Reading Reviews for Slytherin Support
  
11 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Moonyxluna Scorpius Support

5th April 2012:
aww! Albus! of course your mom and dad wouldn't care! This was such an adorable continuation of Slytherins stick together. Scorpius' sarcasm and Albus' aprehension were portrayed perfectly.

I loved how you had Scorpius interupt him in the middle of reading the letter! It was just something little, but it made me laugh :)

The chocolate! That was a lovely touch at the end, incorporating a bit of Albus' childhood with Lupin, and with Scorpius mentioning the pudding.

Same as the rest of your writing, I really enjoyed this! I'm so glad I got to take the time to read your work-- it's really fantastic!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for all the lovely reviews! They really meant a lot!
:)BaletGir


 Report Review

Review #2, by forsakenphoenix Scorpius Support

30th January 2012:
I love Albus-is-Sorted-into-Slytherin stories where Scorpius becomes his best friend! I love how easily they've become such fast friends in this and it shows how well Albus fits in anywhere, but definitely proves he won't have any problems with the Slytherins either.

I thought it was very amusing how he kept apologizing to his parents for getting Sorted into Slytherin. Poor Albie! Ginny and Harry's letter to him was great - very parental and bursting with love and pride. You can tell they think great things of him, especially if they see him as finally uniting the Houses. ;)

I wonder what the real reason behind the four day gap was, though. Though I have no idea how long it'd take an owl to fly from Hogwarts to the Potters' house, so maybe that's normal and Albus was just freaking out over nothing. I love how Scorpius kept trying to reassure him that they wouldn't be mad, by the way. That was really sweet and it showed a nice side to Scorpius that made him so unlike his father, but still with that quick Malfoy wit.

A few minor corrections: you wrote sorting hat in lower cases but it's a proper noun in the HP world so it should be capitalized.

Pausing for a moment, Scorpius starts to get aggravated, "Just do it already!" - comma after aggravated should be a period.

"It does not say that! No one calls me Albie," - that comma after Albie should be a period.

Other than that, this was really well-written and I enjoyed it. Short and sweet. :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I really enjoyed writing this piece, I love Next-Gen so much!

Thanks for the corrections, this really needs an update, so I'll be sure to fix those as soon as I get around to updating the entire thing!

As for the time it took the owl to get there, I'll be honest, I have no idea why. I have a few possibilities, but I never really decided on one. I like leaving something up to the reader to ponder over.

I'm glad you seemed to enjoy this!
Thanks,
:)BaletGir


 Report Review

Review #3, by lunarocks14 Scorpius Support

1st December 2010:
Aawwh, I wanna call him Albie! ALBIE-DUCKY! :D I wants one. I love him :) 10/10 amazing.

Author's Response: Albie, I love that name, but I knew that there wasn't anyone I could realistically call him that, so that's why it was thrown in the way it was. Albie-Ducky. can you get me one too? Thanks again for the review, it means a lot that you read both pieces!
:)BaletGir


 Report Review

Review #4, by Unwritten Curse Scorpius Support

29th October 2010:
This is adorable! :)

Albus is so cute. Apologizing for getting into Slytherin. I love that! It's so realistic! But my favorite part was the letter. I seriously felt like my mom had written it. Haha. You've got the motherly tone down so well. I could just sense how much she loved and missed him (even though it had only been a day).

Scorpius... cracked me up. He's such a jerk! But in a friendly way. I like their relationship in this one-shot. It's great to see a Potter and a Malfoy getting along(ish).

All around, great one-shot. This makes me want to read more of your work. :)

xxx
Gina

Author's Response: Wow, I am glad you found it so realistic and possibly relatable? That really is great to hear! I loved writing Scorpius, he's kind of confused about the friendship, since he doesn't really care who Albus is, but knows that he should.
:)BaletGir


 Report Review

Review #5, by celticbard Scorpius Support

23rd August 2010:
Hi baletgir!
I'm here from the TGS Review Exchange to take a look at your story. This was a very cute one-shot. I must say your characterizations were wonderful. After only a thousand words or so, I had a perfect idea of what Albus, Scorpius and even the Potters were like. The fact that Albus and Scorpius have become friends so quickly makes me believe that Albus will have no trouble fitting in with his Slytherin housemates and the rest of his class.

I also really enjoyed your take on Scorpius. He is refreshingly different from his father, sharp, witty and funny, without a trace of brooding.

Also, leave it to a Potter to be a trail-blazer in creating house unity. And it seems as though Albus's parents already have a sense of his potential.

The only thing that left me wondering was the four day gap between Albus's letter and his parents'. Why did it take them so long to write? I highly doubt they disapproved of Albus being placed in Slytherin. It would have been interesting to see how you resolved that particular issue, but then again, this is your story and I wouldn't want to influence your style. After all, you've given me something to think about and that's a good thing!

I really enjoyed reading this one-shot, baletgir. Thanks for posting it!

Best,
celticbard

Author's Response: Thank you so much for such a nice review, celticbard! I am so glad that you enjoyed reading this.

The four days. Tehehe, I wanted a real reason for Albus to worry, something that was reasonable, and that was what I came up with. I honestly want to say the reason it wasn't mentioned was because it's Albus' POV and it didn't come into play during this time, but that isn't the truth. I had a few ideas as to why but never decided which I liked best, which is why an explanation wasn't included.

:)BaletGir


 Report Review

Review #6, by alicia and anne Scorpius Support

18th August 2010:
I want Harry as my dad, just so I can have all the chocolate :-D I really like Scorpius in this and I'm glad that both of them are friends now. Poor Albus worried about his letter and I'm sure that the family owl just wasn't around and that Ginny and Harry weren't angry. Once again I enjoyed your one shot.

10/10

Author's Response: Hahaha, me too! That is such a wonderful idea! I am so glad you enjoyed this one as well! In my head, they were kind of shocked at first, didn't really have a chance to be angry. Thanks for the review again!
:)BaletGir


 Report Review

Review #7, by Ms Malfoy Scorpius Support

18th August 2010:
This was good, although I didn't think it was equal to the other one. I still liked it, although it didn't have the same effect on me.

I actually don't know what it is, I just thought it needed more flare or something. It was stilll good though :)

My favourite line was probably "How adorable, Albie." It was funny and cute, and I can imagine him saying it.

Again, nice work :)

Author's Response: Well, if you can put your finger on exactly what it was missing, please do let me know! (send me a PM). I am glad you still seemed to enjoy it, and I and I am so happy you liked that line! I almost took it out a few times. Thanks again for the review!
:)BaletGir


 Report Review

Review #8, by Galawen Scorpius Support

15th August 2010:
Aw poor Albus! I'm curious myself now to know why it took them four days to respond! I like how Albus and Scorpius already seem to have assaigned roles in their friendship even so quickly; Albus the worrier and maybe slightly more timid and Scorpius the bolder, teasing guy. Of course those aspects of their personality might have only come across because of the situation I guess! Still I liked this, good work :)

Author's Response: Can I be perfectly honest? I don't know why it took them so long to respond. Haha, it just felt like a good reason to make Al worry, but I have a few ideas as to why, just haven't picked one. I am glad you saw defined personalities, I always hope to make my characters come across as I see them. Thanks for the review!
:)BaletGir


 Report Review

Review #9, by Capella Black Scorpius Support

15th August 2010:
Heya. Thanks so much for replying to my plea - if you hadn't I might never have found this lovely story, and that would definitely have been my loss!

Well, if you were looking for constructive criticism, I might let you down, as I really only have good things to say. The plot? Unique, and powerful - I'd never even considered what it must be like to be sorted into the "wrong" house, but this piece perfectly captures the uncertainty of the moment, where the character wants to be happy with the lot he's been cast, but also wants to fulfil his parent's expectations.

The characterisations? Surprisingly well developed in such a short space, and spot on in terms of canon - that letter of Ginny's is exactly the right mix of familial support and no-nonsense straight-talking. The boys too, seem exactly as I'd picture them, and actually sound like eleven year olds, which can sometimes be a failing. In particular, I love that you have Remus described simply as Teddy's dad - that really hit me as some nice attention to detail.

The POV was a bit unusual - first person present tense - but you kept to it consistently and it actually added to the uncertain feel of the piece. Honestly, there's just nothing to criticise on, unless I get truly pedantic and point out the Americanism of spelling colour without a u, but that would be sad.

Loved it - it's a rare treat to read a story that's focussed on something other than romance, and this manages to be far more interesting!

Author's Response: Awww thank you so much for the kind review. I am thrilled you thought the characterizations were well developed, that is a big thing for me, that I really give the characters a personality. And Ginny, I say this all the time, but she scares me so much to write. I love her to death too, but I just try to avoid her at all costs because I feel I won't be able to do her justice.

I'm surprised to hear that you think first person present to be unusual. It's my favorite tense and POV to write in. I find it easiest! COLOUR!! Ahh thank you for pointing that out! haha and thanks again for the review!
:)BaletGir


 Report Review

Review #10, by amy Scorpius Support

15th August 2010:
i liked this one shot its a good read

Author's Response: Thank you so much! You know this was a sequel right? Not that it matters for you to read the other one first, just wondering if you prefer one or the other.
:)BaletGir


 Report Review

Review #11, by Jenna822 Scorpius Support

10th August 2010:
This made me go "Awww" Scorpius was so adorable and Albus was like...real. He felt real, well done. It was a lovely one shot and I'm so glad that you entered the challenge. :D Very creative way to use the color and goodness, you pushed my 'YAY Remus' button on a Next-Gen. LOL

Just a thought, with the letter, you might wanna give it an offset, like the "blockquote" thing, just to make it wasier to read. All aesthetic stuff. Very well done. :D --Jenna

Author's Response: Yay! I am so glad! And thank you for creating the challenge and giving me this idea! I am thrilled you found Albus to be real, I was afraid this was going to be too cliche and he was going to be plain and boring. I'm not sure what you mean/how to blockquote the letter, I am going to PM you on the Forums, just a heads up!
:)BaletGir


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login