Reading Reviews for Time for Turnips
  
10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Jenna822 Time for Turnips

20th July 2011:
(Prize Review #4)

This was sad yet hopeful at the same time. It was really emotional, but you managed to convey that without having to go on and on in details. It was easy to fill in the missing parts just from what you gave. And of course, it was so well written, (grammar, flow, style) just as everything you write it. :) --Jenna

Author's Response: That's something I really try to go for, because it's the most difficult thing for me to write. I wanted it to stay simplistic because of how Luna is in the world, and I'm glad that you were able to appreciate my ghost of a story. Thank you! :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by HorseBabexo Time for Turnips

11th October 2010:
Hey! It's me FINALLY with my review!
Sorry it took so long for me to review this. I've been super busy lately, but anyways, i'm here now :)
I really liked it. It was good how you tried to keep Luna in character. However, there were some places where I didn't think she was but at the end you made her Luna again and it was great.
This kind of makes me feel bad for Luna. Her boys don't talk to her and her husband is never around...I'm glad Harry was such a good friend to her.
I also like how it was short, sweet, and to the point. It didn't drag like some other Harry/Luna one shots that I've read before.

really great job, I loved it :D

Author's Response: Oh, don't worry about it! I've hardly been around myself. Thanks for coming by!

Luna is always a major challenge for me, so I appreciate the constructive criticism. Thank you so much for your review! :)


 Report Review

Review #3, by Heather Time for Turnips

13th September 2010:
lov it plz keep this story going

Author's Response: Thank you for your support, but this is staying a one-shot! Sorry :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by CheeringCharm Time for Turnips

31st August 2010:
Thank you so much for writing this story! I loved it, especially because of the not written things that you had in it:D
I really like the way you portray Luna you do it so well, she's my favorite character and you totally catched her person and put it in this! so thanks :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I've always been iffy on my characterization for Luna so it's always nice to hear good things about it!

 Report Review

Review #5, by FannyPrice Time for Turnips

15th August 2010:
Hello again! --waves--

I thought this was incredibly interesting. Short and sweet. The first paragraph especially pulled me in, and even though you use the word "affair" it seemed very plausible scene between Luna and Harry. I thought Luna in particular was very well characterized.

I do think an expansion on the emotional distance between Harry and Ginny would have leant a more emotional impact to the story, but, in reality, that is such a small critique. This really was very good, and set up very well in the short amount of words.

Another job very well done!!

Miranda

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I've always had difficulty with Luna so that's really wonderful to hear. Thank you so much for the advice. I tend to be a little cheap with my elaboration in my one-shots, so it's something that I'll have to continue to work on.

 Report Review

Review #6, by lunaloverandpartner Time for Turnips

24th July 2010:
This was fantastic! I hope you make sequel, maybe where Harry and Luna breakup with their spouses for each other i'd love that! way to go!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for your review! I don't really write sequels to my one-shots, but I'm very glad that you enjoyed this one!

 Report Review

Review #7, by dennisud Time for Turnips

24th July 2010:
I've always felt that the two loneliest characters in HP were Harry & Luna. and wished they would have gotten together!
Other then Hermione, Luna would have made the best wife for him!
Great one-shot!
dennisud

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your review! I've never really tried Harry/Luna before, but it was an interesting experience.

 Report Review

Review #8, by blueirony Time for Turnips

23rd July 2010:
What I love more than anything in writing is when a very simple idea can be turned into a powerful one that makes the reader really think or feel something or both. This does that. You take something as simple as a friendship, a garden and a turnip and turn it into something really pretty. And I loved it.

You really pick up on both Harry's and Luna's emotions in this. And it's almost like an undercurrent in the story. You don't really say too much about the tension between Harry and his wife, nor do you explicitly talk about the hurt that Luna feels over Rolf spending time away. It's all implied. It's all there, plain as day, but it's more shown than told. And that's really special.

I also love the simple friendship between Harry and Luna. They are both in character and it was just a really sweet moment between the two and it showed a lot about the relationship that they have. And it is definitely along the lines of what I would imagine them to be like while they were older.

Congratulations on completing the challenge and hope you enjoyed it!

Joop :]

Author's Response: Thank you! I really feel like any story about Luna has to be simple, because she is so natural and lovely. I really didn't want to shove the romance in any one's face, especially since this is the first time I've ever tried to write this pairing, so I'm really glad that you enjoyed that. It's been difficult for me to age them in the past, so that comment really means a lot to me. Thanks for making such a lovely challenge! I really enjoyed participating!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Antiquity (from TDA) Time for Turnips

20th July 2010:
Since I'm making your banner for this I figured I'd read it first to get a good idea for the story. I really like this, the simplicity of the setting and the perfect amount of description. You really portray Harry and Luna nicely, not at all depicting them as perfect or static characters, but by explaining their emotions, in a way. I got an earthy feel from the story--subtle, yet nice. This was very well written and I'm glad I happened upon your story, not to mention privileged to create a banner for it. I look foward to reading some of your other stories as well. :)

Author's Response: And THANK YOU for making such a lovely banner. Earthy is a wonderful compliment. That's exactly the feel I was going for. I really appreciate your review and, of course, your lovely graphic! :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by RavenclawFreak Time for Turnips

19th July 2010:
I like it. Especially the part about the slime.

Author's Response: Thanks so much! :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login