Reading Reviews for Dolores
  
20 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Allie Dolores

8th July 2011:
Amazing, absolutely wonderful. The was it was written is fantastic.

Author's Response: Thank you very much. I'm so glad that you enjoyed it :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by k Toor Dolores

4th May 2011:
Absolutely loved it! I love all of the writing you do, write more about the POtter kids, pleeease??? But back to this, I love the point of view, I can see all these thoughts going through Umbridge's head. But My fave part was the end, perfect way to end it!

Author's Response: I promise that more Potter kids stuff is in the works. I will finish it as soon as I get the chance, I swear! The end of this came out of nowhere. I was sitting there writing, and I was at the end and then suddenly I had an epiphany that ended with that. I liked it so I kept it. Thanks for all the wonderful reviews. They made my day :)


 Report Review

Review #3, by Davy Dolores

27th March 2011:
i enjoyed it only problem is the length..

Author's Response: Thanks very much! I'm glad you liked it! I'm not to sure what you mean about the length (I'm slow, ok? :P) if you mean it's too long... well, opps! If you think it's too short... well... hehe thanks :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by Davy Dolores

27th March 2011:
i enjoyed it only problem is the length..

 Report Review

Review #5, by ingeborgsk Dolores

27th March 2011:
Wow, i really enjoyed that! It was really original, I'm sick of those cliche stories spread all over this site, so this is one who stands out! Thank you for that!

Author's Response: Well thank you very much! I'm glad you enjoyed it! It's true that there are a heck of a lot of clichée stories on this site, but the thing is, sometime you just want a really good dose of clichée-ness. Still. I'm definitely not going to complain if it made you like my story so much :) Thanks again for taking the time to review!

 Report Review

Review #6, by hp_obsessed_94 Dolores

24th March 2011:
Great! I love reading the stories from a different perspective or about someone that you don't normally read about. Good Job!

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I have a really weird obsession with reading and writing about the less known characters in books. I feel that if you know about them, then you'll know more about the story as a whole. Thanks again... and I'm very glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #7, by libby103 Dolores

22nd March 2011:
Hey!

You may or may not notice that I'm enjoying fics in which the antagonists of the series have their say!

The line where you speak of the final battle, you mention how over fifty people were lost...there's nothing wrong about that, but the number seems small, even when compared to the small population of Wizarding Britain. I would've just thought the amount would be larger.

This perspective was definitely interesting. I never thought of Umbridge as just doing her job, but looking at it, it was her job. All those horrid things, for the most part, were entailed in her career. Her reflection on all these thoughts, and the lack of regret despite her imprisonment and realization, really rounded off this piece.

The descriptions of the trio was one of my favorite parts. It was just great to see how someone like Umbridge herself could see the change the trio had gone through in 2 very war-torn years. That was just great.

Noticed a few typos and spelling errors here and there, but not enough to distract from the writing, narrative, or story.

Last line was really amazing, really brought Dolores Umbridge's story to a full circle. It brought us to the point at which we remember her the most; Harry Potter's 5th year at Hogwarts.

As with the Crabbe story, I really enjoyed this perspective of Umbridge!
from,
Liberty

Author's Response:
Hello again!

I did indeed notice that you were liking the bad guy stories! I don't blame you; I always think the side of the villan is just as interesting, if not more.

I think that on the whole, there were much, much more than 50 deaths, but in the battle there was between 50 and 60. I think somewhere in the Deathly Hallows Harry comments that about 50 people were dead, lying on the floor of the Great Hall. So I stuck with that number :)

I'm glad you agree that it was just her job. A lot of people have said that she's just a horrible woman, but I think I disagree. She's just trying to do what she can to get ahead. Just like most people, really.

I have to say, I've got a weakness for the trio. I'm always trying to slip in little details about them, even when the story doesn't call for it. This was definitely one of those times. I'm really glad you liked it!

I will go and fix those typos shortly. Thank you very much for both reviews. They were very lovely, and so helpful.


 Report Review

Review #8, by magicmuggle01 Dolores

10th March 2011:
I like the way that you've done this one-shot. It's like seeing into the mind of pure evil. I don't think that Umbridge will ever change. 10/10.

Author's Response: Glad you like it. Umbridge is a jerk face, I'll give her that. I don't think she's 100% evil though; I think she's just a lonely old woman who likes to take out her pain on other people. Sounds like my math teacher last year :P Thanks so much for another lovely review!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Aurorofthelight Dolores

1st March 2011:
Absolutely brilliant! This is a really a unique idea for a story and very well done! A very enjoyable read! And your Umbridge is just like you'd think she'd be in the slammer -- An unremorseful, haughty twit! Wonder if her prison stripes are pink!?! ;)

Author's Response: Thanks very much! I never read a story from Umbridge's point of view, so I figured I'd write one myself! I have the feeling that they wouldn't giver our lovely Ms Umbridge pink robes just to spite her :) Glad you liked my story! Thanks so much for reading and taking the time to leave a review!

 Report Review

Review #10, by GriffindorGal Dolores

20th February 2011:
This story was awesome really well written :D

Author's Response: Thanks so, so much! I'm really glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #11, by hplover_15 Dolores

19th February 2011:
I like it. A lot. I hate Umbridge too. But I felt like I could actually tolerate her in this story. But she was tolerable. So yeah. I liked it. A lot :P

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading, and taking the time to review. It means a lot to me! Umbridge is a very awful person, and a lot of people have said that they hate her. I tried to write from another perspective; no matter if she's a terrible person, she's human just like Harry and Ron and Hermione. I'm glad you found her tolerable... it's a good change from plain old hatred ;) Thanks again for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #12, by GinnyWeasley_13 Dolores

2nd February 2011:
Wonderfully written. It was interesting to get into the head of a very much hated character.

Author's Response: Thank you very much. I'm glad you liked it. Umbridge is a character who really needed to be filled out a bit; that's just what I was trying to do. Thanks again for reading and leaving a lovely review!

 Report Review

Review #13, by spencefa Dolores

25th January 2011:
Story was quite good, it really felt like you got into her mind.

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I was trying to think like Umbridge when I wrote it; I'm glad that it translated onto paper!

 Report Review

Review #14, by GryffinClawTherin_Vicky Dolores

17th January 2011:
Seeing inside of Umbridge's mind is something that's not exactly very new for me. Throughout reading about her and her horrible deeds (for lack of words) in Order of the Phoenix and the following books I wondered what she was like. Inside of her mind, I did not see pink and cats/kittens or anything of the likes. I saw intricacy and her want for more.
Apparently you see something much like what I saw. And you portray it wonderfully. You tell it like you believe it is. No excuses behind it, just Umbridge's mind. Raw.
And I love it. You give us emotion from her that forms a sort of mood around this story. But you don't just focus on her alone, but on the Golden Trio as well. You show how they've changed. In a minor way, because of Umbridge too.
You tie it all in so wonderfully. This is definitely one of the best fanfics that I've read.
Victoria(:

Author's Response: Wow. I'm flattered that you think so highly of my story. Dolores Umbridge is a really bizarre person. She's so mean. Not evil, exactly, but definitely not a nice person. It's easy to make her into a bad character. Underneath though, I think there's a part of her that we should feel sorry for. She's probably insecure underneath all of the pink and kittens. I don't think she's ever really been liked in her life, and so she's getting back at the world in the only way she knows. Maybe I'm just reading too far into this, but that's what I think of her . Thank you for all your amazing reviews. You're amazing.

 Report Review

Review #15, by Ahmeni Dolores

15th January 2011:
Chilling. Dolores Umbridge is surely the most twisted of JK's creations, perhaps because she hides behind a veil of good to do her evil, unlike Voldemort, who, lets face it, is just plain evil.

She really creeps me out, and I'm glad she's in Azkaban.

Thanks so much for this piece, it was well written and quite terribly in character. Your ability to weave emotive themes throughout your narration is a skill you should be very proud of.

Fantastic effort!

And thanks for being so prolific :)

Author's Response: Wow! Thanks so much! Your reviews are honestly the nicest things ever. I agree that Umbridge is a pretty creepy woman. She's awful to everyone and everything, and she's so selfish it just makes my skin crawl. To tell you the truth though, underneath it all, I think she's just a lonely woman trying to prove to herself that she can be someone. She just went about it the wrong way. Maye that's me being a bit soft; I tend to do that a lot! Thanks again for each and every review. I'm so happy you took the time to tell me what you thought.

 Report Review

Review #16, by Hyacinth Dursley Dolores

15th January 2011:
Well done, Nobody is ever one dimensional and if I ever had a problem with JK's work that would be it. But you can't expect much introspection from a group of kids. However, I love your writing and the fact that you take the time to explore unlovable character's motives. Both thumbs up. Hope to continue to see more from you.

Author's Response: I agree. In the books, Umbridge is seen as evil, nothing more, nothing less. We are only seeing it from Harry's perspective, but still, every character who talks about her says the same sort of things about her. I figured there was probably more to her then meets the eye. She's still pretty unlovable, but I hope I made her a little more human. Thanks so much for the wonderful reviews... and don't you worry. All these responses have given me lots of confidence in my writing, so there will definitely be more stories in the future!

 Report Review

Review #17, by RumbleroarRedvines Dolores

9th January 2011:
O. M. G.
That was AMAZING! More than amazing. Spectacular splendiforous! Fabsome! You know it's good when I have to make up words for it.
I really honor you for taking on a character so (is there any other word to describe her?) evil. Sometimes I think she's even worse than Voldemort. But in the books, she was only evil, very one dimensional. You went really deep into her, which must have been challenging. But you pulled it off beautifully! You're a phenomenal writer!
And the last line: that was brilliant! 12/10

Author's Response: Wow. You have no idea how good you just made me feel! In fact... I think I feel Fabsome :)
I think the main reason that Umbridge seems so one dimensional is that she's described by Harry, a 15 year old guy who she's bossing around and being generally evil to. That's not exactly going to bring out her best characteristics now, is it? But still, all the other characters who talk about her all say the same sort of thing; that she's an evil hag lady. I figured there was probably more to her than meets the eye. So I tried my hardest to make her seem right. That last line seriously popped into my head out of nowhere. It fits though, doesn't it! Thank you so much for a really wonderful review. You honestly made me so happy. And, just as a little side note, as soon as I started reading your review, Those Voices from A Very Potter Sequel started playing on my iPod. It was pretty awesome!


 Report Review

Review #18, by Alife74 Dolores

18th December 2010:
Wow. First of all, let me say that your writing is excellent. I think that is your best feature shining through this piece. I wasn't sure at first whether or not to read a fic called Dolores, as Umbridge is my least favourite character, but I'm glad I did. I found your perspective on her really interesting. Great work! I just had to review because I know how important reviewing is to authors. (And we Canadians need to stick together, of course.) Thanks for sharing your story with us.

Author's Response: My goodness, did that ever make me feel good! It really means a lot to me that you enjoyed my story so much. I don't think I'm very good at writing stuff that isn't fluff and happy, so your review definitely made me feel a lot more confident! I totally know what you mean about Umbridge being a very unlikable character. When I read the books, I hated her, but then when I read them again (well, read them for the tenth or so time) I wondered about her. And so this is what I came up with! She's a really selfish woman, but I think she might have regretted some things after all. Thanks so, so much for reading, and giving me such an amazing review, my fellow resident of the Great White North! Happy holidays!

 Report Review

Review #19, by potthead Dolores

14th November 2010:
This is the first story that details Umbridges`s story.
It explains a lot of questions. well writen, good job.
.

Author's Response: Thank you for reading and reviewing! I always wondered what happened to Umbridge, but when I looked for stories about her post-war life, there weren't very many at all, so I thought 'hey! I'll write one!' and so this was the result. I'm glad you thought it was well written; angsty dark stuff is so not my forte :) Thanks again for your awesome review!

 Report Review

Review #20, by spencefa Dolores

7th September 2010:
it was a good story, Umbridge was exactly how I would think she is, you described her thoughts very well, job well done. Also, I did not think it was corny.

Author's Response: Yay a review!!! Thanks so much! I'm really glad that you thought that Umbridge was in character. I always thought that she would be really selfish, so I tried to portray that as best I could. I'm really glad that you didn't think it was corny; it was the best I could do... I didn't really know what I was talking about having never been in jail before! Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login