Reading Reviews for You Speak to Me in Riddles
  
150 Reviews Found

Review #1, by eatingdeath I

12th January 2014:
i cant read the second person..its crazy. crazy. i have to agree with similar comments first person accomplishes the close feeling just as well and its less confusing.soory

Author's Response: I hope you stuck with it, you get used to second person

 Report Review

Review #2, by Suzanne Sam Epilogue

22nd April 2013:
That's sad they never got together but it's good that they were both happy in the end but you know what they say the end is only the begining.

Author's Response: Precisely. Thanks for reading

 Report Review

Review #3, by Aiedail Epilogue

28th April 2012:
... ... ... ... ... ...

HANNAH THE THINGS YOU DO TO ME.

I love, love love how we see the whole scene now, we piece everything together, the way you were smart enough not to give it all to us in the beginning, the way that the torture at Malfoy manner is COMPLETELY new and different now, that I feel it more deeply, that there's just this sadness about, pervasive, and I can't quite shake it off.

I keep journals obsessively, and I remember writing once, that I thought a person could be the most alive they ever are while feeling pain, through someone else, for someone else but also for oneself. It's an amazing thing to be evoked in a reader and, I think I feel this way because out there in the world there are people like you who can write with such wit, and honesty, and talent that everything happens how it should but perhaps not quite on purpose; that even though I was totally skeptical of this ship, that even though I'm not a fan of this pair in general and even though I came to this story with so many more questions than I perhaps, should have, you have written something to which I can still relate, through which I can still feel things I can't in day-to-day life.

This was a beautiful story; one of my jobs as an English student is to talk about the success or failure of craft, and I could go on forever about how second-person suits this so well, about how your expansion of well-known scenes was so relevant and not at all trite, how this story is not sap-full of sentimentality (although, I admit, in romance, a bit of that is wanted and you have a good amount ;) ), how it feels like I've gone through fire and come out different but still whole, perhaps, expanded.

And to tell the truth I am feeling proud of myself for having made it through a multi-chaptered Dramione. :P Though it didn't feel quite like "making it through" as much as really investing in and loving a good, good story by a good, good author ♥

I noticed, also, that you began and completed this story so quickly for all the work it must have taken you, brushing up against HBP as you did, and giving it that quality of the original through Hermione's eyes. Seriously, I talked about this before but just, some of the details you showed are things that have placed me in a perpetual bow at your feet because they're truly the stuff of a human experience, and while this is a crazy, somewhat unrealistic story, it never felt like I was reading something impossible. It felt good, like I was learning things, like I was growing as a reader. That's what literature is, the effect it has on us: "the tongue's wrangle, / the world's pottage, the rat's star" (as says Anne Sexton in "With Mercy For the Greedy" which I quote out of a place of not being able to relay my own inadequate sentiments).

Overall, I don't know how to leave a review that encapsulates all the nuanced feels I have running through me right now. It's eminently a mixture of deep sadness and contentedness as well as just...gratefulness, that I have kept a "to read" list, that you were on it, and most of all, that you wrote a story like this for us to come read. I have tried my hand at Dramiones, Hannah, and this is very special; special indeed.

♥♥♥

Author's Response: THE LONG REVIEW WITH ALL THE LOVELY COMPLIMENTS.

I'd completely forgotten about the Malfoy Manor bit, but now I go back and reread it, I actually kinda like it, apart from the cheesy ending of it all, lulz.

I want to write a lovely long response in reply, but genuinely my heart is in my throat because you have made me feel so many feelings about writing, making me want to go and write some more of my Sherlock fic just because you have made me feel so much better about myself :)

"I thought a person could be the most alive they ever are while feeling pain, through someone else, for someone else but also for oneself" This is so lovely and profound, and I bow down at your writing and philosophical prowess. Lily, you truly are wonderful.

Oh, there is a fair amount of romance in here, maybe a bit too much cheese thrown in there but it was my first (and last) Dramione, and it's got to be full of fluff for the HMS Dramione.

Oh yeah, I completed this story in like three months then started posting it sporadically haha. It was a good way to distract myself from revision, and luckily I passed well enough that I didn't have to explain to my parents why I didn't do as well as predicted, lolol.

This is definitely a crazy, unrealistic story; but aren't all Dramiones? And wow, nice quoting, you English literature beast you ;) but all these compliments are so wonderfully lovely that I have no other response other than a huge THANK YOU for being such a wonderful friend and reading a ship you aren't keen on. It just shows how lovely and beautiful and amazing you are to do this for me, and I thank you from the bottom of my heart.

I will try and repay you in kind, but I may have to wait for study leave because I know I will become hooked, and doing it now would mean me not going to bed til tomorrow, lolol ;)

I LOVE YOU LILY


 Report Review

Review #4, by Aiedail XXII

28th April 2012:
OMG HANNAH. NOOO. I may have actual tears coming out of my eyeballs right now. Maybe. I may have just ignored like seven hundred things my dad asked me about phone apps BECAUSE I NEEDED TO READ THIS CHAPTER SO BAD AND UGHHH THE LAST TWO PARAGRAPHS CREYS FOREVER.

Seriously, you have this gift, of finding new meanings and explanations in scenes we know; that it could have been Hermione and the way that Draco changed that made him incapable of murder. I was REALLY disappointed that Hermione was so mad but I totally completely understand it, too, which only means one thing...you have converted me to the Dramione Shipper of this story (perhaps only this). But that is something I did not know was in me, honestly. It's totally a testament to your skill. Yo.

I DON'T THINK I CAN EVEN LEAVE A COHERENT REVIEW FOR THIS ASLDFJALSKDJHFLAKSJDHFLAS DASLDFHILRUTD SFGALSKDFNL UHLAISDFJH CAN I KEYBOARD SMASH FOR THE REST OF MY LIFE AND I DON'T WANT THIS TO BE OVER SO SOOON :'(

Author's Response: I AM SO SORRY, TO YOU AND YOUR DAD. I LOVE YOU AND WANT TO CUDDLE YOU :( ESPECIALLY AFTER ALL THESE LOVELY REVIEWS.

A gift? Lily, now you make me cry :3 Hermione had to get angry, she just had to. AND WELCOME ABOARD HMS DRAMIONE WHERE ANGST AND TEARS RUN RIFE.

KEYBOARD SMASH. I DON'T WANT THIS TO BE OVER BECAUSE THEN I WON'T GET YOUR LOVELY REVIEWS ANYMORE :'( SO MUCH SAD.


 Report Review

Review #5, by Aiedail XXI

28th April 2012:
SO I HAVE JUST HAD THE HORRIBLE NOTION THAT THE BATTLE AT HOGWARTS NUMERO UNO IS COMING UP. D:

I don't even know what to say about this chapter. The bit with Snape--knowing--as we do...it was horribly sad, and I have made the crazy connection, of questionable worth, that Draco and Snape are so similar--both gone rogue for love.

I loved the bit where Draco got to tease Harry and Ron again. You write him so well, I almost forget I'm not reading him in JKR :') IN ALL SERIOUSNESS.

OMG THINGS ARE GOING TO HAPPEN ALSDJHFLAJSDHF I MUST CONTINUE READING!!

Author's Response: BATTLE OF HOGWARTS #1 IS HORRIBLE :'( SO MANY TEARS.

They're all so similar in the story, they're just on different sides so you don't see them as similar in the first place.

LILY THAT COMPLIMENT MAKES ME WANT TO CRY WITH HAPPINESS. I know it's not true, BUT I LOVE YOU ALL THE SAME FOR SAYING IT. I love the Draco/Harry/Ron banter, makes me happy to write it.


 Report Review

Review #6, by Aiedail XX

28th April 2012:
WELL. Ginny handled that much better than I had imagined she would, but I suppose it works, really. She might even be thinking that it's just a phase, you know. I would be, in that situation. She also might have been shocked clear dumb by that situation and therefore has lost the capacity to be angry but might be later.

And that bit with Madame Pomfrey, so sweet :3 And then there's Harry being a COMPLETE IDIOT. Merlin, to think he could have done that on purpose...and want thanks! HE'S CRAY. HE'S RUNNING LOW ON SLEEP AND OXYGEN. So I'll forgive him temporarily...

I KNEW DRACO WAS FEIGNING SLEEP. REALLY HOW OBVIOUS DRAKIE. Also, I'm a bit confused, what was he doing for her exactly? Leave the hall? Because he didn't want her to see him like that? HE IS SO MYSTERIOUS SOMETIMES.

And, yikes, Pomfrey's story turns out to be sad :( I AM SAD, TOO, SPEAKING OF SADNESS, THAT THERE ARE ONLY A FEW CHAPTERS LEFT ;( But I just want to say, in case you don't know/can't tell already, I really love this and am as ever impressed with your skillz, dawg.

♥♥

Author's Response: Ginny is just plain dumb ;) nah, I like Ginny in the books but Ginny in the films has no development or anything and that really annoyed me. She was meant to be strong and cool, like Mrs Weasley, but instead she was just super-awkward all the time D: okay, Bonnie Wright rant over.

I forgot about the Madame Pomfrey bit completely, lulz. I'm such a bad author, forgetting what I've written.

DRAKIE IS OBVIOUS YET SO SECRETIVE. And I have absolutely no idea, haha, I can't remember writing that bit D:

Oh Lily, I feel so priviledged that you like my story after your wonderful 'It's Called Adventure' THAT I NEED TO FINISH REVIEWING~


 Report Review

Review #7, by Aiedail XIX

28th April 2012:
AH. THIS SCENE. I HAD COMPLETELY FORGOTTEN ABOUT IT BUT UGH. And poor Hermione, too, since we know what a scene it is :(

It seems everyone's getting in on the secret! Snape, now, perhaps, Ginny. I AM VERY WORRIED ABOUT ALL OF THIS. I wonder if Draco will act a crybaby as he usually does in the books. I forget how he handled this one.

I find some irony in the fact Draco thinks he's going to put Harry in his place when really something so unfortunate happens with that power scenario flopped on its head. UGH I HAVE TO MOVE ON NOW ALSJHFLAJSDHFLKAJSDHFLKAJSDHFLK

Author's Response: SECTUMSEMPRA YEAH. This scene in the film made me cry :'(

And everyone getting in on the secret, well, you'll see what happens ;) Snape getting in can't be all bad, can it? Everyone tells him everything. That's why his hair's so greasy, it's full of secrets.


 Report Review

Review #8, by Aiedail XVIII

28th April 2012:
Wizards would create a miniature Quidditch set that requires a four-hundred page instructions manual to operate :P

AND NOOO. NOOO. NO BLAISE NO, YOU RUIN EVERYTHING ALWAYS EVEN THOUGH IN A SICK AND TWISTED WAY YOU HAVE "GOOD" INTENTIONS. ugh. BOOO.

But, hey, at the very, very least, Pansy will probs stop calling Draco "Drakie" now? Not that I will :D

And, oh, Harry, such a turkey, thinking that you've got it all worked out. He's a bit of a duffer really but I still have lurve for him. He's a good friend, I think, if imperceptive.

I MOVE ALONG~

Author's Response: BLAISE IS SUCH AN IDIOT. HE NEEDS MORE HOBBIES THAN KNITTING AND BONSAI OBVIOUSLY IF HE HAS TIME TO RUIN THIS.

She better stop calling him 'Drakie', but you, you can call him that for as long as you like :D

He defo is a lovely friend, I would love to have him as my friend, apart from the whole Voldemort-is-after-me thing ;)


 Report Review

Review #9, by Aiedail XVII

28th April 2012:
"Why would you go and tell him that? Ron looked confused. POOR RON. TOUCHED IN THE HEAD. I giggled at this for a good bit.

Ahhh, the good old banter. I have missed romance stories, too much! They were all I read when I first stumbled upon ff, when I was still full of dreams and a soft heart and such :P This is good stuff, perfect for a weekend full of procrastinating and putting off paper-writing.

I am sitting here like, HERMIONE YOU HAVE BEEN TO THE ROOM OF REQUIREMENT A HUNDRED THOUSAND TIMES REMEMBER THE GOOD OLD CLUB CALLED DUMBLEDORE'S ARMY but then, I'm all, well, she's very out of it, she just ran a five-minute stretch in twenty seconds, she probably doesn't have a lot of oxygen flowing to her brain right now plus she was very concerned for Draco's safety so I guess that overrides rational thought, does it not?

Filch is super creepy. I wonder if he really is a Squib and if he isn't just a newly evolved type of magical being who can apparate inside Hogwarts. He gets everywhere way too quickly for a normal person! Also Mrs Norris is probably magical and apparition-full too :P

I CAN'T NOT BE NERVOUS FOR WHEN HERMIONE FINDS OUT WHAT HAS BEEN HAPPENING D:

Author's Response: Ron is such a lovely boy, and I'd love to write a fic about him but how could I compete with the lovely Ron JKR created? HOW I ASK YOU? ;)

Fluff fluff fluff. I love fluff. And I wrote this when I was avoiding revision haha, so fluff is good for avoiding work, definitely!

OHMYGOD I TOTALLY FORGOT. I'm such an idiot :( dammit. Y U GOTTA B SO SMART LILEH?

Filch is super fabulous. Have you not read Erica's 'I like mango salsa.' It is one of my favourite things ever.

IKR. HERMIONE FINDING OUT IS GONNA BE D:


 Report Review

Review #10, by Aiedail XVI

28th April 2012:
So. I love that this sort of explains or, expands on Hermione's clear exasperation with Harry in the books for being so obsessed with Draco's evilness. On the one hand, it seems like she might start thinking oh, no, what if...? But on the other, feeling about him the way she does is just another reason to write Harry off as crazy, sleep-deprived, making-something-of-nothing as she does. DENIAL BABY.

I do wonder where Draco is? If we'll get a better explanation here than in the books? I don't recall exactly, but it seems he got stuck in the R.O.R., or the vanishing cabinet more specifically. ANYWAY. The last bit of this chapter was superb. What with your last-line expertise this is hardly surprising though.

I love how this was a glimpse into other people's minds, too, with Blaise and Ginny. Even though I'm worried about what all will happen, especially as this story draws to a close, this has been really one of my favorite chapter so far :)

READING ON!~~

Author's Response: DENIAL IS THE FIRST OF THE FIVE STEPS OF GRIEF. I DON'T KNOW WHAT SHE IS GRIEVING ABOUT BUT COMMUNITY ONLY TAUGHT ME THE FIRST AND LAST STEP GAH.

I don't remember either. Let's make it up. Let's say Draco is a true Romantic at heart and likes to take long walks by the side of the Lake, telling the Giant Squid about all his woes and marvelling about the beauties of the grass. What a sap ;)

My last-line expertise, oh stop :3 I do love you. And one of your favourite stories, Lily you make me so happy! U + ME = 2GEVA 5EVA


 Report Review

Review #11, by Aiedail XV

28th April 2012:
REUNITED AND IT FEEELLLSSS SO GOOD! As predicted ;)

Things are getting deep into the soup, aren't they? Hermione being totally trusting by now, Draco having to lie to EVERYBODY SRSLY. Blaise being all up in Drakie's business as usual, BOOO. I am also getting very nervous about how Draco is going to handle this, if he'll choose his fam or true love, all that whatnot. It would be totally fine with me if he and Hermy eloped to Gretna Green and lived as Muggles for the rest of their lives, no matter that without Hermione Voldie would have probably killed Harry, darkness ensues, etc etc.

ASFJHLASDJHFLASDJHF THAT LAST LINE ASDHFALKSJDHFLASKDJHFLASKJDHFLAKSJDHF ♥

Author's Response: This soup has no bottom. A never ending bowl of soup, that sounds lovely...BLAISE, WHERE DID YOU PUT YOUR BONSAI/KNITTING. YOU KNOW THAT CALMS YOU DOWN.

So much darkness! This is such a rubbish reply but you've pretty much covered all the possibilities: Gretna Green or death... How cheerful!


 Report Review

Review #12, by Aiedail XIV

28th April 2012:
WHAT. NOOO DRAKIE YOU CANNOT REMOVE HERMIONE FROM YOUR MAGICAL EQUATION ;(

Gah this was such an eventful chapter! What with Blaise's tacit threats and Draco losing his cool a little and the ESTRANGEMENT OH MERLIN THE ESTRANGEMENT AND THE HARRY LOVE AND THE HERMIONE-STANDS-UP-TO-LAV-LAV AT LONG LAST~ It's almost too much of a good thing but that's also impossible with this story.

I am very impressed by the plotty things of this story so far, how we find out just enough to be totally surprised later on but it doesn't all feel like a ploy or a trick. Just the way that things happen to unfold. I also feel the last bit must have been a surprise for Draco, or else he'd forgotten about it while falling in LURVE with Hermy. THIS IS--THIS IS COMPLETE MADNESS AND I MUST MOVE ON TO THE NEXT CHAPTER AHOY!

Author's Response: DRAKIE YES! YOU ARE NOW CALLING HIM BY THIS WONDERFULLY AWFUL NICKNAME.

So much Harry love and Lav-Lav hate. I miss the Harry love, there needs to be more Harry love in Dramiones, methinks.

And thank you, you making me blush with all your lovely compliments. I just...adore you :3


 Report Review

Review #13, by Aiedail XIII

28th April 2012:
A;LSKDJFLASDJHF. ASLJHLIERUHTKDGHNFGH

Look at Hermione, rounding up little Slytherin slaves :P Also I love the fact that the Slytherins have their own code. I couldn't tell if Draco was being sarcastic or not but it's so like them anyway that I'm not particularly bothered heh.

IT WAS SO AWKS to sit through that whole hypothetical situation with Hermy and Drakie but it needed to happen and it's probably not actually that awkward, I'm just severely socially--slow--so it makes me all llJHLKFJSHKFHASLKFJHALSKFJHALKGJHSEIRUGH to think about plus I'm immature so COOTIES.

I like how you talk about how Ron and Hermione do these things almost to hurt themselves; I do believe that Hermione feels something for Draco, but I also believe she does this because she feels bad about Ron and Lavender, and in this way there's this whole circle of life thing happening where the lions eat the antelope that eat the grass...and I guess Ron is grass then.

AND, AND, AND AND DRACO FINALLY ADMITTED TO HIMSELF IT WAS CAUSE HE WANTED TO. PERF. Now they just need to escape unscathed so they can run away and get married. PLAN.

I chug along!

Author's Response: Haha, little Slytherin slaves...I like that. And their codes are the bomb. We should write a whole fic in Slytherin code, it could be so much fun and so hard at the same time.

THAT HYPOTHETICAL SITUATION MAKES ME SQUIRM BUT IT HAD TO BE DONE otherwise he would genuinely just have to slam their lips together to make them kiss. EW COOTIES.

Ron isn't grass, Ron is the wonderful flower that grows through the grass. He is a daisy. A beautiful, beautiful daisy...

ELOPE TO GRETNA GREEN YEAH! Julia can be the registrar to marry them in her homeland.


 Report Review

Review #14, by Aiedail XII

28th April 2012:
:O

MYSTERY IS MYSTERIOUS. Way to end on a cliffie Hannah :P

Part of me wants Hermione to fly into a feminist rage at Draco being cheeky but I know that's just because that is me and Hermione is not me and all that but, hey, can't help it sometimes. Also, STUPID BLAISE Y U GOTTA BE LIKE THAT. THIS IS WHY WE CAN'T HAVE NICE THINGS.

I don't think this review will really hold anything intelligible in it LULZ but I am very interested with this interpretation of Hemione's POV with Ron's falling ill. You'd think even if she wasn't in love with him anymore she'd still need to see him, but, then again, she's probably very confused and conflicted because she doesn't want to fall in love with him again by worrying or by watching him die because Draco has been, although with bad intentions (partly), much better to her lately, arguably, I think.

I'M GONNA READ ON NOW BECAUSE I WANNA KNOW WHAT IT IS SHE THINKS COULD RUIN IT ALL D:

Author's Response: I REGRET NOTHING. THIS CLIFF HANGER SHALL LAST AN ETERNITY.

Hermione needs to be more feminist, damn. If I ever write another Hogwarts era one, I'll make her feminist and just like you so you can be proud ;)

BLAISE JUST NEEDS TO FIND HIMSELF A DIFFERENT HOBBY OTHER THAN DRACO/HERMIONE WATCHING. LIKE KNITTING. OR GROWING BONSAI.

You are reading so much into Hermione, more than I was probably thinking when I was writing, lulz.

AND IT'S DEFO GOING TO BE A GIANT FLYING SHERBET LEMON THAT WILL RUIN IT ALL, FLYING OUT OF DUMBLEDORE'S OFFICE. OBV CANON.


 Report Review

Review #15, by Aiedail XI

28th April 2012:
Man hugs. So underrated. So powerful.

KISSES. I KNEW THEY WERE IN STORE FOR THE POWER COUPLE. ALL THE FOREHEAD KISSESSS!!! AND A RING. A RING THAT IS A SERPENT WHICH IS PERFECT FOR THE SNAKE PRINCE. ALSO HIS WEDDING FINGER. ALSKDJFLAJSDHF TWOO LOVE~

In a way I can see now what Draco said about him and Hermy being similar, more than you'd think. I don't know if I can quite articulate it, yet...the fact they're both lonely, they both want to prove themselves, they both have people in their lives that are very important to them, whom they want to protect, they both want to make something of themselves, believe in things strongly, are somewhat mysterious--and the last one especially strange, since they're both so outspoken, but still, I think it's true.

AND. AND. AND. All this time I thought it was Voldemort asking Draco to woo Hermione! Even when his dad came to him in Hogsmeade, I figured he was a messenger of sorts. But this--this makes things so much stranger, like Madame Pince missing Hermione and looking at her longingly after not having seen her in the library strange. In a way I have always held out belief that Lucius is twisted and evil but still loves Draco--perhaps that was me transferring how much I know Narcissa loves her son onto her husband, but still. This is sad, and weird, and adds a whole other element to this story that, looking back, MAKES THIS REALLY WEIRD. (Have I mentioned weird? BECAUSE IT'S WEIRD. WEIRD WEIRD WEIRD.) But obviously in a delightful way.

You smiled in the semi-darkness and the small creature eating at your heart from the inside stopped, and read along with you. It smiled and you could feel something completely change within you. THIS IS SO GOOD. My professors at school are part of this movement completely against the transformation moment, but this is so lovelily written and it just makes sense here. I think this is me hopping on board this ship, to whose poop deck I shall cling just as rabidly as any other fangirl.



Author's Response: Man hugs are just wonderful. Harry and Ron should have man hugged more...

KISSES YEAH. and now I look back on the ring thing it was so cheesy. Y DID I RITE DAT?

Yeah, they are kinda similar. You got it spot-on! I always had a soft spot for Draco because he was in Slytherin house and obviously had to prove himself to his poppa.

I'm sorry if it's strange :( I don't know if that's a good thing. And Madame Pince obv misses Hermione, they are BFFL! But I think Lucius loves Draco, he just knows that he can use him to make their lives better in the long run...

THANK YOU. That little creature loves you.

And lololol, poop deck.


 Report Review

Review #16, by Aiedail X

28th April 2012:
I sort of wonder who Harry thought Hermione was going with that would annoy Ron MORE than Cormac? :P It seems fairly explanatory to me. And you portrayed him as delightfully creepy--Cormac, I mean, just as he was in the film.

Oooh so Malfoy wanted to come to the party to dance with Hermione? I'm still surprised she doesn't call him out on making fun of people for their blood purity, seeing as that's a sore spot for her, but I guess that loneliness can do that to a person, and Draco is putting on a good show--ALTHOUGH, we know it's not entirely show ;)

I said it before AND I SHALL SAY IT AGAIN, I really love this alternate spin you're putting on scenes we already know. I tire many times of hogwarts-era because they often, even if purported to be told from someone else's view, look at things the same way Harry did. But this is good, this is interesting and it feels a lot like Hermione, other than the falling for Draco bits. But knowing it's a Dramione and knowing a bit of why he's going after her is helping me to put aside my reservations for a while :)

Author's Response: Harry was obviously thinking of Goyle, didn't you know? Yeah, I'm a massive Hermione/Goyle shipper ;) that would be such a cr33py story to read.

And yeah, he wants to do the macarena and conga. He's the boss at them.

AND THANK YOU LILY. I JUST LOVE YOU, ah3h3h3. And I know what you mean about the Hogwarts-era thing, that's probably why I'm moving more into next-gen or totally not the trio, lol.

'Other than the falling for Draco' haha, yeah, I understand what you mean. And put yo reservations away, y'all!


 Report Review

Review #17, by Aiedail IX

28th April 2012:
I SMELL SOMETHING IN THE AIR. IT SMELLS LIKE LURVEEE.

I am not a Dramione shipper so I have a really hard time buying into the fact that Hermione would be nice enough to him / him nice enough to her for anything civil to pass between them BUT I find that with this story, while I can't completely leave behind my skepticism and speculation, it doesn't even really matter much. I somehow believe that this is possible; I think it's because while these are canon characters and largely canon, you've done a good job at interpreting them and giving them a new spin, which is always sort of enviable and the way you've done it is brill.

I MUST NOW MOVE ON BECAUSE DRACO FINGERS a;sjdhflasjdhflajshutuirhglerhglasvn

Author's Response: I CAN'T RESPOND TO YOUR LAST REVIEW BECAUSE YOU DIDN'T CLOSE THE ITALICS HTML D:

and it defo smells like love, it has a very distinctive smell. like honey and chocolate spread...

I'm not much of a Dramione shipper anymore, haha, which is probably why I try and keep them like themselves throughout the story. They shouldn't change out of canon otherwise it just won't make any sense. AM I RITE? ;)

DRACO FINGERS? I MUST LOOK MYSELF NOW ;)


 Report Review

Review #18, by Aiedail VII

28th April 2012:
I was kind of hoping we could have a chat, but that seems thorough enough. Harry said and turned around, winking and grinning until he saw you burst into tears. THIS IS SO GOOD. ALSO HARRY ♥♥♥

I have always thought of Hermione as the person who would rather die in loneliness than be friends with someone who pities her, but you've shown us a new grief in this story, and a reality to Hermione's pain that makes me understand it in a crazy way. The logic of illogic, if you will. Quite a feat, hdawgz ♥

And little Neville, so cute again :3 I AM HOPING SOME ROMANCE STUFF HAPPENS SOOO000OOO000N!

Author's Response: HARRY LOVE 5EVA. I'd forgotten about that line, thanks for reminding me and making me feel more feels for Harry again.

The logic of illogic, I like that. I like that very much. GO AIEDAIL! It's like you understand...my soul ;) LET'S BE BEST BUDDIES 5EVA.

Neville is just my favourite person ever. And when I found out that he married Hannah Abbott, I was all like "HE MARRIES A GIRL NAMES HANNAH, ERGO HE MARRIES ME."

Romance stuff? Well, you'll see ;) ah3h3h3.


 Report Review

Review #19, by Aiedail VI

28th April 2012:
I read JKR in your disclaimer as JFK, which totally does not make sense and was a source of great confusion until I realized my mistake...

OMG I love little Neville, sticking it to the man! He actually had quite a nice comeback up his sleeve. Take that, Malfoy!

I love the idea that Hermione is the femme fatale of this Quidditch match for Slytherin. Draco is sooo in love with her already! The whole plan thing is just a rouse, he's really in it because she's his soulmate, obviously. But I do like that we've finally gotten an explanation for why Draco has to seduce her basically. PLANT THE SEED WHAT. Sorry.

Also I love Harry, as ever! He's so nice when we're not inside his neurotic mind :D And booo RON, way to ruin the night for Hermy :(

Author's Response: Yeah, didn't you know that JFK helped JKR. And then JRR (Tolkien) came along and was all like 'I WOZ HERE FURST'.

Neville is a bamf. We all know that. And we all fancy him a little bit for it. ;)

PLANT THE SEED. LET IT GROW. SMELL THE FLOWERS. SHARE THE LOAD. what? soz, JRR was getting in there a bit.

Ron is a bitch, but I will always love him.


 Report Review

Review #20, by Aiedail V

28th April 2012:
I love seeing this silly side of Hermione, standing in line with the boys. I sometimes would wonder how she was friends with them so well, because although she certainly has a sense of humor it more often seemed wry and well, boys. Boys are cray. Young boys like this especially.

HERMIONE WAS THINKING MALFOY MALFOY MALFOY. And probably Draco, then Drakie at the heart of it. AND NO, NO HERMY, YOU NEVER NEED A BREAK FROM THAT BOY. NEVAR.



Author's Response: Hermione, as I have mentioned, is my one. And every once in a while she deserves to be allowed to take her hair down, right?

Boys are more than cray. They are cray cray. They are crayfish cray.

SHE WAS OBVIOUSLY THINKING 'DRAKIE-POO'. Best nickname ever.


 Report Review

Review #21, by Aiedail IV

28th April 2012:
No, Hermione, there is a word for it! He's being SEXY and you're just not used to that okay.

As ever, Ron is such a charmer. And Draco--I'm guessing it's Draco--PLANT THE SEED. WHAT. WHAT DOES THAT MEEEAAAN. O-O

For a second I just want to punch Draco for calling her lovely because I sadly doubt that's something she hears often and for girls this age even like Hermione that would be such a startling, important thing to hear--but also since i know they will be in love at the end--IN LURVE I SAY--it's okay. Even though Drakie has impure motives. Once, when I was in a ceramics class, I told a boy there I wanted to move to Spain because the men were handsome, and he said to me, but they're not pure of heart like you. I sometimes wonder whether the men in Spain haven't taken lessons from Draco.

I ALSO MUST EXPRESS MY LOVE FOR HARRY IN THIS STORY. He seems like such a mild, harmless and cute person! Him saving Hermione's life might be some of it--would have been bad to get some of that in the face I bet--but also I think that this is something apparent in the books, and you amplify it perfectly.

Superb story. I love this all.

Author's Response: Ron is definitely sexy. I'm just saying.

Of course it's Draco loljk IT'S GOYLE. GOYLE LUVER 4 LYF! ;)

Lovely is the most understated compliment of the century that can do so much to a girl. Honestly, I curse my Draco for saying this and playing with her. IN LURVE. OHMYGOSH THAT BOY IN CERAMICS CLASS IS DRACO. And he is obviously their macho teacher, with a cool moustache and cape.

HARRY LOVE WOO! Yeah, Harry and Hermione are just such a cute little relationship, like he's the younger brother who just always wants to protect his big sister I think.

YOU ARE SUPERB LILY.


 Report Review

Review #22, by Aiedail III

28th April 2012:
I'm having trouble reconciling how silly some of the things here are with how calm the second person sounds, like Goyle eating a pie he had kept in his pocket or Neville tripping and falling and bringing Luna with him... But it's so good. Your ability to include detail is enviable. Many writers' stories are predictable in detail, if only in that everything serves the overall "message" or whatever, but this feels like a real, living story.

Also I laughed at Draco's imbecile joke, I'd just like to confess that now and get it over with.

OH. MY. MERLIN. IT WAS AN ACCIDENT. ACC.I.DENT. I CAN'T BELIEVE THIS. WHAT WAS SHE TRYING TO DO TO PANSY? AJSHDFLKAJSHFLKAJSHFL LHREIUERIUAHLSFHASLDHJFHALGR ASIUDFHASDHFAHLIUHLJHSDLF ALSJKDHFLAKSJDHFALSKFJGHLASGHLAFGJ . Ahem.

In a way I feel bad for Draco even though I hate him at the same time and love him with my baby Dramione heart. He's obviously under quite some pressure from a very lethal person and he's already run out of half his time :( But I have faith in him and faith in Hermione for weird reasons.

Author's Response: Oh Lily, every time I read another one of your reviews, I smile so much and I feel like a right idiot for smiling at a computer screen. BUT I LOVE YOU SO MUCH RIGHT NOW.

I know what you mean about the calm second-person. Dammit. But Goyle is my utmost favourite character to hurt in fanfiction because, well, no-one likes him. Well I hope so otherwise I'm gonna get hate mail from 'Goyle4lyf' and 'goyleizwellhot' saying how horrible I am ;)

Ohmygosh I actually just had to go through and find that joke.

I HATE PANSY WITH A VENGEANCE (as you can tell). I love making her overreact to things because she's such an idiot.

You gotta have faith faith faith...yeah, I know you're imagining George Michael now running onto the Quidditch pitch singing at the top of his voice. And I still have mixed feelings about Draco even as I read through my old story, haha. But Hermione, Hermione is my one.


 Report Review

Review #23, by Aiedail II

28th April 2012:
:O I had never thought about what Hermione actually wanted to be when she grew up! I always probably assumed she'd continue on with research or education. I never suspected she'd end up at the ministry, no less as an Auror, or want to be at least. But it makes sense! I think I'm still surprised by the idea, but in the best way, the way the tenderness with the thestral surprised me. These little things, that one might skip over while writing but you have taken the time to include, are doing wonders for Hermione and also MEEE as a reader :D

AND OMG DRACO MESSING WITH HERMIONE'S BRAINNN. In a way I feel this is all very brilliant, because I was always mad at Hermione for being all NO HARRY YOUR BOOK IS EVIL but then seeing him do well then still not listening. If she's still recovering or trying to deal with Draco not being an outward meaniehead, and everything around her is going strangely and out-of-the-ordinary, it makes SO MUCH EMOTIONAL SENSE that she'd snap at Harry the way she does, when she's a bit of a control freak and all she wants is to have control over something, for something to make sense.

Maybe you'd imagined the whole lesson, you thought, and walked out of the door and towards Arithmency. SO GOOD. There's a simplicity to this writing, but it's by no means not good writing able to carry all the complexity of these characters. It's so, so interesting to see things previously seen through Harry's eyes but through Hermione, whom we know has always served as a bit of a filter for him. I love how you haven't portrayed her as this wise-beyond-her-years sage, because although she's that at moments, she's also quite obviously a young woman dealing with prejudice, who loves and believes things and WHO HAS A LOT OF DRAMA WITH RON TO DEAL WITH JUST SAYIN. And now Draco's going all bipolar with his manly wiles.

And, this always happens; you expect to call the devil up and have it play nicely, Draco dear? I have the prediction that mostly, when people think they have enough control of themselves to get close to somebody without getting to be known themselves, THEY FAIL. And it will be no different for Draco. We already see a bit of this now, with Hermy and Harry haunting him. I find this particularly apt as Harry was also haunted by Draco being all nefarious and stuff in the book.

Love the last line :D

Author's Response: YAAY LILY IS BACK AND ON FIRE.

I dunno, I always like to think about what the characters might be doing, maybe that's why the hplexicon is on my bookmarks bar on my internet. I will never regret this. I have learnt so much from that website.

AND OHMYGOD YOU GET EVERYTHING I WROTE. this is why you win all the awards, i swear. Because Draco is horrible, Harry is nice, but there's always something else about them that means characters' reactions to them are so varied.

Yeah, my writing style isn't fancy, haha. I always thought that would be my downfall in fanfiction because I never tend to describe things :/ and I never wanted Hermione to be bad-ass, kooky, too clever, obnoxious or anything like that because she is just so diverse and, like you said, a /girl/. Not a woman yet. DRAMALLAMA WITH RON IS MY FAVE JSYK.

You have just epitomised Draco in a whole paragraph. We shall all bow down to your wonderful prowess as a writer and critic and friend for writing such lovely reviews :)


 Report Review

Review #24, by Aiedail I

27th April 2012:
hannah! hiii!

it's a friday evening, i can't be bothered to start up on my two essays nor study for exams, so, this story was next on my "to-read" list and WELL HERE I AM. I am excited for this story. I am always wary of Dramiones because of ... well, Dramione but I do on occasion feel like they're too good to pass up. And I GOTTA FEELINGGG about this one ;)

I love second person; usually I would lark around a bit talking about the way it's better for the story than any other POV blah blah but this one I don't need to. The writing feels so real, and for some reason there's a calm about this. I think that's the effect of second-person, really, as it's like you're just going along for this ride, that happens to be about you, but someone else is doing care to tell it to you.

DRACO IS SUCH A COCKROACH OMG. But of course we already love him because it's a Dramione! Also, I think your Hermione is really good, even for the first chapter, even though you've promised it'll get better :P The bit about the thestrals, how she still can't see them even after the ministry, how she wants to pet them--it was so beautiful and natural and I'm sitting here thinking, duh, that is totally a Hermione thing! She would do that! It's weird and intimate, and then there's Ron gentle obnoxiousness but obnoxiousness nonetheless. Luna was adorbs, I loved all the little sniggers and interactions in the cozy carriage.

And, of course, I'm looking forward very much to the "old Malfoy charm," also wondering why he's got to turn it up!

Author's Response: HEY LILY HEY!

friday evenings are always best for reading fanfictions because i'm always in such a state of mind that i just can't think about anything serious.

And yay! You like second person narratives! Honestly, you are the first person to have ever actually said that. I love you.

DRACO IS A COCKROACH WITH ADDED ROACH. I could make that sexual, but I'm not going to ;) and oh lily, stop, you're making me blush will all your compliments about Hermione. But Ron, Ron is my baby.

Oh, the good ol' fashioned Malfoy charm will make it's appearance. Doesn't it always


 Report Review

Review #25, by Sophia Lena Riddle Duchannes Epilogue

10th March 2012:
I HATE YOU!WHY?WHY!??!?!!?AH!

Author's Response: I'M SORRY! DON'T HATE ME!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>