Reading Reviews for Everland
  
89 Reviews Found

Review #1, by karin The Insanity of Frank and Alice Longbottom.

25th November 2013:
aiiieee i love this story. i can't wait for when harry enters hogwarts and they get to see what he does and for when sirius comes(even though its so painful)
so this story better not be abandoned! ;) because its wonderful

 Report Review

Review #2, by Lululuna The Mighty Marauders.

11th February 2013:
I think this is really really really really great. But... where is Mary?!!

Author's Response: Mary is... well, she doesn't exist in this canon of my head. I know that's scary, but ahhha...

 Report Review

Review #3, by classicblack The Insanity of Frank and Alice Longbottom.

30th August 2012:
Hi to you too AC!

You just had to go and write a better chapter than The Mighty Marauders, didn't you? You just had to make me tear up again?

This chapter was just so... powerful. I feel like I use that word a lot, but in this case, it really, truly was. It was powerful. Alice and Frank. Gosh Alice and Frank. It was basically like reading James and Lily's deaths all over again. The husband dies for the wife who dies for the son. Except, in the case of the Longbottoms, the only think that died was their minds.

I want to punch something. Preferably Bellatrix.

And now Remus is truly and completely alone. Lily, James, Sirius, Peter, Alice, Frank, everyone is gone. I just want to give Remus a great big hug!

It was a bittersweet chapter too because Lily and James resolved their issues at the end and then they were happy and cute and adorable again and it made me feel happy. And then I remembered Alice and Frank and it made me feel sad again.

What is this sorcery?! How do you do that?!?!

New favorite chapter, seriously. Phenomenal job.

Happy writing,
classicblack

P.S. And now that I've started reading and reviewing this story, I expect quicker updates >:)

 Report Review

Review #4, by classicblack Wonderland.

30th August 2012:
Poor James! He loves Lily so much and now they're having relationship troubles again. Gah! It seems no matter where I go I can't avoid your James/Lily relationship drama!

I'm hoping so much that seeing her parents will help Lily come to terms wit her situation and go back to happy James/Lily time! (I'm so selfish, I can't even let ficitonal characters grieve!)

I love how you had both James and Lily interact with their parents. The relationships between the parents and the children are so fantastic and it sort of connects to the loss that James and Lily have both experienced.

The Wonderland idea was interesting. Felt a bit like it was just thrown in there for fun, but I suppose part of it was. It ties in nicely with the title of the book, too.

Great chapter!
Happy writing,
classicblack

 Report Review

Review #5, by classicblack Motherhood.

30th August 2012:
STOP MAKING ME FEEL SORRY FOR PETER! Gosh now you tell me he went and was forced to kill his family and that he was under the Imperius Curse and gah! I refuse to feel sorry for Peter Pettigrew!

The love that Lily feels for Harry is just so pure and perfect. It's beautiful to read. It's really everything that you imagine a mother's love to be. You're not secretly a mother are you? Because it's crazy how well you write one.

After just coming out of reading 'Watering Petunias' I'm really struck by how similar the Petunia in this story is to the Petunia in that one-shot. That little bit in Petunia's POV sort of put her thinking into perspective. Will I ever like her after how she treated Harry? No, but I do feel sorry for her.

The moms! Oh my gosh Mrs. Potter and Mrs. Pettigrew and Mrs. Lupin and the Evans! How amazing! I really loved that scene scene between Mrs. Potter and Mrs. Pettigrew. I don't hate Peter's mum, despite my hatred of Peter.

And then how you connected the last lines of Alice's seciton and Lily's section at the end. It was just so powerful and fantastic and brilliant! Honestly the whole chapter was just beautifully about mothers! (which, you know, makes sense because of the title, but I always seem to be slow on the uptake of such things...).

Wonderful chapter!
Happy writing,
classicblack

 Report Review

Review #6, by classicblack The Mighty Marauders.

30th August 2012:
If at the beginning you were trying to make me feel sorry for Peter by seeing the whole situation through his point of view, I must say that it didn't work. Sorry about that, I still hate Peter. I did like the explanation of how he came into Percy's possession, though. That was rather nice and creative and awesomely Weasley-ish.

And wow. Sirius's thoughts in Azakaban. Just wonderful and heart-breaking and I started tearing up. And he said in PoA that the only thing that kept him sane was that he knew he was innocent and that's how the part from his POV ended. Just wow.

And then Remus's POV. Poor Remus! He's going to spend the next 13 years thinking Sirius betrayed them all! And I loved how James was the glue that held the Marauders together. Oh gosh. The Marauders. Excuse me while I go blow my nose *runs away*

This whole chapter just weighs heavily on my chest. It's affecting me far more than it should, which really shows that you're a fantastic writer (as I've already told you countless times before). It was diffciult to read if only because it was so full of emotions. The Might Marauders indeed, torn apart by the least likely of them all.

This is my new favorite chapter. I suspect it will stay that way.
Happy writing,
classicblack

 Report Review

Review #7, by classicblack The arrest of Sirius Black.

30th August 2012:
Stop it! Stop making Sirius so hilarious and showing that James and Sirius really had the best friendship of all! Sirius and James's thereapy sessions are just so brilliant and their relationship is wonderful. My goodness, just stop writing so fantastically!

I love that even in death Lily is still hopelessly in love with James and James is so in love with Lily he still acts like the teeanger he used to be.

This part: "Lily was completely unaware that this morning her sister had found her son on her doorstep and that all over the country wizards were celebrating the end of the war, and the end of Voldermort. Lily was completely unaware of the hushed awe filled voices teamed with the clinking of glass on glass, as the wizards of the nation toasted the boy who lived." was superb. It was such a connection to the first book I just went "Oh! Linkage!!"

And then there were the extra details of how all the living people were dealing with the deaths of Lily and James. Snape and the Longbottoms (who could have been in the position that the Potters were in) and Sirius... oh Sirius!

I liked that you didn't describe the whole Sirius "killing" Peter scene but rather showed the important parts. And both Lily's and James's reactions were great and spot-on character.

Honestly I think this was the best chapter so far.
Happy writing,
classicblack

 Report Review

Review #8, by classicblack The Boy who Lived.

30th August 2012:
:O

Even though I knew it was Peter that betrayed Lily and James, experiencing James and Lily realising that one of their best friends had been a traitor and was the cause of their deaths was powerful and amazing to read.

I noticed a few typos such as you writing "there" instead of "their" and the like, by the way.

I also loved how Lily's motherly/ self-preservation instincts went into overdrive after she watched her death. A comforting fact is that she couldn't have actually run in canon because Voldemort was too fast. And then there was what James said about Voldemort always coming after them. Sometimes I do think about what would have happened had Lily run and managed to escape (usuing, as she suggested, James's broomstick) and then I realise we would have had no story and my childhood would have been boring and non-magical as heck. Ugh, choices, choices.

Bleh. This chapter has sufficiently made me hate Peter even more. It was totally awesome, though, don't worry.
Happy writing,
classicblack

 Report Review

Review #9, by classicblack The Meadow.

30th August 2012:
Gah. Stop playing with my heart! It's fragile enough as it is after 40 chapters of TAOB and 20 chapters of TAOS and 2 chapters of this!

I loved this chapter. I really think you got Lily when she was going through all those facts in her head and how she was leaning on James for support.

How could she forget Harry?!?! She just bloody died for him and she forgot him! You kind of, sort of, saved it by including the book quote that Marlene read. That was good. But really Lily, really?!

But now Lily and James are dead and the real fun of Everland can begin becaue Lily and James (the best thing before Ron and Hermione) are there!

Alright I'm going to go prepare for angst and sadness with Lily and James seeing Harry in the observation room. Oh my goodness me next chapter is going to be intense!

Happy writing,
classicblack

 Report Review

Review #10, by classicblack Halloween.

30th August 2012:
Seriously? Siriusly? Seriously? You just had to go and make this chapter even better and sadder than the last one?

With that rant out of the way, what a brilliant chapter! I loved all the little hints in how the Potters acted and what they said about how they were going to die that night.

And NO! Potter Pumpkin soup didn't become an established tradition! Why, I ask you WHY?!

And then Lily and James were so cute together and Harry was going to become a Quidditch star and he actually liked Potions and... gah. The tragedy and the cuteness of this chapter was too much to handle. I don't care if the ending wasn't totally canon, it was still brilliant.

I loved Sirius's hilarity (the cat comments and Prongs junior) and how much I wanted to rush in there and scream "Peter Pettigrew is a sneaky little git! Don't trust him! Remus is the one to be trusted!"

But I digress. What a wonderful chapter. I don't regret promising to read it.
Happy writing,
classicblack

 Report Review

Review #11, by classicblack On the Street.

30th August 2012:
Well why don't you just rip out my heart and keep it in the closet-of-hearts-you-probably-have-hidden-somewhere-because-you-write-such-brilliant-stories while you're at it?

Honestly.

I love Dorcas the best because she's one of those characters with tough outsides, but when you peel everything back you get this really nice and kind inside. And Gideon and Fabian because they're so Fred and George-esque it's ridiculous.

This idea of a different world (the world after death) is so creative and powerful and awesome to read. I can't wait to see how you introduce the Potters and it gets me wondering if you'll end it with Harry's death (as an old man, of course) and a whole family reunion type thing. I think I might actually burst into tears if you did.

But this is really a great story. I loved how you described how everyone in the Order slowly went down one-by-one, but that you also didn't focus just on the deaths, but on living too. I wonder why the members of the Order didn't see that Peter was talking to Voldemort?

Anyway, great chapter. I'm convinced that you purposefully updated TAOS just because I threatened/promised to review all your stories. Ah well, I guess this will just have to hold me over until the next chapter.
Happy writing,
classicblack

 Report Review

Review #12, by Elizajane The Meadow.

29th June 2012:
Goodness... They may never see their house. Just stay in the observation room watching Harry forever.

Author's Response: That sounds like a very good plan for me! thanks for reading and reviewing so many of my stories :D

 Report Review

Review #13, by Elizajane On the Street.

29th June 2012:
Wow. This is seriously heartbreaking. I don't know if I should keep reading or not! Haha You really make readers feel what the characters feel. That's a rare talent.

Author's Response: Awh, thank you so very much Elizajane! :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by ILoveHarryPotter The Insanity of Frank and Alice Longbottom.

15th May 2012:
Can I just say... I love this story! I love all of what you write but this has such an original story line, it's amazing. I was crying when Lilly saw her mum again :'( this is so emotional and just really really really good! Please update soo ! :)

Author's Response: Awh, thank you very much! This story is going to get all of my attention relatively soon, when I'm going to sit down and rework things until I'm finally happy with them - then there should be pretty frequent updates. THanks for a lovely review!

 Report Review

Review #15, by ariellem On the Street.

10th May 2012:
Hello again!

This doesn't need to undergo any editing at all it's really quite good, you'll probably get more reviews from me for this story. :) Super job as normal. :)

Author's Response: Awh! Thank you very much Ariellem. Editing is definitely on my list of things to do, though, because I just don't have the ~muse~ for this. But, yeah, thank you very much :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by Intrigued The Insanity of Frank and Alice Longbottom.

5th May 2012:
Hello AC_Rules,

I've read a few of your stories, but I've never reviewed before. I'm sorry for that! Part of it is that reading fanfiction is a rare and self-indulgent escape for me, and I tend to be way too much of an arrogant elitist most of the time to realize that there's inherent meaning in all forms of culture. I'm working on that. But I would have to be really blind not to see how gifted you are as a writer, particularly as regards character development. I am in awe! Normally, I would urge you to stop wasting your talents on fanfiction, but part of what I love so much about your writing is just how accurately you portray each of the characters. Your concern about not keeping one of the chapters in this story strictly "canon" is unfounded. Your characters are more genuinely like Rowling's than anyone else's; who cares if you miss a few plot details here or there. So, what I'm saying is, I think you would have a real chance of getting something published if you focused on original writing (have you already?), but in the meantime, I'm perfectly content to enjoy whatever you're willing to upload. And although I'm seriously chagrined to admit this, I feel obligated to tell you that I can count the number of times I've cried in my life on two hands, and one of those times was for Mary at the end of "TAOS." Well done. A good writer like you is manipulative in the very best of ways.

Anyway, I'm glad Lily came around in this chapter! I think it might have been a bit sudden, though, the way you wrote it, which is unusual for you because you're usually so adept at establishing your characters' motivations. The woman who would stand in front of her child's crib and ask for death in order to save him is far too brave to regret that decision merely because it would separate her from him. I did find it realistic that Lily would struggle with herself and with her grief for a while, but I think she should have more of a convincing and dramatic shift once she understands how selfishly she was behaving. Maybe you could accomplish this by having her remember that if she had tried to run, she and her son would have died quickly along with countless others at the hands of an increasingly immortal Voldemort. What she gave Harry was the chance to live and to learn and to become a person; she only ever knew a baby, and so he would have stayed if she had allowed him to perish. While it's immensely sad that she can't be with him as he grows up and she can never again directly influence the course of his life, he wouldn't have had that chance at all had she been any less brave. At least now she can watch him live a remarkable life even if she can no longer be a part of it; a woman as strong as she is should be able to reconcile her grief with the joy of seeing her son live. Again, I'm really glad she came around, but the transition seemed a bit underdeveloped to me and it would be nice if you could embellish that part whenever you have the time.

I promise I'll stop blabbering soon. I just want thank you again for writing TAOS; it was a wonderful, touching story. It did make me ever so slightly furious that no one thought to just freeze Mary's body for a few months and then cure her, but that would have sort of ruined the story, so I can accept her death. It would be interesting to see a brief reunion between her and Sirius in "Everland", but that's entirely up to you. I think you could write that really well no matter what direction you took with it.

Whatever you do, keep writing! And if you are writing anything original currently or decide to in the future, I'd love to hear about it. And finally, please don't be offended by my reluctance to be impressed by fanfiction; that's just one of my personal vices. You're pretty spectacular to have reached me at all, AC_Rules, and I'm sure I'm a better person for it.

Best regards,
A new fan

Author's Response: So, just so we're all clear this review made me cry. Obviously, I'm a much more emotional person than you (you can count the number of times you've cried on two hands!?) but, well, I'm not such an emotional messy ball that I cry all the time and what not, I just... thank you so much.

I do write original things to but I have more motivation issues with that, due to the lack of people reading and reviewing and encouraging me (which, over here, I'm rather spoiled with), but I'm entirely determined that one day I'm going to be a real life novel-writing writer and no one can stop me. But, the only reason I have any faith in that wolly little dream of mine is because of reviewers like you, who've literally changed my life.

I'm so glad I was able to touch you through my stories! Eeee!

See, here comes the shame. Because for the longest time I was thinking about abandoning this story and focusing on some of my other stores, but eventually managed to persuade myself not to, I know that this chapter isn't up to standard. I know that. And now I'm just like WELL WHY DO IT THEN HELEN. But, yeah, I have a month of the year set aside for this story when I'm going to edit it and adjust it until I'm completely happy with it again. But, I'll definitely be delving back into Lily's character in the next chapter and exploring the shift properly - because you are, of course, entirely right. So thank you so much for picking up on that too, as you've given me the motivation to come back to this and pick it apart. Argh, this review is just... perfect. Wah. Love it. Love you, really.

I have no intention to ever stop writing. Even if it comes to nothing more than posting on here, I'm so utterly in love with writing that I can't imagine anything that could happen that would stop me. So, thank you so much for leaving this review - it really has made my day - and it was lovely to here from you and just, argh, thank you so so so so so so so much. I'm honoured that you took the time to write this. Really I am.

Love always,
AC


 Report Review

Review #17, by TigerLilian The Insanity of Frank and Alice Longbottom.

2nd March 2012:
Hi!
I've been looking for a story like this, about James and Lily's afterlife, forever, and finally found one good! :D So congrats for creating an awesome story! :D I really, really hope you won't stop writing this and continue till the end! 8)

Author's Response: Oh wow, thank you very much! I'll admit that updates on this story will be sporadic, but they will happen! I will finish this story! Even it takes me a lifetime!

Thanks for this lovely review, I really appreciate it :D


 Report Review

Review #18, by Dlskin The Insanity of Frank and Alice Longbottom.

22nd February 2012:
Even though you made me wait forever,this was a great chapter. I really love this story,it's interesting to see the potterverse from this angle. It will be so interesting to see what Lily and James see of Harry's life and what they think of his upbringing. I know it's awhile a way but I'm really looking forward to the forest scene in DH. Great job and I hope you find a new muse soon, I need more Everland in my life!

Author's Response: Sorry there Dlskin! I know the wait was the worst thing ever, but I was about to Abandon this story. It is going ot be drastically shortened, but you should be able to see bother of the things you've mentioned in your review! Hopefully they'll be a new update soon enough :)

 Report Review

Review #19, by HartOfARebel The Insanity of Frank and Alice Longbottom.

21st February 2012:
I'm glad you didn't abandon this, I think it's a really good story and a great idea. I'm glad Lily came back to James, he was really suffering without her.

Author's Response: Thank you! It's good to know that people are stilll reading this after such a long time :)

-AC


 Report Review

Review #20, by Shannon Bananon The Insanity of Frank and Alice Longbottom.

9th February 2012:
Hello! It's nice to be here. :D

Oh, I love Alice. In the end, she proved to be so strong.
Fantastic! I'm so happy you updated. :)

Author's Response: Ahhh! Thank you so much Shannon Bananon!

I think Alice and Frank were crazily strong characters, and I don't think I captured half of what I should have done here. But I enjoyed it all the same :)

I'm glad that you enjoyed the update :D

-AC


 Report Review

Review #21, by Jen The Insanity of Frank and Alice Longbottom.

8th February 2012:
Nice to be here! :)

A much happier chapter, despite the treatment of Alice & Frank. I was really hoping that Lily would come out of it soon. I know she misses Harry - of course she does... but surely it's better that he wasn't murdered and is safe? I'm so glad she sees that.

I truly love this story.

Up until recently I had only read The Art of Breathing and to discover all of these other half-written stories of yours has made me ridiculously, deliriously happy. :)

Author's Response: Hey there Jen! This story hadn't been updated in about a decade, but it was good to finally get Lily out of her funk and write something with a hint of cheer about it.

I'm so glad you're reading all my half-written stories and enjoying them! I love regular reviewers, they make me so happy! It's a pleasure to have you on board :)

-AC


 Report Review

Review #22, by GuardedHeart The Insanity of Frank and Alice Longbottom.

8th February 2012:
Ugh. This story, I love it. It's so pretty and heartbreaking and wonderful. I just found it today and read all the way through it and loved it, and I'm so glad Lily's feeling better now. Don't worry if updates take a while - quality matters!

Seriously. Beautifully written.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Honestly, I've been in such a rut with this story and you've really cheared me up about it. Thank you so much! :D

-AC


 Report Review

Review #23, by Jen The Boy who Lived.

8th February 2012:
This is fabulous. Just thought you might like to know that.

If I lose my job cos I'm not getting my work done, it will be entirely your fault woman! lol j/k

Author's Response: Thank you very much! This story hasn't been update for what. six months? But you've actually just inspired me to finally finish the next chapter. I'll stick it in the queue later tonight :)

 Report Review

Review #24, by June Knight On the Street.

5th December 2011:
Wow I nee thought I would read another fanfic which made me tear up, but this did. I also never thought I wold read a fanficion about the afterlife! That new to me!

I loved how you went through the members of the order which died, some had accepted it and others still couldn't beileve it. I thought that was a nice, but ulimatly depressing touch. :'(

Once again you have captured the feelings and thoughts of our characaters really beautifuly and this s the part which draws me to your fanfics x

I can tell you now that not many things make lil ol' me cry, but this almost pushed the limit and burst my tear ducts! Please continue writng like thos because I love every word I read off the page.

The rest of the story's not this depressing.is it?

Author's Response: WELL, it gets slightly less depressing later on? Although I imagine if you hit the next few chapters its not exactly going to make you cheerful... although this story needs serious work so DON'T READ IT ALL YET, ahha.

I love fiction about the afterlife! I couldn't resist it! Anyway, thank you very very much - I really appreciate lovely reviews such as this :)

-AC


 Report Review

Review #25, by Seriously_in_love Wonderland.

7th November 2011:
i love it i cant wait to see where this story is going i very nearly cried in the last two chapters

Author's Response: Awh, thank you very much! :D

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>