8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Secret Santa Somewhere In Between

31st December 2011:
I loved this! It was so interesting, seeing what it was like for Dumbledore after he died. The part where he imagined how his life could have been made me sad, but I loved that you included it because regret is a part of life.

The way you used the quotes from the different books was really cool. You took them and put them in a different context, but they still worked perfectly. Loved it!

I'm glad that at the end he was able to be content, and that the darkness was not so dark afterall. The ending was perfectly written.

Really great piece, you're a fantastic writer!
-Secret Santa

 Report Review

Review #2, by marinahill Somewhere In Between

5th September 2011:
Wow. This was so deep. You explore all sorts of conflicting emotions within a very complex man and grasp his character very well. You create this sort of ethereal quality about his location and it was enchanting.

"These imaginings spun about him with great colour and depth, being brought to life before his very eyes." Descriptions such as this really created a vivid picture in my mind. Really beautiful imagery.

A very lovely piece, well done.

- Marina

Author's Response: Hi!
Thank you so much for reviewing this piece! I always felt that Dumbledore was one of those characters so complex you could write book after book about his thoughts and character and never really ever capture anything more than a snapshot of what ran through the complex mind of a man who, in my opinion was nothing short of brilliant in the series. When I wrote this, I wrote it with every intention of trying to condense that, and trying to capture a very select series of emotions and hoped to present him as a human, conflicted by his own thoughts and feelings, and I'm glad I achieved that.

I've not actually heard the "afterlife" (I suppose I would call it) that I decided to create being described as ethereal before, although now that you mention it, I think that is a perfect word to describe what I hoped to capture, I wish I'd thought to use it myself! I really wanted the sense that it was one of those places were nothing at all really stood still, so distant I could scarcely imagine how it would look if I tried.

Thank you so much for taking the time to read and review my awfully long-titled glimpse into the mind of Albus Dumbledore!


 Report Review

Review #3, by forsakenphoenix Somewhere In Between

7th August 2011:
I do love me some afterlife fics. ;)

This was beautiful in a stark, lonely kind of way. The fact that time holds no meaning and gave Albus time to contemplate was a nice touch. His thoughts at times seemed disjointed, and maybe it was because of where he is and the loss of his perception of time that makes his thoughts unconnected.

You pack a lot of detail into such a short story and it works well for you here. The little details about how he simply thinks for something and it appears, the laughter of Ariana (I'm assuming). The quiet desperation for a life that is not his own. It's sad to see Dumbledore contemplating his failures in death because we always saw him as this powerful leader who always did things with such precision and care.

I love the last line, how he waits for Harry and then the train to take him onward, to perhaps rejoin those of his family that has passed on long before him.

What a lovely, contemplative piece. :)

forsakenphoenix (Ravenclaw)

Author's Response: Hi!

The loneliness is something I thought would be perfect for him in this situation, just seeing as he's waiting for Harry. But I suppose he also seemed fairly lonely while living also, while he was surrounded by others I can't help but imagine there would have been a certain aspect of loneliness in what he attempted to achieve, although that might have just been me. That and I thought the change between life and death would be enough to disconnect the thoughts of even the greatest wizard.

It was the laughter of Ariana, considering I always thought he'd see her in the Mirror of Erised rather than some nice socks I thought it could be the sort of thing he would hear, but I suppose even in death I wanted to show that he was still quite some way away from her in this piece, still there waiting for Harry to solve the final piece of the puzzle before he could join her. I wanted him to be this way because I think he was far from perfect so I don't think I could have portrayed him that way, and it would seem his sister and what happened to her was one of the huge events in his life that he always kept quiet, I think it proved there was a whole other side to him.

I really wanted to make some form of connection between the two afterlifes they experience, mostly because it was written for a staff challenge and the quotes I selected just seemed to be perfect for this sort of situation and I felt the train was that perfect thing for that, especially considering Dumbledore didn't see Kings Cross as his, but rather something else, something I imagine to be a little more like this.

Thank you so much for all your reviews, I'm so sorry it's taken me so long to get around to replying to them all!

~ InTheShadowsIDwell


 Report Review

Review #4, by Dalek194 Somewhere In Between

25th February 2011:
Wow - that's deep. In a good way ;-)

A very thought-provoking, detailed piece of writing. It is rich in detail, making up for it's lack of length, and though much of it is very sad, the end offers hope as we know Harry will soon arrive, then the train to take Dumbledore onwards to a happier place where he can see his family again.

The beginning is very similar to Harry's "death", but it branches out to become reflection time for Albus, and eventually a sense of being ready to move on, which he wasn't when he arrived. Nice work.

Author's Response: Hi,
Thanks for reviewing!
I really wanted to capture something unique with this piece and I'm not entirely sure what possessed me to do that, but I felt Dumbledore's "death" scene fit well with the quotes for the challenge and you picked up that it was similar to Harry's, I used it as an inspiration for this piece. I didn't really want to write a sad depressing piece so I'm glad the hopeful tones really showed through at the end :)

Thanks once again,
- Ashlee


 Report Review

Review #5, by Axjion Somewhere In Between

12th October 2010:
Hey :D

I knew this was going to be an afterlife piece. I don't know what clued me onto that, but I just knew.

Overall, it feels a little... I don't know... callous and lonely? But is that how you meant it to feel? You did write (Paragraph 3, Lines 1-2) that "...he barely felt at all. He had long past a time where he allowed his emotions to get the better of him."

I guess Dumbledore had already accepted his death.

I like the part where he hears Ariana's laughter. I think it was strengthened by him not seeing her at all. Even though she's passed on like him, he can only find her in memory. Good stuff.

I love afterlife stories; each author always puts such an interesting perspectinve on them, and this one is no different.

Hope to read more from you
--Axjion

Author's Response: Hey,
Thank you so much for reviewing, I don't really know what clued you in either, although the banner was meant to have a few give aways in it, although I had it made so that they wouldn't be entirely visible... Perhaps that's one reason... I'm not entirely sure. Although I'm glad something clued you in, I prefer knowing personally when I go into an afterlife piece. I suppose that's just me.

I did actually want it to feel lonely, but in the end, I suppose his memories were almost enough to keep him company, he had to wait a year for Harry to appear after all. That's what the last line was alluding to, although perhaps it was a little more hidden than I had first anticipated...

I believe Dumbledore had long accepted his death, 'To the well organised mind, death is but the next great adventure...' I really think that rings true for Dumbledore on so many levels and I really wish that was one of the quotes, I did draw so much inspiration from it. But still, I tried to use what we knew of Dumbledore to make it as close as possible to what something that was somewhat believable.

But never the less, I believe too that each author puts a different spin on the afterlife, although I think mine was just a little more strange than most as it was empty and kind of filled with nothingness I guess, although that's the way I intended it to be, it's kind of the in-between I guess. Not quite in the afterlife, but not quite alive...

Thank you so much, once again for reviewing,
- Ashlee


 Report Review

Review #6, by Akussa Somewhere In Between

12th October 2010:
This was a wonderful little story; I loved reading it although I was a bit sad that it ended so soon! You are a very gifted writer; the words flow and combine in a perfect way. Congrats on using those three quotes so well. They fit inside your story as if they had been written by you and specificaly for this story.

Author's Response: Hi,
Thank you so much for reviewing my story :)
I can barely think of a thing to say in response to so many lovely comments! Although, I must say I'm glad the quotes worked, I was so worried they wouldn't combine as I wanted them to, but it's reassuring that they seemed to work into the story as though they were there all along. It was rather difficult working three lines in around something without any form of dialogue, although I do love writing without dialogue that being said.

Thank you so much once again for reviewing,
- Ashlee


 Report Review

Review #7, by ob sessed Somewhere In Between

12th October 2010:
Hii, wow this was so beautifully written, the descriptions and use of imagery were so spot on with the mood of the story. It flowed so perfectly and so easily. Your writing is outstanding and your usage of the quotes from the books were very well integrated into your story. It was such a calming story despite it being set in what I assumed to be the afterlife. It is also a very interesting portrayal of the afterlife, I liked how you didn't go and fluff it up, but let the story unfold on its own (if that made sense). I wish I could say more except for that I really liked it and great job! :) 9/10! x

Author's Response: Hi,
Thank you so very much for reviewing! :) You're right it is set in the afterlife of sorts, but in particular the "Platform 9 and 3/4" Harry experiences towards the end of DH, however judging from Dumbledore's reaction I assumed he was not seeing a train station, hence the last line which I tried to tie in with what he knew would happen... Although it probably was a little vague in that sense.

What you've written totally makes sense, I'm not good at all with fluff, and it tends to become over-dramatic, I'm working on it for NaNo this year, a romance... A bit of a challenge for me. I'm hoping to practice reigning in my excessive fluffy-ness.

Anyway, back on topic, I'm really glad you liked it and thank you once again for reviewing,
- Ashlee


 Report Review

Review #8, by SecretDragonRider Somewhere In Between

13th September 2010:
That's really nice! Well done. I like the way how you managed to combine the three quotes. Your story actually gave me the feeling that I was there, witnessing the scene. Congratulations :)

X

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your review! :) I really wanted to give the reader the idea that they too were witnessing the scene, so I'm glad it came across this way.

Thanks once again for reviewing,
- Ashlee


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login