Reading Reviews for The Death of Love
  
11 Reviews Found

Review #1, by patronus_charm La Belle et la BÍte

16th July 2013:
Iím loving all of the HC review challenges because it gives me an excuse to read more and more of you lovely work! ♥ The French chapter was tres fitting :P

The analogy of beauty and the beast was really fantastic. Another thing which made it so fantastic was the way it continued to run on throughout the one-shot and wasnít limited to one simple line or phrase which gave it an even greater impact and left me thinking for even longer which was really great.

I always found Teddy and Victoire a bit of an obscure ship and one which I never fully grasped so your interpretation of it here was perfect in my opinion :P The idea of Victoire being perfection and then Teddy being more of a rugged sort of person was really great and showed even if they were forced together to be the icons of war it could ultimately never work due to the striking differences.

Your dialogue in this one-shot was really great too. The stilted air to it really showed how there was underlying friction which was just waiting to result in an earthquake like disaster. The dialogue tags which also accompanied it were really fantastic with the sighing it sort of represented Teddyís inner anger at Victoire.

I know this review is really short in comparison to my others but I still loved it just as much as your other work!

-Kiana

Author's Response: Thank you for stopping by again! ^_^ It's lovely to hear from you on any of my stories.

For all of my one-shots, I try to have a single image or theme on (or around) which the entire story is structured. It seems to have become part of my short story writing style, helping to both inspire me and bring the pieces of the story together in a cohesive whole. I'm glad to hear that it gives the image/theme more impact - the alternative is that it could instead make the story sound repetitive, and I'd want to avoid that at all costs.

Haha, I don't get the ship myself - it's there in canon, I know, but I can't properly grasp Victoire's character enough to see her being compatible with Teddy, not for very long at least. It's a treat to find someone else who doesn't understand the ship - I can't believe that this story, with its pessimistic interpretation of the ship, actually helps you understand it better! A lot of the question whether Teddy or Victoire are "right" for each other depends on how much Teddy is constructed as a rugged "beast" and how much Victoire takes the role of "Beauty" - there are all sorts of variants, and certainly one could have Victoire reject that role altogether.

Thank you for that compliment on the dialogue! It was one of my huge weaknesses when I was starting out - one that lingered for years after I joined HPFF - and it's fantastic to hear that it turned out well in this story. ^_^


 Report Review

Review #2, by adluvshp La Belle et la BÍte

28th December 2012:
Review Tag!

Wow, this was a beautifully written one-shot! I loved your concept of comparing Victoire & Teddy to the Beauty and the Beast. The way you expressed how their love sort of "died" really came through in your narrative. Teddy's thoughts were realistically written as well. Your descriptions and imagery were beautiful too, I absolutely loved them. I was totally sucked into the story while reading it.

All in all, the plot, flow, characterisation, emotions, and descriptions was really very good.

Great work!

Cheers!
AD
(AditiDraco95)

Author's Response: Wow, thank you! This is an unexpected surprise - it's not a popular one-shot by any means, so any feedback on it is welcome. That yours is so positive is definitely a treat! :D

I'm very glad to hear that you enjoyed its imagery and descriptions - those are among my favourite aspects of writing, and it always means a lot to hear them complimented. Thank you again! ^_^


 Report Review

Review #3, by Amie La Belle et la BÍte

18th January 2012:
This was beautiful. I loved the connection between Beauty and the Beast and them. This is different than most of the Teddy/Victoire stories. Obviously because it's not a happy ending, but also because Victoire is so much more... I don't want to say shallow, because she's not necessarily shallow, but she has a low self-image almost, the way she needs all of the beauty potions.

And then there's Teddy, who is much more introspective than other stories portray him. It's a nice change from the typical Auror that he usually ends up as.

It really is a story of love, even though it didn't last. And I have a feeling that before this moment, they did try, at least a little, to put things to the way they were before. They're broken people, but they just don't fit together and make a whole.

I love your poetic language. I've tried writing, and it just doesn't work for me. I think I'll stick to reading your stuff :)

Author's Response: This story really ventures away from what's often seen about Teddy and Victoire, not only because it ends badly for them, but also in their portrayals. I wanted to explore different ways of looking at them, without the rose-coloured lenses and fairytale perfections - they're just real people, as is seen, for instance, in Victoire's low self-esteem and her need for all of those beauty potions. They make me wonder whether she uses them to make herself look prettier in Teddy's eyes, not understanding that he doesn't need her to be beautiful - he just needs her.

Thank you so much for your compliments! Gosh, I don't know how else to respond except to thank you - it means a lot that you like what I did with this story and my style of writing. It's wonderful to read and re-read your reviews, and I wish you the best of luck in writing - don't give up! ^_^


 Report Review

Review #4, by stargazer La Belle et la BÍte

26th October 2010:
This is the first story I've read in...months xD And I was not disappointed. It was beautifully written. I've never actually read a story with this pairing before. Actually I've been out of the fanfiction realm for so long...not reading or writing anything. But I'm trying to come back! Slowly. Anyway this was a wonderful read to get me back in. It's very sad but not in your typical way. I very much enjoyed this. :)

Author's Response: Wow, thank you so much, Krys! It's fantastic to hear that you liked this story to such an extent, and I hope that you're able to get back into fanfiction. ^_^ It means a lot that this story was able to help you do so.

 Report Review

Review #5, by schoenberg12 La Belle et la BÍte

21st October 2010:
oh my goodness! this is fabulous

Author's Response: Really? Wow, thank you very much! :O

 Report Review

Review #6, by Beatrice La Belle et la BÍte

15th October 2010:
Missing TDA and HPFF brought me back to your author's page--it's one of the only places I can see amazing banners AND read amazing stories. The title of this story is what got me, I confess. I love ABBA and I think you used 'Knowing me, knowing you" very well in this piece of writing. I've never thought of Teddy's character like this, and it's very interesting to do so. Kudos on making readers think outside the box with the Teddy/Vic pairing. This is such a refreshing story--usually I find Teddy/Victoire ships very cliche. Keep up the great work! I'd love to see you write another piece with another ABBA song--what about 'Our Last Summer" or "I have a dream"? Or...oh! What about "One of Us?" I noticed you have an ABBA theme going on in some of your stories, so perhaps one more might not be so out of the question?? /hopeful
Anyway, thank you for providing me with another great read. I check HPFF infrequently, but when I do usually you have a new story or chapter up so it's a real treat for me. You are an incredible writer and one of my greatest writing and graphic making role models, so thank you for everything. :)

--Beatrice

Author's Response: Bea! It's great to hear from you! *blushes* Thank you so much for your lovely compliments on both my graphics and stories. ^_^

I'm glad to hear that the ABBA-inspired next-gen stories are working out so well! I'm still rather uncertain about this story, as it's so much drearier and more depressing than the others in this "series", but it's great that the song works with this story. It's harder to write an angsty ABBA-inspired story, as even their sadder songs are so upbeat. I usually go with whatever gives me inspiration at a given moment - a song and plot bunny mixing at the right moment. "One of Us" is definitely part of the "Winner Takes All" soundtrack, though. ;)

I said in a previous review response that I have issues with the popularity of the Teddoire pairing, especially with how it's usually portrayed as fairy-tale like, even moreso than Scorose, which at least has family tensions behind it. This story probably goes too far toward the other extreme, making their story too pessimistic, but it's good to hear that it's a refreshing look at the ship. :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by dianap00 La Belle et la BÍte

17th September 2010:
Why is he so despairingly unhappy? I don't like it. I really think that ennui is catching, but even then, this goes so far beyond moody and broody. I'm assuming that this is long after his grandmother is gone and he thinks that the only family he has loves herself and the idea of him than himself. I want him to not be miserable. He is so contemplative and self-analysing, it strikes me strongly of Remus. I wish he felt more secure of himself. I want Victoire to see what's become of him. This story brings out such strong feelings, it's highly disconcerting.

Author's Response: It's a good question, actually. I don't know why he's quite so depressed (re: depressing) as he is in this story, as I didn't mean it to turn out this dark. There are definitely Remus-influences here, and perhaps some from his mother, too, particularly from her behaviour in HBP when she moons about Hgowarts. His broody nature won't help his relationship with Victoire, yet he doesn't seem to realize this - he blames her for his own failings, and that's the tragedy of this story, that he's so full of himself that he can't imagine what effect he has on those around him.

Now you're making me think. o_O I'm rather glad that the story brings out such strong feelings and thoughts - it's good to write something disconcerting, as unpopular as it may be. Thank you for reading and reviewing! You've given me a lot to ponder.


 Report Review

Review #8, by Sarah_Bee La Belle et la BÍte

11th September 2010:
Susan, once again, I am in awe of your work. This is probably the best, most dramatic Victoire/Teddy one shot I've ever read. I often have grown sick of this pairing, as they are terribly over used with the same plot (kind of like Scorose with Romeo/juliet plot) and your fic, I found really refreshing. It gave a whole new spin on this pairing. I loved it.

I love Beauty/Beast, it's probably one of my favorite fairytales, next to Cinderella. Anyhoo, I loved your imagery and your metaphors etc. You have such amazing writing techniques. I'm uber jealous of your skills not only here, but at TDA as well (again, sorry for leaving TDA. I feel bad but I needed to do it for the sake of my personal life).

I love how you begin with Victoire then sort of branch to Teddy. I love seeing through both characters and love how I know something that the other character doesn't know.

You have such a wonderful way with words like here:
'he saw himself, the greying hair standing on end, unshaven jaw spotted with black, his eyes empty' those lines just send shivers down my spine.

I loved it, I really did. You're awesome (I know, I've told you that a hundred times and you are probably sick of it but it's true, you are inspiring and I really am looking forward to more from you. You manage to take an overly used pairing and give them a fresh, original look.).
Great work! :)

I'm doing rather well lately since my leave from TDA. i think the break from TDA is really making me less stressed (no deadlines for requests i have to worry about, challenges etc)... not sure how to explain it. lol.

I hope you write more. I am addicted to your work! and I apologize for the lengthy, novel type review! haha. sorry... i ramble on sometimes. XD

Author's Response: Hello, Sarah! Thanks so much for this fantastic review! If only the story was worthy of all this praise, but I really appreciate every drop of it - it means a lot to hear all these compliments from you. *huggles*

I'm with you that Teddoire has become overused and overrated - it's so gooey and happy in all those stories and I just couldn't take it anymore. I can't say that this option is much more realistic, but the realist in me appreciates the thought that fairy tale loves often don't end up with happily ever after. I hate the thought of fandom throwing characters together from a single clue - in this case, the epilogue - so this is my revenge, just like "Winner Takes All" is my revenge against Scorose. ;) Terrible, but true.

I'm really glad that you liked the descriptions - I have to admit that they're my favourite part of this story. It was great to really get into the moodiness of Teddy's character - I wanted him to be a lot like Remus, rather than Tonks, so he is, here, a pessimist, down on life because it's been down on him. Things probably aren't as bad as he sees them to be, which is the interesting irony of this story.

Anyway, before I ramble on into eternity, I'll say thank you again! I miss seeing you around TDA and hope that you're doing better. ^_^


 Report Review

Review #9, by frenchie La Belle et la BÍte

9th September 2010:
I really liked this. The only thing that I have to say would be about the title-- wouldn't it be "La mort d'amour" (the death of love) instead of "La mort de l'amour" (the death of the love)? Unless you intended it that way? Just curious. :) Keep up the great work! I look foward to reading some of your other stories--the ones with ABBA titles sound especially promising!

Author's Response: I ended up changing the title because I couldn't get it to work in the way I wanted. XD The translator I double checked my French on came up with the same thing I had, but those are usually wrong, so I thought it better to just find another title. Oh well. Thanks for pointing that out, though.

Thanks very much for reading and reviewing! I'm glad that you liked this story! :)


 Report Review

Review #10, by ollieb La Belle et la BÍte

9th September 2010:
I loved this- it was beautifully written and the story was exquisite as well. You tend to use pathetic fallacy a lot and its always very effective, but i'd like to see other kinds of metaphors as well in future - i'm keeping an eye out for more of your stories!

Author's Response: It's funny because when I was writing this, I asked myself why I was using pathetic fallacy again. Now that readers have noticed it too, I am going to have to use another poetic technique to create atmosphere. Thank you for pointing that out - it's very helpful for future things I write. :)

Thank you very much for reading and reviewing! It's wonderful to hear that you loved this story. ^_^


 Report Review

Review #11, by _hedwig_ La Belle et la BÍte

9th September 2010:
:( WHAT HAPPENED TO MY TEDDY?

Haha, just kidding. Not really.

Author's Response: It's a very depressing story, I know. He's not the same Teddy at all. That's what happens sometimes, I guess.

Thank you for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login