Reading Reviews for The Opposite of History
  
29 Reviews Found

Review #1, by BambiScott Starry Night

31st May 2012:
aw I loved this maybe write more???

 Report Review

Review #2, by tangledconstellations All I Need

6th September 2011:
Hey again!

Another really great chapter! You're slipping more into narrative and dialogue now, as opposed to description, so I guess that means you have a definite route with this story, which is exciting :) The chapters are short, but not uncomfortably so. It kind of suits the story. It's like slipping from one day to the next. It's actually quite effective!

I really liked the description of Lily's parents, it was again very 'homely', kind of like the first chapter. They're protecting her. It's becoming apparent now though how much her 'dream reality' as I keep referring to it as, is affecting Lils so heavily. The way she panicked about her parents maybe telling Ly...the tone immediately was that of fear. Though, I guess I would be scared too.

Although there were a couple of typos that could easily be swept up, this was another really great chapter. I'm concerned Lily is going to get herself tied up in knots over this, and not being able to distinguish between the realities. It's such a sad, and yet dramatic, concept. It'll be awesome to see where you go with this all the more xxx

 Report Review

Review #3, by tangledconstellations Insomnia

6th September 2011:
Hey again,

This chapter was really, truly lovely. This line in particular caught my imagination, and really set up the tone of the piece: 'I do not fear the dark, or the unknown. In the silence of the night, in the ebony blanket that covers my soul, I fear nothing but forgetting'. It's almost poetic, the way you use 'ebony' and 'covers my soul' - you've taken something so simple, a blanket, and turned it into something much deeper. I think the loveliest thing is though is that it's true to life - sometimes I do lay in bed and cover myself over, and I feel so hidden, as though I've wrapped up everything inside it - just like the soul. Every sentence in this chapter was as wonderful, and it made reading this feel all the more dream like, more relaxed and emotional.

I thought it was brilliant to bring Ly in like that - he really was like her savior. But I loved the way he was just like any other man too though - weighed down with woes, and doing the respectable thing but sticking with her, if only for a while. The conviction and care in his tone though makes me wonder whether we've slipped back into the 'dream reality', and I really do long to see if Lily is right about this, that she is living when she is asleep.

I thought the way you handled prejudices about mental illnesses was really good, and sensitively done. I myself have witnessed prejudice towards family members and have been in the thick of close family members suffering, and so I'm always intrigued how people handle situations like this. It's so true though, people feeling as though there is some kind of stigma attached to mental illness, and its something I'm really strongly against, and yet its still something that is so true. It was very realistic. I really do feel for Lily.

This was another really well-written and enjoyable chapter, I really really like it, and your writing always amazes me. Keep up the fantastic work! L xxx

 Report Review

Review #4, by tangledconstellations Fantasy or Reality?

6th September 2011:
Hey Len, sorry this has taken me so long to get round to doing!

First off, I really like the idea for this fic. It's so original and creative, if not a little ominous and heartwrentching too. You've handled the emotional aspects of this chapter and theme really well, and even though the last half made me ever so emotional it was nonetheless so so beautiful and a fantastic read.

I really liked the way that you've split this chapter into two parts - there is such a sharp contrast, I was literally blown away. The amazing imagery at the beginning - the warmth of family, the smell of cookies and pine needles, and playing amongst the trees - it was just so, so beautiful. But then, all of a sudden, you've thrown me into this really emotional scene, with poor Lily weeping into her hospital pillow, trying to bottle it up...it's so sad. There is no comparison to the two scenes - its an uncomfortable shift, a really really emotional one, but I think that's what makes the effect that much better.

To me, though, your writing seems so much more different to 'Wildflowers'. This is more elaborate and yet simpler too. It's closer to the bone. Whilst with Wildflowers I can escape into Elsa's drama, this is so much more harrowing and thought provoking. It's almost a little bit awkward, because she's completely living inside her head, and may be unstable as the Healers suggest - how do you react to somehow who is living like that?

I can see this fic is going to be really interesting, as you have so much to work with here. I really look forward to reading more :) L xxx

 Report Review

Review #5, by Lightinthedark52 Starry Night

1st September 2011:
So beautiful. :) I love it!

Author's Response: thank so much for reviewing. I'm glad you liked it.

 Report Review

Review #6, by Phoenix_Flames Starry Night

31st August 2011:
YAY! An update and a shout out! What a great chapter! :) I'm sorry it took me so long to get around to this, Len, but you know why. I don't want to have to go that long without reading all your brilliantness. :P

This was wonderful. Honestly, I think I say this anytime Opposite of History comes up, but GAH! You really do write descriptions and romance and fluff absolutely BEAUTIFULLY! I don't know why you don't like it, but you're absolutely wonderful, and you have such a talent for it.

I love Lily and Lysander. They are absolutely perfect. And he is so CUTE and sweet to her! Gah, the whole perfect thing and then he calling Lily perfect was absolutey precious. Beautiful.

I'm so glad she told him about what went on in her head, and he couldn't have accepted it any more perfectly. That was so well done. I loved the way Lily talked about Sophie and Liam. In the end, I hope she gets to have them as her children.

Such a good chapter, Len, and don't let it be too long before you update!

ILY! You're wonderful. :)

Author's Response: I think I'm actually getting used to writing fluffy romance. This fic is fun to write and so completely different. I rather enjoy it.

You'll have to keep reading to find out whether she gets to have her children or not. But I'm not yet sure if that'll be covered in this fic or not. It isn't yet in my plan to.

Love ya, Drue. Thanks!


 Report Review

Review #7, by ruby_slippers Friends or More?

17th August 2011:
Yay! Hope! A beautifully told tale of sorrow and sweetness

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review. I'm glad you have enjoyed it so far.

 Report Review

Review #8, by lia_2390 Friends or More?

11th August 2011:
Ah Len, this chapter was lovely. I can't understand why it was so hard for you to write this! It turned out really, really well. I like it more than all the others.

I figure with this sort of perspective, not to mention using the present tense, gives the story a dream-like quality. It just fits the whole mood with Lily still thinking of her 'fantasy' life and it sounds so smooth. Does that make sense?

I also love that she talks to Lorcan. The way you described that particular scene was quite clever. If people didn't know any better/didn't remember *shifts eyes*, they would've thought that he was awake.

I felt so sorry for Lily. She's isn't at all hopeful about much - her condition, Lysander, her parents. Then when something actually worked out, every ounce of hope just hit her all at once. There was something so child-like about it. Then, the two of them as a couple or something similar to me just feels so innocent which again fits the tone of the story perfectly.

I really liked this chapter. You did a great job!

Lia
(Slytherin)

Author's Response: Umm...It was the whole scene where he's trying to get her to tell him what was going on. I knew how I wanted it to go in my head, but finding the words to make it sound perfect, it took a while. I'm glad you think it worked out.

I'm glad you liked the Lorcan scene. It was something I felt needed to be in there. With how much Lily loves Lysander, I imagine she might actually be close to his twin as well. Plus, she did need someone to talk to that would just listen.

I always feel sorry for Lily. I feel bad for what I put her through. The poor dear. I think there is something child-like and innocent about this plot. Which I rather like and I'm glad you like it as well. You know I don't like to write fluff much, but its nice and light as well as angst filled. Its a nice change to what I normally write.

thanks for the review, Lia. I always love hearing from you :D


 Report Review

Review #9, by Up and Away Friends or More?

10th August 2011:
I just wanted to tell you that I really love this idea! And it is brilliantly written :) You had me completely entranced with Lily's life--both real and dream. Great job!

Author's Response: Hi,

Thank you so much for the lovely review. I'm glad you have enjoyed this story so far and I hope you'll come back for more.


 Report Review

Review #10, by hpgrl Friends or More?

9th August 2011:
Hi! this story is amazing and I can't wait to read more! I love lysander and lily. I wish you'd explain Lorcan's situation more- it just seems like too much of a coincidence. I hope he gets better though. I like the way the story is written, its a refreshing change.

Author's Response: I'll take a look at the story and see what I can add about Lorcan. Given that there isn't supposed to be much on him, I can see where you might think it was a bit of a coincidence.

Thank you so much for the review and I am glad you found it a refreshing change from other stories out there.


 Report Review

Review #11, by Phoenix_Flames Friends or More?

8th August 2011:
AWWW! YAY! He still loves her.

Oh my god this chapter was amazing. Wonderful.

I love that Lily spilled everything to Lorcan while he was unconscious. It was nice and, in a way, connecting. It shows just how much Lily is in pain, and oh my gosh. Their 'reunion.' And the kiss.

All so beautiful.

Wonderful chapter, Len! I love it. I know you love the drama and darker stuff with action, but gah, you write romance so wonderfully like no other. :)

I'm in love. :)

ILY!

Forum Name: Phoenix_Flames
House: Hufflepuff

Author's Response: Drue,

Thank you so much for believing I write a decent romance fic. The truth is, I swear I stared at that kiss scene for hours. If I could write it easier, that would be nice. Otherwise this chapter would have been finished days ago.

Yes, Lysander still loves her. I couldn't decide how I wanted this chapter to go, but I am very pleased with it. I really love Lily/Lysander. And the whole scene with Lily spilling her guts to Lorcan, she needs someone to just talk to and have them listen. She doesn't really need someone to give her their opinion.

ILY too Drue!

Thanks for the review.


 Report Review

Review #12, by Lightinthedark52 Friends or More?

8th August 2011:
This story is beautiful.
Usually I find some kind of flaw, either bad characterization or something or the other, but so far haven't seen any in yours. It's just beautiful.. :)

Waiting to see how the plot develops, I know all stories has that peak point where some catastrophe happens and the readers go crazy waiting for updates, lol.
Also hoping to see some of Albus, James and the other family members!

Keep writing, this story is amazing.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the kind review. I am glad you do not find my fic flawed and are simply enjoying the story I have woven together.

 Report Review

Review #13, by Phoenix_Flames All I Need

8th August 2011:
Such a beautiful chapter. Short and sweet.

Holy cow. This line nearly made me cry:

I cannot be whole, I realize, without him. He is the missing piece of my soul. I cannot fathom life without him next to me. It breaks my heart to know we are nothing more than friends.

Beautifully put. Such a wonderful chapter. I feel like Lysander wants to be more just by the way he acts, but I'm not sure. I love it. :)

Beautiful chapter, Len! :)

Forum Name: Phoenix_Flames
House: Hufflepuff

Author's Response: Drue,

I'm glad that line nearly made you cry. I want the emotion in Lily to come through on the page and jump out at you.

Lysander is sweet and I wish I had me a Lysander to snuggle to. Lily is so lucky!

Thanks for the review, Drue


 Report Review

Review #14, by Phoenix_Flames Insomnia

8th August 2011:
Oh my goodness! Another story where I'm like ONLY CHAPTER TWO?! O.o Gah!

Well, a wonderful chapter two it was! :P I find this story fascinating. Absolutely fascinating. It's a dazed mix between dreams and reality, and it's hard to tell which in a really awesome, mysterious way.

You write first person so good, Len. Really well. All of Lily's thoughts are so elaborate and over-all wonderfully written. When this chapter began and Lily awoke, I could hear, see, and feel everything she could.

Lysander and Lily are very cute! I really like them together. :)

Such a good chapter and story! It fascinates me and in like a BAM kind of Inception way! :P

ILY LEN!

Forum Name: Phoenix_Flames
House: Hufflepuff

Author's Response: Drue,

Thanks for reading this chapter. Yes, you were again only on chapter two, but since this is so short it's easy to catch up on.

Thanks for thinking I write first person good. Writing it isn't so difficult. Writing it in present tense gives me the issues.

Lysander and Lily are cute together and I love them that way. I'm glad you do too.

Haha, I hope it's not too much like Inception!

ILY too!


 Report Review

Review #15, by maidenwriter All I Need

16th June 2011:
Another great chapter!

I love the flow and characterisation. And you put Lysander in the story at the right time, I loved it. :) It's a very good read! I can't wait to see what happens next! I'll definitely read on even though you requested the three chapters. Let me know when you've updated! Excellent and 10/10 overall.

-Erika from TGS

Author's Response: Erika,
Thanks so much for the review. I'm really glad you like Lysander and how I've written him. This plot is lovely and sweet, and while difficult to write, I can't help but love it. Fluff is difficult for me, but I try and give it my all.

I am so glad you have enjoyed these first three chapters.
Len


 Report Review

Review #16, by maidenwriter Insomnia

16th June 2011:
Here with another review. :)

This chapter is even better than the last! You are a very good writer.

You write well with first person. It is hard to do first person, more or less than third, I'm not sure. I usually write in third person. But you do it very well. The emotions that you give Lilly are very real, and could probably only be put into first person to make sense. Which you do perfectly.

The flow is very good. It's not too fast, or too slow. I think that the transition that Lily makes from living in her dreams to trying her hardes to live in reality is a huge part in her and it does well with the flow in this point of the story. She is trying to put her past behind her and start new, and I like how you introduced Lysander into this as well.

The characterisation that you give Lily is perfect for this story. The emotions that you give her are very strong and I think that you have done very well with it. Good job!!

10/10

Author's Response: Erika,
Thank you for another lovely review.

Writing in first person is, depending on the plot, harder or easier than writing in third. As of late, I tend to write more in 3rd. But most of my Original Fiction stuff is written in first. This is an experiment of sorts as I venture into writing in present tense, in a genre I would almost never likely touch before. So I'm glad it's working.

Introducing Lysander was difficult at first. I didn't know where to bring him in or how to bring him in that seemed realistic. So I'm glad you like that it was here and that it works.

Thanks again for the review.


 Report Review

Review #17, by maidenwriter Fantasy or Reality?

16th June 2011:
Hey there it's Erika from TGS. :)

I like this story. I was a little confused at first about her family and where they were, but then I got it. I like the in depth description that you use here, it's a great skill that you have. I also noticed that the imagery is very well brought about. You portray her family and what little information we get about them here just right. Well done on the first chapter.

Great job! 10/10

Author's Response: Unfortunately, the confusion is done purposely. I wanted the readers to feel the confusion and pain that Lily felt when she realized they weren't real. It was completely planned.

Thanks for the review and I'm glad you've enjoyed this first chapter.


 Report Review

Review #18, by Phoenix_Flames Fantasy or Reality?

7th June 2011:
Wow, Len! Oh my gosh. What you have going on here is AMAZING. This sounds like such a unique, original, and amazing plot line. I am so excited to get further into it. You have me so intrigued and partly confused in that awesome way of like "what's going on here, what does she want me to think?"

This was so good! Lysander and Lily are so cute. I loved the opening scene, and it made me all happy inside. But of course, I know you. :) And I know that things are about to go so badly. I am super excited for what is to come!

This is so interesting! :D

Drue

Author's Response: The opening, believe it or not, was originally written last. It wasn't the beginning when I first started it. But realized it would have made a much better introduction to the characters and situation.

Haha, yes, you're meant to be confused. It'll all make sense when you read it. I love this plot and the characters. And it is so entirely weird of me to write.

I can't wait to see what you think of the rest of this.


 Report Review

Review #19, by SweetSerendipity All I Need

1st June 2011:
Amazing!
I loved it :)
I'm getting the feeling that Lily's fantasy could be real, but isn't yet. Like, it's what eventually might happen in the future. If that makes sense. Lol.
Just a guess, though, based off of when you said the 'real' Lysander seemed younger, but sadder, than her 'fantasy' Lysander. Unless that wasn't relevant at all?
Either way, I can't wait for the next chapter. You've got me intrigued :)
-Jess

Author's Response: Hey Jess,
I never really thought of it like that. It could be possible. You'll have to stay tuned and read more as the story progresses.

I absolutely love writing Lily/Lysander.

I'm glad you are intrigued. I love this plot.

Thanks for the review.


 Report Review

Review #20, by Jellyman Fantasy or Reality?

8th March 2011:
Okay, starters; I'm so sorry for the delay on this review, I obviously thought I had time that in reality didn't exist. So sorry!

Now the review: Len, this is wonderful! I really liked this idea; I like the twist you have put on this, the role reversal. The "flashback" in the beginning is absolutely perfectly placed. What, as a reader, you think is predictable becomes twisted so beautiful. I think the fact that she had a family that didn't exist is much more of a personal loss than forgetting a family that does. I can really understand why Lucy feels so alone - though I can't sympathise, which makes Lucy seem even more isolated. All in all, brilliant premise of what promises to be an interesting plot.

Sorry this hasn't been more helpful - I really can't think of any CC to give! Feel free to request a review for the next chapter - I'm only reading requested stories at the moment, so not to neglect my coursework. But yes, I would be interested in reading the next chapter, if you are so inclined!

Author's Response: Not to worry, Georgia. I understand completely.

So glad you like what has been written, however, the story is about Lily not Lucy. But yes, Lily does feel alone. I'm glad you like the premise of the plot.

No worries on not having any CC. I'll definitely hit you up when/if you open a new review thread. Thanks for the review.


 Report Review

Review #21, by marinahill Insomnia

13th January 2011:
Ahh this is so sad. You haven't gone overboard with angsty descriptions because you really don't need to - there's just this terribly sad note running through the whole story and this situations just makes my heart bleed. I really can't imagine how it must feel for Lily to go through that. The Lysander she loves doesn't exist, yet she's got the reminder of him in the Real Lysander. It's probably not healthy for her to want to be with the Real one, but no doubt she just can't help it. So very sad. But I sort of hope she'll learn to love the Real Lysander in a different way. It'd be tragic if she expected him to be like the Lysander from her mind.

This continues to be an interesting and beautiful story, Len. Fabulous stuff!

Marina

Author's Response: Probably not healthy, but its all part of the story.

Angst has to be done tackfully, and I'm hoping I'm pulling it off. I want that constant undertone to continue running through the story until Lily finally comes to terms with herself and what happened, and is happening to her.

Thanks for the lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #22, by onestop_hpfan18 Insomnia

8th January 2011:
I love how you have Lily thinking one way of how she remembers Lysander in her fantasy world, then contrasting that fictional version of him with the real Lysander as he stands before. It really shows how different the two worlds are; fiction vs reality. And of course I love how Lysander replies 'never' when she asks him to stay because she doesn't want to be alone. So sweet, I definitely said 'aw' at that moment. You picked such a perfect spot to end this chapter. I can't wait to read what you come up with next. Keep up the fantastic writing, girl! 10/10

Author's Response: I'm hoping to write the next chapter very soon. Though, as I've said before, writing in this form is quite difficult, so updates will always be slow.

I wanted people to understand the differences between dream!Lysander and real!Lysander. So that when they are mentioned, readers will know which is which.


 Report Review

Review #23, by onestop_hpfan18 Fantasy or Reality?

8th January 2011:
LEN! I love how you've started off this story in Lily's fantasy world before having realty crash in around her to remind Lily that it isn't real as she dreamed it all up while in a coma for three years. Also, very sad that she is not even with Lysander in realty as you made them seem like the picture perfect married couple. Also, for this being your first time writing first person present tense, you've seemed to really grasped a real handle on it already as it flowed well together and the character interactions and dialogue seemed very real and natural. Great writing thus far in this new story!

Author's Response: Thanks Leslie.

You'd be surprised how much I struggle with writing first person/present tense. Its so difficult.

Glad you enjoyed it though.


 Report Review

Review #24, by Unwritten Curse Fantasy or Reality?

23rd December 2010:
A Review from your Secret Santa. ;)

"Tiny beams of early morning sun flits across the floor like butterflies dancing to an unheard song." I love this. I already knew when you mentioned using first person present that the style of this piece would be different. And I love to see this added lyricism. It's beautiful writing and it really fits the voice of your narrator.

"but the truth is they don't exist anywhere except in my mind. Or so the healers remind me on a daily basis." Oh my gosh. Oh my gosh! What?! I was so not expecting this. No!

Wow. So maybe I should've read the summary before delving in, but I'm sort of glad I didn't. Not knowing that the world was a dream made it that much harder for me to let go when I discovered the truth. I could relate to Lily more because of that. When I went back to read the summary, I noticed that you do mention the coma. I wonder if perhaps you want to be vaguer about it, to create intrigue without giving that big detail away? It's completely up to you, but the surprise left me breathless and heartbroken.

You're establishing Lily's voice really well. This is only the first chapter, so I'd like to see more before I fully comment on it. So far what I'm getting is that she's intelligent, gentle, and slightly fanciful. A dreamer, if you will. I like it, but I would love to get a better idea. Please update soon! I really love this beginning.

Adding it to my favorites now. :)

Merry Christmas,
Gina

Author's Response: Merry Christmas, Gina!

I'm not even sure how to respond to this review, to be honest. Your flattery has me blushing.

This story is something of a mystery to me, I'm not sure where it is leading or even when it'll be updated. The truth is, I struggle with this one on a daily basis because of the style I have chosen to write it in. It is so completely different than what I normally write that it leaves me uncertain sometimes, but I love it all the same.

Lily (as the narrator) is such a lovely and sad character to write for. While writing this chapter, I felt torn on how to write it. I wanted to give her that happily ever after moment, but I also wanted to make her work for it as well. I'm not even sure if there will be a happily ever after moment.

One day, there will be an update on chapter two, but for now, I am glad to know you have added it to your favourites.

Thank you so much for the fantastic review,
Len


 Report Review

Review #25, by hopeless_hero_x Fantasy or Reality?

19th September 2010:
Ohhh this is so prettyy, and cute, and lovely, and heartbreakingg :( I love ittt.

One of the first things that strikes me about this is how unusual it is - but in the best possible way. Its really interesting, and the way you've written it, introducing the family life bit first, then revealing that it is all in her head - its truely so so heartbreaking, yet it works well, in that order. :')

To be honest, when I read the 'about', I imagined this would be a piece laced, in fact, absolutely covered, in descriptions of feelings, emotions, textures, sounds... and yet, it wasn't. And it wasn't even a bad thing. You sort of gave me, as a reader, what I needed, (I have the first section in mind) but you didn't make it over elaborate. You DID include details, (this bit is my favourite! : “That one!” he exclaims happily pointing to a wilting, dilapidated tree. ) yet you sort of told the story in a simple way. It made me feel as though it really was from a mothers point of view, not from like, a trapped and woeful souls point of view ;D hahah! I really really liked it, it really echoed like...the simpicity of her home life. All the comfort and safety of it was etched in the way it was so calming and simple to read.

Another thing I adored about this are the rheotorical questions at the end. It struck me how this chapter does end ever so quickly, bluntly almost, and I secretelyyy wish there was a 'what happened next!' bit like, right after, where Lysander appears and they have the future she imagined. I REALLYYY want to know. Come on, next chapter! D; I so so want this ending to be amazinglyyy happy.

I did notice a very small number of grammatical errors, but they have not done much to deter the flow of your writing, though perhaps like, a double check? But there were no massive in-our-face mistakes. Pretty much flawless. :') There is one thing that I'm actually not sure about, like, I don't know if you're right or if I'm right, so I'll point it out, and if you ARE right completely ignore me :P Okay, it was this bit : "I feel like part of me is missing. That somehow when I fell..." To me, it feels as though there should be a comma after missing, and joining it to 'that'. But, as I said, I'm not that sure, so I may be wrong. It did sort of make me falter minorly when reading, but perhaps I am not used to phrasings like that.

But yeah, other than that, this was amazing!! :D

I'm really sorry its taken me so long to review. I am actually a loser! :( But, I hope this review has been good, and like, yeah. :) I'm ever so glad you posted this on my thread!

~ Lauraa xxx

Author's Response: Lauraa,
It took you a while to review and me even longer to respond.

I wanted this to be a simple easy read. Something that portrayed both the love and affection a mother has for her children, and the desperation and undeniable heartbreak of knowing they aren't real. This is something that is incredibly difficult for me to write only because of the style I've chosen to write it in. Although said style works for this particular piece.

I am so glad you liked the fact that it isn't overly laced with description. I feel that while most of it is there, going over board would only take away from the story. I mean, clearly people can imagine what a lovely winter's day looks like. I don't need to be elaborate about that. Or how a Hospital might look. I like to leave things up to the reader.

I'm glad it worked for you. Sorry about the grammer mistakes. It's not my strong suit.
Thanks again for the review.
Len


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>