Reading Reviews for Rat.Wolf.Dog.
  
12 Reviews Found

Review #1, by luvinpadfoot Three.

10th October 2011:
I hate Peter. I know I should probably feel sorry for him after reading this, but all I feel is hate. I do like this story though. It's interesting to read about how Sirius and Remus first began to mistrust each other.

 Report Review

Review #2, by wenderbender Three.

21st June 2011:
Whoa. I have shivers from reading this chapter, short as it was. The whole fic was a stunning achievement of atmospheric writing, from the prologue to the final line. I'm floored.

The best part was definitely Peter's characterization. I mentioned it in my last review, but I love how you've made Peter so smart and manipulative. The way he plays his "friends" off one another with all the skill of a director is shocking, yet still completely believable. His lust for power, and the subtle undercurrent of righteous entitlement--he's been robbed of that power and praise for so long by his over-achieving friends!--provide the perfect motivation.

I also really liked Lily in her role as mediator and the "voice of reason." She has such a presence is the story, that she kind of overshadows James..especially in the scene where Remus and Sirius fight, and James just stands there watching. I thought that that was the only strange bit, truthfully. It just seemed unlikely to me that James had never witnessed the two fighting before...in my experience, it's pretty much impossible to be friends with someone for eight years and NOT fight at least once. Maybe it was just the intensity, or subject of the conflict that was surprising--but I still would expect some kind of reaction from James...

That's a tiny point though, overall I thought this story was amazing. So glad I ran across it! It's going straight in my favorites. ^_^

xoxo wenderbender

 Report Review

Review #3, by wenderbender One.

21st June 2011:
Wow! The foreshadowing in this fic is masterful. The part where everyone is toasting, and Peter adds his own, secret little cheer...just brilliantly done. I love that your Peter is clever and conniving, excellent at observing his "friends" and equally talented at (mis)using the information he gleans. He is such an under-appreciated character, it's good to see him getting the limelight for once.

Sorry this review isn't longer, but I can't wait to see what comes next!

On to the next chapter. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #4, by Lioness06 Three.

5th June 2011:
ugh - that dirty little rat! Great characterization of Peter...you stayed true to all their characters. I actually expected another conversation between the characters about their doubt of each other before this scene of the secret keeper, but loved the chapter anyway. Also I love your banner; it was the reason I clicked on your story!

 Report Review

Review #5, by collette michelle Prologue

7th September 2010:
I've been meaning to find the time to read this for a while now. I love the character of Peter! Well, maybe 'love' isn't the proper word, I think 'fascinated' would probably be better suited. The whole idea behind him and how sneaky, sly and secretive he was truly baffles me.

Needless to say, I am very excited to read this and see how you divulge into his character. Because he couldn't have been as stupid as many like to think. Weak? Cowardly? Yes, but still, there had to have been something there!

I don't know if that made any sense, and probably not! But I really like how this has begun and I am looking forward to seeing where it goes. I really think you captured these three boys so well in this short prologue, which makes me look forward to the rest so much more!

Fantastic job, my dear!
xx.
Collette

Author's Response: Hello! And thank you so much! I was really surprised to see this, in the best way! Thanks for taking the time to read this and even more so for leaving a review.

I'm glad someone is interested in Peter. He really is a fascinating creature...I'll admit that in the past, I used to make him disappear or sound stupid--it was easier to write a character I was disgusted with that way. But, now I think its fun to kind of think about and delve into the mind of someone who is, in fact, so incredibly sneaky. And definitely! There was something there that was likeable, that was clever or something! There had to be.

I'm glad you enjoyed the beginning of the story. I'm going to try and get the next chapter up soon, if I can find the time and inspiration to write. Thank you so much for the compliments on the characterization. And again, for the review!

Miranda


 Report Review

Review #6, by Pepper44 Two.

29th August 2010:
Oh my goodness, this is so good. It's so well-written. Errgh Peter is evil. And the fighting bit is perfect, just the right pace, really amazing. Another 10/10 chapter. By the way, how far are you going to go with this story? Up till the Potters' deaths?

Author's Response: Hello! Sorry for the response delay! I just moved back to college and have been swamped!

Anyway, thank you so much for the review! I'm really glad you enjoyed the chapter. This story will go up to the deaths of the Potters.

Thanks again for the review and the compliments!

Miranda


 Report Review

Review #7, by Pepper44 One.

26th August 2010:
This is brilliant. I don't even know where to start. Your characterisations are FLAWLESS. I mean, you write everyone perfectly. It's rather absurd (; And just reading your dialogue and your amazing description and everything else...it just made the scene sort of come to life. I could really SEE everything happening.
The plot-line is also good. It's unique, not many stories focus on Peter, and even more unique, you actually make me want to read more about him! What's he up to exactly?
So anyway. I feel like I should critique you or something but there really is nothing to critique. This is definitely going on my favourites. Please update soon! I want to know what happens next! 10/10 five stars well done you! (;

Author's Response: Hello and thank you so much for your review!! And all the lovely compliments. I'm over the moon that you like they way I characterized the Marauders; I love them, but they're definitely very complex men presented in the books and so its always a struggles to write them, so i really appreciate that people like how i portrayed them.

And, no worries, an update should be arriving in a day or two!

Thanks so much for the lovely review once again!

Miranda


 Report Review

Review #8, by pennyardelle One.

22nd August 2010:
I'm loving the way you're characterizing Peter. He's incredibly creepy and sinister, but you're giving him such a different characterization than a lot of other authors. I think people are too quick to just say that Peter was a coward and was so afraid that he became a spy, but I like him to be blameworthy. What he did was so terrible that I want him to be horrible, and to have taken more of an active role in his friend's deaths, so I can fully cast the blame on him. I mean, he clearly wasn't an idiot, given some of the things we know about him doing, so I don't think it's impossible that he could have mastermind-ed things the way you're showing him to.

And he really is masterminding it. He planted those seeds of doubt so subtly, so neither Remus nor Sirius would never look back and think that Peter was suggesting that the other was the one betraying them--now the suspicion and doubt are there, so when it becomes clear someone's spying, they'll immediately think of each other rather than Peter. You're really crafting this brilliantly so far, so keep it up! :)

Author's Response: Hello again! And thanks again!

Peter...is very interesting. I've pretty much hated him since we met him in the books, because like you, i think he is definitely blameworthy. I have this theory that in the beginning he acted out of cowardice, but that Voldemort offered him something he had never had before and that was power. And after playing the spy game for awhile, he found he was good at it, kind of a twisted Gastalt theory. And i agree, he may not be the most intelligent man out there, but in the books he is devious and manipulative and managed to survive all those years, right? So, I'm glad were of the same mind on Peter and that you're enjoying the story thus far!!!

Thanks again, Penny!

Miranda


 Report Review

Review #9, by pennyardelle Prologue

22nd August 2010:
I saw this story the other day and had to make sure I came back to it--the story concept looked so intriguing. Few people choose to focus on the Marauders in the first war, but even fewer look specifically at Peter's betrayal (in fact, I'd go so far as to say that I've never seen a story that has that as its central focus). I've always thought that the suspicion around his betrayal was such a compelling part of the Marauders' larger story, so I'm really interested in reading how you tell this story.

The exchange between Remus and Sirius had some really great lines. One was, "Remus could pretty much count on a slow, painful death anyway, and, therefore, the argument didn't really work on him. Sirius, he supposed, just liked to be contrary." It's kind of funny, and made me grin, but at the same time it's also kind of sad. The other was when Sirius said that he didn't think he'd ever been whole. That was just pretty much all sad, but it was a very profound way of summing up Sirius' past, and then Remus' as well.

I did notice that there was some stray or missing punctuation in places, but, overall, I think this was a really great start to what will probably be an excellent story! :)

Author's Response: Hello and thanks so much for the review, Penny! I'll look over the punctuation again to get rid of any strays, thanks for pointing it out.

Aww, yes. I've always been interested in the Marauders, especially after they left school and the more i thought about how easily Sirius and Remus believed the other to be a spy, it just made me think that something must have changed in their relationship and so then i was attacked by this mean, very agressive plot bunny! i'm glad you liked it, and especially the exchange between the two of them--it was fun to write!

Thanks again for the review!

Miranda


 Report Review

Review #10, by propertyoftheHBP One.

21st August 2010:
Wow. Your Peter here is so incredibly different from what I've ever seen of him before--he's so aware, so conniving, so...evil, and I'd honestly never thought that he'd be capable of honestly wanting the death of his ex-friends that badly. But you've convinced me, and his characterization here is beyond words. It's flat-out creepy, but I love it. I love how he made this scheme up himself, to turn Remus and Sirius against each other. (At least, I assume that it's his idea.) It really would make the two of them all the more mad at Peter once they found him when Harry was at Hogwarts, and it makes their reunion then all the more bittersweet.

And the thing is, Peter's right about nearly everything, except for Remus liking Lily. (I'm not sure if he ever did, in my opinion, but I'm not sure if that's wholly relevant to the story or the point I'm trying to point out, but I digress.) Sirius really was extremely vicious in school and it's so...scary how Peter touches on that with Remus.

Gahh, I'm absolutely in love with this so far. I'm going to favorite it and be sure to keep up on the updates, you're doing fantastically so far. :D

Author's Response: Hello again!

And thanks! i'm glad i could surprise you, and that you find my Peter unique. I suppose I made him the way he is, because at this point he has been corrupted by power, which Remus and Sirius hint at at the end of PoA. And i thought that if they so easily believed that the other was a spy, something must have happened to weaken their trust...

And yes, he is right about Sirius' visciousness, and i wanted him to touch on something true with Remus, because i dont think he would be an easy man to fool. I also feel like that entire experience with Snape, would have been very painful for Remus as well. As for Sirius, well, i dont think Remus likes Lily either, BUT in my opinion, Sirius is a bit blinded by his strong friendship with James, and think of him as his true family and cares a lot more James than himself.

Anyway, I hope that response makes sense. Thanks again for the reviews! There should be an update in a day or two.


 Report Review

Review #11, by propertyoftheHBP Prologue

21st August 2010:
Your summary immediately drew me in--I haven't seen a story about Peter's betrayal yet and I really think that this has great potential, especially after reading this prologue. The characterizations of Sirius and Remus (and the teeny bits we get of James, Lily, and Peter) seem to be perfectly done so far. I especially liked the conversation between Sirius and Remus; most stories portray Sirius as incapabale of a delicate conversation, which you did touch on here, and I liked how you showed that it wasn't true. The dialogue between them was very real, and not forced at all. I also love how Sirius is fully submersed in a Muggle rebellion--it fits him and is, admittably, a funny thought.

I really liked this, it looks as though you've got a great start so far! :)

Author's Response: Hello and thanks for the review!!

I'm so happy that you like my characterizations of the Marauders. I think Sirius was more...defensive, rather than truly outgoing. He used charm to deflect people, so to speak, but he was obviously very smart and there is no reason for him to be completely tactless--it would just leave him open and vulnerable if he appeared that way. And im glad you liked the conversation, its designed to exemplify the depth of their friendship before things begin to change...

Thanks again for the review!

Miranda


 Report Review

Review #12, by Victoria One.

20th August 2010:
Perfect!

Firstly, I was drawn in by the intriguing banner. I had to stare at it a few times to get my fill. It's quite lovely!
Secondly, I love it so far. I'm not much of a "I'm going to go read a Peter Pettigrew fic" type of girl, so I was surprised that I went against my morals. Turns out, I didn't stray too far away from my morals, because this perfectly displays the reserved Peter turning into the power hungry git that betrayed his friends and ruined their bond.
Thirdly, your descriptions are lovely. I love how you have some form of a background to Sirius' and Remus' drinking habits. I like an author that doesn't say something like "Sirius and Remus drank a lot," and leave it at that. Dunno, weird thing to get excited about.
Lastly, you'll see me sticking around to this (even when life gets hectic. I promise I'll come around in the end) because it looks very promising and I am enjoying it thus far.

Author's Response: Hello and thank you so much for the review!

I'm so glad you liked my banner! It's the first animated one that I've made, so I appreciate it! And yes! I'm so glad you liked my Peter as a power hungry git--I'm not much of a sympathy for the devil kind of girl (so to speak), but I have fun writing bad guys as bad guys. :P Thank you for the compliments and sticking around! I really appreciate it!

Thanks!

Miranda


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login