Reading Reviews for Candlelight & Monsters
  
10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by J Candlelight and Monsters

3rd February 2013:
I didn't think I'd live to see you write Fluff! A happy ending, oh who would have thought! I think I like your normal, depressing, pessimistic and realistic self better, though a few happy endings wouldn't go astray!

Author's Response: Haha! I can assure that it was a strange feeling to end the story on that high note, as though I was making a heinous error in judgment. After writing this, I had to do four depressing one-shots to really get it out of my system again. :P Horrible, right?

Thank you very much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #2, by CloakAuror9 Candlelight and Monsters

9th October 2012:
Hi there! I'm here with your super-late review. I'm so sorry about it, I've just been really busy with real life.

I don't understand how you can find fluff hard to write. I found the whole story written so good and I absolutely enjoyed every word of it.

I loved how you set-up this kind of awkward atmosphere around the characters from the very beginning. Then, a very..erm...confident Teddy suddenly popped out of nowhere, setting an entirely different feeling.

You really did catch me off guard with that scene, and even more so when Teddy asked whose flat they wanted to go to after dinner. Gosh, that just made me feel sow weird. (O.o) Thankfully, though it was all Molly's imagination.

And then the ending! Other people might say otherwise, but I thought the ending was perfect. I mean, what's fluff without a little bit of cliche, right?

I really loved this story, even though this is the first time I read Teddy/Molly. And I apologise if the review is a bit (or a lot) sloppy; I'm starting to get out of practise.

I'll be back soon (hopefully),
Izzy xx

Author's Response: Thank you very much for reading and reviewing this, Izzy! No worries about the lateness - it's just wonderful to receive feedback, especially when it's to hear that you've enjoyed the story, too. ^_^

It's not like anything I'd written up to that point, and probably not like anything since - I wanted to go for something lighthearted, slightly satirical, playing a trick on readers as I went. It's something I'd like to try again, where a character's dream takes over the "reality" of a story, but perhaps I'd let the readers in on it better, creating some good old dramatic irony. I'm glad that you liked the ending! I'm so used to writing bleak or strange twists that writing something more... normal felt incredibly foreign to me. One day, I'll get used to writing fluff. XD

Thank you again for this review! It's quite a good one for being out of practice - I really appreciate that you took the time to leave it, being busy as you are. It means a lot! ^_^


 Report Review

Review #3, by Janhvi Candlelight and Monsters

29th November 2010:
I liked the story a lot but what has got me thinking is the dream you had. What it would have?
I am a very curious person as things stand. :)
Well, i'll keep guessing, cos that's all i can do.

Author's Response: It isn't an actual dream of mine, no. I kind of wish it was because it would be really really funny, but I came up with it as a joke. Haha, I hope I've satisfied your curiosity. XD

Thank you again for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #4, by TheLittlestLestrange Candlelight and Monsters

17th September 2010:
me like. haha it was really enjoyable and this is my prefered fluff anyway :)

Author's Response: Thanks very much! :D

 Report Review

Review #5, by dianap00 Candlelight and Monsters

17th September 2010:
Molly is a very sweet, very funny, and rather nutty sort of girl. I like how awkward the whole dinner was. And how Teddy was so nonchalant until he suddenly - very much - was not. It was funny sort of, but not in an explicitly hilarious way, you see. I liked it very much but to be honest, I may have prefered the 'realistic end' because I don't see how Teddy would have reacted to Molly jumping him... because her jumping him is rather abrupt. I'd really like to know what Teddy's take on all this was.

Author's Response: Thank you very much! It's fantastic that you enjoyed Molly's adventurous date with Teddy - it was supposed to be subtly humourous, like they were acting out the motions of "the date", but couldn't keep their masks on straight.

It would be interesting to try this story from Teddy's point of view, just to see how he would be reacting to Molly's actions throughout - perhaps she is the reason why he stops being nonchalant. She's too sweet and nutty. XD


 Report Review

Review #6, by Jenna822 Candlelight and Monsters

6th September 2010:
Hello! Here with your review.

I'm really excited about this story. I've been seeing a lot of really good 12+ stories and Teddy/Molly seems intriguing! Plus, your summary was really catchy and pulls me in.

Nice set up with the Teddy/Vic situation. It was abrupt and answered a slew of questions in a very quick (albeit satisfying) way. It also really established a tone for Teddy. His reaction set his character.

The menu part was a bit confusing for me. I read it back three times, but I still don't think I got the full effect of what you were trying to portray. The parts about the plate did well to help establish their character. I like Molly! The idea that she isn't one of those Pick at your food on a date types is refreshing.

As for the ending, it was alright. On a personal preference, I'd have enjoyed the walking away ending, but this one wasn't lacking in any way. One thing I felt like I missed in it was description. I know Teddy likes sugar in his tea, but not what color his eyes are.

Other than that, I thought it was a nice piece. It was fluffy and sweet and had a point (as a lot of fluff doesn't) and I thought you wrote it very well. One thing I look for in a one shot is the ability of it to become a bigger fic. I believe this is one of them. I could see the potential for this carrying on, so well done. :D --Jenna

Author's Response: Thank you very much for the review! I really appreciate that you took the time to be so thorough, especially for such a short story. It's fantastic to hear that the summary was catchy, as I usually have a lot of trouble with writing them, so I'll definitely remember to keep using this style. :D

I think that the menu part was meant to show how neither Teddy nor Molly is conventional - I've seen so many movies where the man ends up choosing the best meal for the woman, and she just accepts it. Molly sets up Teddy to choose for her, but when he doesn't, she's pleased, as though he's passed a test. Does that make more sense?

Haha, it's so strange that people don't prefer the happy ending! I'm so often told that I never write happy endings, but when I do, they're not satisfactory - maybe it's just me not having my heart in it. I liked the idea of them just walking away from one another, but at the same time, what would be the point of the story? As for description - I rarely ever describe a character's appearance, not unless it's important to plot or character development. In this story, it didn't seem necessary, so I left it up to the reader to decide.

Thank you again for your review! :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by padfoot4ever Candlelight and Monsters

6th September 2010:
Ah you got me! You really really got me Susan, well done!
I suppose that's my first comment on this story, the thin line between fantasy and reality that you've definitely blurred - I really thought Molly and Teddy were holding hands in the restaurant, really discussing his place or hers. Really nicely done, I have to say!
I love how there is nothing perfect about Molly and Teddy. For one, she is going out with her cousin's ex-husband, which has to be taboo! The awkwardness between them really shines through in your writing, I think you've really captured that feeling when you start something romantic with someone you've thought of platonically for so long. I like how the candlelight shows "every flaw" and Teddy's "coffee stained teeth". Usually with fluffy romantic stories, the author is in danger of describing every "flawless complexion" and "pearly whites". Your characters are very very real and I really enjoyed this!
Excellent!

Author's Response: I got you! :O Wow! That's just... awesome!

I didn't know whether I would be able to with Molly's fantasy - there's a strange alteration in Teddy's personality that I was worried would be too drastic. But that it worked... *squees* I'm very happy for that.

The flaws were definitely something I wanted to highlight in this story. I remember seeing a blog post on the forums about the lack of stories about candlelight dinners, and so this turned out to be a rather exaggerated "realistic" date. It's very awkward, very taboo (Molly just packs it in - makes me wonder what Teddy will think of her after the kiss is over), and I hope that it's different from the norm. :D

Thanks very much for reviewing this! It means huge amounts to hear your opinions on my stories. ^_^


 Report Review

Review #8, by Sarah_Bee Candlelight and Monsters

4th September 2010:
Susan! I loved this! It's so different from what you normally write. I know you aren't much of a fluff writer but I still think you did it quite well!

I loved these lines. '“Would you like to come back to my flat afterward? Or would yours be better?”

Oh Merlin. He didn’t just ask that.'

I loved every moment! It's so different to see Molly as a main character. I love minor characters mainly because you can take them and make them whatever portrayal you have in mind. I haven't ever read Molly/Teddy, though I'm not sure I've even seen any around here so it was interesting to see another pairing. I really felt connected to Molly in this. Her character is so real. I can feel her nerves (I would be the same way) and I liked the end. I almost thought they'd said goodbye and that would be that. I loved how she turned around and went back to him! I'm like YES! I loved that.

You are a fabulous writer Susan. Your style is so unique and you have the ability to do angst, fluff and romance etc. You are quite versatile and I like that!

I'm glad you like the banner! I loved making it! :)

Keep writing more wonderful fics!

Author's Response: Thanks so much, Sarah! Both for the lovely banner and for coming to read and review this - I really appreciate both. :D

What's hilarious about that line is that Molly could have interpreted it all wrong, too. XD The implications of that line could still be innocent - the joke is that Molly's mind is more in the gutter than she'd ever admit. Either way, I still love writing such narration - it's too much fun. That line still makes me giggle too. :P

I was originally going to use Rose, then I decided that it didn't suit the vision I have of Rose. It's not the same of Molly from WTA, but it was really nice to be able to write a different character and try something new. :) I'm glad that you liked the choice of Molly, and even moreso that you felt a connection to her.

*huggles* Thanks for all of your support, Sarah.


 Report Review

Review #9, by The Empress Candlelight and Monsters

30th August 2010:
I should start by telling you that I cannot stop giggling. This was hilarious! I could just see Molly slowing fading out of reality and into her ridiculous day dream. How embarrassing. :P Loved it.
You have captured the characters just right for this piece. I like that she, even in the midst of her own day dream, is slightly put off by the silly Teddy she's created. I have to say, I was bit curious as to why he was suddenly acting that way, you wrote it very cleverly. A Molly suddenly falling all over herself like a complete ninny would have made it less humorous and just plain ridiculous.

This piece is so different from anything else I've ever read of yours. It's - I don't want to say refreshing because that would make it sound as if your other works were tedious or less than amazing. (And they are amazing.) I think the better word would be surprising. In a very good way. It's always fun to find something by someone you admire and whose writing you like that surprises you. The style fits this new sort of piece. Somewhat spare, short paragraphs and such, but definitely not lacking. It just fits so well with the flow of it. I like this!

Oh, the ending! You are so good at endings, I envy you that. :) It was perfect fluff, ending with a kiss rather than what is, admittedly, more realistic. But it was perfect for this piece. A little bit silly, definitely funny. It was really, really good. I liked it a lot!

xoxo
Shiloh

Author's Response: It made you giggle!?!? That alone is enough to make me squee. It was successful after all! :D I wasn't sure if I could write fluffy humour that didn't end badly for one or both characters. I'm not at all used to writing light stories - almost all of my stories contain death... except this one now. Yay!

It was quite a daydream for sure. It ends up being more than she thought that she wanted - an unconscious desire that, in a way, scares her. And she likes Teddy a very particular way - not slavish and romantic, but practical and kind - and to see him act the first way repels her a bit. I agree that making her drool over him during the dream would not work - it'd make her seem fake or, worse, stupid.

The story came out sparingly, and I don't know why. It made the dream sequence more fun because I could run off and thus signify that something had changed. I guess that the spare style reveals a lot about the kind of person Molly is and how she's more like her dad than she'd ever admit. ;)

Thanks very much for the review, Shiloh! You've made me feel more comfortable about the story and reassured me that it wasn't a failure. I really appreciate hearing from you! ^_^


 Report Review

Review #10, by dramione_ftw_4ever Candlelight and Monsters

29th August 2010:
cute. I liked it. It's cute. It's pretty.

Author's Response: Thank you! That's just the reaction I was hoping for! :D It's great that you took the time to read and review this.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login