Reading Reviews for With the Devil
  
109 Reviews Found

Review #1, by SilverMoonFairy Chapter One

15th August 2016:
Hey! Here for BvB and I'm really excited for this story! I love the Salem Witch trials and its so cool that you've written a story in this time period for fan fiction! (Don't worry, I'm not anything close to a history buff, I just enjoy the period for some reason. No history nit picking here!)

This first chapter is very intimidating, in that, I can sense that something awful is coming. You've done a wonderful job setting the tone of your tale here!

Constance seems interesting so far- how terrible to find out you really are a witch during this time and to not be able to control your powers, or so it seems. And it doesn't appear that she has any support or form of schooling, so that's sad and really scary for her!

Looking forward to the rest of this story!
-Liz

Author's Response: Hi Liz!
Thanks a million for the wonderful review! I'm so glad you liked the opening chapter. I'm also interested in the Salem Witch Trials (I'm a historian by trade), so I thought it would be fun to write a story inspired by a period marked by insane superstition over witches and the like.

And I'm so pleased that you like Constance as a character so far. Having a story based around all OCs is a bit intimidating to write, at least for me, so I really tried my best to make the characters as well-rounded and natural as any canon character in J.K Rowling's universe (although I don't know if I succeeded, lol).

Again, thank you for being so kind and encouraging. I really, really appreciate your thoughtful feedback :)

Best,
Lee Anne


 Report Review

Review #2, by D2Diamond Epilogue

18th August 2012:
This story is amazing. I really loved how it truly felt like it was happening in the 1700s. Your character development is wonderful, and full of depth. Thank you so much for writing this.

Diamond 9/10

 Report Review

Review #3, by Toujours Padfoot Epilogue

12th April 2012:
It is late and my eyes are bloodshot, but I can't click off this page until I've left a review because this story deserves it. I've had this story favorited for a while because I've heard such fantastic things about it, but hadn't gotten around to reading it yet; and it certainly did not disappoint. I've never seen anything like it on the archive. Your diction, your grammar and spelling and the way you flawlessly build a tale, has a professional quality to it that I admire. It was like reading a published work. The emotions you instilled in this story are tangible; I could feel all of Constance's panic and anxiety, her fever and fear. You maintained a very strong and realistic atmosphere of Puritan New England, from the descriptions of clothing and the house to the language spoken. I very easily slipped into the story and believed every word of it, and felt like I was there. Your characters were so real that they seemed to jump off the page. It was addicting. I could not stop reading.

Thank you so much for writing this and sharing it with us! It was brilliant.

 Report Review

Review #4, by Everlasting Faerie Light Chapter Two

30th November 2011:
Ooh!!! I'm entranced!!! I can't wait to read more!!!
I've never read a story about a witch during the Massachussetts witching hour in the HP universe. Your writing flows beautifully and the tone is chilling.
Well, on to chapter 3!!!

 Report Review

Review #5, by onestop_hpfan18 Chapter One

1st September 2011:
I love this so far. I can't believe how long it's been since I've stalked your author's page for stories... I have some catching up to do. But anyway, this was so well written and I loved the way you've set it all up, and the main character's voice is so prominent it's errie. Great job so far, I'm looking forward to reading the rest of this story. (:

 Report Review

Review #6, by Anne Chapter Two

3rd August 2011:
really good! Keep going please.

Author's Response: Thank you, Anne!

 Report Review

Review #7, by kestral14 Chapter One

18th July 2011:
I've only read 1 chapter of this story so far and it's already grabbed by attention! I can't wait to find out what happens next!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the kind review!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Samantha.Nicolette Epilogue

13th July 2011:
Well, there it is then! I loved it; a little bit of a bittersweet ending, but nonetheless, a nice one.

I loved it from the start! I hope to see more stories as good as this one from you someday!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the kind review, Samantha.Nicolette! You've been a terrific reader/reviewer and I honestly cannot thank you enough for your support. I'm so glad you enjoyed this story and the final chapter. ^_^ Take care and be well!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #9, by ruby_slippers Epilogue

11th July 2011:
This story is absolutely fantastic! Honestly its a great read. It was sad how Constance had too much fear to re-establish a relationship with her family but realistic and relatable. That's what i loved most about this story; the characters and the plot were both realistic, engaging and relatable. Your skill with words is one to be reckoned with. Thankyou for this lovely and original piece of writing! I thoroughly enjoyed it

 Report Review

Review #10, by Ravenclaw333 Epilogue

11th July 2011:
An amazing conclusion to an amazing story! You have stayed true to your character throughout, and I was impressed and happy to see that all her problems didn't simply melt away once she began living in the wizarding world. Your knowledge of the historical context is commendable and enriched the story to no end. I loved this story right through, it's definitely one of the best I've ever seen on the archive. So congratulations again on writing this gem of a story, and I look forward to reading more of your work :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by justonemorefic Epilogue

10th July 2011:
That wrapped everything up so nicely. Sometimes I'm disappointed that the ending was too rushed or too neat. but not this. It's perfectly bittersweet, and I can feel every bit of Constance's emotions.

It's always been Constance's story, but I forgot about the part where she founded Salem Institute, and when you ended it with that, with the names of the Houses, it tied everything together and seeing it so perfectly fit was so satisfying and even a bit emotional. I could swear that Constance was an actual historical figure, and this was really her!

♥ a lovely finish

 Report Review

Review #12, by Snapdragons Epilogue

10th July 2011:
Oh, I can't believe it's over! It's been so wonderful to read this and I'll miss looking forward to the updates, but I'll certainly be rereading it! I love the way you've tied magic into historical events; it feels seamless and works so perfectly.

I'm glad that Constance finally finds happiness, too. The Rookwoods seemed as though they were a good family and I'm glad that they took other magical children in to teach them. (I do admit that I was surprised at Mr. Rookwood using the Imperius - but I suppose it probably wasn't an Unforgivable then? Also interesting to see it used for good.)

Poor Ann. I really did end up liking her, and it's sad that she died in the end before Constance could see her again. I am glad she got to see her however briefly. Some is better than none!

Reading the story of how the Salem Witches' Institute was founded was also lovely. I loved reading the backstory for Constance all along, and it was fascinating to follow her journey.

And the houses - so very perfect. Rookwood for the lovely family that helped her; Birchard for Ann (poor Ann!); Chestnut for poor Mr. Chestnut. Very fitting and a lovely tribute indeed!

The last line was my favorite - "These, then, are the sins for which I will never atone." Moving and positively amazing.

I've really loved this story, and you've done such a wonderful job. It's really been a pleasure reading this and the historical side of it all has really made it unique and different from a lot of other stories on the archive, which is lovely.

I'm sort of dithering on finishing this review, because I know it'll be the last one that I'll do for this story, but all good things have to come to an end, I guess. :) Congratulations on finishing a wonderful story and I guess I'll just have to go read some others of yours! :) A lovely job from start to finish.

 Report Review

Review #13, by philly94 Chapter Eleven

17th June 2011:
wow! I'm finally back to reading this, and I can't believe how it's changed! I'm glad she told Ann about being a witch, hopefully that won't come back to haunt her later! and Constance and Ann are becoming friends! you've done a great job with this story! can't wait for the epilogue!

Author's Response: Hi philly94,
Thank you so very much for taking the time to read and review! I'm absolutely thrilled to hear that you are still enjoying this story. Your feedback has been just wonderful. ^_^ The epilogue has already been written and should be posted tomorrow. Take care and be well!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #14, by DarkLadyofSlytherin Chapter Eight

30th May 2011:
All right, so I managed to read another chapter.

What a way to blurt it out, Ann. That was probably not the best way to tell her husband she is pregnant. Silly woman, though I do realize he hasn't given her much of a chance.

Gah! I'd like to smack the lot of them. I realize back then this was the way, but surely they could find some sort of acceptance. No wonder purebloods hated muggles and muggle-borns. I'd have hated them too knowing how they were persecuted for doing what they knew.

Excellent chapter, and I look forward to reading more.

Author's Response: Hi Len,
Thanks so much for another lovely review! I'm truly pleased to hear that you enjoyed this chapter. Your feedback really means so much to me.

I think Ann blurted out the news of her pregnancy not because she felt that she had to, but because she thought it might distract her husband from his rather dangerous train of thought on the rising witch hunt hysteria. However, her attempt definitely was a little silly, although I suppose she felt she had absolutely no other choice.

And yes, it is rather hard to understand why so many people were unjustly persecuted in the past for crimes they certainly did not commit. One of the biggest issues I have as a historian is overlooking my 21st century bias in order to better comprehend the actions and of those that lived long ago. It definitely is a challenge. ^_^

Again, thanks so much for the fabulous comments. It was just great hearing from you. I do hope you have a pleasant week. Take care and be well!

Best,
Lee Anne


 Report Review

Review #15, by DarkLadyofSlytherin Chapter Seven

30th May 2011:
Hey there, Lee Anne!

I skimmed over chapter five again just to remind myself of what was happening. I know I didn't review it, but I did read it back when it was posted. So here I am with a new one. I can't guarantee much in way of more than 1 review right now, but I promise I will catch up on this lovely story of yours.

Fear does funny things to people. Whether Mr. Chestnut is a wizard it really up in the air, but I feel sorry for him. I know that this is how things went back then, that one would blame another for their misgivings and witchcraft was always the blame.

I rather like that it keeps the history of the Salem Witch Trials alive here. Its not all made up. I look forward to reading more on what happens and hope to find Constance's had finally accepted she is a witch and no longer belongs there. That she must attend the school to learn control.

Fantastic chapter, and I promise I will get back to read more.

Author's Response: Hello Len,
Thanks a million for the awesome review! I am so happy to hear that you're still enjoying this story. And, as always, your thoughtful feedback never fails to put a smile on my face. I really am grateful for your kind words and encouragement.

You're right about fear doing strange things to people. Constance was desperate and frightened enough to pin the blame on someone else. Unfortunately, Mr. Chestnut just happened to get caught in the middle. Although, if my memory serves me correctly, I believe many of those accused during the Salem Witch Trials were the victims of bad blood between neighbors or other social stigmas. Looking back at the petty quarrels in the community at the time, it seems as though a few of the accusations were calculated. Constance, at least, can't be blamed for intentionally wishing harm on someone else. I think her hysteria just got the better of her.

Again, thanks so much for the great review! You've been a wonderfully supportive reader. I do hope you have a pleasant weekend. ^_^ Take care and be well!

Best,
Lee Anne


 Report Review

Review #16, by ruby_slippers Chapter Eleven

22nd May 2011:
i love this story!! its so utterly different from everything else you have done a fantastic job in constructing both characters and plot! im actually sad that its coming to the end now!

Author's Response: Thanks a million for the kind review, ruby slippers! As always, it was great hearing from you. I'm so glad you enjoyed this chapter. The epilogue has already been written and should be posted soon. Until then, take care and be well!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #17, by SamanthaNicolette Chapter Eleven

21st May 2011:
I must say; it's sad to see this story ending. It was very well written front the start, and I think it sucks that you haven't gotten more reviews than what you've already gotten!

You made me fall in love with all of your charcters so easliy, and I'm waiting with baited breath for the epilogue!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the kind review, SamanthaNicolette! I'm so glad you enjoyed this story and I really do appreciate your continued support and encouragement. You've been a wonderful reader/reviewer. ^_^ The epilogue should be posted soon. Until then, take care and be well!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #18, by Snapdragons Chapter Eleven

19th May 2011:
That was a wonderful chapter, and really wrapped things up nicely - but I'm really looking forward to reading the epilogue! I'm not quite ready for this to be done :)

I'm glad that Hannah won't be hurt - she'll just forget and things can hopefully die down. I liked how you mentioned how the spells seemed natural to Constance, even though she doesn't know any yet. And throwing in Muffliato was fun to read! (:

I'll be sorry to not see any more of Ann, because I really did grow to like her. A sweet, wonderful woman... if only Constance didn't have to leave her. Still, I suppose it's for the best.

I'm so glad that Constance is safe now. You've done a great job with this whole story - it's been fascinating, interesting, and felt historically accurate. I was really drawn into this world and the only thing I'm sad about is that there's only the epilogue left! (: Great job.

Author's Response: Hi Snapdragons,
Thank you so much for the kind review! I always look forward to receiving feedback from you. You've been such a supportive reader/reviewer and I cannot possibly begin to express just how grateful I am for your encouragement.

And yes, Hannah will not be harmed. She, in her own way, was rather misled and even though she acted maliciously, I really don't think she could control her behavior. Her childhood, after all, wasn't exactly stable, and she definitely is haunted by the memories of her parents' passing.

And by the way, you will see Ann again, albeit very briefly. She does have an appearance in the epilogue, as do all the major characters. ;)

Again, thank you so much for reviewing! I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed this story. The epilogue has already been written and should be posted sometime next week. Until then, take care and be well!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #19, by ruby_slippers Chapter Ten

11th April 2011:
ahhh my goodness! I've been reading this so intensley and can't wait to see what happens! You have a truly original story here and a gift for writing it!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reviewing, ruby slippers! I'm so glad you're enjoying this fic. It was just great hearing from you. The next chapter has already been written and should be posted soon. Take care and be well!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #20, by You Know Who Chapter Ten

11th April 2011:
Yes! She's finially leaving! The poor old man will npbe saved, Constance will learn magic, and all will be butterflies and rainbows.

But I have a strong feeling that you will be making this a difficult journey for her. Just give the girl a break every now and then before you accidentally kill her off.

Speaking of which—Don't kill her off. I find her naiveness to be delightful.

Author's Response: Hello You Know Who,
Thank you so much for the lovely review! Yes, Constance will finally be leaving, although you're right, her journey will be difficult. I suppose I'm a mean author, I never make things easy for my characters. However, I do promise not to kill her off. Constance will survive and she will have a semi-happy ending, if that's any consolation. ;)

Again, thanks so much for reviewing! I really do appreciate your continued support and encouragement. The last chapter and epilogue have already been written and should be posted soon. Until then, take care and be well!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #21, by Ravenclaw333 Chapter Ten

8th April 2011:
It's been a while! I've forgotten how much I love this story. The plot is brilliant and I can't wait to find out what happens next, you're tying everything together and everything that happens fits so well with the historical context. Not that I would expect any less from you, of course. 10/10, keep up the fantastic writing!

Author's Response: Hello Ravenclaw333,
Thank you so very much for the lovely review! I really do appreciate your kind feedback. As always, it was just wonderful hearing from you. I'm absolutely thrilled that you're enjoying this fic. The next chapter has already been written and should be posted soon. Take care and be well!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #22, by SamanthaNicolette Chapter Ten

3rd April 2011:
I'm excited to see what all is coming next. Will there be a sequel to this? I'd love to see what happens to Constance, and meet the other children Rockwood has taken in. He seems like a nice enough guy.

And, oh the stubbornness of females! Hahaha

Looking forward to more!

Author's Response: Hi SamanthaNicolette,
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a kind review! I'm so glad you enjoyed this chapter. To answer your question, no, there won't be a sequel, but there will be a rather extensive epilogue that will detail Constance's later life and her time with the Rockwoods. ^_^

Again, thanks so much for the thoughtful feedback! The last chapter and epilogue have already been written and should be posted soon. Until then, take care and be well!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #23, by Snapdragons Chapter Ten

3rd April 2011:
Oh, I can't wait for the next chapter. Such a cliffhanger! D:

Constance is quite brave. (I imagine she could be a Gryffindor! If of course, she was at Hogwarts.) I don't know if I'd be able to sacrifice myself... though thankfully I've never been put in that position. :P Still... it's noble to want to save Ann.

Oh, poor, sweet Ann :(

Happy to see the return of Mr. Rookwood and his offer! Hopefully she'll take it. I'm looking forward to seeing him put the spell on Hannah.

Another wonderful, captivating chapter! Wonderful job.

Author's Response: Hi Snapdragons,
Thank you so much for taking the time to read and review! As always, it was just wonderful hearing from you. I really do appreciate your thoughtful feedback.

Yes, I suppose Constance is quite brave in this chapter. I think her new sense of selflessness truly marks her transformation from a frightened little girl to a strong, courageous young woman. She really is ready to take responsibility for her actions, as opposed to passing the blame on to others as she did with Mr. Chestnut.

Again, thank so much for the review, Snapdragons. I'm so glad that you enjoyed this installment. The last chapter and epilogue have already been finished and should be posted soon. Until then, take care and be well!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #24, by strawberrydarhling Chapter One

17th March 2011:
Wow, this was amazing!

I have never read anything from the Salem Witch Trials before so I'm sure this is going to be a great treat to read.

I'm not great at grammar but I was reading this allowed and I think you have used some commas in places they are not needed and not used them in places where they are needed.

Other than that I really, really enjoyed that.

Oh, and I just thought I'd let you know that I really love your characters name, I have always Constance was a really beautiful name. :)

Megan
xx

Author's Response: Hello Megan,
Thank you so much for the kind review! I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed this first chapter. As I've told many other readers in the past, I never thought my first chapters were the strongest. They're always so tricky for me to write.

Yes, Constance is a pretty name, though you never hear it anymore. I suppose it is a bit of an antique, hehe.

And thanks for mentioning the misplaced commas. I'm rather nitpicky about grammar myself, so I'll definitely go back and look for the mistakes.

Again, thanks so much for everything! It was really great hearing from you. I do hope you have a good weekend. Take care and be well!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #25, by justonemorefic Chapter Nine

17th March 2011:
EEK! I thought there would be 9 chapters like the first chapter said but now I'm shaking you by the shoulders, UPDATE! UPDATE!

I love how this has all unfolded. Hannah, enjoying the power and feeling herself justified (or at least convincing herself that she's justified). Ann, who has far more strength in her than it first appeared. And Constance, who I can see growing and trying her best to mend her mistakes. I can't wait to see what happens next.

Author's Response: Hi justonemorefic,
Haha, yeah, I guess I was wrong about my nine chapter estimate. The fic actually turned out to be eleven chapters long with an epilogue, so there are a few more updates left. ;)

I'm really so thrilled that you're enjoying this story and I do appreciate each and every one of your reviews. Thank you so much for taking the time to read! Your feedback really made my day. ^_^

As I mentioned in my last author's note, the next chapter has already been written and should be posted soon. Until then, take care and be well!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>