueful nod, something to show she feels that way. Oh well, if you decide to make a change, you can add it to the couple of dialogue quotes that should have been put at the beginning of a couple of paragraphs, but weren't, because your beta is the breaks-up-dialogue-with-action kind of writer. Mea Culpa. ;)

I liked the chapter, the story and that Gabe's different from other men to Bella. The possessive glance at the end was nice foreshadowing, too!

Author's Response: I figured that Bella would know what Gabe meant with his "living with my mother" comment.:D Poor Gabe didn't even know he was hitting a sore spot, although he would if Bella could introduce him to her family--fat chance of that happening:D I think I did change the "nod" to a "rueful nod" in one of my entries (maybe ff) and I added a couple of quotation marks. As I told Vermouth, I guess I didn't unterstand quotation use as much as I thought I did. I changed "vipera evanesco" to "vipera evanesca" in most places too. Even though I'm the author, there are some things I don't notice. I'm writing the characters based on people I know and things that have happened so I don't go into a chapter thinking I'm going to write Gabe as sympathetic, for example. I actually try to write as if I'm "feeling" Gabe or Bella or any other character I'm writing. When you notice a certain consistency or trait in a character, I'm very pleased because to me that means I'm doing a good job of presenting a character and that I'm not having them behave erratically, unless the person is erratic, of course. That's a long way of saying that I'm happy you see Gabe as treating Bella differently than other men treat her. He sees her as an intelligent and independent woman. He's not threatened by her and he's viewing her in a positive light. The real Gabe would do that too. So thank you. I also think it's important to keep in mind that Bella was once a fairly normal person but that she's always harbored a bit of mental illness and she's walking a thin line bordering on insanity right now. Thanks so much for reviewing. Those always help, as you know. I'll see you next time in one of our stories:P

 Report Review

Review #19, by Vermouth Chapter 9: Rain and Autumn Rose

2nd March 2011:
You've typed a quotation mark twice in the beginning of a paragraph--Thank you Mr Picky, you may leave the witness box.

If I had known he wanted to go to Stonehenge that bad, I would've Apparated to the highest point and showed him the view. Now that would've been something to talk about.

Could've looked even better if properly italicized, but I'm certainly NOT complaining here. This lovely little insight into her mind shows a lot about the tender feelings Bella harbors for Gabe. I didn't recall picking up similar things in past chapters, but I do now.

Bella struggled not to break the delicate wine glass she was squeezing in her fist.

Well if the glass had been a tad bit more fragile... Tweezers and Iodine please!

Jason shrugged. "I'm sure you're right, although, I'm surprised he's even dating now. A relationship as close as he had with Rain can't be broken, even by death."

Not that I don't believe in very strong emotional ties between people, I just think it's not a topic for other people to brag about; you may be their friend but that doesn't mean you know everything about them. I suppose Bella would agree--Don't you, Ms. Black? Yes, I understand you're more than riled up to know that Gabe has been keeping silent about his old love and family, now... would you please... pocket the baton thing you're pointing between my glasses?

Autumn is a lovely name. Have you seen the film 500 Days Of Summer? I watched it after I did Inception and I nearly busted some vital organs seeing Joseph Gordon-Levitt behave like a hopeless romantic after knowing him as the cool and collected Point-Man, Arthur.

That's a sad, sad tale Gabe talked about. Obviously Bella is touched.

One thing though, a person's concecutive quote that has been broken into paragraphs should go something like this:

"A strange thing happened to me, Mr Holmes.

"I bought a Christmas goose down the street to give to my family. When the cook treated it in the kitchen something fell out of its neck.

"You'd never believe it, it was a priceless blue carbuncle!" he held out his hand for the detective to see.


If you'd excuse my butchering Sir Arthur Conan Doyle's story, you will see that a quotation mark should always appear in the beginning of a quotation-paragraph and on the end of the quotation when it's inturrupted by a statement. Kinda tricky, I know. That been said, you may add another quotation mark at the beginning of paragraph "Around the beginning of September..." if you like.

I wonder if this is the first time the two of them ever kissed? If not please tell me where, my memory's fading... :D

Oh and I'm also sending you a PM, check it out.

Author's Response: Wow--I don't know where to start. I believe that Bella has definite feelings for Gabe but I don't think she quite knows what to do with them. Her parents are probably not a good example of love and romance. On top of that, she has to keep him hidden--he's a Muggle, a Yank, and a mixed-blood minority. She probably equates jealousy and possessiveness with love. Bella just doesn't know any better. I'll have to look closer for my quotation mark errors. I read through it twice but couldn't find anything obvious. I thought I had them right but I probably didn't understand all of the quotation mark rules as well as I thought I did. In the writing I do for work, we don't use quotation marks very often. Bella and Gabe have kissed before but not anything hardcore. She kissed him at the end of Ch. 3, "to thank him for the foot massage, of course." I think I remember her kissing him after they went out for dessert and she ran down into the underground station. They kissed in the Valentine's chapter, although that takes place in the future. Well, Vermouth, you are certainly a character:D That's about all I have for now. I do appreciate your reviews and your comments. I'll see you next time and maybe before.

 Report Review

Review #20, by Kerichi Chapter 8: Wiping the Tears

9th February 2011:
The ceremony was touching, but my favorite part was the stories about Rain. They showed that Gabe likes a certain type of headstrong, independent woman, and while Bella has magical powers and a Black streak, :D, she and Rain would have had a lot in common (aside from their taste in men).

The queue wait's short (for now) so I hope you'll update soon! ;)

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked the stories about Rain. They were all realistic events that could easily have happened. Yes, people around here hunt for rattlesnakes and eat them. Yes, there really is a gentlemen's club and RV park called the Prairie Chicken and that's exactly what it says on their sign. And yes, people have been known to camp outside tribal council headquarters to get something they want:D Gabe does like headstrong, independent women. He is confident enough that he's not afraid of them and can let them have their space and time. Gabe is a very intense character who loves hard and long. He's a Capricorn, you know. Now you've got me curious. I wonder if Bella and Rain will meet--witches can see ghosts and Rain is so protective of Gabe. I think ghosts have another sense too about good and evil. I can't wait to find out. Thanks so much for your review. You always point out interesting things to me. I know people like Gabe, Rain, Jason, and Wanbli and I do base the story on reality as much as I can. What I'm trying to say is that I know these people and can write a consistent character but I haven't categorized or analyzed them. I'll see you next time.

 Report Review

Review #21, by Vermouth Chapter 8: Wiping the Tears

9th February 2011:
(Well Gabe o'boy, Bella will be a whole new cauldron of ingredients compared to Rain, just be careful...)

I liked how the Tear-Wiping Ceremony went, and how the folks coped by reminiscing happy memories about the lost friend/lover, I'm sure Gabe feels much better now.

With half a fear of digressing, I liked how Jason mentioned about ordering a buffulo burger, it really shows a bit of his Native American roots. Now comes the digressing part, which is a Garfield daily script: One day at Irma's Diner, Jon asked for a burger, the waitress asked him to choose from beef, chicken, pork, ham, veggie, tofu, fish, octopus, ostrich and finally buffulo; Jon's mouth just hung wide open and Garfield commented that the variety is too much even for him. (Though I wonder if there are any mutton or lamb burgers? If not then why not?)

On an even bigger risk of digressing--Every time I read about people mourning their loved ones, I can't help but think of how the Chinese people mourned the late Premier Zhou after he died on 8 January, 1976. There was literally a flood of tears throughout the nation. Would you believe me if I told you he asked for his body to be cremanted and the ashes scattered across significant parts of the country? No wonder to this day many people still regard him as one of the most noble and greatest men.

Liked your author's note, by the way. I couldn't've survived here if not for Kerichi. You should've seen how horrendous my chapters were before she beta-ed them... On a related subject I think I'll be posting Chapter 12 on FF first and then on HPFF here. I cordially recommend you to activate the story-alert thing on FF if you haven't already. Thank you.

Author's Response: Gabe sure does have a different sort of woman this time. I think Bella and Rain have a few things in common except that Rain has a big heart and Bella has a big ego and is a mean prank-player. We can get buffalo burgers around here any time. It's supposed to be leaner than beef and very good for you. I based the guys' banter in the beer garden on my brother's funeral in 1989. His funeral was in the morning. In the afternoon, we all gathered at my parents' home and told funny stories about my brother. While we were sad we also had a lot of laughter as we remembered what a character he was. He had touched a number of people. The church was full that morning. I don't know if I'd ever start writing if it weren't for Kerichi. She encouraged me to start and she's been an excellent beta. I like how she doesn't change my style or ideas and when something's poorly written she's not afraid to tell me. I just submitted a Valentine's Day story for validation. If you have time you might enjoy checking it out. I will mosey over to FF soon. I've been really busy at work right now. It's a frantic time for grant writers. See you next time, my friend.

 Report Review

Review #22, by Kerichi A Ritual Journey

6th February 2011:
Do guys ever get too old for a secret knock? :D I think you showed how close the men are this chapter and that real friends go out of their way to help each other, even if that means hopping a flight to London and arranging a Wiping the Tears ceremony at Stonehenge!

You did a lot of research for the story (which I appreciate!). I wonder what kinds of groups have used Stonehenge for ceremonies during the autumnal equinox. If you remember, please share. It'll save me having to look it up. ;)

Author's Response: I went back into my notes to see if they said anything about who would use Stonehenge for ceremonies and I couldn't find any specific information, except that the only time they allow people up close to the monument is during the autumnal equinox. I didn't know that's what they would do when I started writing this story, although I knew I would use Stonehenge later. Fortunately, the story was close to the autumnal equinox so I decided that's where they would "wipe the tears." I don't think people get too old for secret signals they used when they were younger. I know that things like a secret knock can come in handy at times when you might have to verify who someone is. At this point in Gabe's life, he's trying to forget some memories he has from the past. I suppose he thinks that since he's a famous artist now, he has to give up childish things:D Thanks so much for reviewing. See you next time.

 Report Review

Review #23, by Vermouth A Ritual Journey

30th January 2011:
(Ha ha, looks like I came in first again!)
Why do I have this sinking feeling that there would be no happy ending with Bella and Gabe?

Stonehenge seems like a good place for a ritual, it seemed to me as having the ability to suck in and amplify cosmic magical energies.

Oh yeah, isn't she a wonderful friend not to mention beta...

See you next time and look out for chapter 12 that's soon to come out on FF!

Author's Response: I'm sorry it took me so long to get back to you. I don't know why you have a sinking feeling about the relationship between Gabe and Bella. Does it have something to do with Bella's reputation as the most evil witch ever? Or because she and Gabe are polar opposites? Keep in mind that Gabe is very patient. He has to be to deal with Bella. Don't write her off yet. Gabe might not be a wizard but you never know what magic he does have:D I still haven't gotten over to FF to read and review, but rest assured I will do that before too long. I should be submitting Ch. 8 to all three sites tomorrow. Sometimes the validation process takes forever, but when a chapter gets validated that is sure cause for celebration, isn't it? It kind of validates our abilities. Thanks for your consistent reviewing--it means a lot to me. See you next time.

 Report Review

Review #24, by Vermouth The Drum Lesson

24th January 2011:
I see that you've tried very hard to blend that certain Native American culture into the storyline. Right now I think it works, though I cannot say that I fully appreciate it since I know very little of it anyway. It shows how Gabe and by extention his band of brothers (hmm... pun intended, I guess) are different from the other people Bella meet every day, namely her family and the pureblood society. The contrast between the "all related" slogen and the Black Family's "Toujours Pur" really tells a lot. I like how Bella gets jealous of other women getting, say a 10 miles radius near Gabe and uses dirty tricks to drive her away.

P.S. About last chapter's sentence, This time Bella pictured wrapping a rope around her neck with exaggerated motions and pulling upward on the rope as her head dropped forward. I had the verses, Vincent is nice when his aunt comes to see him / But imagines dipping her in wax for his wax museum in mind, and I cracked myself up. BTW did you watch Vincent? Do you appreciate the macabre quality of the short film? I'm sure Bella would enjoy it immensely, don't you think?

P.P.S. My story has a new name on FF dot com, Fallout of the Deathly Hallows, if you find the freshly edited chapters worthy of leaving another review, please do so.

Author's Response: I had several reasons for using the Lakota culture in my story. That is the predominant culture where I live so it's relatively easy to integrate it into the story. What I don't know, I can ask many people I work with who live that culture. The Lakota culture is very beautiful and interesting. I don't think I've added so much that it overtakes the story. I wanted something that would contrast with Bella's pure-blood background--something that was so foreign to her but that she could come to love. I wanted Bella to learn that Muggles weren't all that bad. I really wanted to bring that point home making Gabe come from an American minority group, a Muggle, and a mixed-blood. I think at one point I commented that Bella's family would find him to be the worst kind of Muggle ever. After the next couple of chapters, I don't talk too much about Lakota culture. Gabe's friends go back home and we don't hear much from them until the very end. I didn't watch "Vincent" yet. I'll have to look to see if it's part of my "Nightmare Before Christmas" dvd. I do think Bella would appreciate anything macabre. And I think she would like it to happen to Jason:D I will definitely go to the other site and read and review your story over there. Are you Vermouth on FF? My story's over there too but under the name 'fynnsmom.' Are you back in circulation again? All done with finals? I've got a very busy month to get through at work. I plan to keep up with my story though. I'll talk to you again soon.

 Report Review

Review #25, by Kerichi The Drum Lesson

18th January 2011:
Poor Gabe, he doesn't know how true that is, that everything is in Bella's hands.

I think you make it very believable that smudging is a sacred ritual, and the Lakota culture in the story is part of what makes it unique.

Bella's characterization, too, is enjoyable. She's headstrong and self-centered and impulsive, spilling the wine down the woman's dress, making Jason cough. Even her petulant, "Be secretive. I have secrets too" is amusing.

She's not the kind of woman you'd want for a friend, but she's fun to read about! :)

Author's Response: I know, poor Gabe. I wonder if he'll ever figure out how much in control Bella is. I think he's too good-hearted. He'll always think the best about Bella. That Expelliarmus scene with the drumstick was fun to write. I shouldn't chuckle at my own writing but it was pretty funny. The thing is, I can actually picture it happening and then everyone around looking confused. Drummers aren't usually that clumsy. Of course, drummers usually don't have Bella hanging over them either:D I thought for a minute that I'd like to have Bella for a friend. I think she's fiercely loyal. On the other hand, you'd want to be her friend so she wouldn't hurt you:D And God forbid if she ever turned on you. Thanks for the review. I'll see you around soon. I'm submitting Chapter 7 tonight.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>