Reading Reviews for Molly Ban
  
9 Reviews Found

Review #1, by unicorn Molly Ban

25th January 2012:
that was absolutely breathtaking.. admittedly ill probably be haunted my molly's ghost in my nightmares now, but wow. great job! :D

 Report Review

Review #2, by Sara_Sj Molly Ban

17th March 2011:
This was...chilling.

I am at a loss for words. Everything about it was absolutely amazing.

Although you seem to feel you were out of your element, I think you wrote it PERFECTLY. This was absolutely amazing.

Wow.

Just...wow.

Author's Response: Thank you so very much, Sara_Sj! I really do appreciate your kind feedback and I'm so glad you enjoyed this fic. ^_^

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #3, by ericajen Molly Ban

4th March 2011:
Hello there(:

Is it weird that when I clicked into this story I was expecting like a romantic comedy type of piece? After reading the story, I'm not completely sure what I was thinking.

Anyway, I thought it was really good. You moved seamlessly through Molly and Jimmy's relationship. It didn't feel awkward at all the way they transitioned from just met, to living together, etc. It worked out really, well, actually. Even more impressive was that although we didn't go through all of the trials and such at the beginning of their relationship, it was still easy to sense that they really cared for each other.

I liked the way Molly's photography tied into everything. And the little air of mystery at the end when he heard the camera click once more and then disappear. Makes me curious, heh.

You worked incredibly well with the song, as well. I don't read a lot of songfics, but this one was particularly enjoyable. I liked the way the lyrics fit with the story.

Nice work(:

Erica.

Author's Response: Hello Erica,
Thank you so very much for taking the time to read and review this fic! Haha, no, this isn't a romantic comedy. To be honest, I'm horrible at writing romcoms and if I ever attempt a romcom, I don't think you'd want to read it. Fluff and humor are my absolute weakest genres. ;)

I'm so glad you enjoyed the progression of Molly and Jimmy's relationship. Again, romance is another of my weak genres. I think I have a tendency to make all romantic interaction corny, hehe.

And I'm really happy to hear that you liked the song. I don't think I've ever read a song-fic myself, to be honest. However, I do love folk music and I just thought it'd be interesting to try to write something including an old-fashioned song in a contemporary setting. I'm so glad you thought it turned out all right. ^_^

Again, thanks so much for the great feedback, Erica! It was really wonderful hearing from you. Take care and be well!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #4, by PenguinsWillReignSupreme Molly Ban

29th August 2010:
Awkward? Gosh no! I read this last week and because I'm dreadful at the minute, I didn't review. The very idea of you writing Molly made me interested at once (even though I have read shockingly little of your writing - I have a horribly long to-read list) and it was not in the slightest bit disappointing.

Compared to what I have read by you before, this was such a change and I love how you integrated something so old in the ballad into the modern day. It still retained a mystical, old quality to it in its style and it was such a pleasure to read it. It flowed magnificently.

Molly is a gem of a character. This is probably one of my favourite takes on her, actually. She came off the page so strongly and so beautifully. I think you captured her in a way that was so unique and so individual. She really sticks out to me.

I usually am not a fan of OCs in one-shots, since often people don't develop the character enough for it to really have an effect. Jimmy managed to put himself on the opposite end of that scale. He was vivid and bright and he really shone beside Molly, and after her death he was strong and really quite adorable!

The style was flawless. It was romance in the purest, simplest, most believable way. I like how it didn't dwell on their relationship. It just was and that was all that mattered. The way the camera ran throughout was a wonderful ... motif (? I don't think that's the word I'm looking for but my brain is stalling) and the swans really added a peacefulness and a beauty to it too.

I thought this was an absolutely beautiful take on both the character, the genre and I'm sure the song itself (though I'd never heard it before.)

Just stunning, really.

Author's Response: Hi Rachelle!
Oh thank you so much for the lovely review! Your feedback was so insightful. It was really wonderful hearing from you. I was actually quite hesitant to write a Molly II-centric fic. Me + Next Gen = clueless, haha.

I'm glad you liked the inclusion of the Irish ballad. As I've mentioned to other reviewers, I wasn't sure how an old song would pair up with a modern story, but since Jimmy is a folk singer, I thought I'd give it a go. ;)

And I'm really thrilled to hear that you liked both Molly and Jimmy. I don't know, I seem to have a habit of pairing canon characters with OCs. Jimmy actually went through a bit of transformation while I was writing this story. He was originally much more esoteric and less of an unwashed hippie, hehe.

Also, I'm relieved to hear that you thought the romance worked well. I never, ever write outright romance. In fact, I think I have a tendency to make my characters rather aloof when it comes to love. I'm glad, however, that you thought their relationship in this fic didn't come off as too mushy or too stilted.

Again, thanks so much for everything, Rachelle! I truly appreciate your kind comments. ^_^ Take care and be well!

Best,
Lee Anne


 Report Review

Review #5, by xtinjsc Molly Ban

29th August 2010:
Hello, celticbard!

I'm here to fill out your request for a review from the forums. I hope you are well. ^_^

I must admit, I've never heard the song 'Molly Ban' before, so I decided to listen to it while I read this. I saw that one of your reviewers actually did the same and I agree that it felt really powerful, like I was transported into the town of Greenwood myself. Haha. It know it sounds weird, and believe me, it felt really odd for me too. :P

And the girl, as the people of Greenwood knew, had been dead for a year. --> this line made me shudder. It felt like I was reading a horror/suspense novel. Haha. But you know that's a good thing, right?

A few nitpicky things I noticed:

"Hey, lass, you didn't get me!" He called... --> I'm pretty sure the 'H' in He should be in lowercase.

...in the middle, as far as she was concerned, absolutely nowhere. --> I think you missed the 'of' somewhere in there.

In June, they both got the break they'd be(should be 'been') waiting for...

She'd probably need(needed) some surgery.

I like Molly's take on Muggle vs. Wizard photography. There's just something about those still pictures catching a person's (or an object's - if they ever have any) unguarded moments that make it more special, you know?

Molly was a rather stubborn person, wasn't she? But I like how she sort of developed and changed throughout this story. Like that fight they had over the three pound tip, she was rather hard-headed there; then she mellowed down a bit when she chose to waive her savings for Jimmy's car than a new camera for her. I also saw her as a very dedicated photographer. She didn't mind getting dirty just to get a good shot. Little things like that makes a character more endearing (for me, at least), so good job!

As for Jimmy, I found him funny. And quite the artist, I might add. I like seeing the world on his perspective, in a way, like that part where he described the Sergeant. Haha. And he seemed to take life less seriously than Molly.

I love how you wrote that scene where the mousy Sergeant told Jimmy that Molly was already dead, and Jimmy's first thought was how funny it was that the officer couldn't pronounce 'Weasley' - very realistic. I love it. People normally receive bad news like that; they deny first, the put up walls first before the sorrow enters the picture - you've captured that beautifully. Very nice!

As for the romance, it's not awkward at all! You really wrote this piece very, very well. I love how it all started, with Molly not at all head over heels with Jimmy in the beginning - she's rather reluctant, I think. But you developed their romance really well by showing us tidbits of their lives together. It's a tragic tale, yes, but wonderfully done. I love it! You're a very talented writer. I'm really glad you dropped by my review thread. Please feel free to request again, because I'd love to read more from you. I really enjoyed this! Keep writing! And thank you for sharing us this lovely story! ^_^

Author's Response: Hi xtinjsc!
Wow! What a fantastic review! I feel really spoiled by all your detailed feedback and kind comments. *blushes* Thank you! You truly made my day. ^_^

I'm glad you found listening to the song helpful. I must admit, I always found it to be perfectly wistful and slightly ethereal. Obviously, I have a certain weakness for Irish music, although I wasn't sure if such a dated ballad would pair well with a Next-Gen fic.

As for the slightly eerie undertone of the first paragraph, I have to admit, I'm a horror addict, so even my lighter stories probably pay homage to the genre in some small way. ;)

Thanks so much for being nitpicky and taking the time to point out my typos! I'm very nitpicky myself, so as soon I finish typing up this reply, I'm off to correct all those pesky little mistakes.

Yes, Molly is very stubborn, quite like her father, I suppose, hehe. I must say, your comments really gave me a better understanding of this story and its characters. You're right about Molly being an artist, just like Jimmy. On the surface, they were quite different, though I really think their desires and aspirations were the same, which made them compatible and attracted to each other in the first place.

I'm so glad you liked the scene with the Sergeant. It was hard for me to write--receiving bad news is a part of life I'd like to avoid. ;)

And, of course, I'm thrilled to hear that you thought the romance came off well. I hate writing mushy stuff and I know I'm guilty of making my characters too aloof when it comes to love.

Again, it was absolutely wonderful hearing from you, xtinjsc. This review was amazing. I cannot possibly express my gratitude properly. Thank you so much. I will definitely re-request from your thread in the near future. Until then, take care and be well!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #6, by SiriuslyPeeved Molly Ban

23rd August 2010:
I love Celtic music and was familiar with the story of the song-- I played it while I was reading, and found the story doubly powerful! The setting and details are wonderful. I especially liked your aside that Wizard photographs could not freeze time and capture the expressions in the way Molly wanted: it's rare in a fanfic to see Muggle technology compared favorably in such a way.

The romance was very nicely done, subtle and realistic, drawing in her initial misgivings about him (I laughed at the "smelly/unwashed" bit) and moving on to capture the everyday feeling of their relationship.

The way you transformed the song's central event to fit in the Muggle world was heartbreaking -- I won't leave a spoiler review just in case someone stumbles on this first and hasn't heard the song -- but you did a beautiful job changing it just enough to make it fit. I loved how you described the policeman, how he looked like a rat but sounded royal. Little details like that are what make this story so compelling.

Author's Response: Hello SiriuslyPeeved!
Thank you so much! Yes, I am a huge fan of Celtic music myself (obviously, hehe). I always found this song strangely haunting and when I was listening to it one day, I thought it would be interesting to pair it with the HP character, Molly Weasley II. Originally, although, Molly's fate was quite different (less tragic), but then again, I can never resist writing angst.

And I'm so glad you enjoyed my take on wizard photography vs. its muggle counterpart. For some reason, I thought someone interested in the art of photography would prefer still frames to moving pictures.

Again, thank you for everything! Your kind review really meant so much to me. Take care and be well!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #7, by lia_2390 Molly Ban

17th August 2010:
Hi again, celtic ^_^

This has to be the second fic I read today that's based around some kind of mythology/legend or at least mentions it. I really like how you've interwoven the themes so that they make for a very fascinating piece of work. What made this even more fascinating is when the bird-watchers took the picture, they saw a girl instead of the swans. It's rather creepy if you think about it.

I love Jimmy's character, he's daring that one. I found it funny that he called her after ten when she specifically told him not to but she answered the phone anyway. Seriously, I love little things like that.
What I love even more is that you chose Molly with absolutely no mention of any other next gen character. Usually they come in large groups...I'm guilty of that myself.

Now to address your author's note, this isn't awkward at all and for the record, romance doesn't have to be out-right mushy either, I thought this was written rather well. Like I said in the review for Bootstraps, it's good to get out of your comfort zone for a while to write something you haven't done before. You may end up surprising yourself too.



Lia.

Author's Response: Hi Lia!
Thank you so very much for the kind review! I'm really starting to feel spoiled by all your fabulous feedback. You've been such a supportive reader. I honestly cannot thank you enough.

I'm so glad you liked this story. I'd never really written Next-Gen before, so I wasn't sure how this fic would turn out. I'm also happy to hear that you enjoyed the character of Jimmy. I had originally planned for him to be more esoteric, but then he sort of grew and changed as the story progressed.

Again, thank you so much for your encouragement! I really do appreciate your thoughtful comments. Take care and be well!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #8, by LindaSnape Molly Ban

11th August 2010:
This was absolutely amazing!

To answer your concern - no, I didn't find that it was awkward, in the least.

I like how you incorporated the song lyrics in this piece. They seemed to flow rightly, and they didn't detract from the piece as sometimes some songs seem, too. If anything they seemed to fit right in.

I absolutely adore this!

So few stories are written about Lucy and Molly. So I was absolutely thrilled that not only was this a story about Molly, but a romance one. Albeit a tragic lover's tale, but a romantic one, all the same.

I loved your characterizations of Molly and Johnny. How Molly fretted over money, and yet was too stubborn to accept help from her parents.

It gave it a touch of realism.

Not to mention your command of the English language, your description, your narrative, and lack of grammatical errors is not only astounding, but quite lovely and only stands to enhance the piece.

Although, I think I did find one error: “Three pounds. It’ raining out.” It should be 'It's'? Shouldn't it? Unless this is a part of Johnny's dialect. However, as it's absent from the rest of the piece, I didn't really ascertain that.

However, one the whole this piece is absolutely enchanting, and I absolutely loved it!


Linders

Author's Response: Hi Linders!
Oh my goodness. What a lovely review! Thank you so much. I'm so very, very pleased to hear that you enjoyed this one-shot. I'll admit, I did feel a little awkward writing this--I rarely write straight romance and I never, ever write Next-Gen. ^_^

I'm thrilled to hear that you thought the song fit well with the fic. I thought it might come off as a little incongruent considering the story is set during the Next-Gen era and the song itself is an old Irish ballad.

And thanks so much for pointing out that typo! I knew one would sneak past me. It seems that no matter how many times I proofread a story, one pesky little typo gets past my notice. ;)

Again, thanks a million for everything! It was wonderful hearing from you, Linders. I'll feel much more confident approaching this genre/era in the future thanks to your kind feedback. ^_^ Take care and be well!

Best,
Lee Anne


 Report Review

Review #9, by dreaminginnewyork Molly Ban

11th August 2010:
It was good. I mean, it wasn't the normal type that I usually read, and I was going to stop reading after I read about the accident in the beginning, but I kept reading, and I'm glad I did.

It's one of those stories that just...I don't know, it tugged at my heartstrings. It was perfect, because there wasn't an overdose of anything, you know? It was the perfect dose of romance, drama, tragedy, realism. It was good.

Author's Response: Hi there!
Thanks so much for the thoughtful review! It was wonderful hearing from you. I'm so glad you took a chance on this story and enjoyed it. To be honest, this piece is far from my usual style, so I was a bit unsure about it. ^_^

Again, thanks for the great feedback! I hope you have a pleasant week!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login