Reading Reviews for Unraveling
  
42 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Your Secret Santa. O_O Unraveling

16th December 2013:
Hello Gina! It's your Secret Santa here, with reviews as their first gift to you. :) I should apologise for the last-minute-ness of it I was under the impressions we were meant to save up reviews and pass them to the recipient on the date, but apparently not.

I really loved this one-shot. I don't know how you did it, but something so amazing about this, it was just so realistic and touching and just perfect. I'm a huge fan of friendship or coming-of-age stories, and I don't think there are enough on the archive. This was an amazing portrayal of friendship, and Rose's coming of age. It was beautiful and so fulfilling to read, because it was so real and I could just relate to Rose as she was growing up.

I loved Rose as a character. As she was growing up, she was still the same person, but she did grow and change, like everyone else does. She was so real to me as a character, and she did have faults as a person as well, like how she and Scorpius were so elitist, or how she herself admitted she didn't have the patience to teach other people the spells they needed to learn.

Scorpius was another amazing character. He was the same as Rose, he grew and changed but remained the same person. He had faults and he tried to overcome them, and he might have overcome some but there are others that he didn't, and really I just can't do you amazing characters justice here with my simple words.

I love their friendship. I think you really captured that stage of adolescence everyone goes through and your writing style was just so perfect as you told us about them. Their friendship was lovely to read about. They fit each other so perfectly, and they understood each other and they were so well matched. At the same time though, I'm glad that you didn't end the story with a romance - it would have felt fake and artificial, and this ending gave the whole piece just a touch of melancholy that was perfect.

Anyway, this is an amazing one-shot Gina, I really loved reading it. :)

Author's Response: Hullo again! Now I know who you are and can thank you properly! c:

I love capturing the messy parts of growing up. Learning and growing isn't usually neat. Change is scary; sometimes it don't come for years, and even then it's not much. I want to feel a little hurt, a little angry at my characters sometimes, due to being in their shoes before and making those same mistakes. That's capturing something real.

Relationships are the same. On paper, Rose and Scorpius seem well matched for each other. Other people think so, Rose thinks so for a long time. So why doesn't it work? Maybe it's timing. Maybe it's Rose's biased point of view that blinds her (and us). Maybe it's just for the simple reason that Scorpius honestly doesn't have feelings for her. But they were important to each other--and that is still significant. That can be great, even if isn't a romance. And even if there were bad parts, it doesn't erase the good that came out of it either.

♥ thank you very much!


 Report Review

Review #2, by navyfail Unraveling

27th April 2013:
Unraveling;
I read this story some time ago but I have a feeling I didn't leave a review;I think my heart literally broke when they didn't end up together but I think that was the point of the story. It was about growing up and friendship and I admire you for writing about it.
The characterization was unbelievably perfect and realistic. Rose being Rose and Scorpius helping her on the way. How they met and how they said their goodbyes were sweet. Probably the best moments of this one-shot. Also there are very few authors who have great last lines like yours: "She smiled one last time for him, picked up her luggage again, and with a small wave, left for her future."
Thank you...for this story.

Sama 10/10

Author's Response: Aiee c: It's a story that I needed to write at the time (two and a half years ago), and I'm so happy that I did. It's a part of my teenage years - the emotions in growing up and the selfish mistakes - that I think I wouldn't remember anymore if I didn't write it down in this oneshot.

Especially at that young age, when we're meeting the most important people in our lives for the first time and feeling those emotions for the first time, it's near impossible to comprehend that there might be many of these kinds of people in our lives in the future who can have such an effect on us. They don't fit in the neat, easy boxes that makes a relationship easier to explain, they might not be healthy, but they happen and so I needed to write about it.

Thank you for reading!


 Report Review

Review #3, by Megan Unraveling

23rd January 2013:
.This is brilliant

Author's Response: Thanks! :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by spreaddapoo93 Unraveling

21st November 2012:
Wow... this is gorgeous.
You have this wonderful superability of capturing the complexities of life; in some few sentences, you're able to analyze the complexities of the characters, of relationships and of events that happen (essentially what the characters make of them).
Your words are just beautiful.

Author's Response: Ah thank you! This is the most personal piece I've written. A lot of what Rose goes through reflects what I learned growing up, dealing with hard-to-label relationships and trying to make sense of questions that don't have answers. So much of the world is simply /messy/, and so I tried my best to capture that.

 Report Review

Review #5, by Rose_Weasley123 Unraveling

11th August 2012:
Hi! I'm Becca from TGS :). I've been meaning to come and review your stuff for ages, and I'm finally doing it! It's a shame it's so overdue really.

This is really, truly brilliant. I mean, everything you write is brilliant, but the depth of feeling and understanding of and for your characters in this wonderful. Right from the start, Rose and Scorpius feel completely real, and they remind me so much of people I know in real life that it's quite scary. I love how you could belittle their experience, but you don't - even though they were young and foolish, you write about them as if they matter. IDK, it's just nice to see that you have compassion for your characters, if that makes sense.

Plus, your style of writing is just beautiful. There were so many lines in this which I just loved, or where you said something that is just so realistic, or that I've felt myself and you put into words so well.

In summary, this is just wonderful. I know it's quite an old story, so it's interesting to look at it in comparison with what else you've written, and I think it shows that you've had a lot of talent for a long time!

Author's Response: Eeep :3 This oneshot draws quite a lot of inspiration from things I went through a long time ago, and I wrote it as a way to remember, and for that reason, it'll always stand out from much of my other writing. I never expected to get the response that I did from it, and knowing that other people were like Rose, or knew people like Rose - I feel that personally.

Something that I've come to learn is that the things that don't matter to me, might matter to other people, and to belittle these matters only limits me. One bit of inspiration comes from something I told myself when I was in my Rose phase, equal parts wise and foolish, aha. I told myself to never forget that I loved [insert guy] once. I think that was hugely responsible for making sure I didn't end up belittling my characters nor my past self. Even when I look back and think of silly my 'love' was, my feelings were real at one point, and I should acknowledge that; it's the only way to understand not just myself, but other people and my characters too.

Thank you so much for this review! ^__^


 Report Review

Review #6, by shoveitsunshine Unraveling

2nd June 2012:
I adore this! Rose and Scorpius just seemed to fit really well, and you managed to capture that poignant stage of adolescence very well. The writing flowed seamlessly, and I feel, by the end, they both managed to grow up and change, all thanks to each other (and, I guess, Flitwick, who paired them up in the first place XD.) And although, haha, my shipper heart at the end was really wanting them to be together, I think you ended their relationship on a good note, and I hope that in future, they would think back onto this period and their friendship and realise how much they affected each other.

+ unabashed elitism is. the. best. yes~

Author's Response: Ah, thank you so much :) I wrote this mostly for myself, as I was very much like Rose once. It reflects a lot of myself during the time I wrote it too, and it's always interesting for me to look back and really see how things have affected my life, and compare it to how I might have seen my life back then. I'm glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #7, by mrs_remus_john_lupin Unraveling

18th March 2012:
beautiful! it really is unique :) something ive never read before but i enjoyed it immensely :)



Author's Response: Aw thank you so much! :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by charlottetrips Unraveling

28th February 2012:
I loved this. Sometimes, because of the humor that just seems to flow out of you at times, I forget that you are also an incredible dramatic writer. (This is not to say that your humorous fics are not well written!) The story told for these two people was wonderful. When I read it was ScoRose, I was like "Eh." but I was willing to read because you'd written it.

I'm so happy that you took such a different perspective from these two. You don't make Scorpius this happy-go-lucky person when I don't see how he could be given his history. You made Rose imperfect and selfish and I loved seeing that. They were actually real people.

The fact that they could just really see each other as each was is a testament to their friendship. Maybe they never really got romantically involved but something firmer and more indelible was formed during those years. Though Scorpius was a bit of a prick, Rose at least understood him and could acknowledge and face that and go on, in spite of.

Really well-written stuff, dear!

xChar

Author's Response: This is one of my dearest oneshots, even though it's quite old now. Rose is very much how I was like when I was younger, and I wanted to write that down before I forgot how tumultuous feelings can get at that young age, especially when I felt like I knew everything. I chose Scorose as a pairing randomly, but I think it really fits with what the pairing represents. It seems like they should end up together, but sometimes it doesn't end like that, and maybe for the better.

:3 thank you so much!


 Report Review

Review #9, by Charlotte Flame Unraveling

12th February 2012:
Fascinating. The precocious ones are always the cynics aren't they? Interesting way of presenting a not quite romance. Good work.

Author's Response: Thank you! :) They do seem to be, don't they? Certainly each path has its pros and cons. I think the best thing I learned from my own was the same as Rose's -- learn and remember from the past; don't linger in regret.

 Report Review

Review #10, by The Dirigible Sugarplum Unraveling

24th December 2011:
So your summary really drew me in... how could I not read a story with unabashed elitism? I live and breathe unabashed elitism. *nods matter-of-factly*

Er... moving on.

This one-shot was... just so raw and full of emotions and real and beautiful; I love it so much! ♥ You captured the stage of adolescence wonderfully. And the way it was arranged; it was like every section was a part of the puzzle that we had to piece together, like Rose was trying to do with Scorpius. (Does that make sense? Eh, in my head it sounded so much better and way less cheesy. xD)

About Rose and Scorpius... this fic was just so different; you had me eating it up. You had my doubts at the semi-cliche'd beginning, but by the time that we found out they had the same wand you had me hook, line, and... eh, whatever, I'm not a fish. :P Your descriptions were fantastic; I could imagine every little scene in my head; and need I even say any more about your characterization? In this short time span, I even felt like I got to know your minor characters, like Albus and Sylvia, whcih is saying a lot.

*Bows down to you*

The ending... Well, of course, there's always the disappointed fangirl part of me (I ship fairytale happy endings! 8D), but I think that there wouldn't be a better way to end it. It just fits, I guess.

And, like the nitpicky person that I am, I spotted a few errors (Scorpius's drew in a deep breath, his steps slowing before coming to a stop), but nothing too drastic, so don't worry. xD

Have a clawsome holiday; and sorry for all this rambling! ^^

-The Dirigible Sugarplum/ Your secret santa :3

Author's Response: Elitism is the best! 8D It knows that for sure, mmhmm.

Hee, no I love the way you described it! I had a lot of moments I wanted to show between them, so it ended up being a lot of small moments. I don't think I knew how to do much otherwise at that point in my writing xD

It wasn't ever a romance fic with me; it was always about Rose growing up - changing and accepting her past mistakes. Perhaps they could've ended up together, but we don't actually know very much about Scorpius, before or even after he's changed.

I'm glad you enjoyed it! Teehee, your reviews are so amusing :D


 Report Review

Review #11, by Snapdragons Unraveling

8th December 2011:
I am determined to one day review everything you've written. That sounds creepy. It didn't mean to sound creepy. (or did it? -insert dramatic music-) Anyways!

I actually read this a long time ago, I think before I even got an account here on the archive. It's actually been in the back of my mind ever since - it's a ScoRose that I've never been able to forget, because it's so unlike anything else I've read. And I totally love it.

"Our parents' generation was something amazing. Ours is just sort of... lazy." Kind of true... I mean, what must it be like, living in the shadow of these people who did all these amazing things at such a young age and then... you're just not. awk.

"You always do understand me best, Rose." And just like that, she forgot about his other girls and let herself keep falling." and "Why did we ever make this so complicated?" "Because it wouldn't have been memorable if we didn't." ♥ love love love.

I love the... realism of this piece. How they're (as said in the summary) unabashedly elitist, and yet... relatable. I liked how there wasn't a perfect romantic ending - but I wouldn't call it sad. It's real. It's sort of happy and sweet, in a way. It's closure. It's like real life.

"Rose wouldn't have been surprised if life threw her Scorpius just so she could grow up a little faster". They were a perfect duo and I think that they both helped each other a lot, in the end. It was a different kind of relationship, but that was good.

Honestly, there isn't anything that I don't like about this, and I think this is actually how I ended up finding Game, and therefore, all the rest of your pieces. So looking back on this - I wish I reviewed earlier, but here I am now! It's captured that stage in adolescence so well and I really could relate - it was so familiar.

Wonderful, wonderful job. I love your funny stories... but you're tremendously talented at these one shots, too. :) Unfair! :P

Author's Response: I never knew that this was the first fic of mine you read :o But I'm so glad that it is ♥ ♥

I think I've been more grateful than ever that I wrote this when i did. It was right before I entered college. I had grown out of this past me years ago and was forgetting what had shaped present me. The only thing I remember was 14-year-old me telling myself to never, ever regret the past, and I couldn't remember why anymore until I wrote this. Without this, I think I would've forgotten entirely.

I think one of the hardest parts of adolescence is when you find something you think you believe in, you find someone who agrees, and then it feels like nothing else can be right. That was Rose's most difficult task -- to admit that she was wrong and to stop romanticizing her relationship with Scorpius.

Thank you so much, loff! ♥ ^__^


 Report Review

Review #12, by NadiaX Unraveling

20th November 2011:
Hi again!

While waiting for you to finish "Play, I can read your other stuff, can't I? ^^ I'm not sure if you remember me, I'm that girl from long review.
This story was also good. Well, I wonder if they weren't too mature (too mature for very mature teenagers, I mean), but I'm really not sure. I fell like being 15 was so long ago (even if it wasn't, but still I don't really remember what and how I was thinking then).
I like it. It sounded right. Rose's thoughts, their conversations, all that complication. It was bitter, but still quite optimistic in the end.
I think you see me (my reviews) soon ^^.

Nadia

Author's Response: Oh yes, I remember! :) A lot of this one-shot is based from experiences in my own life. In some ways, I was mature for my age, but I think a lot of people go through a phase in their life when they think they're more mature than they really are.

Rose and Scorpius think they're mature, and seem mature because of how they carry themselves. But their apathy and how destructive they are show otherwise. There's very much a 'screw the world, I'm right' kind of attitude.

I think that Rose got the best thing one can get from a mistake -- learning from it.

Thank you for reviewing! ^__^ I'll be excited to see what you read!


 Report Review

Review #13, by WitnesstoitAll Unraveling

12th November 2011:
Gina. Firstly, I reviewed this one shot for three reasons. 1.) The word elitist was in the summary 2.) The banner was yellow and loffly and 3.) you always shout about random reviews, so lol.

Boy am I glad I did. It's not anything about the wording or the discription or anything literary at all that made me enjoy this one shot. It was the human-feel to it all. This one shot captured a part of life that a lot of people go through. Just from personal experience, I can say I know exactly how Rose felt. There is a huge difference betweeen love and admiration. And you shouldn't want to fix somebody if you love them. These were lessons that Rose had to discover on her own time.

There was something very honest and realistic and very YA about this. I think this sort of story isn't told nearly enough in either the FF or the YA world, and it really should be!! I really enjoyed the concept of this one-shot. Well done!!

Author's Response: I say those are three very good reasons~ 8D

I'm big on actions and dialogue, as I was talking to Annie about; I could never do the pretty descriptions like you! My way of showing things, I suppose.

It's great to see all the different things people have gotten from this one-shot ^__^ I don't see admiration in Rose, but I'm also very colored by my own experiences (that inspired this), and others have reacted differently as well.

I know! I think all of those hard-to-categorize kind of relationships needs to be told :D People are so much more confusing and irrational in reality than how they're portrayed in fiction sometimes.

♥ thank you thank you! ^__^


 Report Review

Review #14, by crookedshanks Unraveling

11th November 2011:
Man, I'm still sad that their relationship was purely platonic, but I must say it's pretty realistic. Realism, I hate you. Anyways, I love the way they understand and complement each other so well, it's a different attachment to each other.

I like the way you ended the story and how Rose smiled one last time for him (that broke my heart because she's supposed to hex him in the future, remember?) and part of me grew up with them.

Author's Response: I could never quite categorize the kind of relationship that Rose and Scorpius have. They're friends, but not exactly. In some ways, they're closer because they're so similar and sometimes reliant on each other. Other times, I think Rose holds a lot of animosity toward him, and of course, he takes advantage of her. And they're definitely not romantic either.

But they're important to each other (at least for these few years), and I think that's the key detail :) It's the sort of thing that's taught me not to be regretful of past mistakes, but to be thankful that I now know better.


 Report Review

Review #15, by StEpH_M Unraveling

28th September 2011:
I must admit it's weird reading a one-shot where Rose and Scorpius don't get together in the end. Their relationship is like so many you would see in a High school, between people of that age. Someone who is infatuated, and the other that doesn't feel the same. It's good that there are stories on her, that don't always have a lovey-dovey, predictable ending between the too. It's romantic, yet it doesn't hold all the love struck cliches that are so common. I also like that Rose found someone else in the end, that she wasn't pining over Scorpius and that they were able to stay friends in the end.
I small thing to fix, "Scorpius began going to her when he was in one of moods, as she liked to call it." For the one of moods part, is it meant to have 'his' in it?

Also I really don't know what you meant by this sentence but I thought I would point it out, just in case it was wrong, "That what he told her was meant only for her." And two more thing, you added an extra 'how' into this sentence, "Scorpius knew how exactly how to make Rose feel better"and "They only time Rose" it should be the.

Your writing as always is extremely detailed and flows amazingly. The way you gave small glimpses of the years that Rose spent with Scorpius gave the story just that little extra touch, it really made me able to understand the way both of them felt and to be able to sympathies with both of them. It was an amazing story, just like all of the ones I have read so far.
Also sorry there was only one review from me tonight, I will be giving you a lot more hopefully in the next two days.

Author's Response: I think it's a kind of relationship that isn't explored enough :) Some of the most important relationships don't need to be family or friends or lovers or any other label. Simply people who come and go.

Oh typos. Alas.

Thank you for another review! ^__^


 Report Review

Review #16, by Shelby Weasley Unraveling

30th July 2011:
I really think that two sides of my brain are in a furious battle right now. One side of me, the fangirl side, just wants to see them end up together in some fluffy-makeup, but the other side of me completely understands why there was absolutely no way a true, loving and happy relationship could have formed. They're just so blatantly self-destructive at times and of course, "We'd kill each other before we make each other happy," .

Really I think that line sums up everything for me, because they go to each other not really looking for comfort or happiness, but for someone to understand just how tragically broken they are.

I don't tend to go for Rose/Scor, but I really like how you wrote them. Usually Rose is just Hermione and Scor is just a bad-boy looking for an escape. This was very well done.

Author's Response: I know what you mean! I think from the side of a reader, I'd want them to be together too, but I couldn't do it. And over time, I appreciated the ending more, for what it meant to me personally as well.

Thank you very much! :)


 Report Review

Review #17, by zeegraciejones Unraveling

3rd April 2011:
I really loved how these characters weren't classically likable.

I stinking loved them anyways.

This oneshot is so relatable. To e'eryone. Perhaps me particularly, I've spent the last year and a half on the arm of someone who's brain I desperately want inside. You know being led on and such. Of course, I don't fancy myself as quite the cynic that Rose and Scorpius do of themselves.

I really would love to see what was going on in Scorpius's mind.

Like reallyyy bad.

I also loved the anti-predictability.

I adore and worship you.

Huzzah!

Author's Response: That means a lot ^__^ There's an awfully tough side to romance that doesn't get explored as much. There's so many times where one feels like a victim and then has to open their eyes and realize that no, they're at fault too.

I never really knew what was going on in Scorpius' head either. I think he meant it though, when he said he didn't return her feelings.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #18, by libby103 Unraveling

13th March 2011:
Hi!

Ah, I'm horribly shallow and the one thing on my mind is "they didn't end up together!" Not only that, but it's blaring in bold all-caps. To ignore that point...

I see why they couldn't be together, why they shouldn't be together, why they're horribly incompatible for eachother and how there is a difference between being someone's stronghold and being meant for them. However, I can't help but get the creeping feeling that they're just settling. Of course, they're only just leaving Hogwarts at the end of this story and will probably find more relationships in their future. However, I feel like Rose is just settling for second best with Eli.

Both Rose and Scorpius were characterised wonderfully. They're pretentious personalities definitely evened out after a while, and it made me long for another moment of it that they shared.

The flow of your story was excellent even though you were conjoining very individual events. Despite the variety, they told the story quite well and much better than they would have if done in a more organized manner. This format also revealed important information with ease.

Your writing propelled me forward, even though I was originally daunted by the story's size. It entranced me. I couldn't stop if I had wanted (or needed) to.

I can relate to this, as it seems many other reviewers can by your Author's Note. Quite honestly, I want a Scorpius like this in my life, even if I can't have him...(would I really?)

from,
Liberty

Author's Response: Heh, I do get that a bit, and it's very understandable to be sad that they don't get together. A lot of it comes down to what they want in love. While Scorpius understands Rose in many ways, sharing a certain connection, is it what she wants, really? Her emotions seem to say so, but the reality shows something more unhealthy. Is it love or obsession talking? Is Scorpius is even Scorpius or just an idea of him Rose has built up in her mind? Some would say Rose chose a "safe" route, though I like to believe that she chose someone who makes her happy because that's what she truly wants. It's not as romantic as an ideal, but it's a valid one. It's all up to interpretation and I have my own answers based on experience, and I'm glad to hear your views on it and I'm glad you enjoyed it :)

 Report Review

Review #19, by MidwinterMasque Unraveling

30th January 2011:
This is one of those rare stories that made my heart ache ever so slightly, and my eyes prick with the promise of tears. It was all the more poignant for not being overly romantic or sad. Just beautiful.

Author's Response: It's not quite a romance and not quite sad, and the leads aren't very emotional, but it manages to be quite emotional. I'm glad you liked it :)

 Report Review

Review #20, by Harrypotterbookworm Unraveling

25th January 2011:
In my mind, I'm totally freaking out going 'OMG THAT CAN'T BE THE END!!' But the rational side of me is going, that actually make sense. Urgh, It's frustrating when you argue with yourself *grumbles*.

I'm not a fan of Rose/Scorpius, I admit. I can hardly stand it. But this, this was mellow. This, this wasn't cliche. This, this I liked. XD It went beyond the normal romantic fluffy side of a story and really delved deep into the meaningful stuff. It was a nice refresher. I really like how it took place over quite a long period of time, but it didn't feel rushed as well. It seemed as if that was the time and the space it was meant to take up. I'm a terrible rusher. :P

You really sum up everything in the authors note! Overall great job, I even favourite-d as well! Hugs,

HPB (nikkinike)

Author's Response: Hee, this has once been referred to as 'that strange Rose/Scor fic where they end up being just friends' (affectionately). It definitely isn't fluffy -- very rooted in some real experiences. I think that while successful relationships can change a lot of people, so do the not-so-successful ones, and they can be quite a poignant story too.

Thank you! :)


 Report Review

Review #21, by Guada Unraveling

20th January 2011:
I have a silly question, tough. Did Rose kiss Scorpius at the ball, that's why Sylvia cried? what did she do?

Author's Response: No, they never kissed. The thing about Rose and Scorpius is that both of them flirt on the edge of decency. They flirt because they can, because both of them allow it to happen. It's all fun for them (toying with emotions is their "thrill") but a kiss has too much meaning behind it. They would never cross that line, because then it all stops being a game.

Sylvia cried because Scorpius treats Rose more like a girlfriend in lots of ways than her. While Rose and Scorpius might have just "danced", it was in a rather scandalous manner (which while R & S find fun, Sylvia, not so much). Scorpius shares things to Rose that he wouldn't tell anyone else too. Sylvia cares a lot of Scorpius, but he isn't giving her a chance.

I hope that explains things a bit!


 Report Review

Review #22, by Guada Unraveling

20th January 2011:
This is so real... It was like taking a stroll in my own teenage years, when everything was so intense and it felt like we were betting everything we had. Lovely story.

Author's Response: Ah thank you. There is definitely something especially emotional in those periods of times when we grow up, when everything seems more pronounced. It's something I think, that doesn't really ever come back as one grows older.

 Report Review

Review #23, by maskedmuggle Unraveling

8th January 2011:
Wow. I am so amazed. This is a truly wonderful story. So well written, the small snapshots of different moments really gave me a unique insight into Rose and Scorpius' relationship. The ending was a lovely surprise. I was probably expecting the typical ending where they end up together and it's a happily ever after. But I really like your ending. It really is something special.

It's nice that their wands are the same. Good idea! And, "Our parents' generation was something amazing. Ours is just sort of lazy." I love this sentence. In one sentence you summed up what life was like for them in the next generation.

I really liked Rose and Scorpius' characterisation. Different from the typical ones. Especially Scorpius. Awwh, I just really enjoyed this whole piece. Wonderful writing, wonderful story.

Author's Response: I let a lot of this story write itself because it's very closely related to things that have happened to me. My experiences taught me that not all relationships can be classified as romantic or friendship or familial, and yet they still change so much of a person's life. I wrote the what seemed the most natural end to them :)

Thank you for a lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #24, by GubraithianFire Unraveling

7th January 2011:
I promised this review probably in October or November (or December), so let's keep this in mind: Gubby doesn't keep promises. But being snowed in (a little bit) and being bored and being otherwise fairly productive today, I thought I'd do you this smallest courtesy after all you've done for me the past few weeks.

You know the story of how I found this fic and I'm pretty sure I've told you how brave I think you were in writing it and in posting it, so I'll skip that part and actually talk about what this meant to me. I don't think this is at all like Napoleon - the natural connection I would make and still do after rereading it - because... I don't know, this is so much more intense than anything there.

Rose and Scorpius are so real, so down-to-earth, and so aware of what they're doing that it's almost self-destructive. I cringe to read it because of that element to the story and the characterizations; it's so raw and it cuts deeply into me, because I find a lot of myself in Rose too. I understand Scorpius, too, but probably not to the extent Rose does - I'd probably be more like Sylvia at the end, aware of his shortcomings but still desperate to fix him, whatever that means. And I really respect Sylvia, by the way, and her portrayal and how Rose sees her. She's not stupid, but she views things differently. Not everything has to be this big production, if that's the right word, for her. She doesn't think that life is necessarily as bleak as Scorpius would have it.

Gah, Scorpius... I don't want to say I love him (as we all know, it's sexy roguish Scorpius I adore), but he's just so - gah. That realization that Rose has at the end, that maybe his eyes were never hazy, that really got to me. Mind blown. He seems to enjoy the whole aura that being the "irreparably" damaged cynic gives off and he cultivates it. I remember you drew the distinction between Napoleon's usage of "You like power" and you said (I literally just looked it up): "strangely abusive yet necessary and understanding." Now this is just me speaking, but I don't think this was necessary. Rose grew up, maybe even Scorpius did (I'm glad you didn't elaborate so much about that), but... I don't know. I feel like there could have been a way to circumvent all of the drama. I feel like maybe, if they tried, they could have been happy. Or happier, at least. (This is me projecting my experience with Napoleon onto this, just so you know.) At the same time, even through that understanding, I'm not sure if Scorpius ever respected Rose, and I'm not sure he ever valued her as much as she seemed to him. And again, I like how you sort of remain ambiguous about that.

I know this does not make ANY sense whatsoever, but I'm finding it really hard to review this, for some reason, maybe because we've talked about it before and I don't want to rehash what I've said before. But... yeah. This story really resonated with me on a personal level and now I realize... this has actually influenced me a lot. Your Scorpius especially. It really made me think and feel, and while it wasn't sad, per se, I feel sort of like I've just cried and am now getting over it. I think. It's hard to explain. But... yeah, I hope this makes up for the delays and the broken promises and such, and please know you are my hero. May the socgremlin be with you! *love*

Author's Response: Okay, I've had this on my unanswered review for far too long (like, 2 days. Heh.) It stares at me every time I open up HPFF. I'm also typing out this response on a word doc because that's how long I expect this to be.

I think (and I say I think because every time I revisit this part of my life and this fic, my perceptions of it change) the problem of Rose and Scorpius is that they are *too* aware of what they're doing and indeed, self-destructive. It's like a friends with benefits sort of thing, but instead of sex, it's about sharing every bit of themselves -- without commitment. It's easy to see how that could fail. When I think about myself as Rose, I always see the dark side to my love of happy endings (oh wow, this sounds so angsty already). It was that belief -- the belief that the girl who understands best is supposed to win in the end -- that kept the drama going far longer than it should have.

Sylvia is really the strongest out of everyone, the one who tries to keep things together even when everyone is against her. Both she and Rose want to fix Scorpius, but she's the one who wants to help from pure compassion and not because she wants to be loved. That's the key component that sets her apart, and I really wanted to show how damaging Rose and Scorpius's selfishness was from that. And you've got it spot on for Sylvia viewing things differently. Rose and Scorpius take pride in complicating things. Cynicism becomes synonymous with truth. They both look down on Sylvia for not being the same.

I've probably mentioned something about how writing Unraveling was my coming to terms with this part of my life, but it was also scary seeing how much it stuck with me and how much I still am interested in figuring out the mystery of Scorpius, if there ever was one. I remember right after writing it, I felt that rush again, that need to know the answers, of why he does the things he does. I end on a relatively happy note, but I'm so glad you point out that I never elaborate if Scorpius grew up, whether he ever respect her, or whether Rose even did understand him. I like to think he did value her, but again, it's like my belief of happy endings -- that the belief that she did make a difference is just a way of validating what happened, a way of making Rose still "special" to Scorpius, because she was the one who might have changed him. And it a belief I'm still reluctant to let go of.

Rose and Scorpius were never really made to be friends; they know, or at least suspect, too much about each other to be casual. Rose could never take anything he says at face value. I remember I had the same exact thought about how unnecessary the drama really all was, and that was how it led to the thought that maybe it never meant anything to Scorpius. I think that at most he was grateful she was there and sorry that he couldn't give her the love she wanted.

But what I always remind myself is that in the end, it doesn't matter whether Scorpius respected her or whether they could have been. What matters is that Rose grew up, and as awful as the experience could have stuck in her mind, she looked back thankful. I guess there is a certain sadness due to the sudden disconnect of two really close people, but I also question how close they really were. They shared similar cynical opinions, something they desperately needed at the age of 15, but not so much at 18. Not exactly friends, but they had a certain inevitability to their relationship. Perhaps this is why I chose the word "necessary" before.

Just like how I tell myself to never regret the real life experiences that influenced this fic, I don't regret writing all this down every time I hear someone tell me about how this fic affected them. Knowing that it's influenced you is a heck of a lot more satisfying than knowing whether it affected Scorpius (so that that, cynicism!) Thank you so so so much for this review! *heart*


 Report Review

Review #25, by Ravenclaw333 Unraveling

24th December 2010:
My first snowball fight review! Ah, I am quite a fan of your work, I must admit. (I haven't read huge amounts of it, but what I have seen I like.) You have an awesome talent for characterisation; you manage to build as vivid an impression of a character in a one-shot as many do in a novel, and I commend you for that. Rose and Scorpius are so real and believable, especially Scorpius. You've done a marvellous job with a complex character.
The story itself is brilliant. I related to it so much; to the situation, to Rose, and to the outcome, and you've injected a greater level of meaning into a situation that so many people can empathise with: You've turned it into a life lesson, and that's the hallmark of a great writer. 10/10.

Author's Response: Ah! Thanks ^___^ This oneshot's very near and dear for me, based on my own experiences and hearing you say that you like the characterizations and how it's believable, it makes my day! Rose and Scorpius are so very flawed in this fic and it's probably easy to hate them for all their selfishness, so I'm glad that people have been able to empathize and understand them.

Thank you again! :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>