Reading Reviews for Painting
  
9 Reviews Found

Review #1, by DumbledoresArmyOfOne Painting

10th June 2012:
This is a beautiful story, just proving my opinion that you can write ANYTHING.

Luna was perfect, exquisite, whimsical, everything she should be and more. I tried writing Luna, but it always sounds forced and has never made its way out of the confines of my notebook, but you write her beautifully.

Her characterization was right on! The intelligence, creativity, naivete and faith that is Luna is present everywhere in this story, everywhere. Also, I love how you expanded this story from that one thing in Deathly hallows. You took this mention and you made something beautiful.

I love the idea of the gold paint coming from her mother. Luna's mother is a character i would love to know more about.
This line above all brought everything together for me. The Lunaness of what she wanted to do: "Something smooth, swift, darting between the portraits, linking them as one? Not to constrict, not to bond, but to connect, to bring together. As friends."

Thank you for writing this. It is beautiful.

Author's Response: eee thank you so much :3

luna is a very, very hard character to write, and it was only in the relatively simplistic terms of a 12+ one shot that I could really write her. she's very hard to write into any fic with more mature themes; I've tried and it's near impossible. so, yeah. it's hard, haha.

I always loved that little scene in DH...luna is my favourite character, and I was gutted that they cut it from the film. I thought it was so sweet, and it actually made the realisation of her kidnapping in that same chapter even more shocking. I think JKR used it to remind readers of how steadfastly loyal and kind luna is before smacking them in the face with her imprisonment at malfoy manor.

thank you so so much for the lovely review ♥


 Report Review

Review #2, by SunSation Gal 07 Painting

24th December 2011:
Aww! this is so sweet! and you write Luna beautifully. :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I find Luna quite a challenge, so it's always a relief to hear that ♥

 Report Review

Review #3, by NicolaEve Painting

8th November 2011:
Hi! this is an amazing story, i thought she would put it in their hair or something but i like her idea. also i really like all your picture things you have for your story and was hoping you could make one for my story on Fanfiction? my username is the same as what I'm posting under here and well i only have one story so you'll know which one it is, I think you can message me on fanfic if not it shows my email address which i don't care if you use but if you could do that thanks : )

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I wanted to stick as close to canon as possible :) The banner for this story wasn't made by me, but by soliloquy at TDA - if you want a banner, you can visit TDA (there's a link to it on the right hand side) where there are tons of artists who'd be more than happy to take up your request. I do make graphics myself, but unfortunately I'm a bit busy right now with writing and school, and I'm taking a temporary break from photoshop, haha. Anyway - TDA is your place is you want a banner! Thank you very much for reviewing & glad you liked the story! ♥

 Report Review

Review #4, by Loony_Scorpy Painting

20th October 2011:
I loved this. I think your characterisation of Luna was absolutely perfect! I loved the way you made everything so normal to her (as it would be anyway), like with the Nargles. I really loved the flow of the story and I think the length is perfect. ♥

Author's Response: Ooh, thank you! Luna is my favourite character, but I find her really hard to write, so it's such a compliment for you to say that ♥ thank you for another lovely review!

 Report Review

Review #5, by hedwidgeon Painting

8th August 2011:
Hi, me again :D I was just thinking about this fic and I realized another thing I really love about your characterization of Luna. You really show her maturity in this. In a lot of hpff's she comes across as childish for believing what she does and you do a really good job of showing that it's not childish at all, but natural and her own brand of personality and maturity. Really well done (: (You can probably tell I enjoyed this fic hugely. I'm a big fan of Luna and having tried and failed to write her about four years ago, I definitely admire what you've done here, haha)

Author's Response: Hello again! Yes, as I said in my previous response (I should have read this one before, haha) I often feel that Luna becomes overly childish in fanfiction, whereas I see her as a rather mature and grounded character - if in her own way. I think she understands a lot more than people give her credit for - like that heartbreaking scene at the end of OTP where she's looking for her shoes, and then talks to Harry (breaks my heart every time!). She understands why people pick on her and she doesn't let it get to her because she's mature. She understands grief and death, and, importantly, she understands Harry. (I used to ship Harry/Luna like mad back in the day - I still think she would have been a better choice than Ginny...). I suppose JKR created Luna because Harry needed another character who understood him, although Luna isn't just a plot device and...oh my, I'm rambling again. I'm a big Luna fan too, which is why I'm so honoured by what you've said about this fic ♥ once again, thank you very much for reviewing, and I'm glad you enjoyed it :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by hedwidgeon Painting

7th August 2011:
This was beautiful! Luna is such a difficult character to write but this sounded so natural, like you really got into her mindset not only from the perspective that she really simply believes the things she says that everyone else finds crazy, but also the unique outlook she has on friendship. What surprised me (in a really good way) was the sort of twist at the end there, where suddenly she's facing family as well as friendship, and it's so incredibly touching and sad that those can't quite reconcile. That's really something that defines Luna, her family and their beliefs and the fact that her mother is dead, but through the books (especially with DH) you see the way friendship defines her, too, and I think you brought that across beautifully in this fic. Amazing job, I will be back to reread this (:

Author's Response: I've always found Luna difficult to write, so this one-shot was a wee bit of a challenge. Luna, it seems to me, gets a bit short-changed in fanfiction - a lot of people write her as a childish ditz with her head screwed on the wrong way, but I actually think Luna's quite mature and grounded as a character. In a way, she's the sanest - she has the ability to see people for what they really are and often gives the best advice (things we lose have a funny way of coming back to us...) etc. I agree, friendship is what defines her. I suppose I just wanted to write about that - how I see Luna (she's my favourite character, haha!). I'm really, really glad you enjoyed it and thank you so much for such a lovely review (and I see you've left another one!) ♥

 Report Review

Review #7, by sweet_lovely_girl Painting

25th December 2010:
Hmm, it is a good story, though there is not much going on because it is a no warning story XD. There are so many details and that makes it also so great to read. I don't think I want to say more. Well, this was you review 5/5!

-Xxx- sweetlovelygirl (I know I didn't reviewed your other stories with this account, but I was just too lazy then to login..., but now they say that you MUST login to review! WTH? XD)

Author's Response: Yeah, there isn't really a plot to be had in this one :P I actually like writing detailed descriptions more than I do action - it's a lot easier, so this challenge suited me quite well. Bit of practice :)

Anyway, thanks very much again for the reviews! It's been good to hear what you think :)


 Report Review

Review #8, by MajiKat Painting

16th November 2010:
i am SO sorry for the extended delay in this but I am here now ^_^

ok, i really liked this. i don't think I have ever read a fic with no warnings before - in the spirit of the challenge, you did really well - it was a nice moment to handle, and you did it beautifully.

i like that you chose this moment to describe - and the artistic references gave it an extra dose of ownership. are you an artist? if not, you definitely know enough about the topic to write it convincingly.

you wanted to know about luna didn't you? i haven't looked at your request in a while, but i think that was the main concern. well, don't worry. i think you did a wonderful job with her. she is someone i have never attempted to get inside because i don't believe I can understand her well enough, but i think you can, in this moment anyway. the reasons you gave and the motivation was lovely, and i think it was a nice touch to reference her mother, as she does so in the books occasionally.

I particularly liked this line: Not to constrict, not to bond, but to connect, to bring together.

i think that captured the spirit of the piece beautifully.
overall, this was a lovely read. thank you for asking me to take a look at it and again, i am so sorry for taking so long to get here!

Kate xx

Author's Response: It's alright! I must say that the review was worth the wait (:

I chose this moment from the books to write about simply because I love the scene in DH to bits when Harry finds Luna's paintings. I thought it was very touching, and seeing as I always struggle with writing Luna, it seemed to be a perfect opportunity to work on her character. Plus I didn't think there was a risk of warnings so it seemed perfect, ahha!

I do paint, although not very well, but it's useful to write about something you know, I suppose. Most of this was based on the very little painting practice I've had - I'm more of a drawing or photographer person. Paint's a very difficult medium for me, just like keeping a fic 12+ and free of warnings was pretty difficult too, strangely. I'm usually a dark!fic person so this was quite refreshing.

Thank you very much (: Luna is a struggle to write well, so it's good to know that I didn't butcher her character in this.

Thank you very much for reviewing! Honestly, I didn't have to wait that long at all, no worries. Thank you very much indeed (:

PS.


 Report Review

Review #9, by blueirony Painting

24th September 2010:
I'm a little stunned right now. As in, I really don't know what to say.

Your characterisation of Luna? Is perfect. No, as in it is actually perfect. And I have only just now realised how to write Luna. Luna believes in Nargles. In Wrackspurts. But, to her, it is all normal. It is perfectly normal to think that they might be the cause of things to happen. It is only to us, to the outsider, that it seems strange. But, to her, it is all normal. That is what you wrote here. From Luna's point of view, she was just a normal teenage girl about to paint and having to worry about things like Nargles. OH MY GOD I am so excited! Seriously. There has always been something 'off' about every Luna characterisation I have read thus far. And that is because the writer forgets to really think about Luna from Luna's point of view. You didn't forget. And you totally nailed her character. I'm not just saying that. I mean it. This is gold. Absolutely gold.

I love the descriptions you had here about art and painting. I feel like I want to quote some of the back to you but I may well end up quoting most of the story back to you, so I won't. Just know that some of your descriptions are beautiful.

I love how you took such a simple idea of the book that we are inclined to forget and turned into something special. Obviously the painting must have meant a lot to Luna, but we don't really think too much of it. This story made me really love Luna all the more and I thank you for writing it so that I could!

This was such a lovely entry for the challenge, hope you had fun with it!

Joop :]

Author's Response: In response, I'm also a little stunned.

I've been writing Luna for a very, very long time, and I've NEVER been able to get her character right. It's a real struggle, because...because she's so LUNA. In one of my WIPs, I spent ages on the prologue trying to make sure I wrote Luna correctly, bearing in mind it was set when she was locked up in Malfoy Manor, yet one of the reviews mentioned how she was quite OOC. It's really, really tricky. And that's why your review is suddenly so special to me. I'm extremely flattered that you think it worked so well - thank you (: In a way, this has given me a bit of a confidence boost, now, Luna-wise. I feel like I've achieved something, ahha!

The descriptions just kind of came naturally for this one - I'm no painter myself, but I've studied art enough to know what it's like. I chose to write about this little scene because, well, I don't really know - it was a really minor detail in the last book which, obviously, Luna must have really cared about, for Harry to think that the paintings 'breathed' and to mistake the painting of himself as a mirror reflection. It was a fairly brief moment in the book - a lot of the attention of that little bit was drawn to the way her room was empty and dusty - but I felt it had much more significance. Also, it kind of fitted the whole no warnings requirement (:

Thank you so much for such a lovely (and prompt!) review (: also, I should thank you for the challenge - I don't even have another 12+ story on the archive, let alone one with no warnings, so this was a very welcome challenge for me. It was a good break (:

Once again - thank you very much. This sounds cliche, but this review actually did make my weekend.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login