Reading Reviews for Man After Legend
  
10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Jasmine Man After Legend

8th April 2013:
I seriously SOBBED at the end ;( it's reeaaaly good :3

 Report Review

Review #2, by Loony_Scorpy Man After Legend

28th April 2012:
Wow I thoroughly enjoyed this story. I felt as though I had been transported into the 'real' (for lack of a better word) Harry Potter universe. I found this story in the hppc volunteer your story section so I decided to check it out. I don't think I would ever be able to podcast something with so much emotion though! (and I don't think I could handle something so long). But that aside, I am so glad I decided to come and have a look at it. I've never read any of your other stories before so this was a first glimpse at your writing - I'm definitely going to have to read some of your other work now. I did really love this. My eyes even got a little teary and that doesn't happen to me very often. I'll admit that I got a confused with all the different relatives but that's bound to happen with a family that size and that many generations! I really loved what you did at the end with making Sirius end up being 'the Grim.' It linked back with the books so well! I really did enjoy this story. Thanks for posting it! :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by HarryPotterGeek Man After Legend

30th March 2012:
I love this story! The end is so sweet!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Alopex Man After Legend

15th December 2011:
I hardly know where to begin. My reviewing skills have grown rather rusty--not that my goal has ever been to write critical essays on everything I read. Mostly I just ramble on about my reactions to the story, and I have only good things to say about this story.

When I saw your post in the story volunteering section at HPPC, the story summary caught my eye. I confess that I nearly didn't read this story when I saw it was over 13,000 words long. Although I have no problem reading for hours on end from paper books, my attention span while reading on the computer is appallingly short. There are so many more temptations that are just a click away, and then I keep watching the scroll bar, seeing how tiny it is and how close still to the top of the page.

So what made me decide to read it after all? The main reason is that the concept seemed refreshing and serious. I figured it wasn't going to be 13,000 words of drivel about some teenage drama I couldn't care less about. Also, I noticed in looking at your author page that all your stories are rated 12+, which I find impressive and intriguing. Lastly, even though I rarely choose to read such long chapters on my own unless they are written by a favorite author, I used to maintain a review thread, and on a couple of occasions, I was asked to review lengthy chapters that turned out to be really excellent stories, experiences which convinced me that clamping down on the distractions and ignoring the scroll bar can be worth it. :P

Time to talk about the story itself. From your summary, I wasn't absolutely certain what the "health problem" in question was going to be, although I had my suspicions, which were quickly confirmed. However, one thing that did surprise me was just how old you chose to make Harry! At the very first, I assumed James was going to be Harry's son James. I assume that was intentional?

You did a good job of portraying Harry, I think. There were vestiges of his personality, to be sure, both in his lucid and not-so-lucid moments, but you were unrelenting in showing just how much his mind has deteriorated. It made it both easier and more difficult to accept his death at the end: easier because it is obvious his quality of life isn't so fabulous anymore and he's lived a long, full life, but harder because I really came to care for him and his well-being as I read. I'm not sure if I'm doing a very good job of conveying what I mean.

I did have a little bit of difficulty keeping straight how all the characters were related to one another and who was whose descendant. I don't think that's a big deal, though, since the main point is that they are all Harry's family. I have a bad memory for that sort of thing anyway. You had a good variety of characters there too. It seemed you had a realistic array of people and reactions to / opinions of Harry.

The symbolism of the Grim was well-done. I actually suspected at first that it might be Sirius, since I couldn't help but draw parallels to the third book, but then I became convinced it really was the Grim, only to find out it was Sirius after all! Anyway, it is true that the Grim was a presence in Harry's life, at least symbolically, long before any of these characters or their parents were even thought of. It was fitting, sort of bringing the story full circle, since Harry has cheated death so many times. I'm glad, though, that it wasn't the "real" Grim, but rather an old friend there to welcome him to the next phase.

It was fitting also that Dumbledore was there, just as he appeared in the King's Cross scene in the final book. I would like to think that by this point in his life, Harry doesn't need the guidance so much anymore, but despite his faults, Dumbledore was a wise figure in the books, and I'm sure his presence was welcomed by Harry.

When Harry jumped on that broomstick and zoomed off, I expected him to break his fool neck or something--an expectation that I believe the characters in the story shared. That would have been too obvious a death, though . . . I'm glad you pushed it further off, kept building up to the moment and made it far less dramatic. Yet, the death was plenty dramatic, for all its . . . quietness, since I can't think of a better word right now.

I also liked that you went a bit beyond Harry's death at the end of the story. After all, this story was not only about Harry, but about the next generations as well. Seeing Remus change and knowing that he wrote his novel was no less moving than Harry's story.

It is impressive that you tackled a whole cast of adult characters (something I'd like to see a bit more often at times), and older adult characters too. The way you handled the whole concept of aging, dementia, death, and the surrounding complications was also very respectful and well-done.

I found this story to be extremely moving. It is rare when a fanfiction story moves me to tears, but I had a tear in my eye at the end of this one. The way you chose to show Harry's death indirectly through Giselle's visions was very impactful, more so, I think, than if you had chosen to show it directly. It was a different take on a death scene, and it also allowed you to show the joyous aspects as well as the sad. It almost takes a moment too, for the death to sink in, even though it's been expected for half the story at least. It seemed natural and fitting, and I felt happy and relieved for Harry despite my sadness (over a fictional character, how silly is that).

I haven't been this impressed by a fanfiction story in a very long time, and it's going straight into my favorites as soon as I post this review.

 Report Review

Review #5, by Millarz Man After Legend

11th December 2011:
This was one of the best stories I've ever read on this site! It filled me with suspense and hope and happiness and sadness and anger (at characters) and why don't you heap a bunch of other emotions in there too? I love the premise and the character development in Remus, and pretty much everything else too! At the end, when Remus started reading his book, I almost cried! This is amazing!

Author's Response: Thanks. Great to hear from you since I see you at times on HPPC. I didn't really understand how much emotion I was packing into one story until I had finished it. I know I cried several times while wrting it, but I always get into the emotions of my characters. I hope you take a little time and read my others and let me know how they stack up. Happy reading.

 Report Review

Review #6, by Barbara Tinnell Man After Legend

9th August 2011:
I very much enjoyed this one-shot. I am grateful to have left it for the last of your stories. It is a beautiful ending to them. Thank you for taking the time and effort to write these for us all to enjoy. I have enjoyed each of your tales. Delightful. Thank you.

Author's Response: Thanks. i have also enjoyed having a nice reviewer like you. Happy reading.

 Report Review

Review #7, by Ari Man After Legend

27th October 2010:
I cried the whole time. That's a good thing. We'll talk about it in detail the next time I come to visit. I'm sorry it took so long for me to get to it, but you know how the theatre is. See you soon!

Author's Response: i was beginning to wonder. i thought surely you had read it by now. So glad that you did. I look forward to our next meeting. Miss ya!

 Report Review

Review #8, by micking Man After Legend

22nd October 2010:
so beautiful and even though it is sad, that is the way it should of happened.

Author's Response: thanks. i'm glad you think it is so beautiful. i was trying to depart a bit from my usual writing subjects. Happy reading.

 Report Review

Review #9, by JustATexan Man After Legend

1st September 2010:
So close to perfection that I don't think that I could tell the difference.

Author's Response: thank you so much. happy reading.

 Report Review

Review #10, by theelderwand Man After Legend

1st September 2010:
Edward,

I came to check up on your author's page and saw this tale. I'm really glad that I did.

I've only read a few tales that deal with the end of Harry's life, in old age. But none of them could ever compare to this.

The memory lapses were such a wrenching twist in this tale. In part, it seemed better for Harry not to remember that he had outlived so many of the people in his life. While, on the other hand, it was so painful to see our hero laid low by old age.

It was exceedingly emotional when Harry began to relive Ginny's death. Excellent writing, that.

Who wants to live forever? Seeing a tale like this bring the true ramifications of such a desire into such stark relief is quite gripping. It seems such a horrible fate, until one realizes that, as you so aptly characterized harry, the ability to finally outlive his burdensome fame and to be surrounded by such a huge family must have been a great comfort.

Excellent touch that, in the end, his friends and family came for him; and Sirius as the Grim. Perfect. Especially creative how they knew Harry died when only Giselle could hear him.

A superb and original tale.

Elder

Author's Response: I'm so glad you were the first to review this story. it was such a hard story for me to write. as you know from my other stories, I usually have harry in great physical shape and ready to face everything that comes to him. my super Harry complex was hard to overcome. I decided to write this one to try to get away from that for a while. it didn't end up nearly as dark as i had first intended, but the storyline changed slightly in my mind when I was writing it. I was well into it when i realized that the story was centered on Harry, but the real subjects of the story were the family members around Harry and how they related to him. For some of them the way they felt about him went through a profound transformation. I'm really happy that you liked it. i have to say thank you to the Story Seekers Podcast for featuring you as an author on the podcast. That brought me to read and love your stories and enabled me to have a great author like you review my stories. By the way, i left a review on the one story on you page that i had not rad until few days ago. i went back later to check for your reply about it and found that the review wasn't there at all. i guess i timed out when i was writing it or something. I will get back over there and leave you another one. Until then, Happy reading.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login