Reading Reviews for Lily's Letter
  
37 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Dalek194 The Headmaster's Name

23rd February 2011:
Poor Petunia; her parents are being very harsh! Although, I think that there was no need for her to say she hated her and that Lily is a freak, so she's being harsh too; also I'm surprised that Mr and Mrs Evans didn't think the letter was some sort of joke rather than believed it right away. One grammar thing I saw was;

- "I need to know," Lily!" I shouted (you don't need a " after the comma and before Lily)

There are very good parts to it, like Petunia's mishearing of Dumbledore's name (LOL! :-P) and the mention that Mr Evans works at Smeltings, as well as the mention of Vernon and Marge. That ties everything up nicely :-)

Overall, a good chapter, and not as pacy as the last one (that's a good thing :-D) I look forward to reading more!

Author's Response: Thank you for the review!

Thanks for correcting me! I'll go fix that :)

My sister was the one who suggested Dumbledore's misheard name. I'll be sure to tell her you liked it!

Thanks again for all of the amazing reviews.


 Report Review

Review #2, by Dalek194 The Letter

23rd February 2011:
This looks like it will be interesting, a fanfic written from Petunia's POV. I always feel sorry for her and feel she would have ended up much nicer were she not jealous of Lily being a witch.

It's well written, though a bit on the short side. The only think I'd ask is why did Petunia's Dad send her to her room like she'd done something wrong? Still, a good start, I look forward to reading the rest!

Author's Response: Thank you for another review! It means so much!

This story is short because it was my first fanfiction ever!

And Mr. Evans sent Petunia to her room because he was mad at her for the phone call disaster, and he needed some time. After all, he was in a bit of a shock.

The reason he wasn't as surprised as he might've been was because weird things have been happening, so he kind of suspected something was up.

Hope that cleared things up! :)


 Report Review

Review #3, by adahpfan Beverly Tells All

25th January 2011:
poor tuney... a great quick read!

Author's Response: Thank you for reviewing! This was my first story, and I'm glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #4, by adahpfan The Letter

25th January 2011:
great insight into Petunia's thoughts! mr evans was so unfair on her!

Author's Response: Thank you! I tried to make Petunia seem real, emotion wise. Mr. Evans was unfair, I agree -- maybe thats why Petunia is so bitter these days! :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by nitenel Beverly Tells All

17th November 2010:
Awww this story was sad... But it was very enjoyable too! You displayed Petunia's feeling exactly right.

10/10

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I'm so glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #6, by jynx Beverly Tells All

8th November 2010:
awww poor tuney!
but anyways, she;ll have to get over it.
it's really cool that you've got vernon and marge in the story already. Is this going to encompass all her years?

Author's Response: Thank you for the review!

Oh, I'm glad you liked how Marge and Vernon were in the story! I wanted to include them, but I worried that it would be too forced.

Unfortunately, I am going to work on different eras for awhile. Maybe I'll continue Petunia's life another time.

Thanks again for reading!


 Report Review

Review #7, by evans_4eva Beverly Tells All

8th November 2010:
Awww poor Petunia!! This is very sad...but very well written!! Really nice story :D

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I really appriciate the review!

 Report Review

Review #8, by potbelliestakeovertheworldhahaha The Letter

5th November 2010:
hmmm good. am i fat? anyway good. if you think i am fat, well, you are rite hehehehe

Author's Response: Um.thank you for the nice review. I am not going to answer that other question, thank you very much. :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by ProffesorBealette Beverly Tells All

2nd November 2010:
great job! so, thats why she doesnt like magic. because she is left out of it. good work.

Author's Response: Thank you very much for taking the time to read this! And even more, faithfully review everything I've written. Yes, I've always thought that Petunia's dislike of magic wasn't just because it was out of ordinary.

 Report Review

Review #10, by ProffesorBealette Summoning an Owl

2nd November 2010:
AUH! who is the woman? I cant wait to see! again, google? but the nast picture that came up is so funny. who am I, you ask? thats for me to know,but i have a cat millie!

Author's Response: I already know who you are. And as for the woman's identity, yes, read on! Thank you for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #11, by ProffesorBealette Grounded

2nd November 2010:
why did she shake her hand? and google? well, okay, im sure it will only make the story better.

Author's Response: Well, Petunia's hand hurt from writing so intensely. That often happens to me too. And yes, I know the technology is off. Ah, well. I'm glad you like it, MORGAN. :) Thank you for taking the time to read and review this!

 Report Review

Review #12, by ProffesorBealette The Headmaster's Name

2nd November 2010:
ha ha ha! dumb-bladder?!? funny. i Like how Mr. evans uses the may i thing that so many ANNOYING teachers use. ahem, mr erwin. ;)
i also like the thing with severus and the contaminate us thing.

Author's Response: Thank you! And wait . . . . Mr Erwin? I thought he was a very good teacher. And I'm relieved that you liked Snape's attitude, I almost pulled it out, it seemed a bit overdone to me. Keep reading!

 Report Review

Review #13, by ProffesorBealette The Letter

2nd November 2010:
that was amazing. really. personally, i think it could've stood as a one-shot, but i am happy thare are more chapters. but when Petunia calls dad, he says "I'm ver busy, Petunia." It should be very. but great job.

Author's Response: Thank you very much. When I wrote the first chapter, I wondered if I should stop. But I had so many ideas for this story, I couldn't leave it. As for the grammar slip, thank you for pointing that out.

 Report Review

Review #14, by mileycyrusmustdie Beverly Tells All

1st November 2010:
a good conclusion for a good fic. well done! even though the technology isnt right, like you said. bu i really enjoyed it! petunia is so epicly awesome the way you developed her because it is like the books. i always hated aunt petunia bu now i think twice about her for once.
good job keep writing!

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I am so glad you enjoyed it! I never had much patience for Petunia either, but writing this helped me understand her a bit more.
Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #15, by moony girlx The Headmaster's Name

28th October 2010:
WOW! i love your story! i like the way u wrote it from Petunia's pov! its explains a lot and how petunia felt during the whole thing! Xx

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I'm so glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #16, by Akussa Beverly Tells All

26th October 2010:
Nice conclusion. And what a roller-coaster of emotion this was for Petunia!
This story was a good light read. Like I said in earlier reviews, there were some little things that bothered me both, overall it made me laugh and I chose to accept these things as part of your storytelling.

Author's Response: Thank you for reading! You have no idea how much it means to me when people read my stories.
Thanks again! I'm glad you liked it, and I will make sure resources are more realistic for that time period.


 Report Review

Review #17, by Akussa Grounded

26th October 2010:
I agree with Petunia; how rude of them to celebrate Lily's birthday without her! What a nice way to make her accept her sister! Not.

Another short chapter though it gives insight on how come Petunia was a tad cold to her sister.
Oh and again, Google it? House computer? 70s?

Author's Response: Yes, I know, the technology IS a bit off for that long ago. The problem is, I'm kind of a kid, its hard to imagine life without that stuff :)
Thank you for reading!


 Report Review

Review #18, by Akussa The Headmaster's Name

26th October 2010:
Nice little scene between the two sisters. I believe you captured Petunia's conflicting emotions right. I can't wait to see the letter she writes to mister Dumb-bladder of Hogpimple school!!

Author's Response: Thank you! I tried to imagine that I was Petunia for awhile to get in character. It didn't work out so well when I accidentally snapped at my sister as Petunia would . . . .
Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #19, by Akussa The Letter

26th October 2010:
Well, the idea is great, the characterization is good but the pacing is a bit too fast and hard to follow. As if small paragraphs were missing at places that would slowdown the action.
Other than that, I noticed a small erm, I don't know the english word for it but, let's just say that Cell phones were not very common or, you know, invented back in the 70s!

Still, you captured my attention and I am going straight to ready the next chapters!!

Author's Response: Thanks for reading! Sorry if the spacing was hard to follow, I will work on that. As for the cell phone thing, maybe the Evans were rich, I don't know. I guess I forgot that this was a generation ago! Thanks for the advice!

 Report Review

Review #20, by Billy salisbury Beverly Tells All

26th October 2010:
Great Job. Except one thing, Im pretty sure there was no google back then(:

Author's Response: Oh, well, I guess not. Oops! :)
Thanks for reading!


 Report Review

Review #21, by Billy salisbury The Letter

26th October 2010:
Its intresting seeing things from a muggles point of view. Great Job!

Author's Response: Thanks so much! Originally I was going to have the story from Lily's point of view, but I wanted to do something different.
Thanks again for reading!


 Report Review

Review #22, by B.T.andStrawberryCombined Beverly Tells All

24th October 2010:
i liked it, good job and i liked the end. Petunia is very in char in the end. i loved it. please also continue your other story Double Crossed by Draco Malfoy. all of your work rox!!
:) :) :)

Author's Response: Thank you for reading! I'm glad you think Petunia is in character in the end, I reread the chapter The Prince's Tale in book 7 before I wrote this fic.
And I do not plan on abandoning Double Crossed by Draco Malfoy any time soon. :)


 Report Review

Review #23, by sweetmosey Summoning an Owl

9th October 2010:
Hogwarts-ee? what was she thinking!?

Author's Response: I don't know. I needed something that rhymed! :) Thanks for reading!

 Report Review

Review #24, by FictionFan24 Summoning an Owl

9th October 2010:
Great read! You really bring this creative story to life. Love it!

Author's Response: Thank you for your great review. I'm glad you like it!

 Report Review

Review #25, by Proffesor Bealette Grounded

6th October 2010:
Can I please have more? Soon?

Author's Response: Yup, as soon as it is validated! Thanks for reading!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>