Reading Reviews for Five Sugars
  
10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by patronus_charm Five Sugars

31st December 2012:
Hi it's you review from the review tag :)

I loved the Kate Nash quote and I love the song Nicest Thing so it was nice to see it here! I really liked the portrayal of Narcissa even though it's based on you I think it really fits her as well. I feel Narcissa does have a secret past that she's not just a perfect pureblood girl so I could really believe in this fan fiction.

I thought it was great and you should definitely write more from Narcissa's perspective :)

Author's Response: hey! I'm glad you liked it - this is a piece I wrote many moons ago, and I haven't really looked back at it since it was posted, so it's nice to get a fresh reminder of something old and a new perspective on it.

thank you very much for saying so! I am very intrigued by Narcissa's character, so I might actually write her again at some point in the future.

thank you for reviewing! ♥


 Report Review

Review #2, by katniss Five Sugars

2nd November 2011:
this is was so wonderful and beautiful and perfect and you could play Narcissa with little difficulty. wonderful!

Author's Response: Thank you very much! :D

 Report Review

Review #3, by Loony_Scorpy Five Sugars

19th October 2011:
I really loved this! I realised that there are a whole heap of your stories I haven't read, no matter how old, so I figured I should take the time to read them. Definitely worth it. I loved this characterisation of Narcissa. Soo amazing. I'm sleepy so this is a nice short review for you :P In short, I loved it. Amazing work as usual. ♥

Author's Response: Hello again! Thank you very much - glad you liked it! I'm adamant that, no matter what a vast majority of the fandom think, Lucius and Narcissa were very happy together, heehee. Thank you so much! ♥

 Report Review

Review #4, by ohtasha Five Sugars

30th August 2011:
I loved this! A completely different Narcissa to the one people usually write about and I loved all the little details about her.

Author's Response: Thank you! I enjoyed writing this characterisation of Narcissa quite a bit, so I'm glad you liked it (: thank you for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #5, by GubraithianFire Five Sugars

31st July 2011:
EEE. EEE. EEE. EEE. EEE.

I feel like the robot who watches over reviews wouldn't like it if I kept the review to that, but EEE. EEE. EEE. EEE. EEE.

(There are five of them each time, do you see? -proud happy smile that :D cannot properly express-)

I actually just read a one-shot of Sarah's, Faded, which is also Lucius/Narcissa. But, hers is angsty. And full of pain. And beauty. But it was the pain of people who have known happiness and are clinging to it in the midst of chaos. But this is so cute, so... I don't know, Narcissa's voice is so adorable and sweet and the tiniest bit arrogant, but that's to be expected. I love your characterization of her, and I love that it's you you're basing off. I'm always extremely wary of self-inserts because, you know, people, especially fanfic writers, aren't that interesting to read about. But your Narcissa (or you? hehe) is a real treat. Not a china doll, not an evil rebel, but she's real, she's believable, and she's lovely.

And she plays the piano(forte). (any wub emoticon you care to imagine can go here) I love whenever you write about music, because it's clear that you care. This was very different from Nocturne (I squeed a little bit when I saw the word here) and it was so sweet -- I want to say wholesome, but I can't in any light see Lucius as wholesome. But you came pretty darn close to that here, and his fascination with Narcissa is so sweet/kind of sensual (is that just me? Anyone? Anyone? Bueller?) and it makes me root for them. Which I have, to some degree or other, since DH, but this made me believe in them, and believe in this adorable budding romance.

And the interlude with Bellatrix and Andromeda and Narcissa's anxiety -- goodness, such quickly-drawn characterizations, and such good ones too. Andromeda being a bit hysterical about Bellatrix's iron fist coming down on her. They're still recognizable as the people we meet in canon, which I consider paramount in any fic using these very easy-to-screw-up characters, but they fit with a political-treatise-reading Narcissa (that, besides the music, was what got to me the most) and they interacted very well. Lucius' reaction once they were gone made me a bit queasy, of course, but underneath the blasť-ness/disgust, I think he had a soft spot for her. And it makes me hope that despite all the murders and tortures and lying and the terror of their future, that they can keep this spirit alive in their relationship.

THIS MADE ME HAPPY I LOVE IT ♥

Author's Response: OMG FIVE EEEs. THAT IS SO PRECISE I DON'T EVEN.

I know what you mean about self-inserts. They're usually hammed-up versions of the author; far prettier, far clever, far more curves in the right places. Here, I hammed myself up for Narcissa (I'm not /that/ good at piano and /no/ boy will want to talk to me), but I tried to keep in some of the uglier elements too, you know, so she wasn't just a mary-sue. You already know that I base sa!scorpius off of myself - I have a bit of a tendency for self-parody. So, well, I'm glad she's real and believable - she's not wholly based on me, but little bits of me. I think I'd find it impossible to write a perfect characterisation of myself and I'm rambling.

Music ♥ It's been a part of my life for so long that, well, I just love writing about it, haha. I don't practise piano so much anymore (woe, but I was really going nowhere) but I still consider myself a bit of a musical elitist. And yes, different from Nocturne indeed, haha! Lucius isn't wholesome, no, but I've always maintained that, aside from their casual fixation with the dark arts and all things pureblood, they were a happily married couple who clearly loved each other (and their son) very much. I don't believe in it being a loveless or forced marriage at all. I also ship them quite a bit.

Ah, Bella and Andy and Cissy. I do see Bellatrix was quite 'together' when she was at school, in the early days before she went off fancying dark lords and such - and I also see Andromeda as slightly on edge, aware of her ties to her family but her need to break out of it at the same time. I think all three sisters would be a bit on edge, a bit anxious - Bella needing to keep control, as eldest, Andromeda wanting to break free (like that song...) and Narcissa aware of everything that's expected of her. So they're all kind of...anxious. They're anxious folk. I'm a really anxious person, far more than I should be. Lucius' reaction as written here is a reaction I've had a couple of times in RL; people just don't know what to do, but they know it's an issue. And yes, I believe Lucius really does have a soft spot for Narcissa - he really does love her, after all blah blah blah etc etc troo shipper stuff.

That was long and rambly. But I hope it made sense.

Thank you so, so, much for reviewing ♥ a thousand raving puffins of thanks.


 Report Review

Review #6, by bluecharlotte Five Sugars

26th July 2011:
I read this story a while ago but for some reason didn't leave a review! It's memorable enough that months later I thought of it when wondering why I couldn't find any accurate/good L/N fics.

I just wanted to tell you I thought it was lovely, from the way you depict Narcissa and her issues to how you describe music and books. I particularly love that you show the sensitive side of the characters; how they were before the war and everything (esp. Lucius and Bellatrix). The way Cissa and Lucius interact and the way you show their obvious chemistry is also great :)

So, in conclusion, great job, and I'm seriously jealous of you for being able to actually play the piano and read music!! 10/10 :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I've often found that Lucius and Narcissa get a bit short-changed in fanfic. People tend to assume that their marriage was loveless and often abusive, although it seems that, in canon, the Malfoys were one of the strongest family units of the whole series (aside from the Weasleys, ofc. And maybe I'm biased, being a fan of the Malfoys and all.)

Thank you so much for reviewing! Glad you liked it ♥


 Report Review

Review #7, by hdawg Five Sugars

3rd January 2011:
This is lovely and very much like you, I thought I recognised the anxious disposition :) I actually really like the fact that it's all about Narcissa/Lucius instead of the normal, pre-HP James/Lily, and makes me want to write one of them myself.
I also love the fact that Bellatrix is still awful to Andromeda but nice to Cissy at the same time, as if we can see the difference between her at Hogwarts and after she went mad after her Azkaban days.
Overall, PS, I really liked it :D

Author's Response: HANNAH YOU CAME BACK

Yes, the anxious disposition is very, ahem, me. And you know me, I'd never write a James/Lily unless I was held at gunpoint. Or unless JGL was held at gunpoint. IDK. Narcissa/Lucius is totally the bomb, ship-wise. They totally did not have an arranged marriage (hardcore shipping ftw.)

Overall, hdawg, I really liked your review. You really dance like a queen. These injokes are so irrelevant but I'm using them anyway.

Now let's go wait for some trains.


 Report Review

Review #8, by marciabarcia Five Sugars

30th August 2010:
I must say that was so sweet (pun intended). This is very well written and it had me hooked from the moment I started reading.

~S

Author's Response: Thank you very much! :)

PS.


 Report Review

Review #9, by Margravine Five Sugars

18th August 2010:
I LOVE THIS! And I didn't even guess she was you til the end, when I remembered you play piano.

I meant to leave you a review for Starving Artists, which was brilliant as usual, but was sidetracked on my way by your irresistable summary and bewitching banner!, Overall, it was very fresh, original and I think the gold star goes for actually managing to make it believable characterisation despite how different from fanon it is. I love that you put more to Narcissa, ESPECIALLY intellectual bigotry rather than just 'we hate muggles', was interested that you made Andromeda a weaker character than she usually is and I just can't tell you how much I enjoyed the society vs Narcissa theme you built up.

Add in the five sugars I get mocked for (Ok, I'm down to two, three at most, because I have 2-6 cups of tea a day and I want to live to middle age :P) and you have one of loveliest one shots I've read in some time!

Author's Response: Phew! It was believable enough after all! I was worried that I hadn't deviated from her character much at all! I had to keep the whole bigotry and 'muggles suck' thing in there so she could talk to Lucius, and, well, erm, it kind of went from there. As for Andromeda...well, I imagine Bella would be pretty terrifying when she's angry, hence Andromeda goes all weak and Narcissa has a panic attack. It must be amusing to watch (:

And, oh, the society vs Narcissa thing is thankfully not something I come across in real life, but I have a habit of completely ignoring simple rules and then getting shirty with people who try to correct me. Maybe I got that across? I don't know, but I like how much I did actually get across (:

A fellow five sugar-er! Even if you do cut down, then it's nice to see that I'm not the only one who needs half a ton of the granulated stuff to drink tea properly (:

Thank you very much for the lovely review! :D

PS.


 Report Review

Review #10, by Mistress Slytherin Five Sugars

12th August 2010:
I would like to say that I think that this is brilliant!!! You know those stories you see and think 'oh goody, that looks like a great story!' And then you start reading it and you go 'oh man...I was really hoping it was better than this.'
yeah, this isn't one of those times!!! ;) You definitely delivered and I think I'm going to go check out anything else you might have. I'm looking forward to more of your writing.
Love, Mistress Slytherin
Long Live the Queen

Author's Response: Ooh, that's nice of you to say! It's just a little something on the side for a challenge, so I'm glad you like it (:

Long live the queen! Or the force, or the chocolate, or whatever takes your fancy (:

PS.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login