Reading Reviews for True Gryffindor
  
18 Reviews Found

Review #1, by no namer Courage

7th April 2012:
I LOVE IT!
i feel so sorry for neville, how bad he must have felt.

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing :D I'm so happy to hear that you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #2, by BKL8008 Courage

6th April 2012:
I never would have thought this up. This is genius, and a perfect ending for poor Neville's first year. It just so touching and well written that I don't know what to say.

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing :) Neville is absolutely my favorite character in the HP-verse, so I'm exceedingly glad you liked this glimpse into the end of his first year at Hogwarts.

 Report Review

Review #3, by Maddy Courage

27th November 2011:
This was one of my favorite parts of the first book, and I really enjoyed hearing this from Neville's perspective. A very good story =) I liked the bit with Dumbledore, too- you portray him very nicely.

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing! I absolutely adore Neville, so I'm glad you liked this scene from his POV. I also appreciate your comments about Dumbledore. He was such a difficult character to write! I'm glad you thought he was portrayed well.

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #4, by Snapdragons Courage

7th September 2011:
Neville ♥ Oh, Neville is quite near and dear to my heart, and there's probably no one more adorable than little first year Neville. Your Neville was adorable! I sort of just wanted to give him a hug. :) All right, moving on from my love of Neville, to the story!

It was perfect. You really displayed the nervousness and worries of Neville and how he felt disappointed in himself, as if he was never enough.

Dumbledore was excellently done, too - he's seems to me to be one of the trickier characters to do, but you did a great job with him! I loved the reference to Grindelwald, and how he explained the different types of bravery, which is so true, isn't it?

I really enjoyed this. It brought a smile to my face! :) Wonderful work.

Author's Response: I love Neville, too :) I'm really glad you enjoyed this. Dumbledore is exceedingly hard to write (at least for me) so I'm glad you didn't think he was done too badly. I'm always a bit iffy about him.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing :)


 Report Review

Review #5, by MadamePuddifoot Courage

6th September 2011:
Wow! I really loved this! Both Neville and Dumbledore's characterisation is spot on . . It could have come straight out of the books! I thought it was very interesting to portray Neville as feeling guilty for trying to stop the Trio, as this is something I would never have considered!

I loved Dumbledore's dialogue as it sounds exactly like something he would say . . I actually found myself reading it in his voice! I particularly loved the small reference to his meeting with Grindelwald . . . A seemingly innocent statement with a deeper, more complex meaning behind it.

All in all, a fabulous story that's just as brilliant as all your others! 10/10

Author's Response: I'm really glad you enjoyed this story. I'm a huge fan of both Neville and Dumbledore, so it means a lot that you think I got them right.

I'm glad you liked the Grindelwald reference. I thought it was important and a really interesting parallel.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing! I love hearing from you :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by Bobby Dazzler Courage

6th September 2011:
Hello there, reviewing this for the Blue vs Bronze challenge going atm, and I had to have a chuckle when I looked at your authors page and it turned out I made the banner for this one. I just had to read it when I saw that, and I'm so glad I did. It was just such a beautiful little story about Neville, my absolute favourite character :)

I think you did absolute justice to his characterisation, and to the canon world within the first book. You really did a wonderful job of bringing that night to light via Neville's POV without relying too heavily upon the book itself, or drifting away from the plot.

I found the dialogue of Dumbledore particularly well written, it just reeked of his tone and manner, very well done! You really did his character justice too!

I haven't got a bad word to say about this, I found it extremely enjoyable and very well written, the pace and descriptions were excellent. Most enjoyable and yanoe what, I'm adding it to my favourites. I really loved it, and long live Neville :)

Have a lovely day! Bobby x

Author's Response: Hi :) When I first saw you on the forums a few days ago, I knew your name sounded familiar! I'm really glad you stopped by to read this story. And thanks again for the banner! I still really, really like it :)

Neville is my very favorite character, too. And Dumbledore is definitely in my top ten, so I'm glad you thought they were portrayed well. I'm always afraid I'm going to completely screw up the characters I love :P

Thanks for adding it to your favorites :) I really appreciate that and your review.

~Singularity


 Report Review

Review #7, by Pacific Wizard Courage

5th April 2011:
Singularity: Such an honest and sweet story about Neville. Very inspiring. Your story should be read to children from Kindergarten to Middle School. Maybe, someone will stand up to their friends when they are on the verge of getting into real trouble like bullying, or smoking and drinking or drugs. This story made me think back to those days and the times I saw these deeds, good and bad, played out in the classroom and the school yard. While you para-phrased JKR's story, your creative prose made the story vivid.

The dialogue between Neville and Dumbledore was awesome. It wasn't preachy. It was empathic and honest. There's that word again. Neville's insecurities and misgivings about his choices and abilities, because, like Harry, he never had a chance to bond with his parents, was brilliant. You took JKR's fabulous story line and made it relatable to a lot of people on a lot of different levels. That's a gift.

Many HPFF writers, while very good, end up retelling the JKR saga, putting in their own ideas and sub plots along the way. You tell your own story within the story and that's what makes it special for me.

As always: Well Done. PW

P.S. Been very busy. Love to work with you on some stories when I get it right and can be on the blogs.Aloha ~

Author's Response: PW, Thanks for another wonderful and in depth review. I'm really glad you enjoyed the dialogue between Neville and Dumbledore. Dumbledore is an intimidating character (for me at least) to write because he is so enigmatic and multi-faceted. He's not a preachy guy, so I'm glad it didn't come across that way.

Fanfiction for me is all about answering questions. Whether it's 'What was Neville thinking when he won the House Cup?' or 'Where the heck were Ron and Hermione when Harry was walking toward his death?' The only real way of answering these questions is to explore them yourself and reach your own conclusions.

Also, just an fyi, I have been extremely busy lately and haven't had much of a chance to write, but I did have a bit of a brainstorm the other day in regards to Lily and that story. I'm looking forward to discussing it with you when both of our lives calm down. So, extra incentive to join the forums! :)

Thank you for this review and for your continued interest in my stories.


 Report Review

Review #8, by DaBluBanana Courage

2nd January 2011:
Hooray for Neville!! You know, I never really thought much about how he would be feeling about all of this, but now that I really look at it all, he seems to grow up even more than any of the other characters throughout the series, doesn't he? I think that you are probably one of the most brilliant amateur writers I've come across! I've read several of your fanfics and they are amazingly well-crafted. You have a great gift for literature! Have you ever thought of writing a book and getting it published? I'm sure that you would do well. Thank you for another great story!

Author's Response: Absolutely hooray for Neville! He's one of my very favorite characters (because he is by far the most awesome character in the entire Potterverse).

I really appreciate all of your kind remarks. You're very sweet :* I don't write much original fiction because character development is hard for me, as is sustaining a longer plot. That's why I love playing with these characters that Jo did such a brilliant job developing and why I write so many one-shots. But who knows? Maybe one day I'll be struck with a brilliant original idea :)

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing :)


 Report Review

Review #9, by potterprincess07 Courage

28th September 2010:
This is beautiful! I always tear up at that part, especially in the movie, and reading the way that you wrote it in here made me sniffle (yes, really). Great, great job.

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing! I'm so glad that you enjoyed this story :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by ericajen Courage

27th September 2010:
Hey! Here with a review.

Okay. I really liked this. I think it is beautifully written, an amazing idea. All around awesomeness. Now I'll get more specific, haha.

I think the idea of writing and portraying Neville's feelings about this situation of him winning those last points that won Gryffindor the cup is incredibly interesting. It's one of those things I've never thought about in depth, which makes it all the more interesting to read in fanfiction, I think.

I loved the way you described Neville's feelings throughout. It was an incredible use of diction and it all seemed very well thought out. It was so well done I kind of wanted to jump into the story and give Neville a big bear hug, haha.

The entire thing flowed easily and without trouble and I didn't catch any issues with continuity, etc. I didn't spot any grammatical/spelling/punctuation errors. The only thing that caught my eye is something that I think only I really notice because I'm kind of weird about it and that is the fact that you used the word blunder twice. It's such a strange thing to comment on, I know, but I did notice it so I thought I'd mentioned it, haha. I'm just weird in that way; I always notice if words that aren't super common (such as blunder) are used more than once in a short time. It's not like it's a bad thing, it's just something I notice.

You mentioned concern about characterization and whether or not the story is realistic. I thought the characterization was SUPERB. Neville's was fantastic and the other truly remarkable thing in this was Dumbledore's characterization. While he was speaking, in my mind it was like he was actually saying it. Like it came through as HIS voice. It was great.

And I do think that this is realistic. Very realistic, in fact. We all know that Neville can be a bit self-conscious and that he tends to put himself down. I think you captured that, but also his inner courage and bravery, very well.

So I think you did an amazing, fantastic job! Reading and reviewing this was a pleasure, feel free to stop by my review thread anytime.

Erica.

Author's Response: Thanks for your great, in depth review, Erica! I'm especially grateful for your comments about the characterization. I'm glad that you found the story to be realistic and the characters to be...well, in character :P I'm going to go back and look for the blunder thing :P

Thanks again for your wonderful review! I really appreciate it :D


 Report Review

Review #11, by blueirony Courage

24th September 2010:
This is the type of writing I adore. You take a really small moment from the books and flesh the whole thing out and really draw the reader in. I never really thought too much about what Neville thought when he was awarded those ten points, but reading this made me really stop and think about it.

Some of the ideas you raised in this were so thought-provoking. The idea of courage. Of bravery. Of what a Gryffindor means. Of friendship. Of fear. Of confusion. Of low self-esteem. It's amazing how much you packed into this and I have a feeling that I am going to read this once more after I submit this review.

Your characterisations of both Neville and Dumbledore were spot on. You really got into Neville's mind and I could see that somewhat awkward, confused eleven-year-old in my mind's eye. I also think your dialogue for Dumbledore was excellent. He's a hard character to do right and I think you did very well.

My heart went out to Neville in this. Of the 'minor' character, he is probably the most developed in the books, but I think it's easy to forget that he has also been through a lot of hardship in his life. And it's stories like this that remind me of that fact.

Hope you enjoyed the challenge and I'm so sorry it took me forever and a half to get around to this review!

Joop :]

Author's Response: Thank you for the kind words and the sweet review. No worries about the wait :) I definitely enjoyed your challenge (although, in retrospect, several of my stories are 12+ with no warnings, so maybe it wasn't such a challenge for me...)

Neville is one of my favorite characters. I feel like he so often gets shoved into the background and his 'awesome' is overlooked because his courage is not the traditional 'knight in shining armor' kind.

Dumbledore is one of the most difficult characters to write because of his complexity, so I am really glad to hear that you think I've done a passable job with his character and dialogue.

Thanks for your review and your challenge :)


 Report Review

Review #12, by PEDDO Courage

7th September 2010:
This is the sweetest thing I've ever read. Loved it

Author's Response: Aww, thanks :* I'm glad you enjoyed it.

 Report Review

Review #13, by MissBusselle Courage

27th August 2010:
This needs more reviews.

Firstly, because of its originality, and secondly, for its characterization.

Everyone else is writting smutty/dramatic/cliche stuff about all these non-heard of couples and mary-sues; and here you are, writing something, awesome, simple and based solely on the books.

I say you ROCK at canon!!!

Author's Response: Thanks :* I really appreciate the compliment, and am really glad that you enjoyed the premise and characterization. I love canon and try really hard to stick to it as often as possible.

I don't know how long you been at HPFF, but I highly recommend searching around a bit more. The majority of the stories I have read have been really amazing and you can often find stories that stick pretty well to canon if that's what you're interested in.

Cheers!


 Report Review

Review #14, by schoenemaedchen Courage

26th August 2010:
Hi there! Schoenemaedchen here with your review.

So, as I started reading I got really excited. I thought...what a great concept! What a great way to write about Neville--from a spot in the books where we never saw inside his head!

You mentioned you wanted some perspective on the characterization of Neville and Dumbledore. I think you got Neville down very well. Neville is a great character in terms of his development throughout the books, and you really captured him at the beginning of this change!

I also think you did a good job with Dumbledore. Dumbledore is actually one of my favorite characters. He has an air about him that's less like a professor and more wise! I think you brought a lot of his wisdom forth here in your story. The only thing I'm not so sure about...when Dumbledore had talks with Harry alone, he didn't constantly address him as Mr. Potter. He usually addressed him directly as Harry. I think in a private conversation, Dumbledore would address Neville directly by his first name.

I also really loved how you integrated Neville's parents into Dumbledore's last wise words! That really put the icing on the cake for me.

If I have any CC, it would be picky proofreading things that stuck out to me while I was reading. A few would be:

"Harry, Ron, and Hermione had been very heroic and had saved a priceless magical artifact, something apparently called the Philosopher's stone...whatever that is" Since your story is told in simple past, I think your is at the end should be a was.

And her at the end, " I shouldn't have try to stop them"...I think you mean I shouldn't have tried to stop them.

There were a few small things like this, so I think a quick read through and review would be worth it.

These points are only quite minor though. Great concept and great job!!!

Author's Response: I'm excited that you're excited! Have I mentioned that I love your reviews? Because I love your reviews...just saying :)

I'm glad you liked the idea. I love Neville. He's my favorite character (I like Dumbledore a lot as well). I was challenged to write a missing moment from SS, so I reread the book and this jumped out at me (probably because I had just written my 'I want to be Neville Longbottom!' blog).

But enough about me...you have a valid point about Dumbledore. As I was rereading it, the over use of 'Mr. Longbottom' did kind of stand out to me, so I'll probably go back and fix it. My thought was, that Dumbledore continues to call him Mr. Longbottom over and over again in a very professional manner, but at the end, when he says that Neville has characteristics of his parents, he finally calls him Neville. Obviously doesn't work though :P Most of my attempts to be clever don't.

You're also right about the proofreading, however, I got myself a beta, so the beta'd version should be up in a couple days. Hopefully that will take care of most of those problems.

Thanks again for a wonderful review :) I'm really glad you enjoyed the story.


 Report Review

Review #15, by witch_in_training Courage

20th August 2010:
This adds so much depth to that scene! I never considered that Neville must have felt like he did the wrong thing by trying to stop Harry, Ron, and Hermione. It was very observant of you to come to this conclusion. And the part where Dumbledore remembers having to fight Grindelwald... fantastic detail. You seem to have an eye for that sort of thing.

Loved the entire idea behind this! Neville and Dumbledore were very believably in-character, and it was just so heartwarming.

Sami

Author's Response: Thank you for the really sweet compliments and reviews. I'm glad that you enjoyed the story and characterizations. Thanks again!

 Report Review

Review #16, by Maybe Courage

20th August 2010:
Really, really well written and your characterisation of Neville is spot on; he is very doubtful of himself, not confident and feels so happy when compared to his parents - so Neville!

Dumbledore too - the perfect mix of wisdom and whimsicalness. Adding in the touch of cockroach clusters just put the cherry on top of a wonderfully portrayed character! Also, that is very like him to explain by asking questions.

Cute little Neville one-shot :D

Author's Response: Thank you, my lovely beta :) I'm really glad that you enjoyed my characterizations of Neville and Dumbledore. Neville is one of my very favorite characters, and Dumbledore is one of the hardest for me to write, so I'm glad you thought that I did them justice. Thanks again for your review and for your help!

 Report Review

Review #17, by PenguinsWillReignSupreme Courage

11th August 2010:
I found this when I was lurking on TDA and caught sight of 'first year Neville' and my attention was captured immediately.

I thought this was one of the most adorable, accurate, believable pieces that I've read in fanfiction that deals with this era. I very, very rarely venture into Hogwarts era stories but the way that you took this well known canon moment and twisted it into another person's perspective worked so well.

I am such a huge Neville fan and to watch this confidence crisis unfold here, and see his youthfulness and timidity really shine through was so refreshing. It could have fallen out of the book and you wrote it tactfully, carefully and I can tell it took effort which is always fantastic to see.

Dumbledore was spot on. Richard Harris absolutely loomed in the front of my mind for this. He is so difficult to get right and I think you've done a fantastic, true to canon job with him here. It's rare to see but he just oozed Dumbledore.

A clever, unique story and thoroughly enjoyable. Well done ^_^

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your lovely review! I really appreciate your kind words. Neville is one of my favorite characters, so I'm glad that you (especially as a fellow Neville fan) thought that I captured his character relatively well.

I was really concerned about the way I wrote Dumbledore. He's one of the hardest characters for me, so I'm glad that you found him to be in character as well.

Thank you so much for reading and taking the time to review! It made my day :)


 Report Review

Review #18, by Jen Courage

11th August 2010:
Aw... I'm all teary. :) I just adore Neville... He always seemed like the most real of the "secondary" characters. Great story, thanks.

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing! I just love Neville, so I'm glad you enjoyed this story :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login