Reading Reviews for Wendigo
  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by MajiKat Wendigo

30th September 2010:
HOLY WOW

im...awed by you

that was incredible. the imagery, the poetry in your words is just beautiful. if i was to quote everything i loved and tell you why I loved it this review would be as long as the story itself.
this had sound and taste and flesh and blood and such tender and sad beauty...i can't describe how this has made me feel. pity perhaps? but a part of me is pleased at peter's remorse and regret because in becomming a beast, in starving so completely inside and out, he is humanized. and not many people do that to him.

i don't know what else i can say - i don't have the words to convey how amazing this is. it's haunting, chilling, and i will remember it for a long time to come.

wow
Kate xx

Author's Response: Hiya Kate!
Thank you so very much for the fantastic review! It was just great hearing from you. I'm so, so glad (and relieved) to hear that you liked this one-shot. It took me nearly forever to write it, for some reason. I knew I wanted to write something that incorporated the Wendigo myth, but I just couldn't get the plot down. I really owe a lot to my wonderful betas, Violet Gryffindor and DarkladyofSlytherin. They both were instrumental in getting this story off the ground.

And I'm so pleased that you enjoyed my take on Peter. He's always been a somewhat obscure character to me...I never really paid him much mind until I decided to include him in this fic.

Again, thanks for everything, Kate! I hope you have a great week. ^_^ Take care!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #2, by Jazzeh Turnip Wendigo

22nd August 2010:
Woah. That opener really startled me. For some reason, I wasn't expecting it to be as beautiful as that, despite having read some of your stuff before. Just... woah.

Some of your narrative was so beautiful it made me gasp, which is a complete first for me. That first paragraph about Sirius? At the end of that. le gasp. I was pretty much panting by the end of this whole piece, haha. It's so stunning.

I loved how you used the repetition of both of them starving. I think you over did it a little though because I feel really hollow now for some reason, haha. What exactly both the characters were starving for, I have no idea. I have my theories, but there's many of them. Both literally hungry, Sirius hungry for revenge, Peter. I don't know. -scratches head-

10/10
Lorren.

Author's Response: Hi Lorren!
Thank you so much for the kind review! You know, I had such writer's block with this one-shot. I wanted to write something dealing with the Wendigo (either symbolically or figuratively) for a long time and I just couldn't make it happen. I really owe a lot to both my betas, Violet Gryffindor and DarkLadyofSlytherin. They were really a terrific help with this.

Needless to say, I'm so happy that you liked this one-shot. Your feedback was greatly appreciated. I really didn't know what to expect when I posted this, considering it's somewhat more abstract than my usual style.

Again, thank you SO much for your thoughtful comments. It was just wonderful hearing from you. Take care and be well!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #3, by Violet Gryfindor Wendigo

21st August 2010:
This is even better the second time, more terrifying and horrifying in its imagery and vision of suffering. Sirius and Peter are very oddly alike in this, and it's something one tends to forget because "Sirius is good and Peter is bad", but Sirius blames himself incredibly for James and Lily's deaths more. He feels the pain and guilt more than Peter, who actually betrayed them, and it starves his soul.

It's the imagery that really makes this story phenomenal. I can vividly imagine the prison with the cold sea water splashing up around it, under perpetual shadow. You evoke sound and touch in a way that transports the reader there to their fascination and dismay.

There was, however, one paragraph that you repeated, and I wasn't sure whether you'd meant to do that or not. The repetition almost works. It's the one that starts with "Sirius decided that would rather sell his soul than starve."

It was a great experience to help you with this story. It's turned out to be an amazing piece of writing that deserves huge recognition. ^_^

Author's Response: Hi Susan!
I really have so much to thank you for when it comes to this piece. First of all, thank you for reviewing. As always, it was an absolute joy to hear from you. Secondly, I have to thank you for all the help you gave me while this fic was still in the works. It is because of you and darkladyofslytherin that this fic exists. Without your patience and input and inspiration, I definitely would have put this on the back burner and let it slide into nothingness. ^_^

And I can't believe I repeated that paragraph! D'uh! I feel like such an idiot. I'm surprised none of the other reviewers mentioned it. Hmm. Either way, I took it out, because the repetition certainly wasn't intentional. Just another silly mistake on my part.

Again, thanks for everything!!! I really am so greatly appreciative of all your help and feedback. Take care and be well!

Best,
Lee Anne


 Report Review

Review #4, by Miss Lily Potter Wendigo

7th August 2010:
Erm. Wow.

This was... wow. Such a wonderful one-shot. The amount of power you managed to pack into one chapter... It's phenomenal. I loved it.

I loved how you had them both starving, and Sirius seeing 'the deer and the men', and Peter just... starving. I don't know. It was wonderful, however, and I could feel my heartrate quicken even though nothing in particular was happening (no offense, I merely mean that it wasn't, say, a murder mystery; it was much, much scarier than that).

Beautiful job.
-Jasmine

Author's Response: Hello Jasmine!
Thank you so very much for the lovely review! It was really wonderful hearing from you. I must admit, I was quite insecure about this one-shot. I had been wanting to write something using the symbolism of the Wendigo for some time, although I wasn't sure how it would work out. Both my betas, Violet Gryffindor and darkladyofslytherin deserve a lot of credit for getting me through this piece. ;)

Needless to say, I'm so thrilled to hear that you liked this one-shot. Your feedback really made me smile. ^_^ Thanks again and take care!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #5, by MidwinterMasque Wendigo

3rd August 2010:
Brilliant, beautiful and harrowing. I like the use of simple language to create something very complex.
xx

Author's Response: Thank you! It was absolutely wonderful hearing from you. I'm so glad you enjoyed this one-shot.

 Report Review

Review #6, by soliloquy Wendigo

18th July 2010:
LEE ANNE. STOP BEING SO AMAZING D: it puts all the rest of us to shame! :D Only you can write horror the way you do. The grotesque imagery and way of stating things so matter-of-factly -- it makes my skin crawl but in a good way.

It reminds me of the horror/thriller movies of the past (quite unlike the new ones who only pair up horror with screams and violence and gore); it's all mental. It creates this image and these words swirl around your head, creating this moving picture and your imagination becomes something so horrible that well, I have no words for it.

Peter and Sirius. And the Deer man, James. I liked the Native American mythology that you used; original and clever and worked so incredibly well in with the rest of it. I love that you used his seeing the Deer man (of course he'd associate it with James!) as reason enough for his revenge and starving himself so he could extract the revenge. Ah, they always did say that revenge was a dish best served cold...(not that I'm being ironic with the food imagery :p).

Excellently written (as freaking always, girl!) & grotesque enough to kind of make me nauseous. In a good way, of course! I think the only horror/dark stories I'd read on this site belong to you because you write it so elegantly and beautifully and it's so creepily disturbing! It's written as horror ought to be written (how you can read my 'Six Bells A-Ringing' is beyond me..) without all the cheesy effects that are so unneeded!

Please teach me how to write creepily like this. And disturb people. You are awesome.

LOFF YOU, GIRLIE. (P.S. I'M EXPECTING THAT BREATHLESS CHAPTER SOON :P I'M GOING THROUGH WITHDRAWALS~*)



Author's Response: Hiya Tanya!
Honestly, I am certain I don't deserve such praise. You have no idea how unsure I was about this one-shot. Really, I thought it was my weakest piece of writing to date. I wanted to use the symbol of the Wendigo quite badly and just had to write something. After a long struggle, I came up with this. Originally, the story was supposed to focus entirely on Peter, but then poor Sirius got dragged into the mix. ^_^

Needless to say, I'm absolutely thrilled to hear that you liked this piece. Personally, I thought it was quite icky...and not in a good, horror way, haha.

Associating James with the Deer Man wasn't planned, it sort of just came naturally as I was writing. I figured I couldn't ignore the fact that James turned into a stag when he transformed, hehe. ^_^

And you really shouldn't be so hard on your own writing. I LOVED 'Six Bells A-Ringing'.

You really are too kind, Tanya. *hugs* You've been such a supportive reader/reviewer/beta. ILY!!!

Best,
Lee Anne

PS You should have the next chapter of Breathless waiting for you in your inbox, though I'm afraid it's a boring one :(


 Report Review

Review #7, by Celestie Wendigo

14th July 2010:
Oh my god.

I think I've spoken to you only once or twice on TGS, Lee Anne, but you've long been on my favorites list. I'll admit that it's been a bit since I've read your more recent work, but OMG - this is AMAZING.

I read this one-shot right after I ate lunch, so it made all the descriptions of starvation especially unsettling. This time period is practically entirely ignored - especially Peter's side of it when he lived as a rat. Gorgeous, creepy, amazing. I can't say it enough because that is what this is.

You are officially the Queen of Horror and Angst and I'd be lucky if I can pull off either of the genre with as half as much style as you do. The description in this was simple, but so effective. The first paragraph actually made me feel really uneasy (to the point of looking away, actually. Then I marveled because it's a computer screen and I wasn't seeing an actual image in the first place but it had elicited such a strong response anyway.)

I love the references to Wendigo. Even more so since it comes from Native American mythology, which is rarely seen in these parts. (Greek and Roman Mythology, I think, are overused, so kudos on the originality.)

Horror is a bit of a guilty pleasure of mine. A lot of it is written quite senselessly in fanfiction - just words paired with violence. But you write it with finesse and grace and style. There's symbolism and imagery and gah. You are very talented.

*ahem*

Now that I've squeed my heart out and left most of my dignity as a reviewer in shambles, I will go. XD

Favorited. I will be broadcasting the amazingness of this one-shot to all who will listen. I hope you write a tut on TGS on how to write Horror or Angst one day.

- Celeste

Author's Response: Hi Celeste!
*blush* Wow. I really don't know what to say. You have no idea how insecure I was about posting this one-shot. The style was more organic and the plot was vague and I honestly thought everyone would hate it. *blushes again* Gah! Thank you so much! I'm absolutely overjoyed to hear that you liked this. Really, truly thrilled. ^_^

Needless to say, I'm glad you were creeped out. As a fan of horror, I know what scares me, although I can never be sure if it will scare other people. Your feedback, therefore, is so very reassuring. I'm ecstatic to hear that you think I'm doing something right.

Honestly, I don't know much about Native American mythology, although it does seem rather fascinating. I first read about the Wendigo in Stephen King's "Pet Sematary" and then I saw it used more and more often in horror movies. I did do some light research on the subject before writing this one-shot, although I'm sure my take on the Wendigo spirit is far from traditional.

As far as writing a horror tut goes, I'd be happy to, although I'm pretty hopeless at giving helpful pointers. Generally, I just think about what frightens me and go from there, haha.

Again, thank you SO much for the unbelievably awesome review. Seriously, I'm still blushing. ;) Take care and be well!

Best,
Lee Anne


 Report Review

Review #8, by iLoveYouDraco Wendigo

14th July 2010:
intense, i like it :)
good job anddd
keep on goin'
:)
xoxo
Karissa

Author's Response: Thanks so much!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login