Reading Reviews for I Am the Walrus
  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by thethreebadgers Old Brown Shoe

12th July 2011:
This story is hilarious, and I was just wondering if you had ever seen the movie 'Across the Universe'? It's based on beatles songs and it's fantastic!

 Report Review

Review #2, by thethreebadgers Everybody's Got Something to Hide Excpet Me and My Snorkack

11th July 2011:
I was just listening to this song! Nice to see another beatles fanatic on here(:

 Report Review

Review #3, by TallestTower Coming to Take You Away

20th December 2010:
I loved this! It actually pains me to see it only has four chapter reviews. This is one of the most original and quirky pieces of fanfiction I have read in a while! I love stories like this, which are based on canon characters and it has always amazed me at the ideas that people come up with!

I adore your writing style. Your attention to detail is impeccable. I think you have a real gift, your comedic timing is brilliant! Those tiny details make the story excellent. I always get a bit star-struck almost with stories I really love and never know how to phrase what I'm trying to say! ;)

Your description of scenery was lovely, I could see the places vividly in my mind- and yet it felt natural, if you know what I mean? Not forced. The way you introduced the story with the description of the park was brilliant, and seeing Dehli through Rolf's eyes was incredible (I sound so fake right now... sorry! I'm being sincere, promise!)

This comes across as so well-thought out. What you've done with the wizarding world seems extremely canon, as if it were straight out of HP.

It's the little things that really stuck out for me. The muggles who couldn't get to the portkey place, and the way Rolf caught sight of a mother dashing away just before he left. I'm so glad you put details like that in! The awkward half-handshake between Luna and Kanwal. It gives the story a really light feel and makes it seem so much more three dimensional.

I loved your characterization of Luna! She wasn't overly dreamy, which is a trap I would fall into, or eccentric - she was calm, honest and approached things with that child-like acceptance Luna always had in the books. Her dialogue was spot on! I loved her interactions with Rolf. It's clear that Rolf was really fond of her, while still appreciating her eccentricities (umm... probably didn't spell that word right... or invented it... oops). The dirigable plums line was lovely :D

And I lurved Rolf's characterization. His emotion was so real! I really believed in his nerves, again those little details like wiping his palm on his trousers. I liked his inner-conflict. He felt so real and so likeable and so-gah, can I just marry him? ;) His dialogue was perfect and I loved his little passionate speech about the might Stubster.

Did I mention how crazy I am for this plot idea too? It's so refreshing! It's a very original idea and whilst this chapter wasn't serious, you haven't created something that's 100% silly - I feel like it's already got depth and suspense. The whole shifty Kanwal business really builds suspense and adds drama to this first chapter :)

Grammar was perfecto, give your team of betas a pat on the back eh? Haha.

Man, I love this song and you have done it justice.

Overall- a brilliant story introduction! I'm already in love with the characters, hooked on the plot and ready to read more...

Really really enjoyed your writing style - 10/10!

TallestTower/Broomsticks

 Report Review

Review #4, by maskedmuggle The Fool On the Hill

15th December 2010:
Well, this was certainly another interesting chapter!
That's the first thing I thought of as I finished.

The second was, that was awfully long. I'm a bit mixed up about the length. On the one hand, I could read more, and the intermission was great, but it felt like it was dragging a bit. On the other hand, a lot happened in this story, and some parts of it might have had more impact if it was split into two. Nevertheless, I got through it, and I did enjoy reading it.

Your story and the way they connect to the lyrics really is clever. Your story seems so very well planned, with all the Indian things mentioned.. the places mentioned that are Indian-sounding… are they real places?

I thought in this part here, "Suddenly she grabbed his arm, yanked him into the noisy pub and dragged him straight to the back. She flung open the door of the men's toilet, and they tumbled inside… Luna's kisses smoldering down his neck." Luna sounded VERY out of character, but she is an adult, so she might have changed. It still feels a little out of character. Maybe Rolf was the one who, "grabbed her arm", "yanked her in", "dragged her", "flung open the door", etc? By the way, the words you've chosen really show the intense emotion. Grabbed, yanked, dragged, flung… really powerful words.

Overall, it was an enjoyable, interesting, original, very well written and detailed fic, where the unexpected keeps happening. I'm really curious to find out who those men are, and what/if Kanwal is hiding anything! And what's going to happen the very next day - so please update soon! :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by maskedmuggle Coming to Take You Away

12th December 2010:
What an interesting story!
I really enjoyed reading this, it's so different from everything I usually read!
Frankly, this is my first Luna/Rolf, and I loved it!
Your plot is so original! I love how you used the portkeys, and Delhi as the setting - I can definitely see this whole story happening!
I think this would even be good if you added more chapters, so update please! ;) I'd love to know where Stubby is and whether (or what) Kanwal is hiding anything!
I don't know if it was just me, but I honestly didn't see the point in the lyrics in the songfic. I didn't really get the whole walrus thing, but as I said, maybe that's just me!
Your writing is completely brilliant though!

I was entertained reading this, so thank you!

 Report Review

Review #6, by peppersweet Coming to Take You Away

17th September 2010:
Namaste, Niffles! Ahoythere here with your extremely overdue review - my most humble of humble apologies, but I've been bogged down with a load of composition homework this past fortnight and this is the first real spare moment I've had to review.

I know that seeing as I'm supposed to be all fair and unbiased seeing as I'm running this challenge, I shouldn't probably be fangirling over this story, but I LOVE IT. Seriously, there is nothing I can fault with this chapter. It's simply awesome. The descriptions of India are superb - I've never been, but your writing was wonderfully evocative (wow, that sounds so dull when I say it) of Delhi, and now I really, REALLY want to go there, even though being from Scotland I'd probably die from the heat.

Rolf is an awesome character - he's so nerdy! Ahha, wearing a corporate shirt (like in the song!) and being absolutely head-over-heels in love with Stubby Boardman (don't deny it, he is). For reasons I can't quite explain, I picture him with a mullet. Luna likes guys with mullets, right? Right? (Wrong is the answer here, I feel.)

'The only drawback was a gentleman in their vicinity whom Rolf hoped, for everyone's sake, was going home to have a bath.' - oh, how I laughed. I also loved that you didn't beat around the bush with the descriptions of the cold in the first paragraph. It was just nose-drippingly cold. I know the feeling.

Even your author's note was funny, especially when you thanked all those 'OMG McCartney is DEAAAD!' conspiracy theorists.

The nub and gist of this review is that I kind of love this story already. Why must you rule at songfics? Can I just schneak in and steal some of your songfic-writing talent? Guessing it's a no, but, still, I like to think that by reading your songfics I can absorb some of that talent by osmosis, or something. (Assorted biologists: 'Stupid ahoythere! Osmosis involves the transportation of water across a selectively permeable membrane! Did you not LISTEN in biology?' ahoythere: 'Hmmm, no, too busy reading fanfic.')

I digress.

Onto the serious bit: I hope to have a blog entry up this weekend about the winners of the challenge and stuff, so watch this space. Or, rather, watch the space on the forums, because watching this space in particular won't be much good. Thanks for entering the challenge - I really hope you enjoyed it, and I might just have to build you a massive shriney shrine of shrineness for managing to make a songfic out of 'I am the Walrus'.

Goo goo g'joob! ;D

 Report Review

Review #7, by LovlyRita_Staff Coming to Take You Away

7th September 2010:
(for some reason my review got cut off so I'm going to cheat and continue it here haha)
I wasn't sure if this had any parallels at all to the time when the Beatles spent all that time in India with the Mahareshi Mahesh Yogi (Did I spell that right? I don't even know). But if that is indeed what you are going for...I am blown away! This rocks!!!

Beautiful job, this is going in a story seekers recommendation. And you know what's awesome about me recommending things for story seekers? It's my show and I make the decisions!! MUAHAHAHAHA! :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by LovlyRita Coming to Take You Away

7th September 2010:
Congratulations, you have just accomplished something that few people have ever accomplished. A) you made me slow down in the queue and actually READ while I was validating and B) You made me log out of my staff account and onto my actual account to review.

This, this was magnificent! It was so well written, and I could actually imagine myself there. And a fic set in India! So very authentic. There are some things that I loved about this. The first thing was Luna and Rolf and the way they ended up in India, going through customs and all. Luna was so beautifully done! I have never actually read a story featuring Luna and Rolf, so this was quite exciting.

And to go to India to look for Stubby Boardman! I just love it. How funny is that? This plot is original and well thought out, and I really think you have a gem here that is 100% unique.

And to the reason that I clicked on the story in the first place to validate it- the title. The Beatles song. I LOVE the Beatles, and my first thought was...how on EARTH did someone take I am the Walrus and turn it into a plausible, well thought out songfic? And somehow, you DID IT! And it was amazing. Ahhh Lennon/McCartney

Author's Response: LovlyRita, When I posted this I was secretly hoping you would notice my shameless advertising on the forums and check it out (who better to appreciate a Beatles story than "LovlyRita"? ;) ), but I never imagined you would be the one to validate it, let alone immediately review it! I am truly stunned and honored by this review, and feel I can't thank you enough.

I'm so glad you thought that the Indianess was authentic. I have spent SO much time researching India, on top of planning out how the Indian Wizarding world would be different from England. I am very relieved that my hard work has paid off. Plus your comments about Luna made my day. She's such a tricky character to write, and one of my favorites, I really wanted to do her justice.

And YES! the Beatles time in India was a huge part of the inspiration behind this. I was so worried that no one would pick up on that, so you can imagine my delight that the first person who reviewed got it! When I signed up for the challenge and was assigned this song with Luna/Rolf as the pairing, the idea came to me like a lightning bolt. I don't think I could have come up with anything for this song with a different pairing. Since a lot of the lyrics don't really tie into the plot as a whole, just random details in the narrative (Mainly it's just the chorus that really reflects the plot), I wanted to add strength to the piece by drawing in other forms of Beatles inspiration. Choosing India as the setting just seemed extra perfect as the Beatles were there right around the time they recorded Magical Mystery Tour.

Okay, this response is threatening to become longer than the review so I should finish up. I am absolutely thrilled that you liked it so much, and if it ends up on story seekers, that would absolutely make my HPFF life. Honestly. :) I'm honored that you would even consider it. Thank you so much. :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login