Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Taking the Train
  
16 Reviews Found

Review #1, by adluvshp Taking the Train

25th April 2017:
Aw, this was so very touching - a reunion between Snape and Harry. Really, this was pretty much needed and I am glad the two got the closure because they both deserved it, after the terrible death Snape went through. I loved your description of this place, it is a lot like Rowling's, and that is commendable. I loved the characterisation of Harry and little things like "Of course, not a one of them had turned out as he would have expected or even hoped. But he couldnít bring himself to love them any less." made me smile and spoke a lot about him as a person and as a father. Your descriptions were also amazing, especially how you describe Death wrapping its cold arms around Harry - that almost gave me chills, the visual was so strong. And then of course, the Snape scene was the best bit - how he described the whole concept of "waiting" for someone in the "after life" after death was very fascinating. His apology also went out to my heart. The bringing up of the fact that he once called him a coward was heartwrenching and again Harry's reaction and way of talking was on point. Snape admitting that Harry is a great man made me smile too. The whole "green eyes met the black" one last time and the "eleven clock" reference, omg my heart stopped and i felt like i was transported to good old harry potter canon again. Very, very beautiful and i think you did full Justice to the scene. great work!

 Report Review

Review #2, by ABlack Taking the Train

25th April 2017:
This was hauntingly, beautifully, original. I have to admit that I was drawn to it initially because of the banner Ė it featured Severus, and Iím a sucker for a good story featuring Severus, and based on how well written the first chapter of Rules was, I was betting this would also be good.

And for as short of a one-shot as this is, it packed a wallop! The details of Harryís death were deftly handled. In particular, I loved this line: ďBut even Harry Potter could not battle death as it wrapped its cold arms around him, dragging him victoriously down to the shadowy depths at last after so many years of pursuit.Ē So well done!

I love how you returned Harry to Kings Crossing. It brings everything around full circle but with the twist that itís not Dumbledore who comes to him. Just perfect that itís Snape!

Severus is not an easy character for many people to write. I know I struggle at times to capture him, the nuances of his speech. You did a great job here. I could readily hear Alan Rickmanís voice as I read this.

The idea that a person can wait in this limbo is intriguing, that one could be there to help another or wait for help is an idea I donít think Iíve quite run across in fanfic before Ė not the way you present it.

Oh, but that Severus waited because he was the one that needed help from Harry? Just, ugh! So poignant! So bittersweet and lovely and perfect! This was beautifully written and simply brilliant! Iím grateful you were the flagged author because Iím loving having to read your stories!

~Alexis

 Report Review

Review #3, by FredWeasleyIsMyKing Taking the Train

19th July 2015:
Hey,

Here for Gryffindor House Cup Review 2015

Wow this was a really good oneshot and quite different to anything I've read before. You had some really original ideas included which I liked. The idea of needing someone, and picking Snape to be waiting we're all really good.

Your characterisation of Harry and Snape were both really good. I don't think snapes that easy to write so huge kudos to you. Also the mentions of Lily - still after even more time it's still her for him. It's kinda sad really. They're conversation was interesting though and it's good that despite everything that's happened they can get passed it to some degree.

I also loved your descriptions at the start. Particularly the part where harry was dying. The whole scene was really sad but beautifully written. You did a great job of putting that across.

Anyway, I really enjoyed this! Great job!

Lauren

Author's Response: Hello Lauren!

Thanks for reading this story - yours is the first review on it since 2011!

I'm glad that you enjoyed this story, particularly the characterization. I generally prefer to write minor characters, so part of my challenge for this story was to keep Harry and Snape, two somewhat difficult characters to write, in character.

Thanks for the review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #4, by spencefa Taking the Train

20th November 2011:
Story was very good, nice interaction between the two of them

Author's Response: Thank you for the review.

 Report Review

Review #5, by LoopyLemon Taking the Train

3rd March 2011:
This is really cool :)

Author's Response: Thank you for the review.

 Report Review

Review #6, by maskedmuggle Taking the Train

12th December 2010:
Wow. Simply, wow.
This is such an original, unique story. I"ve never read any like it, and I LOVE THIS!
I think the story/plot line is just so brilliant! The whole concept of it was so well thought out, and I loved both Harry & Snape's characterisations here, you got it perfect!
The ending only kept on making it better.
Well done to you, this is really a great story!
& it's written REALLY well!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Ravenclaw333 Taking the Train

7th December 2010:
Wow. What an AMAZING story. Amazing barely even begins to describe it. The thoughts, feelings and emotions of Harry and Snape are so real, so palpable. You've brought a real closure to the story of both Harry and Snape, remaining true to their characters yet at the same time exploring completely new territory. 10/10, fantastic work.

Author's Response: Hello! I am actually answering this review from September 2015, and I am so amazed to see it's from you, Lisa! Almost all of these other old reviews are from users who are long inactive, but not you! As I'm writing this you've recently announced your intention of taking a hiatus over the coming months. I think the timing of me reading your blog post and this review today. Kind of like a circle of life thing? But with less death, and more always being a part of this community.

Anyway, thank you very much for the lovely glowing review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #8, by FoundriaPenguin Taking the Train

4th December 2010:
Wow.
The depiction of this story, the train, everything was so spell binding. While I was reading this, I was just thinking, "Wow, wow, wow..."

You've captured Snape's and Harry's characters so well. And the concept of Snape waiting for Harry...I loved that. And you know what? I feel a sense of peace now, just reading this story. You've reached out to the readers, and messing with their emotions is a sign of a great writer.

I loved all of this. I can really see why this story was chosen for the Story Seekers podcast. This is truly amazing.

Wonderful job.

~foundriapenguin

Author's Response: Thank you for the review.

 Report Review

Review #9, by Prongs and Lils Taking the Train

20th November 2010:
:'( this is so beautiful! I felt really touched by this! I think you did a great job of writing them two and in writing in third person!

Author's Response: Thank you for the review.

 Report Review

Review #10, by edward ollivander Taking the Train

12th November 2010:
nicely done. i heard about it on the story seekers podcast and came here to read it. I'm certainly not leaving disappointed. It was touching for Harry and Snape to be connected again like that. I have a story about Harry's death as well, but I concentrated on the effects on those still living. My story is called "Man After Legend" if you would like to read it. i would love to hear what you think since i don't have many reviews on it yet. LovlyRita may not like it as much as she liked yours since Snape is not i mine. I'll come back later to look for other stories you've written. Happy writing.

Author's Response: Thank you for the review.

 Report Review

Review #11, by massieblockrox Taking the Train

2nd October 2010:
Wow, good, good, good. Possibly one of the best one-shots ev-ah! Sad, puzzling, sweet, your story is great. Poor Ginny and the kids! But why'd Harry die? Old age? disease? But awesome story!

Author's Response: Thank you for your review.

 Report Review

Review #12, by TenthWeasley Taking the Train

1st October 2010:
This is one of the most beautiful and touching stories I have ever read; I can only hope I can someday write like this.

Author's Response: Thank you for your review.

 Report Review

Review #13, by nitenel Taking the Train

3rd September 2010:
That was great! Excellent job! Adding it to my favorites!

Author's Response: Thank you for the review.

 Report Review

Review #14, by Kinti Taking the Train

29th August 2010:
Wow, this was a really lovely and interesting idea, and you've definitely done it justice! I imagine that Snape would have thought carefully about what to say, especially with regards to the 'coward' part, but his hesitation was very well written, in that you still kept him in character. Your last couple of sentences brought tears to my eyes and gave me goosebumps - sensitive and haunting!

Author's Response: Thank you for the review.

 Report Review

Review #15, by pennyardelle Taking the Train

21st August 2010:
Well, wasn't that interesting, having Harry meet Snape at the moment of his death? :)

I'm doing some reviewing for the 'Puffs at the moment, and I noticed this story was posted pretty recently, so I thought I'd leave you a review for it. I really liked how you started off by comparing his death in the forest, and acceptance of it, and how he was feeling about his death now that he was aged.

And I really and truly wasn't expecting Snape to be the one there "waiting", as you put it. You really characterized him perfectly in this, as well. He was still Snape: still slightly condescending, still with the trace of a sneer, still unable to fully apologize, at least verbally. Harry was also very much himself; that especially came through when Snape brought up how he had called him a coward once, and Harry had such a stammering, uncertain reaction.

Then you brought up Lily, and I seriously had tears well up in my eyes. That part was written so well, with Snape's reluctance to really say it out loud, and the strained look on his face...it really does take a lot to make me feel like I want to cry when I'm reading, but that did it.

The twist at the end, with Snape having been waiting for Harry all those years, was really great. It was nice that they were there for each other, to help ease the passing.

I'm really at quite a loss for what to say other than this was fantastic. Like really, really, really good; wonderfully written and so touching. I'm so nominating this for Story Seekers. :)

Author's Response: Than k you for the glowing review, and thank you SO much for the Story Seekers nomination. Much love!

 Report Review

Review #16, by GloGirl3223 Taking the Train

17th August 2010:
Whew! I got chills. No joke. As soon as I read "just on time" I got the chills.

I have to say I really enjoyed this story, but some of the lines I didn't enjoy as much as the idea of the story. I didn't like the whole "I hate you too" line that Harry says. I understand that its true, but part of it bugged me. It seemed a little out of place in such a sensitive story.

I still enjoyed it.

Author's Response: YAY!

I wasn't sure f the "just on time" line would work or just be lame. So yay for that.

I actually really liked the hate line. Maybe that's just me. It isn't really supposed to be said like... with hatred, but more matter of fact, as this is so many years later and they both feel so detached from it all. I also felt that they would both feel, with the awkwardness of it all, that the fact that they passionately hated each other for all of their lives should be addressed. And I enjoyed the offhand matter of fact way that it was done. But I'm glad you liked the rest of it.

Thank you so much!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login