Reading Reviews for Buttercup
  
24 Reviews Found

Review #1, by CambAngst The Anemones Won't Die

6th February 2014:
Hello, again!

This was heart-breakingly beautiful. I've never been a huge fan of Harry paired with anyone other than Ginny, but you sold me completely in this story. Going all the way back to their first interactions, I can see potential for the two of them. At some of the most difficult times in their lives -- Harry being mocked when he revealed that the Dark Lord had returned and Luna being mocked in general -- they were always accepting of one another. It would be hard for two people to be more different in mental makeup, yet they understood one another. They were both different from other people due to very traumatic events that were beyond their control.

I really love the way that you wrote Luna. Most authors turn her into either a complete bubble-head or an unapproachable free spirit who simply thinks too differently to be able to relate to other people. You made her very human and very real in spite of her differences. You gave her completely normal emotional needs and reactions, from the mundane to the extremely intimate. You made her an actual person, not a caricature. I think that was critical for this story.

Your use of detail throughout the piece was beautiful. You have an amazing knack for description and setting a scene. I really liked the way that certain of those details -- the color red, for instance -- were woven throughout the story. She carried certain child-like traits, such as the repetition of words and phrases and her unwillingness to accept the possibility that Harry might die, through almost to the end. That part sounded very much like Luna.

This story was fantastic and I couldn't find a single typo or grammatical problem. Nicely done!

Author's Response: Awww you found one of my oldies! haha I'm not a huge fan of going back and rereading stuff I've written years back. But thank you! I wanted to portray Luna in a different light - so that she wasn't just the weird girl, but also a human girl with feelings. Thank you so much for all your kind words it really means a lot.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Major Session The Anemones Won't Die

10th November 2013:
This is both beautiful and heart wrenching.
One of the few stories to actually bring me tears.

I thank you for such an enchanting tale.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reviewing! This really means a lot! I'm so happy you liked this, especially since this is an oldie xx

 Report Review

Review #3, by hpffisawesome The Anemones Won't Die

19th January 2013:
I felt the magic...haha, very nice job! Harry/Luna fics are always interesting, and you did not disappoint!
10/10

Author's Response: Thank you :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by Mrunmayee The Anemones Won't Die

17th October 2012:
I am having a moment here.. Please excuse me while I go hide myself in a corner and sob... I absolutely loved this story and this is my fav pairing too.. :) awesome.. Keep writing... :)

Author's Response: awww *hands tissue*. Thank you so much for your kind words. It really means a lot.

 Report Review

Review #5, by Fee :) The Anemones Won't Die

26th September 2012:
I cried :')
I never cry xD

Author's Response: aw... *hands tissues* you have no idea how much that means to me. Thank you so much for taking the time to review!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Jchrissy The Anemones Won't Die

28th August 2012:
Bah. Bah. Bah. Too many feels!!! I was creeping on online people at TGS, and ended up here, and bah!! This was so amazing. The style, the imagery, the feeling! feelings!!! Oh my gosh I wanted to drown in them! She's Luna, our Luna that we know from the books but there is just so much to her. The inserts of parentheses to really make those thoughts stand out, the use of stylistics to give that repetition with red and 'if I die' bahhh!!

This is really, really wonderful and I think you've succeeded a great deal in writing something different. Thank you so much for sharing this gorgeous, tragic, heartbreaking, loving creation.

Jami

Author's Response: hahaha it's always good to creep people at TGS haha. I'm really happy you found this old baby - she's two years old? I always have trouble reading my old work, but I'm so happy you liked it. I really wanted to stray away from the crazy girl-Luna everyone's so adamant on portraying. I wanted to give her depth, sorrow and pain. Because you don't really just walk away from your mother's death. It sticks. And that's what the mantra of red, red, red was supposed to portray.

I'm so happy you liked it! Thanks so much for telling me and reviewing, it really means a lot!


 Report Review

Review #7, by Karissa The Anemones Won't Die

26th August 2012:
I cried so so hard its pitiful. Why did he have to die! My mom is questioning my sanity at this moment. This oneshot was so beautifully written and every single aspect and detail of the story came together effortlessly. I can honestly say this is the best Luna/Harry story I have every read and will never forget the effect it had on me. *sniffle sniffle* BRILLIANT!

Author's Response: aww thank you so much! I'm so happy you liked it - and... sad you cried? :P And also really pleased in a completely selfish way haha. Thank you so much for leaving this review and being awesome. I'm so happy you liked this. thank you so much.

 Report Review

Review #8, by RozeDelImperator The Anemones Won't Die

26th August 2012:
OH MY GOD THIS WAS AMAZING! I've read a couple other Luna/Harry fics, but this one completely blows them out of the water! I loved this! It kept me completely enthralled, I couldn't tear my eyes away for anything! You did an incredible job, I loved it all so much!! I can't even pick a favorite part, it was all so amazing! It made me cry at the end, it was so touching and wonderful. I think you brought out a side of Luna hardly anyone ever sees, and it was great! I loved how you took the repetition of certain words like red to give them more impact. It was an incredible piece, you did an amazing job, and I absolutely LOVED IT!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this review! I'm so pleased you liked this. I really wanted to give Luna a different side to her than the normal randomness that is Luna Lovegood. Just, you don't lose your mother and move on straight away. I guess this was me rebelling against that.

Thank you so much for reviewing! I'm so pleased you liked it.


 Report Review

Review #9, by PhoenixPulse The Anemones Won't Die

26th August 2012:
Favorite'd.

Honestly, I am lost for words. This story was so wonderfully written and I love Luna in this. Many times people forget that Luna has a different side to her, a side that usually is overshadowed by her crazy and humorous beliefs. We forget she's capable of deeper feelings and sensitivity. I applaud you for showing this side of her. It's remarkable.

The parts with her mother is so bitterly sweet. I can imagine it perfectly playing in my head, a little girl gardening with her mother, one moment she's there, the next, she's gone. You captured their mother-daughter relationship wonderfully, and it really touched my heart.

The Harry/Luna ship! This was honestly the first story I've read for this shipment, and I was really impressed. I love Luna's persistance, and Harry feels so very much real. He sticks with his character, and their relationship in this was just so lovely!

I just don't know what else to say. Your work has caught me utterly breathless. I can't even explain how to rate your story it's that amazing. A 10/10 wouldn't be fair, because it deserves way more than that.

P.S.:
And don't worry about it being typical or mainstream, because it wasn't. It was far from it. When some people right romance, sometimes its easy to see the correlations. In this, I can't find anything mainstream about it.

Author's Response: Thank you so much. I'm so happy you liked this. And caught onto so many things? I really wanted to portray Luna and her mother's relationship. And Harry. Harry kind of just came naturally. He's a darling and Luna's... Luna is Luna and very messed up at that. But so is Harry, so they're kind of messed up together and that makes them kind of perfect.

I'm so happy you liked this. it's been two years since I wrote this and I really hate rereading my own stories since I think I've improved a lot since then. But this just makes me very very happy. So thank you so much for letting me know. Thank you.


 Report Review

Review #10, by tangledconstellations The Anemones Won't Die

7th July 2012:
Hello, lovely!

I stumbled across this little beauty, and I was completely and utterly swept away by it. It was just so brilliant! I have never been against Harry and Luna, and there are so many moments, especially in OOTP that they just need to be closer and need to make each other okay. They are a really lovely ship, and your unique take on them will certainly stay in my mind for a long time. This was really ever so wonderful.

Even though the ending was sad, it was okay, because you let it be. Luna wouldn't mope, she gets on with things in her own way. You told the story wonderfully from her point of view. There's something so bubbly and fascinating about her. There are also so many small aspects of this, too, that I just adored. The repetition of certain words was so effective and really heart breaking. Like, red red red, the way it cropped up so much made it feel like a mantra. It really shows how much of an impact her mothers death had on her, but yet its something people overlook when they see Luna. I also really liked the way this kind of felt like patchwork, like scenes and times and moments sewed together somewhat haphazardly. It was so striking and you really swept me away with this.

Thank you for writing this, because I really, really enjoyed it! I know I'll remember this, because I guess its a ship I secretly wished existed in canon. Thank you, again :)

Laura xxx

Author's Response: hello!! Oh I love a random review now and then - especially with ancient stories. I'm really pleased you liked this little one-shot. I wanted to portray Luna's relationship with her mother, how her mother continues to play a part in Luna's life. I've never actually shipped Harry/Luna before, and I've never read any stories with the ship. But this was how I saw them. Together in those dark moments. I've always admired the strength Luna possess, which is what I wanted to portray with her mindset as well as the way she copes after Harry's death.

I am so pleased you liked this! So thank you so much for leaving a review. xxx


 Report Review

Review #11, by shoveitsunshine The Anemones Won't Die

2nd June 2012:
Oh my god, my feelings; they've been mutilated by this wonderful, wonderful story. I adored the parts with Hermione, because I felt like they really stuck out, as well as the small interlude with Neville. And the ending (the ending!) had me have a feelings overload. It was horrible, by which of course I mean wonderful, because you really do have a good grasp on both characters.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your review! This story, gosh, it's so old, but I'm really happy you liked it! I loved the bit about Neville too haha, drunken Neville being all awkward. Thank you so much for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #12, by aswiftt The Anemones Won't Die

13th March 2012:
I loved this so so much, as i always do your work.

i was really interested in reading this because ive never read harry/luna before, mosty being a harmony fan (especially being a huge fan of your harry/hermione fanfics) but this blew my mind.
i loved the imagery and the vague perspective into the way that Luna's mind works, i just thought it was awesome.

you are such an amazing writer, you should seriously write your own novel

Author's Response: Aww thank you so much. You have no idea how much that means to me. Thank you so much for reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #13, by explosion The Anemones Won't Die

1st February 2012:
I've got to say that your writing really blows me away. I've been slowly and surely reading all of your one shots and I've reread this one twice. It's just so well written and the apples and cheesecakes ending is very very lovely.

I also love the red, red, red thing that you repeat. It makes things so much.. better I guess. I don't know how to explain it but I love the way you word things and write things. You're so so talented.

-Rebecca

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reviewing! I can't really explain how much it means to me that someone actually reads and enjoys my stories. So thank you - for thinking I'm talented and telling me so. It really means a lot.

 Report Review

Review #14, by confusedlover The Anemones Won't Die

25th November 2011:
very lovely.

this was beautiful. absolutely beautiful!!! amazing job. keep up the incredible writing! (:

Author's Response: thank you so much for your reviw :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by RedJulyet The Anemones Won't Die

21st June 2011:
I love, love, love this!

You don't have a lot of description, but that works exceptionally well. Instead of dwelling in certain scenes, it all flashes by. The passages are short and that makes it all the more rich with character or meaning. It was very simple, but very beautiful for that reason.

Anyway, the reason I was initially drawn to this fic was of how you presented Luna. Most of the other fanfiction out there presents her as some strange novelty gaudy chick, characterized by her butterbeer necklace. This one was more real and sincere.

Yeah. So it was lovely!

Author's Response: Thank you so much :) Funnily enough that is what I have always thought: Luna Lovegood is so much more than a butterbeer necklace hehe I'm happy you liked it; I really wanted to make a good characterization of Luna. Thank you so much for your review :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by Angeline The Anemones Won't Die

7th June 2011:
Oh my god this was so well written. No errors, at all. If I could tell you how much I loved this story you would not believe me. You are truly a lovely writer, you made me actually feel sorrow and joy for these characters, and you should continue writing maybe with your own characters and base? I would probably be the first to by your book, but alas I cannot for I do not know this creative authors name and could only praise thee for your absolutely wonderful writing shown here. Good luck on your journey.

"I write what I have not the strength to say,” –Anonyms

Author's Response: I think this may be my favourite review of all time :) Thank you so much for your review, it has truly made my week! I am writing originals as well, but nothing's ready for show yet hehe Thank you so much, it is reviews like these that make me want to keep on doing what I do :) THANK YOU

 Report Review

Review #17, by clairamarie123 The Anemones Won't Die

2nd June 2011:
Oh my goodness that was beautifully written

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your review, it really means a lot :)

 Report Review

Review #18, by savageheart The Anemones Won't Die

31st May 2011:
Many times you had me where I wanted to be,in love with being in love.You did capture the character of Luna and Hermione quite well.But I like happy endings,sorry.

Author's Response: haha thank you so much for your review ! I'm sorry about the sad ending haha Thank you so much for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #19, by everylovingline The Anemones Won't Die

1st December 2010:
This is so beautiful.. 10/10 !

Author's Response: Thank you so much !! :) I am so happy someone likes this!! :] thank you for reviewing!!

 Report Review

Review #20, by vjellu The Anemones Won't Die

23rd November 2010:
I'm speechless. This.. I personally love Harry/Luna pairing, only proper in my eyes.

This is by far the BEST fanfic I've read. The way you were able write to deep relationship between them was just.. Awesome.

I maybe sappy person but I really would have hoped this story would have had happy ending. Or hopefully you will write another (and loads of them if you can) harry/luna fanfic with happier ending.

Cheers

vjellu

Author's Response: Thank you !! :) I'm really happy that you liked it :) I've had so many doubts with this fic, so it really means a lot that you liked it!! :) Thank you so much for reviewing!!

 Report Review

Review #21, by Hyenni The Anemones Won't Die

4th October 2010:
"When she wakes up in the dormitory in the blackness of the night, covered in sweat and her heart beating unsteadily against her chest, she will still, (shhh...), check her hands before going back to sleep.

Sometimes they remain red for quite a while, but if she just keeps on staring at them eventually they’ll turn back to the normal colour and she can sleep again. "

Those two paragraphs just blew me away.

Okay, this WHOLE PIECE blew my mind. Entirely. I seriously can't believe how moved I was by it, how perfectly it was written. I can totally see how much work you put into it, and my God, has it worked out. If I was ever able to write something like this, I would be in heaven right now :P

This is the first Harry/Luna I've ever read, and while I don't think I'll be pursuing it, it was without a doubt so real and so tangible and so...so perfect that I'd rather not read another Harry/Luna. I don't think it could live up to this.

The repetition of the 'If I die' bit was brilliant - I can't put into words how or why it was brilliant, it just WORKED. It kept the piece moving, it gave them depth, showed their characters more clearly.

Absolutely, mind-blowingly, phenomenally incredible.

10/10, favourited (obviously). ^^

Author's Response: Thank you. Thank you so much! I've had a lot of critiscm for this oneshot and I didn't know if people would get it or if they would even like it. I'm glad at least some liked it hahah. I'm not really a Luna/Harry girl at all, but this one just haunted me until I had written it all :) Thank you so much for that wonderful review, know that this truly made my day :) THANK YOU .

 Report Review

Review #22, by abcdeghijklmnopqrstuvwxyz.-next time wont you sing with me? The Anemones Won't Die

2nd October 2010:
s t u p i d.

how could ANYONE write something so bad?

i hate it, learn to write.

Author's Response: Well, you could start off by saying why it's so bad?? Reviews are supposed to help you improve as a writer.

 Report Review

Review #23, by Saffiecat911 a real writer here who is too lazy to sign in r The Anemones Won't Die

2nd October 2010:
I just absolutely LOVED this fic. Best Harry Dies and best Harry/Luna. I am in awe. *bows down and worships*

Author's Response: wow. Thank you :) That truly means a lot!! Thank you so much for the review :]

 Report Review

Review #24, by GinnyBSexy The Anemones Won't Die

22nd September 2010:
Sorry, but I can't even tell if Harry lived or died. You have some nice imagery, but confusing to me.

Author's Response: hey,
It's supposed to be confusing and hazy; it's all written from Luna's POV and she isn't quite logical at times. Harry died, if that answers your question. Luna's slight madness was supposed to be portrayed through the writing, also her relationship with her mother and the repeated occurrences of the mother shows a slightly distorted view on the world and hints that Luna has some problems she has not yet dealt with especially concerning her mother and her mother's death.
I'm sorry if it was confusing, understand that it was was supposed to be confusing. Maybe I overdid it... That is possible.
Thank you for reviewing anyways :) It means a lot.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login