Reading Reviews for Harbor
  
34 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Hassan Harbor

21st August 2013:
You did a hell of job.Please tell me what is your secret?It was amazing.

Author's Response: I'm not sure I really have a secret, I just write things as I see them in my head! Thank you so much, I'm really pleased that you liked the story :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by Beeezie Harbor

17th July 2013:
Oh my god. OH MY GOD. When I saw the title "Harbor," I wanted to read it because of the Vienna Teng song (which I love so much and has been stuck in my head for days), but I never dreamed that it would be using it! I am so excited right now.

And then you followed that up immediately with the phrase, "You're in a brown study." Which I love. I don't usually like songfics all that much, but you have won me over.

And the story was good, too. :P

Harry and Ginny as a couple often don't engage me. I don't dislike them - I just don't really feel deeply invested in them, you know? But in this, you made me care. You convinced me of their affection. You made me understand what Ginny was going through in this, and I loved it.

Amazing job. Again. (And squee, Vienna Teng!)

House Cup 2013 - Ravenclaw

Author's Response: I love that song! She has such a beautiful voice. So angelic. And I do love some mother/daughter moments. And some Molly-isms. I love writing her voice, however briefly.

I actually quite like Harry and Ginny. I absolutely think Ginny is the only for Harry - her experience being possessed by Voldypoo leaves her one of few able to really understand what he's been through, and he needs that. I do think he loves her a lot. I always enjoy selling people on my favorite ships, so I'm glad I could sucker you into Harry/Ginny. Thank you for reviewing!

Vienna Teng high-five!


 Report Review

Review #3, by Athene Goodstrength Harbor

19th January 2013:
Hi! I need to start with a HUGE, Hagrid-sized apology for being so late to return my half of the Holiday Review swap. Ill health and academia got in the way of my HPFF life. I’ve had this story open in a tab for weeks now, looking forward to reviewing it... so here I am!

I really enjoyed this one-shot. Ginny is one of my absolute favourite characters, but she does get a bad rap in the FF world - but I feel that your Ginny is so perfectly written, she feels like JKR’s Ginny.

Your characterization of Molly is delightful. She’s kind, thoughtful, a little bit all-knowing, and she has such a good understanding of her children. I love the maternal pride she shows when Ginny tells her what she gave Harry.

My heart actually leapt when I realised what the gift was going to be. It’s just perfect... to me, that is now in my headcanon. And you wrote the moment so very beautifully, the thoughts whirling around in Ginny’s head and the feeling she puts into the kiss are just lovely. I particularly like the way you have her turning away so that she doesn’t have to see Harry shut her out again... it’s sad and understandable and shows us a real depth to Ginny’s feelings.

I’ll make sure to listen to that song... the lyrics seem spot-on with this story, although I found them a little off-putting when it came to the flow of the writing.

I tried to pick out a favourite line, but there were too many, but I eventually whittled it down to two.

This one: ‘He's a hero, Mum, like Achilles or Odysseus, and I can't just play Penelope, waiting patiently for his return. I don't see how anyone who knew me could expect I would.’ - This is perfect. Just perfect!

This: ‘“Maybe Harry needs something more from you than another companion to fight with,” Molly said lightly, a few minutes later.
“Like what?”
Molly touched her daughter's cheek. “Even heroes need shelter from the storm, Ginny.”’ - Ah, the eternal wisdom of Molly Weasley. This is so tender and lovely.

This story is sensitively written, with some really clever and touching ideas. I really enjoyed reading it (adding to my favourites) and you’re right about that banner - it’s stunning!

Athene xo

Author's Response: About the lyrics, I'll be honest, I find songfics awkward to read. I don't normally write them (out of 34 stories, 2 are songfics), but this song made me think of the Harry/Ginny ship so I went with it. When I read songfics, I usually skip over the lyrics XD

I'm glad you're feeling better! Sickness over holidays is bad, but during exams is even worse. Yuck.

I adore Molly, she's forever my favorite HP character. Probably why I've written about her so much ;) Molly is my homegirl. And Ginny I really like, even though she gets a lot of crap from the fandom. I don't get that, I think she's an interesting character. Anyway I try to write her that way, not the usual fanfic version of Ginny.

Thank you so much for the lovely review! I'm really glad you enjoyed the story, and thank you for the kind words!


 Report Review

Review #4, by ginwannabe Harbor

23rd September 2012:
Now I want to go back and re-read HBP and DH, but I'm only on Chamber of Secrets (in my latest round of reading the entire series... pretty sure this makes my 10th round, lol). Lovely as ever, my dear.

Author's Response: OMG you're here! Hey you, it's good to see you! I'm really glad you liked this one :D I think I've read the books about 10-12 times. Some more than others!

Thanks for reviewing! *hugs*


 Report Review

Review #5, by Jchrissy Harbor

29th June 2012:
Okay. I'm trying to figure out the best place to start to make an actually decent review and not just gush all over you.

I have never felt connected to Ginny and Harry. I love them, obviously, I think they belong together, and I think Harry Potter is an amazing protagonist. But, I have never felt like I wanted to get lost in the feelings of their emotions.

This did it for me. I think bringing alive two people that I've always felt disconnected from their relationship, shows how great your talent is more than by just blubbering about what I liked. But, I can't help myself so I'll do that too ;).

I saw your recommendation in CambAngst post, and I actually crossed my fingers that it was a song fic to Harbor, and not just the title. I LOVE that song, so I was excited when it was.

You used the lyrics in such a perfect way. You didn't write the story around them, they don't make the story, they wouldn't need to even be in it, but they enhance it. They give it that soft, gentle, painful, surrendering kind of feel. That might be a person bias because of my feelings for the song, but I really like that you didn't let the song write the fic. You write it and let the song be part of it.

This line:
Molly touched her daughter's cheek. “Even heroes need shelter from the storm, Ginny.”-

That is so special and sacred. Ginny didn't think Molly was going to be helpful, because every teenage girl things that their mother will never understand. But not only was she helpful, she possibly saved their relationship. Ginny could have very easily gotten fired up, and pushed herself away from Harry. Instead, the knowledge that she could help, and it would be in a different way than anyone else ever was able to, strengthened her.

I don't think skipping over parts of the DH was took anything from it, this was a story about them. We know what happened, it was so much better to read the feelings going on inside Ginny during it as opposed to a restating of what was going on.

This was amazing, beautiful, and really pulled at my heart strings.

Thanks for recommending it in CambAngst's status!

Author's Response: Oh you're making me blush! And grin! Blushing and grinning! Thank you so much for the compliments on my writing, it means a lot to me.

I adore this song! I'm glad I found someone else who likes it ;) And I'm glad I could convert you to Harry/Ginny a bit more! I really like this ship.

I like songfics where the lyrics can be ignored, or they can enhance. And I've only done two of them, because the songs just screamed to me to write a certain ship (the other is to Missy Higgins' "Forgive Me", for Remus & Tonks). I felt like this song was just perfect for this point in Harry & Ginny's relationship, it really speaks to me for them, you know?

Molly Prewett Weasley is always going to be my #1 favorite character in the HP books, because she's the first one I connected with, related to. So I enjoy giving her moments in stories where she can be the great mom she is and not the shouting/screaming irrational disciplinarian she is often portrayed as in fanfics. Heck, I devoted two novels, a novella, and a bunch of one-shots to her and Arthur. I adore Molly. So featuring her in here in a mentor sort of position for her daughter was a given for me :)

I'm glad the story works with glossing over the plot points that weren't directly relevant ;)

Thank you so much for the lovely review! I really appreciate it!


 Report Review

Review #6, by CambAngst Harbor

29th June 2012:
Thanks for recommending this in your comment on my status. This story is really, really lovely.

You tackled a subject in this story that an awful lot of post-Deathly Hallows fics dance around. You gave me a truly believable, very well thought out and emotionally connected "bridge" that takes Ginny from the hurt and anger she must have felt after Harry broke up with her to the love and devotion she feels for him during the final battle and in the aftermath of the war. I thought it was spectacularly well done.

Starting from Molly and Ginny's conversation, you laid out a well-paced and realistic progression of her feelings for Harry. First, she has to come to terms with why Harry couldn't be with her and fight Voldemort at the same time. The angle that you chose to play up, the fact that he couldn't possibly be at his best while worrying about her safety, is a slightly different twist from what I've read in most fics and it's a clever observation.

Once she accepts that he broke up with her because he loves her, it allows her to continue loving him back, even though she can't be with him. Your next big leap is having her figure out what Harry truly needs from her. I'm sure that her quiet support and acceptance meant the world to him. The knowledge that he had something to look forward to if he survived the war certainly must have helped on the long, cold, hungry nights in the tent. It was a precious gift.

Your writing was fantastic in this piece. Everything flowed nicely. You had a great mix of narrative and dialog/monologue. It was a very easy read.

Thank you so much for your recommendation. This was just what I was in the mood for!

Author's Response: Thank you for coming to read & review! I really appreciate it, and I'm so glad you enjoyed the story.

I wrote this in part because I wanted to work through how Ginny could step back so maturely at such a young age (she is only 16 here, after all). And while Ginny and Harry are one of my favorite couples, a lot of people dislike her, so I wanted to give her a sympathetic view, so to speak. I'm glad you think I handled her processing-of-emotion well here :)

I think, though Harry didn't say it explicitly, he would have worried far more about Ginny than he did about Ron and Hermione. He knows all three can fight, and cares deeply about all three, but it wouldn't be the same with his two friends as with the girl he loves. So I tried to articulate that in her feelings and the conversation with Molly. I used a similar tack in the one-shot I did for the Final Battle site collab, writing Molly's duel in DH from Arthur's perspective - he doesn't dare try to help or interrupt, in case the distraction comes at a crucial moment for her.

Her quiet support - exactly! I think that's what she was really trying to show Harry by the birthday kiss, that he did have a future, so I wrote it that way. Of course, Harry was a bit stuck on his confrontation with Voldemort at the time and couldn't see past it, but it certainly kept her in his mind.

Thank you so much for the beautiful review! I really enjoyed reading it :D


 Report Review

Review #7, by kjb Harbor

2nd February 2012:
Wow. I love this little scene. Very well done!

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Alopex Harbor

3rd January 2012:
This is the first of the reviews for the Boys in the Kitchen challenge (though I would have gotten back to your page sooner or later no matter what).

This was actually a really sweet story! I enjoyed it far more than I thought I would. For one, I'm not a big fan of song fics. Two, Ginny is not my favorite character, and I rarely enjoy her in fanfiction stories.

Ginny was far less petulant than I was expecting. I was expecting some whining and yelling, which is how she seems to behave in fanfic if she isn't being a perfect dream girl. I suppose the talk with Molly helped, but I really thought Ginny took a rather mature track here . . . she acknowledged her rightfully hurt feelings but also considered Harry's perspective.

You did a good job of explaining Harry's motivations too. The readers will already relate to him, I suppose, from the books, but it was nice to read it with a slightly different focus, in relation to Ginny's thoughts.

I loved the part where Ginny was thinking Fred and George could help her avoid the Trace!

And yes, the banner is gorgeous. :D

Author's Response: I'm not a fan of songfics either, actually. Weird cause I've written two of them now. It just happened. It wasn't my fault. ;) I do like Ginny though, although she does get mishandled a lot in fanfics.

I actually don't see Ginny as whiny or petulant. She really never behaved that way in the books. She takes things pretty well in stride, it seems. The only time she snaps at anyone is when Harry's being an angsty teenager going "you don't know my life!" kind of whining, and she reminds him that she knows exactly. Brings him up short, too, so it was very effective. She accepted their break-up quite maturely, so I just gave her a bit extra processing of it with her mom, but otherwise her reaction is in keeping with canon (how I read it, anyway). When he tells her, she just says "it's for some stupid, noble reason, isn't it?" I think she gets him, and his motivations, pretty well.

I'm sure Fred & George could dodge the Trace without breaking a sweat! ha.

Thanks so much for the review, I always love reading your reviews :)


 Report Review

Review #9, by tangledconstellations Harbor

3rd October 2011:
Hey lovely!

Another wonderful one-shot :) This sure is pretty, and really tugs at my heart strings! I love that Harry and Ginny provide each other with comfort. It's always the image that's lodged in my mind and I guess it always will be. It's their purpose.

I love that you haven't skimmed over Ginny's fiery nature, and her pure defiance at Harry's break up. I can imagine she would totally act like that, but at the same time in the back of her mind understand it is for the best. It just needed coaxing out of her. Molly, too, was adorable, and I read everything in her voice, haha! I love the way you write, the way you capture each character individually. It's really impressive and effective!

I really enjoyed reading this, because all of the tones of their relationship were layed out perfectly. Addressing what you said in your AN, I don't think it mattered that you swept over some details. I think it made it work all the more. After all, key, central and striking moments will be the ones in Ginny's mind. :)

Wonderful! Laura xxx

Author's Response: I have always shipped Harry/Ginny because I think they complement each other so well - and really, no one else but Ginny (possessed by Voldemort at age 11) could possibly understand Harry's experience with him. She's got a drop in the bucket compared to him, maybe, but the others just didn't even get it. She does.

Anyway, I think Ginny would be defiant about it, yes, but she's too proud to make a scene or beg him not to do it when he breaks up with her. It's just not her. She thinks he's an idiot, but she's there when he's ready to come back.

Writing the mother-daughter moments was probably my favorite part of this, along with showing the birthday kiss from Ginny's view. I'm so glad you liked it! And thank you very much for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #10, by DetectiveMenace Harbor

10th September 2011:
I first read this story a couple weeks ago, and it's taken me this long to update. I'm probably going to pull a Dobby and start maiming myself while screaming, "BAD HANNAH!" Because really, not only was this an amazing and insightful fic, it also opened my eyes to Vienna Teng and her one-of-a-kind music. I gave Harbor a listen, and I agree - it's so beautiful! So thank you for that :D
To get back on track, I felt that the comparison between Ginny and Penelope was brilliant. It was one I would never have thought of, yet as soon as I finished reading this, I felt like hitting myself over the head (again, "BAD HANNAH!") for not realizing it sooner.
I felt like you really stayed true to Ginny's personality and I can imagine a conversation like this really occurring between Mrs. Weasley and her daughter.
Some favorite quotes:
""Men like to protect. It seems to be in Harry's nature more than most."" SO true! Harry so old-fashioned! XD

""He's a hero, Mum, like Achilles or Odysseus, and I can't just play Penelope, waiting patiently for his return. I don't see how anyone who knew me could expect I would.""

""Even heroes need shelter from the storm, Ginny."” I found this line really inspiring, for some reason. I don't know what I feel inspired to do - maybe listen to Harbor yet again?

"But she watched him, and saw in his eyes that he didn't really think he was coming back from all this. There was a fatalism to him now that he hadn't had before."

Alright, so that about wraps my random, long, digressive, most likely unintelligible review. And just because I HAVE to say it again, AMAZING story!

Author's Response: Isn't Vienna Teng wonderful? I love her voice, so beautiful. I'm glad I could introduce you to her music :) The Penelope analogy I thought was appropriate - she's being forced into the role, and it doesn't entirely suit her, though she played it well enough when she had to, because she loves him.

I'm really glad you liked the story, and thank you for coming to leave a review on it!


 Report Review

Review #11, by Hope's Mom Harbor

25th August 2011:
This is sweet and lovely. Ginny must have felt rather shunted aside in favor of Ron and Hermione. I like Molly's words of wisdom to her daughter. After giving her gift to Harry Ginny went on to fight in her own way at Hogwarts. Thank you so much for writing!

Author's Response: I think Ginny would have been rather hurt that he wanted Ron and Hermione along but not her. So I gave her mom a chance to explain why he might not want her along. And she did get to join the final battle, she was probably glad for that. Thank you for the review!

 Report Review

Review #12, by Jet LaBarge Harbor

31st July 2011:
There is a reason you are one of my favorite authors. I know I've read this before, but I find myself going back to good authors, a small group, and re-reading. I think you have captured Ginny, and a small slice of the emotions during the war. Nothing to apologize for! Can't write just Rose and Scorpius.

Author's Response: Actually I've written way more Molly/Arthur than I have Rose/Scorpius. I've just been writing Rose more recently :) Thank you so much! I'm really glad you liked this, and especially that you liked it enough for a re-read. Thank you for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #13, by Linaewen Harbor

28th June 2011:
I always wondered what went through Ginny's head after Harry broke up with her, and what exactly brought her to kiss him on his birthday rather than insisting he take her along. This story summed everything up beautifully; essentially, I've adopted this version of events as canon in my head.

I've read a bunch of your other stories, and I have to say, you write Molly's perspective quite well. I can't wait to see what else you come up with next :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad you liked it :) I really enjoy writing Molly's perspective. I haven't written much from Ginny's POV, but I did like it in this one. I think it was probably best for Ginny to have that month or so apart from Harry after Dumbledore's funeral in which to process their break-up. And I do think her mom would've helped her ;) Thank you for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #14, by MrsWeasleyGrint Harbor

30th May 2011:
Gosh, this is amazing! You are so talented. This story alone made me love ginny/harry 10X more (though i loved them already). Good job!!

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I really like the ship, but I don't always find it easy to write, for some reason. I'm glad you liked the story! :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by TheWorldISee Harbor

14th April 2011:
Are you kidding me? I love this song-fic! Ginny is a fascinating character to me because we don't know a lot about her despite the fact that she's he main character's love interest. It's great to think about this point in time from Ginny's p.o.v. You've written Ginny and Molly's relationship beautifully. Just the way I would think Molly would be with her only daughter. And the song is just beautiful, I can see why it inspired you to write this story. Wonderful job, I loved it!

Author's Response: Thank you! The song is so beautiful, I really wanted to do it justice in a songfic. You're right, we don't really know much about Ginny. Harry, being a teenage boy, isn't terribly observant about girls in the books, except that they're pretty and which ones cry too much. haha. I think Molly probably is quite close with her only daughter, especially after all those boys. She seems very close with Bill, too.

Thank you so much for the lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #16, by Sincerely_Snape Harbor

20th February 2011:
This was absolutely wonderful! I always had a hard time with the Harry and Ginny pair in the novels, but after reading this, I feel better about them. It was so well written! The song made this so much more too. It brought a good quality to it.

Author's Response: I've always been pretty fond of Harry/Ginny, actually, so I'm glad to convert a few people to the ship ;) This song is really beautiful, I thought it worked well for the pairing. Thank you very much!

 Report Review

Review #17, by DemetersChild Harbor

24th January 2011:
Wow, this is just beautiful. I had chills from a few paragraphs in until the end. I can't say I'm a huge Harry/Ginny shipper--I think they belong together sure enough, but I don't read many stories about them. This, however, was wonderful. I love when we get to see a side of something that was left out of the books. Harry struggled being away from Ginny, but Ginny struggled as well.

This reminded me a lot of when fishermen would go out to see for months and the wives just had to wait at home until they returned. There was nothing for them to do but wait and keep the house ready for whenever they would climb back up the shore and just hope that their last goodbye wasn't forever.

There was one thing I noticed, when Molly is explaining some things to Ginny you wrote "she never thought of it in those terms before" twice in a rather short period. Something you might want to change.

This was a truly magnificent read. It flowed beautifully and though it did skim over many details, it wasn't necessary for us to know exactly what was going on to understand the feeling.

Magically Yours,

Dem

Author's Response: Ah thank you, I will fix that - hadn't noticed the repetition before (I have to admit, I did very little editing on this one).

The fishermen analogy, yes. I really liked the Odysseus/Penelope too, although of course Harry won't be gone so long as Odysseus was. Penelope was smart and brave in her own right, and faithful. I do think Harry needed to see that he had a future waiting - of course he didn't quite get it at that point, but I do think it helped.

Thank you so much for reviewing, I really enjoyed hearing what you thought of this story. Glad you liked it too!


 Report Review

Review #18, by RumbleroarRedvines Harbor

1st January 2011:
That was beautiful. I loved it! Thanks for writing a great story!

Author's Response: Thank you very much!

 Report Review

Review #19, by Now that's a secret ;).. Harbor

22nd December 2010:
This was breathtaking, honestly. The few lines you put in this just made me feel Ginny's emotion.

I'm a big Harry/Ginner shipper and I love their relationship, I believe that only Ginny could be the right girl for Harry.. I can't imagine anyone else would be able to deal with him.
I love how you've kept Ginny strong, but still been able to show her disagreement and emotion.

"Shelter" - That just made me smile. It was adorable, but sad. It's good to know they end up together in the end huh. (Well If your a canon fan like myself!)

Lotsa love.
Merry christmas.
xxx

Author's Response: A secret Santa review? How cool! Thank you for coming by and reading my story :)

I totally agree, Ginny is the only one who can really get Harry. Shared horrors with Voldemort, I think, and their personalities mesh. She won't put up with his tantrums.

I am a huge canon fan! Yes, it makes me happy that they end up together.

Thank you so much for the review! I loved reading it!


 Report Review

Review #20, by Crepe Harbor

18th December 2010:
Wow. Beautiful. I have to admit that the Harry/Ginny twist from HBP onwards came as a complete surprise and shock to me and it took me many, many years to accept it, because I couldn't understand it. But because I wanted to make peace with it, I understood what JKR had in mind with it, although I'm sad to say she executed it a bit poorly. It was always the three of them and Ginny was just in the background, infatuated with the hero, a portal for Harry to the Weasley family. But I got over it, and I eventually realised what a wonderful character Ginny is, and how she is strong and passionate enough for Harry. While it's not my favourite ship, I think they are a beautiful couple.

This short fic and this song made me really see the beauty of this pairing even more. Ginny is a strong and fierce Gryffindor so of course she wants to fight. But she is also strong enough to understand that she cannot go, she's too young and too much of a disctraction to Harry. She has to stay but she still fought in Hogwarts, didn't she? And she fought in the Final Battle. She was Harry's harbour, she was her support even from afar. Something worth fighting for.

This was so beautiful. Thank you.

Author's Response: Really? I have to say, I have always been a Harry/Ginny shipper. But I read the first five books in the space of a week, as I came late to the fandom (OotP was already out in paperback when I started reading the books), so I could see her character development more clearly in the arc of those books, particularly 4 and 5. Book 5 is what clinched it for me that no one but Ginny could possibly take on Harry as a spouse :)

Anyway, thank you so very much for the lovely review! I really appreciate your kind words, and I'm so glad you liked the story. She did get to fight after all, but she didn't get to go on the Horcrux hunt. I think it worked out best for her in the end. Thank you so much!


 Report Review

Review #21, by theelderwand Harbor

8th December 2010:
I cruised by your author's page to see what was new and this fic caught my eye.

Fabulous. This truly was an excellently well-crafted "lost moment(s)."

Molly and Ginny's characterizations, justifications...it was all spot on brilliant.

Excellent.

Oh, the best of this tale has to be the ending:

"Shelter."

And Molly's reaction, while at first unclear to Ginny, was perfectly clear to us by the end. Great stuff.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm so pleased that you liked it. I'm over the moon at this review, thank you thank you! :D

 Report Review

Review #22, by Dalek194 Harbor

1st December 2010:
A very impressive song fic! It is very cute and you portray Ginny very well. Molly's wisdom is very well thought-out :-) One very small canon thing; I'm not 100% sure that Molly actually ever knew that Harry and Ginny were dating, but I may be wrong.

Top marks for writing, grammar, song choice, and everything else :-) It is very good, I feel it would be brilliant as a story that follows Ginny through the year while Harry is away. But, it works as a one-shot too :-) Fantastic writing, I will definately take a look at more of your stories! :-)

Author's Response: Thank you very much! No, it's never established in canon whether Molly knew about Ginny and Harry. I like to think she did, because it is her only daughter, after all. I would think Ginny would talk to her mum about it. But it could go either way, really.

I've thought occasionally of doing longer stories on Ginny during DH, but really, I'm not much into writing the trio-era stuff. This one came to my head, couldn't stop thinking of it with the song. Just one of those things. I'm very glad that you liked it, thank you for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #23, by jynx Harbor

23rd October 2010:
what a wonderful story!
i love how you just focused in on the emotions and didnt let the story get sidetracked.
10/10! this is going in my favorites!
(ps- on your staff account you rejected my story, and i really don't think pedo jokes should be banned, cuz my character was telling the truth, but that's a whole other argument...)
REALLY GOOD STORY YOU GOT THERE!

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I'm glad you liked it so much. I really appreciate it :)

(PS: Site policy is that we don't discuss rejections publicly.)


 Report Review

Review #24, by accioboots Harbor

22nd October 2010:
NG.
ohwow, I liked it. :')
Your Ginny POV was pretty amazing.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! :)

 Report Review

Review #25, by RonsGirlFriday Harbor

5th September 2010:
I really love this. I, for some reason, find Harry/Ginny immensely difficult to write, and I also haven't attempted a songfic because so many songfics come off seeming awkward that I'm afraid to try it. You've done both here, and I think you've done it really well. You used the lyrics sparingly, and they seem to form the background of the fic, so they're not really intrusive or jarring. And I think you've kept Ginny very well in character - not too soppy or overemotional. The mother-daughter moment was very sweet, as well as the point Ginny learned, which was that she had the opportunity to give some semblance of normalcy and stability to Harry's life. I think the reason I support Harry/Ginny, while it's not my number one ship, is because Ginny is the person who can be his rock, and she can tolerate his moods as well as the dangerous lifestyle he has to have at this point in his life - though she doesn't necessarily have to like it, of course. So I really enjoyed this, and I didn't think there was anything wrong with glossing over the part where Harry arrives after the Battle of the Seven Potters. Their relationship was the focus of this fic, and anyway we already read the part about Mad-Eye's death in the series. Great job writing about one of the HP ships that I find very difficult to replicate in fanfiction. :-)

Melanie

Author's Response: I haven't written a lot of Harry/Ginny, and though I do love them (they are one of my top favorite ships) I did think they were harder to write than I'd expected. I'm glad you liked the way I handled their relationship here. Songfics are awkward, aren't they - this is only my second.

The reason I've always loved Harry and Ginny together is because I don't think anyone else could understand him the way she does. They have similar personalities, similar interests, and her experience with Voldemort, while not on the level of his, allows her to really see why he needs to do what he needs to do. Hmm. Now I wish I'd touched on that bit in the story. Might have to write something new there.

Anyway, thank you so much for the lovely review! I really appreciate it. :)

Megan


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>