Reading Reviews for Playing Dirty
  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by alicia and anne Nice Guys Finish Last

13th March 2012:
I really enjoyed this one, Louis is quite funny and so is Byron. They seem to have such a fun friendship which you can see from the start, you wrote it very well and I really enjoyed it. I really hope this story isn't abandoned and that you'll eventually come back to it.

 Report Review

Review #2, by AC_rules Nice Guys Finish Last

7th December 2011:
Got to say I absolutely loved this. I mean, I've never read anything by you before and it was really really great.

I loved the relationship between Louis and Byron - I think a lot of guys have that sort of relationship and it doesn't often creep its way into fanfiction. It was good fun, very well written (I don't think I could have spotted a mistake if I tried) orginal and I'll definately try and read some more of your stuff soon - this really was great :)

-Ac

Author's Response: Louis and Byron were some of the easiest characters I've ever written, to be honest.

I think it is important that guys understand that even though they are nice and wonderful and whatever, they are in no way entitled to a girl's affections. You don't get a "reward" for being the good guy, at least not by dating her. You reward is her trust and possibly her friendship, but mostly just the knowledge that you acted like a decent human being. I had hoped to address this here, but I seem to have completely lost my muse for this story so it is abandoned.

I'm so sorry but thank you for your kind review!

Annie


 Report Review

Review #3, by Aiedail Nice Guys Finish Last

17th February 2011:
Haha this made me giggle so much!

I like the banter most. I like the casual friendship of Byron and Louis, and that they're always making fun of each other. I also really love the way that you allude to several past events like "cairo" and the ghost :) It's really realistic, and also the bit about "veela-boy" was silly.

I thought it was also funny when Byron said that he didn't think Louis was that nice. Since I have yet to see him in action when he isn't in the state he's in, I can't say if I agree or disagree.

I think you do a really good job with the characters here! It's hard to write next-gen canon characters because all we really have to go off of is their parents, and that just splits the cliche in two and makes originality hard to attain. I think you're on the right track with Louis; he seems like he has good potential, and I really believe him as a character!! I like Byron, too, he's a good friend :) Plus, I like the way he gives Louis a hard time. They seem friendly, but not flawless (a little obvious, haha). I can't wait to see how Louis decides to be "bad"--I can imagine it as a horribly awkward and clumsy affair, with his hair slicked back and leaning on one arm at bars, trying to catch the girls' attention :)

I hope that you continue with this one! The banner is also really lovely and fits with the story well I think :)

I'm so glad that I decided to do the review exchange with you! I think I'll go ahead and look at some of your others as well :)

--lily

Author's Response: Byron and Louis are such silly gooses. Really. They're THAT pair of friends. Both completely deadly handsome, but ridiculous, you know? And it's funny you should mention Byron not thinking Louis is nice, because what if he isn't? What if the ends of his relationships had nothing to do with that? It's an interesting thing to think about.

LOLOL. You have it exactly right about Louis trying to be bad. Luckily, he has a few people to help him out and keep him away from hair gel and leather jackets, haha.

Thanks so much for the review dear!

Annie


 Report Review

Review #4, by loopyluna Nice Guys Finish Last

15th February 2011:
Hey! I came across this fic by accident, but I'm really glad that I did. I am loving it so far ... and, it's only the first chapter.
Please update this soon! I can't wait to read on.
And I'm totally loving Louis and Byron.

Author's Response: Bahaha, Louis and Byron are a riot, aren't they? I'm really happy you liked this and thanks so much for the review!

Annie


 Report Review

Review #5, by ti2ger003 Nice Guys Finish Last

23rd December 2010:
First of all: yes, Byron, only a Ravenclaw can rattle off a word like "paradigm" after a 4-day drinking binge. Well, a Ravenclaw and Hermione Granger. :P

Also, Byron's mother must've been a Muggleborn Ravenclaw, because no one else would name their kid something like "Byron". :) (And did you know that Lord Byron's illegitimate daughter wrote the first computer program? :D )

(Ah, the things being a geek teaches you... :) )

Moving on from Byron's slightly-unfortunate name, I must say that while I really hope and wish nice guys don't finish last, because I'd like one, please, I gotta say Louis has a point. Girls seem to tend to go for the real pieces of work, and any guy who seems sensitive or whatever is either ignored or written off as gay. Which is a pity, really. The world needs more sensitive straight men. :)

Louis' voice seems very unique and slightly out-there, which is always fun. :D Please pretty please update this soon, because I wanna know what happens! :D

Author's Response: I didn't know that actually! How interesting!

I think it is important that guys understand that even though they are nice and wonderful and whatever, they are in no way entitled to a girl's affections. You don't get a "reward" for being the good guy, at least not by dating her. You reward is her trust and possibly her friendship, but mostly just the knowledge that you acted like a decent human being. I had hoped to address this here, but I seem to have completely lost my muse for this story so it is abandoned.

Thanks so much for your review anyway and I'm so sorry!

Annie


 Report Review

Review #6, by PetrificusTotalus Nice Guys Finish Last

20th October 2010:
I absolutely love this! Seriously good.

Byron is hilarious, great characterisation of both him and Louis :) I feel like I already know loads about them as characters and it's only the first chapter!

Also your writing style kept me so engaged thorughout. There was an excellent mix of dialogue and description and the description was so amazing that it was incredibly easy for me to imagine the scene!

Please please please keep going with this and update soon! :)
xx

Author's Response: I really loved writing Byron and Louis and the concept of the story in general, but I seem to have seriously lost my muse for this story and had to abandon it. I'm so sorry and thank you for the review!

Annie


 Report Review

Review #7, by PenguinsWillReignSupreme Nice Guys Finish Last

17th August 2010:
I have no idea what it is about reviewing you that I find so difficult, lovely, and yet again, I am so sorry for the wait on this. I am however going to pour my entire brain into this as requested. Or I'll try, I'm afraid a lot of it has been lost over the months.

I'll cover the same as normal ^_^

Characterisation

You have without doubt one of the hardest tasks ever on your hands in Next Gen fanfiction with this. Because Louis is so underwritten as a main character, it's undoubtedly harder to shake off those few characterisations that do exist (and we know which ones I'm talking of :P)

Howeverrr, in spite of that, I think you've done a prettyyy good job with him in this first chapter. It's always hard to judge characters from just one chapter but Louis so far is really strong, even as a bit of a weepy drunk! It'll take a couple more chapters to draw up a proper assessment of him but I'm sure he'll continue to be consistent and just fabulous.

Byron has come across really well too. His relationship with Louis works really well and really vividly and it sets up the foundation for the rest of the story firmly. Again, as with Louis, it'll take another chapter or so to get used to him and see him develop a little more but for a first chapter, they both come across really well.

Plot

And by that, I just mean chapter content for now. I loved the shower scene especially. As I've said, Byron and Louis play really well off each other and that really adds to grabbing the reader's interest. It's just a fantastic start ^_^

Style etc

Different to normal but that's to be expected, for the obvious reasons. Short, snappy, the dialogue/description balance was perfect. Nothing to criticise there whatsoever though I do have a small niggle that I've picked up on which is the use of right now in your dialogue (both times by Louis). It's a bit American and the two times you used it really detracted from an otherwise accurate British conversation. I'd maybe take them out or change them ^_^

"Well, to be fair, you didn't know she was a bad girl."

Louis scoffed. "I knew she wasn't good."


^^ The Holiday quoteee ♥ I adore that film.

So...this is quite short, I think, but there's not a great deal to say after one chapter! It's a really good start lovely and I am still SO sorry for the time it took me to get to this.


xx

Author's Response: Hello my dear! I'm so sorry it's taken me a bit to reply to this, but I've been trying to get settled at school and it's taking up copious amounts of my time.

I must admit that the Byron/Louis friendship is one of my favorite friendships I've ever written. It's a bromance of epic proportions, haha. In my mind, they're the sort of male team that all girls love to hate. Byron is the slightly womanizing friend that everyone loves anyway while Louis is the nice friend who's a serial monogamist. Anyway, they're a strange pair.

Louis is a challenge, especially with the awesome characterizations floating around right now, but I like this version. He seems very normal (at least I hope) and I think that there are a lot of people that can relate to what he's dealing with.

I'll have to fiddle around with that 'right now' thing. Is that really something that just American's say? Interesting!

Anyway, thanks so much and I'll let you know when the next chapter is up!

Annie


 Report Review

Review #8, by baletgir Nice Guys Finish Last

30th July 2010:
Oooohhh! First Review? Yay! haha, anyways I really enjoyed this. It was a very interesting start and I am interested in reading more. You definitely have something here and I think it will be enjoyable to see where you take it.

I love the "Nice Guy" idea that Louis is so stuck on. I really like Louis in general, yet I don't feel as if I know all the much about him yet. Obviously that would be because it is only the first chapter. I think every woman is different and Louis just had some bad luck in the fact that he seemed to find all the wrong girls. There is someone out there for him (whether he really is all that nice or not). I would love to see him meet someone right for him, but blow them off thinking that this women is no different.

I love your humor in this. It is truly funny, enough said. Great start, hope you continue on!
:)BaletGir

Author's Response: I think it is important that guys understand that even though they are nice and wonderful and whatever, they are in no way entitled to a girl's affections. You don't get a "reward" for being the good guy, at least not by dating her. You reward is her trust and possibly her friendship, but mostly just the knowledge that you acted like a decent human being. I had hoped to address this here, but I seem to have completely lost my muse for this story so it is abandoned.

I'm so sorry and thanks for your review!

Annie


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login