Reading Reviews for Promises
  
20 Reviews Found

Review #1, by flozoeoreo Promises

29th January 2011:
Aww so sweet. I can definitely see where the Twilight bits are. I like how neither see themselves clearly.

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you can see where the inspiration came from. Twilight's not my favorite, but I was hoping to get the impression right. Thank you for your reviews! They're amazing.

 Report Review

Review #2, by ZaraZombie Promises

24th January 2011:
Very sweet. I just wish there was more to read! But netherless, i still love it!!!

Author's Response: Hehe, I get that a lot! I guess I'm just a vague writer(: I'm glad you liked it! Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Potter_is_awesome Promises

30th December 2010:
Amazing! really enjoyed reading. wonderfully written!!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you enjoyed it! (:

 Report Review

Review #4, by In The Shadows I Dwell Promises

18th August 2010:
I do love a brilliantly written Rose/Scorpius piece, and this fit the criteria I hold for them perfectly! It was an emotional piece in many aspects, you've captured the fragility of their relationship perfectly, one hidden away from the eyes of others due to the sensitive nature of it all, the hatred between families, the perhaps conflicting ideas held by friends. Yet at the same time you've captured the essence of their relationship, that bond that ties them together despite all the things against them so well even I was absolutely begging for him not to walk away! Because in the end, I do love a good romance. This piece had a brilliant overall flow, each sentence just managed to tie onto the next until inevitably I found myself at an end I never wanted to reach. It was such a beautiful and moving piece, and although short it really managed to capture something really special and unique in their relationship, something that is not often seen in a lot of fics. Well done on a truly remarkable and beautiful piece, I shall be adding this to my favorites and will be sure to read more of your work in the near future!

Author's Response: Wow, thank you a million times over for this beautiful review(: I'm so pleased that I was able to write something that you enjoyed, it means a lot to me. Once again, thank you! Your compliments are very encouraging.

 Report Review

Review #5, by Yoshi_Kitten Promises

17th August 2010:
Oh wow, Erica, that was breathtaking! You really seem to have a way with writing those romantic love scenes. I've never really been that good at writing the romance stuff, you see... You could totally tell that there were some Bella/Edward aspects to Scorpius and Rose's relationship, but at the same time it wasn't too overdone. In other words, it wasn't too Twilighty, lol! I mean, I could totally see Scoripus (given that he is Draco Malfoy's son) acting in that way. It was very believable and very beautifully written! I really liked it a lot. Your attention to detail was incredible, and your grammar seems to be near perfect as well!!
This totally deserves a solid 10 outta 10! =)

Author's Response: Aww, thank you so much! I'm just glad to have entertained you with my writing. Your compliments mean a lot to me(:

 Report Review

Review #6, by kiki Promises

17th August 2010:
i liked this story very much! the twilight was there but not over done, snd i liked that. it woul have been awesome to see a novell or novella come out of this!! plus there's the big bonus that your grammer dosnt suck :D

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reviewing! I'm glad you liked it.

 Report Review

Review #7, by blueirony Promises

17th August 2010:
I will not compare this beautiful piece of writing to that other questionable piece of writing by that crazy lady who is one step away from causing teenage girls to cause collateral damage. I will not compare this beautiful piece of writing to that other questionable piece of writing by that crazy lady who is one step away from causing teenage girls to cause collateral damage. I will not compare this beautiful piece of writing to that other questionable piece of writing by that crazy lady who is one step away from causing teenage girls to cause collateral damage.

Well. I have said it three times. So maybe I'll believe it now? Ha.

When I saw that you were comparing Rose/Scorpius to Whiny/Creepy...er I mean, Bella/Edward, I was a bit hesitant to read this. But about three sentences in, all my doubts were alleviated.

You have this way of writing really, really sweet things. Really sweet things. I am, once again, in a small puddle at the bottom of my feet after reading this. All the romantic bits in this are enough to make a girl swoon. Sigh.

But it's more than that. You have a really good understand of how people think and their emotions and that definitely comes across in this. What also really comes across is your description. I could see this happening in my mind's eye. And that is definitely credit to you as a writer!

Looking back on it, I suppose I do see the similarities between this and Edward/Bella but, don't fear, this is nothing like Twilight. It is so much more. So much. And I absolutely loved it.

Joop :]

Author's Response: LOL. I have had several reactions like that, to which I only have one response: a challenge is a challenge, haha. Actually, I've only had one Twilight fan read this so far.

Whiny/Creepy. Oh god. That's hilarious. And accurate. I mean. Well. Yeah.

Thank you so much, Joop! I'm glad you like my romantic stuff, teehee. Your compliments have plastered a big smile on my face (might also be left over from reading Make Cupcakes, though).

You're the bestest!


 Report Review

Review #8, by Capella Black Promises

16th August 2010:
OK, so as a big fan of Twilight *ducks for cover* I was a touch sceptical. However, I should know better - this really hits the issues of Bella and Edward perfectly, and I love how you've twisted said issues to fit a HP couple. Of course, it helps that I'm already a big fan of Scorpius/Weasley couples, but this was extra awesome.

The idea of protraying Edward's self loathing as relating to being disliked by her family and friends fits great, and having Rose's issues simply being his overwhelming good looks again hits the mark without mirroring too closely. You also captured that favourite bit of mine - where the girl gets hurt because the guy "tries to do the right thing". Nice work there!

Overall, a great piece, and one that does what it aimed to do in a unique and exciting way. Glad to see he'll never leave her either!

Gryffie love!

Author's Response: You're the first Twilight fan to read! Personally, I'm not a big fan, but I try not to hate too much, LOL. I'm glad that you thought I was able to get the essence of Bella/Edward into this.

Choosing Rose/Scorpius was just such an obvious thing to do. When I saw I had to do Bella/Edward I automatically knew I would do it as Rose/Scorpius, so I'm glad you like that.

Thanks, Cappie! Even though this is taking you one step closer to beating me. *pouts*


 Report Review

Review #9, by ronhermione4evr Promises

16th August 2010:
I cringed when I saw Edward and Bella at the top, but I have to say that your piece was way better than anything Stephanie Meyer wrote! And that last dialogue that Scorpius says was tear-worthy. Rose and Scorpius are written a lot as a Ron/Lavender type pairing: with both of their hearts not fully into the relationship, but this story avoided the usualy cliches. So great job Erica!!
-ronhermione4evr

Author's Response: Ahaha. Apparently a lot of people have that reaction (me included, but a challenge is a challenge! hehe). I'm glad you liked it! And thought it was better than Stephenie Meyer, LOL. Thanks for reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #10, by Adrielne Promises

16th August 2010:
This really does smell of vampires... But then again, it was SUPPOSED to. So I can't blame you for that.
Other than being Twilight-y, this is a very well-written fic. It pulls the reader in, the characters are very genuine and you show us their love in a very gentle way, not breaking the magical moment that they're caught in.
A very good story worthy of a 9/10!

Author's Response: Thanks, girl. I'm glad this didn't put you off by it's Twilight-y ness haha. I hope you thought Rose was a bit more strong and independent than Bella, hehe. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #11, by Lady Kyra Promises

16th August 2010:
I'll admit; I cringed a bit when I saw that this was to be based on the Bella/Edward Twilight relationship. Just a bit. However, you managed to take just a few parts of the relationship and weave it into the story in a good way, rather than copying it and making another trite hopeless girl romance.

I did like Rose in this story, mostly because despite the fact that you were using Bella as your inspiration, Rose was much stronger and independent than Bella ever seemed to me. Bella would have never said that she was walking away if Scorpius did not stay, and I think it added an interesting depth to Rose that she could be completely in love with him and stilll keep her head and know that she was just going to keep getting hurt if she did not do something.

Scorpius is also good in this, and he more closely mirrors Edward than Rose mirrors Bella. I enjoyed his internal conflict; in the end, he really does just want what is best for Rose. I liked that you could clearly see the struggle between what he thought to be common sense and his own emotions and passions.

Your descriptions were great; again, I like how you keep them the right length to keep someone hooked and not so long that I get bored reading it. It was a very interesting contrast as I read your other ScoRose story before this. I liked going from one love/hate story to this very romantic and passionate story. You pulled off this traditional romance very well, and I would enjoy reading more. I would have liked if it were a little longer, but that is simply a personal preference and I like how you chose to end it there.

Grammar was, again, excellent. You must be good at betaing your own stories, as I don't see a beta for this one, and there is little of note for me to point out.

I hope this review helps you in some way!

Author's Response: Don't worry, when I saw that my challenge was to base a relationship on Bella and Edward, I cringed a little, too. But then I sucked it up and told myself a challenge is a challenge and I would do it, haha.

Yeah. I could not go as far as to make Rose as complacent and submissive as Bella. I just couldn't do that. So I let her be a bit more strong in character(:

Your comments on my description are inflating my ego, hahah. I tend to focus a lot on working out descriptions so I'm really happy that you thought they were well done.

I've never had much of a problem with spelling and grammar, though I do get betas occasionally. I'm glad you noticed(:

Thank you so much for the reviews you have given me. They're incredibly wonderful.


 Report Review

Review #12, by maskedmuggle Promises

16th August 2010:
Hey! Awwh, this is such a sweet fic! I actually really love Rose and Scorpius, especially one shots like this, and yours is great!

Your Author's Note was really interesting at the beginning - taking some aspects from Twilight and interpreted them your own way. Since I read that, I was paying close attention to everything, and I noticed that Rose/Scorpius is a forbidden love kind of thing, just like Edward and Bella. Even all the kissing and dialogue was pretty similar to Twilight's. I'm not sure if I would have noticed that without the Author's Note... so that's definitely given me food for thought!

The characterisation of Rose and Scorpius is brilliant! Even though we don't really know all too much about them, you brought them to life for me. I enjoyed all the dialogue between them, it helped create a very realistic scene.

Once again, this is such a simple story. It's just about Rose and Scorpius one night. But the way you wrote it will make me remember it. The love between them is so strong, and it adds to the story. You should have been told this already, but you are a really talented, amazing author. :)

Author's Response: I'm really happy to see how much you like it and especially to see that you think I managed to accomplish the task I had to do for the challenge.

Thank you so much. All of your reviews are absolutely amazing. My ego is massive right now.


 Report Review

Review #13, by Ronsgirl29 Promises

16th August 2010:
Aw, I absolutly love Rose/Scorpius fics! You have a talent for writing these next gen ships. First, your teddy/victoire fic blows me away and now you've got me smiling ear to ear because Scorp promises he'll never leave Rose! :D

All I can say is great job, I really like your style of writing!

Author's Response: I never knew I had such a love for writing next gen. haha. Thank you for the lovely compliments(:

You're an absolute doll for the reviews.


 Report Review

Review #14, by Chanel Promises

15th August 2010:
Awe(: how sweet!

You truly have a knack for writing short, sweet, romances. They make me sigh aloud and wish for a romance of my own. (: The plot isn't very in depth, but seeing as this is a one shot, that doesn't bother me at all. I love the idea of Rose/Scorpius. Especially in comparison to Draco/Hermione. Anywhoo, you did a lovely job and I really enjoyed it!

-Chanel

Author's Response: Thanks, Chanel! You're sweet. I'm glad you liked it. Yeah, I was very vague with the plot, heh. Thanks for reviewing(:

 Report Review

Review #15, by baletgir Promises

13th August 2010:
That was short and sweet. You had some really nice points and descriptions in this, but at the same time it was missing something.

To be honest it was a bit on the shallow side, not in reference to the characters, but the plot. It didn't seem fully developed and to have a depth, I feel as if there could have been more story to it. Tell the reader some more, let us know everything to it. For example, that first time the we together, what made that fight different? Why then? And why did Scorpius not think himself worthy of Rose? Is there more to his character?

I think this is a good start, but you could really build on this and make it something special, and not just another pretty good Rose/Scorpius piece. I hope you don't find this too harsh, I did enjoy this and I think you seem capabale of even more!
:)BaletGir

Author's Response: Definitely not too harsh. Honestly the hardest thing for me in writing this was the fact that I had to base it off the relationship of Bella and Edward from Twilight because that was what the challenge called for. I'm not a Twilight fan and I detest Bella and Edward, which was why I did the challenge in the first place. Because it was something that would be difficult for me. So honestly, I'm glad you picked up on that. It's definitely not int he realm of my proudest works, and I completely agree about the shallow aspect of it. It's just not as good as it could be.

Thanks for the honest review(: I really appreciate it.


 Report Review

Review #16, by greeneyes13 Promises

12th August 2010:
I love your story! it's really good :) Your really talented, keep up the good work

Author's Response: Thank you so much(:

 Report Review

Review #17, by violet Promises

11th August 2010:
hothothot. (:
keep writing.

Author's Response: Thank you(:

 Report Review

Review #18, by musicmagic7 Promises

9th August 2010:
This was really cute!! Very well written and sweet! Great work!!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reviewing(:

 Report Review

Review #19, by marciabarcia Promises

6th August 2010:
That was absolutely romantic and sweet and adorable and I loved the raw emotions of doubt, and anguish :D

xoxo
~Marcia

Author's Response: Aw, thanks so much. It means a lot to me that you could feel the emotions like that.

 Report Review

Review #20, by rougette Promises

6th August 2010:
I liked it very much! You captured them in the moment, most definitely and it was very realistic to read. I could picture the scene hap
pening in my head, it was so nicely written. Great job! The only thing I would comment on is that "snogging session" didn't really fit into the story...because the rest was worded so beautifully that it really didn't go well...maybe replace it with something else? :) otherwise, absolutely lovely!

Author's Response: Haha you know, I completely agree with you. I don't know what I was thinking with that one! Thanks for the review! (:

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login