Reading Reviews for Hand Me Down
  
13 Reviews Found

Review #1, by AC_rules Hand Me Down

5th June 2011:
There should be more fics about Lily and Petunia, there really should. I like the way the time has progressed through it and I really imagine Lily to have thought like that about her sister. You also got me really really wanting Petunia to show up - and I thought she would, and then she didn't :(

Genuinely a really lovely read :)

Author's Response: There definitely should! It's such an unexplored relationship. Especially during her years at school when they still lived together. Those had to be pretty hard summers for both of them.

I really wanted Petunia to show up, too, but I had to make Lily realize that waiting for her sister to forgive her (for something she had no control over) just wasn't healthy.

Thank you so much! :D

Dem


 Report Review

Review #2, by Witnesstoitall Hand Me Down

31st May 2011:
Unable to log into the archives for some reason... but Witnesstoiall here from Ravenclaw!

This was a touching look into a very special moment of Lily's life. I couldn't imagine my own sister not being present at my wedding, and I was moved to emotion for Lilly. Great one shot!

melissa

Author's Response: Thank you kindly!

I'd be devastated if one of my sister's didn't show up, but I think it hurt Lily a lot more because she'd had such a big falling out with her sister and it was another one of those times in her life she was sure her sister was going to be there.

Thanks!

-Dem-


 Report Review

Review #3, by Snapdragons Hand Me Down

31st May 2011:
I love reading about Lily and Petunia's relationship, even though it's so bittersweet. It must be hard for both of them - I think that even though Petunia pretends not to care any more, she really does. I have an older sister myself, so I could really relate to Lily. I would be crushed if she didn't come to my wedding - if she couldn't attend anything that was really important to me, honestly. She means the world to me, and it would be so hard for me if we weren't on good terms.

So I think you really did an excellent job portraying the tricky relationship here, and Lily's disappointment and how she misses her sister. It felt very true and honest. This line was particularly good : "I wish I could lie to myself and say seeing my mother happy was enough to make me forget--that it was enough to drown out the bitter taste that lingered. But it wasn't. I was certain nothing ever would be."

Also "'What does it really matter if she's there or not?' Everything." Your descriptions were lovely - especially the dress at the beginning - and I'm glad that she managed to let go a little bit once she was with James.

I really enjoyed this oneshot and thought you did a great job! Bittersweet but beautiful, and a different look on Lily and James' wedding. Excellent writing! :)

Author's Response: Aww, what a lovely review!

I, too, enjoy reading about Lily and Petunia. It's something that I think isn't delved into much, especially since Petunia never made any amends. Petunia appeared as merely a minor character in The Prince's Tale, but really she was quite important.

I'm glad you thought I portrayed it well. I was hoping I would be able to without somehow going overboard. I feel like Lily would keep most of it to herself which is why she only really shared her feelings with James.

Thank you so much!

-Dem-


 Report Review

Review #4, by charlottetrips Hand Me Down

31st May 2011:
You know, until reading this I hadn't realized that I haven't read many stories dealing with the relationship between Lily and Petunia. The woman who loved her son so much she gave up her life for him and her love bound a cruel and bitter man to protecting her son for the rest of his life...well, she must've been rather hurt by her sister's rejection of everything she'd become.

I love that you address this and that you also show how much love there was between James and Lily. I like the purity of it all in the end :)

xChar

Author's Response: I hadn't thought of it much either until this little plot popped into my head. But then it seemed so obvious that Lily would miss her sister, even if Petunia had called her a freak. They'd been best friends for so long. Stuff like that is hard to let go of.

It was important to me to show that even though Lily missed her sister, it didn't control the rest of her life which is what inspired the ending. :)

Thank you so much for this lovely review!

Magically Yours,

Dem


 Report Review

Review #5, by BellaFan202 Hand Me Down

28th May 2011:
Here I am with your review swap! :D
That was amazing. I kind of cried a little, because I always cry at weddings and this was detailed so well. I could almost picture it, which is fantastic because it was so short. I think it was amazing. :D
10/10
~BellaFan202~
(LiveLaughLoveHarryPotter on the forums)

Author's Response: Aww, that's so sweet of you! Haha, I'm glad that it gave you such an emotional response. That is a huge compliment.

Thank you so much for this lovely review. :D

Magically Yours,

Dem


 Report Review

Review #6, by SearchingForLuna Hand Me Down

4th February 2011:
This is wonderful :) You characterized Lily beautifully, with spunk and personality but also with regret that Petunia was no longer a part of her life. James was great, too. I especially liked when you said that he looked "rather ill"--it shows he's not perfect.

The flow was amazing, and you said so much with so little words.

10/10!! :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this lovely review!

I think it's often skipped over that Lily was probably hurt when Petunia pushed her away. They had been really close sisters and Lily never actually did anything wrong.

I imagine James was quite nervous when they got married! He probably couldn't believe she would marry him, still surprised she'd said yes to a date at all. xD

Thank you!

Dem


 Report Review

Review #7, by Harrypotterbookworm Hand Me Down

29th January 2011:
Wow. This really captures the essence of a sisterly relationship. Many people underestimate it really. But a sisterly relationship can sometimes be one of the strongest relationships there is. Though, not the strongest, as the end shows. Lily's love for James kicks that sadness out of the way. Which is always a little reassuring, well for me it is.

It's funny, most of this fic is exactly how I imagined Lily and Petunia's relationship to be like. I think you capture it perfectly. All the descriptions are exquisite, long with enough information, but not overly so. The dress at the start is a prime example of this. :) Also, you really can put Lily's feelings in to words, which most of the time is a really hard thing to do. So props to that as well!

Sometimes with the four different parts it got a little confusing as to what was happening but that may just have been me reading too fast. Overall, a great fic! Hugs,

HPB (nikkinike)

Author's Response: Thanks so much!

I'm glad you think I captured both the essence of a sisterly relationship and Lily's feelings well. After all, that's exactly what this piece is about! Their relationship also reminds me of best friends that have some sort of falling out. It's a bit consuming when you've lived your life for so long with one person by your side and then suddenly they're gone.

Thanks so much for this lovely review!

Magically Yours,

Dem


 Report Review

Review #8, by marinahill Hand Me Down

25th January 2011:
This was so bittersweet. It must have really hurt Lily that Petunia stopped talking to her and from what you've written here I can feel the pain that she was feeling. I think your characterisations were really amazing, especially for such a short chapter. I felt you really explored Lily's character and developed her feelings and thoughts. When her mother suggested she have petunias, I felt so sad for Lily. And then Petunia didn't show... so tragic!

My only criticism was that I don't know whether Lily would think that Petunia's presence didn't matter. I think the one-shot would have been perfect if it had ended on either the unhappy note that she didn't turn up and how much she missed her sister, or the happy note that Petunia had put the past behind her and shown up. But other than that, this was a lovely one-shot. The mood was very well executed.

Marina :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

I think it is rather a tragic story. It always hurts when someone you love turns completely away from you, especially when there isn't much of an explanation. Lily had to go through a lot of important things in her life without her sister just because Petunia was bitter and jealous. It's one of those things that Lily always knew, but forced herself to forget until she realized her sister would probably miss her wedding.

What Lily realized at the end was that should couldn't keep living her life hoping for Petunia to suddenly show up because she would be living in constant disappointment. It wasn't so much that she no longer wanted Petunia there, she really did, but she just realized that even if her sister wasn't there, she wasn't alone. She had James, and their wedding day was about their life together, not Petunia. Obviously Petunia wasn't going to show up, but Lily spent so many years missing a sister who seemingly didn't care. She had to move on at some point.

Thanks so much for this lovely review! It was really helpful. :D

Magically Yours,

Dem


 Report Review

Review #9, by long_live_luna_bellatrix Hand Me Down

24th January 2011:
Hi there! This was a really great story, first off. Your descriptions were excellent, from that tricky, gorgeous dress to the smile splitting Mr. Evans' face in two. It was clear, it was compelling, and altogether extremely enjoyable. I liked seeing how Petunia defined Lily's life, how much she affected Lily even as she hurt her. As an older sister myself, it's a perspective I don't get that often. However, this was easy to relate to. I felt truly sorry for Lily, having her wedding nearly ruined by a sister who was just trying to get out of Lily's thoughts.

My only suggestion is to tie the ending in to Petunia a bit more. Don't get me wrong, I liked how you chose for Lily's worry to turn neatly into love for James. But one more line, perhaps about a hole being filled (but less corny than that :P) would have been nice.

Overall, lovely job!

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

I get a lot of compliments on the descriptions in this piece and it's always such an ego booster when I do. My fiance said that his favorite part was the description of the dress.

It was a bit difficult to write but I felt it needed to be done because a lot of people just assume that Lily moved on or even disliked her sister when Petunia disappeared from her life. I imagine it was a rather painful thing to deal with.

I think you're right about the ending, but I'm not sure how to do it. I'll have to give it a little thought. I only had so many words I could use, but now that it's not in the challenge it might be a good time to do some editing!

Magically Yours,

Dem


 Report Review

Review #10, by moonbaby11 Hand Me Down

26th December 2010:
Aw, I really liked this story. I felt bad for Lily, since she wouldn't have Petunia there with her. I liked hwo you had it that Lily missed her, as most people write it as if once Petunia started not liking Lily, Lily just stopped carign about her. I like how she still has feelings for her sister, since they grew up together and they used to be really close.

The part about picking out the flowers was probably my favourite scene in this, the way that Lily could not pick the petunias, because they woudl remind her too much of her sister. I really felt bad for her throughout this one-shot.

I thought you did a great job at getting Lily's thoughts and feelings across, especially since you had a certain word count that you could not go over. You seemed to use your words wisely, to give people an idea to what Lily was thinking as she got married.

I really liked the ending as well. I thought it was sweet. Overall, I thought you did a good job with this. Keep up the great work and happy holidays! :)

Author's Response: I loved writing this story! It was so much fun because I knew I only had so many words to get my point across. I'm glad that you thought I did a good job of that. ^^

For some reason, people do seem to think that Lily just stopped caring about her sister after Petunia got angry and began to dislike her. Even though Petunia seemed to hate Lily, I think she was hurting as well and I know Lily was hurting since the reason for Petunia's dislike wasn't even her fault.

I loved the flowers part, too. I thought it was sad that her mother wouldn't really notice these things but that it would effect Lily so much.

Thank you so much for this lovely review! Sorry for the late response. Dx

-Dem-


 Report Review

Review #11, by maskedmuggle Hand Me Down

10th November 2010:
Another review! :)

So, I didn't look too closely when I clicked this story, so I had read the summary, but had no idea what character it would be.
But this story is such a great Lily/James fic! I love the idea behind it, it's nice to see you portray Lily as the awesome person she is, who finds family important, but also realises that James was her everything!
Ahh, a very sweet one shot! I've seen some much more complicated Lily/James' weddings, but this was quite simple, quite beautiful, and it worked really well!
Again, you write really well. Loved it :)

Author's Response: I was actually really hesitant of including any sort of hint who the story was about. I wanted the reader to start out not knowing, trying to figure it out a bit, wondering if it was Petunia or Lily, for the first bit anyway.

This story was actually inspired by the same realm that Someday, You Will is written in. Something similar was going on in that story, and when I picked up the challenge, this is exactly what came to mind--a sort of off-shoot from the novel.

I love James/Lily. Definitely one of my favorite ships (R/H being my favorite!). I feel sorry for Lily a lot because it wasn't her fault that she was a witch but she lost her sister because of it. Luckily, she found James and took comfort in him, but I think it will always be something she carries with her. I would have liked to see how it would have affected her later in life had she lived longer.

And I love simply weddings! All that fancy stuff is just...a waste. But yeah, I'm really glad you liked it! Ooh, loved it. :DDD

Thanks so much for all these reviews, especially when you didn't have to leave me so many!

Dem


 Report Review

Review #12, by FoundriaPenguin Hand Me Down

14th October 2010:
Hello Dem! I am so, so sorry about giving this review to you so many weeks after you won the QTR Riddles for Tom prize. D: RL got in the way...yadda yadda yadda. So. I will get started on your well deserved review :D

This one-shot was really sweet. It depicted very poignantly the relationship between Lily and Petunia. And the line where you say, "I smiled at Mum; even though my heart was breaking, I smiled" it reminds me so much of the song "Smile" by Michael Jackson. It's such a beautiful song... :)

Anyways, I was just curious as to the particular meaning of chrysanthemums. I mean, what was the reason that made you put that as the flower that Lily picked out for the wedding? I'm not too enlightened on the meanings of flowers XD

I really like how you incorporated this sarcastic,"I just want this over with" side of Lily, voicing fears that I'm sure many bride-to-bes feel when planning their wedding. It was very different from other James/Lily wedding one-shots I've read. I think that the ending was a bit abrupt for my taste, but perhaps that was the point since the epiphany that James is the thing that matters the most to Lily arises suddenly.

Good job on this one-shot, and congrats for solving those riddles! ;)

~foundriapenguin

P.S. this is totally random but...when are you going to update "The Boy Who..." :D :D

Author's Response: Hai! It's okay, I'll take the reviews I can get no matter how long it takes for me to get them. :P

I love that line, I really do. It's one of those things I've written that I can honestly look back at and say I'm proud. I'm sure I've heard that song because Michael Jackson is one of my fiancé's favorite artists, but I can't really remember it.

There wasn't actually a meaning to the chrysanthemums. They have meanings based on colors (excitement, truth, sharing, secret admirer), but I actually picked them because they're one of my favorite flowers. >.>

I liked the mixed emotions Lily was having as well. Especially the fact that she was focused on something that wasn't what the wedding should have been about at all. I think a lot of brides can be like that--worried about one thing instead of being focused on the love.

The only reason it's so abrupt is because it was for a 1000 word challenge and the story had to be exactly 1000 words. I would have liked it to be longer and I had to keep cutting stuff out to make it fit, so I can imagine that it would seem a little abrupt. There was much more I wanted to add to it, but it was kind of fun and challenging to have to keep it to a certain word amount.

But either way, the epiphany was supposed to be very sudden just like that one thing you see and out of no where everything else makes sense.

Thank you so much for the wonderful review, and the riddles were so much fun!

-Dem-

P.S. Soon! I hope. I haven't been writing lately because I've been letting myself get caught up in stupid RL stuff and...well...things that just don't matter. So hopefully I'll be writing again soon. I've already got a few more chapters of The Boy Who... planned and partially written, so you know...soon. I hope. xD

Also, I'm really glad you're so keen on it! I love that short story collection idea so much.


 Report Review

Review #13, by elegantphoenix Hand Me Down

1st September 2010:
Hi, it's boysof_p0tterfan509 from the forums here with your review :) Sorry for the wait, but I'd like to thank you for taking up my challenge!

..Now that the formalities are over, on with the review. I thought that this one-shot was very sweet and caring, in a way. How Lily was attached to her sister in the way a younger sister would be, as though her days of looking up to her older sister had yet to subside. Though I liked the idea of the wedding dress being handed down, I think you might've been able to do a little more relating to the picture - maybe Lily seeing the dresses through the window of a shop some time before her own wedding, or her hopes of becoming a bride someday, etc. But I do like that you incorporated and adapted the picture into words by using little details and expanding them, which is sort of what the challenge was mostly about. So lovely job on that part.

It seemed a bit abrupt for Lily to change her mind about how she felt about her sister's absence when she saw that her chair was empty at the wedding, as she had been upset about it earlier in the story and not even James' arms around her had been able to ease her anxiety. Maybe I can see it as a little epiphany she had in the end. ;) But it was still a wonderful read overall. Thanks again for giving the challenge a shot.

Best,
Nadhira

Author's Response: Thank you for the review!

With only so many words, I had to choose my scenes carefully. Lily never really got the chance to look for her own wedding dress because her mum had immediately pushed her own dress onto her and Lily didn't have the guts to say otherwise.

As for the abruptness, that's really what it was. One moment, she was fretting over Petunia not being there, the next she just didn't care anymore. No real explanation except that she saw James, how happy he was, and she just suddenly realized how much she loved him.

It took that single moment at her wedding for her to forget her worries. And sometimes that's how it is.

Anyway, thanks again for the review and the challenge. I really enjoyed it. ^^

Dem


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login