8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by hogwartswonderland 1.

9th November 2012:
That was hilarious! I can't wait for more! Please update this as soon as possible :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by bandloviee08 1.

26th July 2012:
It was really cute and funny :) I feel like it would make quite an entertaining short story if you did change it to one!

Author's Response: Yeah! I definitely see a whole lot of potential for it to become a short story, but I have too many other projects to work on... But we'll see :)

Thank you for your review!


 Report Review

Review #3, by A Person 1.

25th July 2012:
Funny how you portrayed Oliver as a dude who could never stop talking! Well done, loved it! Question though: did Jem stop loving Oliver after that?

Author's Response: Haha, he reminded me of Percy a bit, but rather than passionate about sticking to the rules Wood's a lot more passionate about Quidditch.

& I don't think Jem was ever really in love with him, she was just very infatuated, so I guess she did sort of stop 'loving' him in that sense :)


 Report Review

Review #4, by wolfygirl 1.

12th October 2010:
Hi :) It's firebird here with your review.

While I think the story is ok overall, I do think it starts off a little slow. There are some great lines in there (I love the bit about his name reminding her of olives), but it just seems to drag a little. I think it's because nothing really happens in that first part. I know you're trying to set the scene and give an idea of what the character's like etc. but it just reads a little slowly.

Once you get past that first bit though, it's great :) I love the part where she's actually on the broom, trying out. Because there's more interaction between characters and more happening within the scene, it doesn't have the slowness of the initial section. I also think the way she reacts to Oliver in this scene, and to trying out in general, is really well done. It's light and humerous, and your decriptions of her reactions and emotions are nice and clear.

To be honest I'm a little surprised it's a one-shot. It feels like it could be extended beyond that, which I think is a good thing because it indicates depth in your characters and their emotions - I can imagine what they would be like outside of this scenario.

If there's one area I could suggest improvement in, it's your grammar. It's not awful, but there are a few problems. The biggest one I found was that you're mixing your tenses. At the beginning in particular you have sentences that are in the past tense (eg. 'was a prick') mixed in with present tense sentences. I think if you fix this up it'll make the story flow much better.

Overall I think this is quite an enjoyable story. It's got a fluffy sort of humour that I really like, and you're very good at creating situations that result in humourus reactions from your characters. Good work :)

Author's Response: Hello! I understand what you mean about it being slow, I had that same feeling but, thought meh :P

It's a one-shot because it was only an idea that popped up into my head whilst watching some school soccer.. I don't really have the passion to write about oliver, being more of a marauders fan (:D!) so I think if I did turn it into a longer story, I would only end up abandoning it.

I'll try and fix that as soon as possible!

Thank you for reviewing! I really really did appreciate it :) and I'm glad you thought it was fun and humorous! :) thank you thank you thank you!


 Report Review

Review #5, by Newborn 1.

7th October 2010:
This is amusing and lighthearted. But not a very good read. Just something to pass time with. I'd recommend more description and more emotion.

I loved the Jem, Stacia confusion. :D

Oh as for Oliver, describe his sexiness using less cliches!

Author's Response: Yes, but I guess that was what I was aiming for! It was just something that popped up into my head. That plus not really having the passion for Oliver = this :)
But thank you for reviewing! :D I appreciate it!


 Report Review

Review #6, by shriyarox 1.

7th October 2010:
Nice start. Can't wait to read more. :)

Author's Response: Haha, thank you, but unfortunately it's just a one-shot :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by RUMBLERORE 1.

3rd October 2010:
I really liked this! it was pretty funny. :) i kinda think it wouldve been better if it were like a short story rather than a one-shot, but it doesnt really matter i suppose :P ummm, hmmm...lets see, oh! I just really liked her character and personality in the story too. it was cute. :) nice job!

Author's Response: It's not something that I'm really interested in! Sorry about that :) but Sirius and the Marauders are the characters that I love, so yeah. Thank you for leaving a review! and I'm really glad that you liked it! :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by musicalwings1215 1.

6th September 2010:
haha I really like the story! and i finally realized why you called it the Woodpecker

Author's Response: Haha thank you! And yeah, I didn't realise it until later either. I only titled it the Woodpecker because Oliver's last name is Wood... Duh :P

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login