Reading Reviews for A Darker Shade of Light
  
22 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Jsez444 Chapter 16

14th April 2011:
First of all this is the first Crossover fic I've read. I usually don't like them and I actually started reading this not knowing it was a crossover. I really didn't like the first few chapters, I couldn't figure out why you were sticking so close to the original story. When the crossover piece came in and I had never heard of Wheel of Time I almost gave it up. Obviously I didn't because here I am.

I really enjoyed the story and am very glad I stuck with it. From the perspective of someone who had not read the WoT series I thought you did an excellent job giving information about that world without overdoing it so people who had read it would get bored. I am now considering going out and reading the actual Wheel of Time series. Maybe I'll get caught up before you finish the sequel. Any idea when it'll be up?

Author's Response: Glad that you stuck with the story, seeing as the first bunch of chapters aren't great.

Achieving a good balance between too much WoT info and too little was very difficult. It tends to become like a snowball, every small bit requires a hundred other bits to make sense. So I'm happy that you found the balance to be good.

I've written 70k words of the sequel. I hope to start posting within a month, perhaps two. I like to finish at least a first draft before posting. That way I know I won't drop the reader.

If you want to get into WoT, I would definitely recommend the audiobooks on audible. The readers are excellent.

Thank you once again for reading and taking the time to comment. I really appreciate it.


 Report Review

Review #2, by lauraf68 Chapter 16

19th March 2011:
Dear st122,

I have a couple of questions:
1) Who did the green light hit, Harry/Rand or Voldemort?
2) Did Harry/Rand clutch his head afterward?
3) Was it because of the Horcrux in Harry?
4) Am I reading too much into the ending or did Snape weave a gate?

WONDERFUL STORY, 10/10 (even if the first couple of chapters were tough to understand). Sometimes I worry it is much past my reasoning abilites, however your writing really helps explain the nuances that, at times, go over my head.

I'm glad that Ginny got to go with Harry and learn. I'm extremely glad you allowed Mrs Weasley to see Harry, understand what was going on, and give her blessing. I'm hoping that she was able to smooth things out with the Weasley men during their 7 year absence.

Hmmm--7 years, they were gone 7 years. That would make Harry & Ginny about 25 & 24 years old, respectively. Just wondering.

Happy Writing!!! I look forward to your sequel. ~Lauraf68

Author's Response: Snape did weave a gateway. I will explain more of whats going on there in the sequel.

The green light struck Voldemort and Harry reacted to the Horcrux.

Yeah, they're gone for seven years. I did this mainly to make them a bit older. I'm not that fond of writing a young mature Harry. I think by making him a few years older he will be more believable.

Hope to get the sequel done soon. Thank you reading and commenting on each chapter as you read. :)


 Report Review

Review #3, by lauraf68 Chapter 15

19th March 2011:
Oh my, I'm on the edge of my seat. WONDERFUL CHAPTER!!
10/10!!!
~Lauraf68

Author's Response: :) Glad your enjoying it.

 Report Review

Review #4, by lauraf68 Chapter 14

19th March 2011:
Dear st122,

Sorry I haven't been reading. A pesky thing called LIFE has gotten in the way of hobbies and fun. :-)

This chapter is very-very good, AWESOME writing, the descriptions make it all tie together. 10/10

On to the next ~~ Lauraf68

Author's Response: My turn to apologize. I've been away on my honeymoon so I've been rather busy.

Thanks for reading.


 Report Review

Review #5, by puiwaihin Chapter 16

12th March 2011:
I love this story. In my opinion it is one of the best on HPFF.

Personally, I love your characterization of Harry and Ginny's early romance in the story. To me you made the whole relationship plausible. I don't consider your early chapters weak, they just had a different focus.

Your revelation of Snape creating a gateway was a shock. So, not only does he have the ability to channel, but he's been trained as well? Yikes!

I have to say that Harry following Snape to Voldemort and blasting everyone apart with the One Power was certainly logical, but I think it was a little rushed. Considering the power Harry had, sure, that's exactly how I think it would play out in a versus battle, but as a reader I would have liked to savor the moment a bit longer.

Overall, it's a fantastic story. I've deeply enjoyed it and look forward to what happens next. I WILL be reading the sequel.

Author's Response: The first few chapters were needed to set-up the romance between them. I just feel that my writing and the whole relationship was not written well. I think the idea was sound but lacked in execution. Not sure if you agree, but I think my writing improved a lot through the course of the story.

The Voldemort scene was quick, but I with respect to the entire story it shouldn't be such a strange end.

I'm glad that you enjoyed it. I hope that you'll find the sequel more entertaining. It is different, with more POV's and a few original characters.

Hope to see some comments from you when I start posting it. Thank you :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by puiwaihin Chapter 15

8th March 2011:
Awesome chapter! I wonder if Harry shouldn't have tried reasoning with Dumbledore, but him trying to steal and destroy the wand was certainly in character. Very nice build up and that's a great payoff in this penultimate chapter. Can't wait for your next one to be validated!

Author's Response: Thanks. Hope you enjoy the last chapter of the first part. Thank you for leaving a comment.

 Report Review

Review #7, by puiwaihin Chapter 13

24th February 2011:
It was nice to get to see Harry in action in the WoT. I had figured he had been bonded against his will before, though it was nice to see it confirmed. I was thinking that perhaps Harry would have been bonded by a reincarnation of Ginny, rewoven into the Pattern.

Hmm, I have to wonder-- what would balefire do to Voldemort? I'm sure if it hit a horcrux it would destroy it, but could a horcrux save Tom Riddle if he is erased from the pattern?

Great story, every chapter, and I look forward to seeing the rest!

Author's Response: I actually thought about a reborn Ginny, but I felt that would be unfair to the current Ginny. There are also a few other, more important, reasons why there are no other women in Harry's life in the WoT.

The prologue of the sequel will show nicely how the horcruxes will be dealt with.

Thanks for the comment. I appreciate the effort. Thank you for reading.


 Report Review

Review #8, by lauraf68 Chapter 13

22nd February 2011:
Sniff, Sniff!! Glad that Ginny can understand some of Harry's inner turmoil now. (8/10)

It does explain a lot. Just wondering how Harry, Illyandra, Rand meet? Did you say at some point and I missed it, or have we not gotten to that detail yet? Maybe I'll go back to the beginning and re-read?

Looking forward to more. Happy Writing. ~Lauraf68

Author's Response: The next chapter will show more of how they met. Sorry for the sad chapter. Thanks for reading and reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #9, by lauraf68 Chapter 12

18th February 2011:
Oh my!! Luna too, huh? I hope Hermione figures it out soon and Harry lets her off the hook and informs her.

Looking forward to more explanations and resolutions.
Happy Writing. ~Lauraf68

Author's Response: Luna... can't forget about her. Had to give an explanation for her Luniness. Thanks for reading. Next chapter is something different.

 Report Review

Review #10, by puiwaihin Chapter 11

14th February 2011:
Love this story. I like the tainted Deathly Hallows.

Author's Response: Thanks for taking the time to comment. Glad that you're enjoying it. :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by puiwaihin 

13th February 2011:
I was planning on waiting to review until after I finished the whole story, but I've enjoyed this chapter so much I felt I should just go ahead and express it. I really enjoyed this retelling, it was exceptional and IMO more believable than JKR's version. I'd say keep up the good work, but you've finished it apparently!

Author's Response: Thanks for reading. Glad you enjoyed the story, and yes this story is complete, though I am already busy with the sequel. There are parts to this story that I now regret writing, as it takes away much, but I hope the sequel will be much better (Not just my writing, which has been shocking in this one) But I write to learn, so I appreciate comments. Thank you

 Report Review

Review #12, by lauraf68 Chapter 11

12th February 2011:
Dear st122

Good Chapter, (8/10). I'm not sure I'm quite following all that it means (the cloak issue has me very confused). And, when you say Dark One do you mean Voldemort? Or are the Dark One and Voldemort two different entities? (I think you mean they are different.)

But it is truely interesting and I'm sure in time (and with more explanation) it will make more sense.

I assume you are continuing JKR's path that Dumbledore has the Elder Wand??? I'm almost wondering if Harry needs to go to Albus?? Or if that would be a bad idea??? Anyway---looking forward to the next chapter. Happy Writing! ~Lauraf68

Author's Response: There are two types of power in the WoT. The first is the One Power, which is divided into the male (saidin) and the female half (saidar). Then there is the True Power, which can be used by both men and women. However, the True Power comes directly from the Dark One, hence it is evil and destroys whatever it touches.

In short there is a difference between the Dark One and Voldemort.

Thanks for reading, hope things will become clearer as you read.


 Report Review

Review #13, by lauraf68 Chapter 10

12th February 2011:
Dear st122,

Sorry for not reviewing sooner, I totally missed this updated chapter. Saw that is was here when the next chapter came up. First this one:

Wow, a great deal of information in this chapter (8/10) -- but yet many unanswered details. I'm glad to see Ginny moving along accordingly. Moraine seems to be a highly skilled and understanding trainer. It amazes me that there isn't as much "instruction" to it all, it seems more about instinct and feeling.

Very concerned about the "Dark One was touching him". I wonder if you mean it as a cross reference to the dual visions with Voldemort?

Looking forward to reading the next chapter later today!!
Happy Writing! ~Lauraf68

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. Will comment about both comments in your next commet.

 Report Review

Review #14, by lauraf68 Chapter 9

30th January 2011:
Great long chapter!! (9/10) I like how you have explained somethings and finally let Harry tell Ginny who he was.

I agree with Ginny that he should tell Hermione and then maybe they can figure out a good way to let Ron know too. Although past that I don't think anyone else should know the truth, yet. Well wait, maybe Dumbledore could know too??

I'm hoping that Ginny is able to learn from Moiraine soon, sounds like she has powers that she is not even aware of?

Really like this story and am looking forward to more. Happy Writing! ~ Lauraf68

Author's Response: Thanks. You'll definitely get to see some more of Ginny. There's a Ginny POV coming up in the next chapter. Hope you enjoy it. Thanks for the comments.

 Report Review

Review #15, by GinnyFan1 Chapter 8

27th January 2011:
Brilliant. I love the plot in this. I keep sitting on the edge of my seat, wondering if Harry will ever tell Ginny who he really is. Brilliant work! Can't wait for the next update!

Author's Response: Thank you. I'm glad your enjoying it. Hope the next chapter will be to your satisfaction. Looking forward to your comments.

 Report Review

Review #16, by lauraf68 Chapter 8

20th January 2011:
You want to know what I think, Huh? I think it was VERY, VERY, GOOD!! (9/10)

Glad that so far Dean is the "bad guy" and not Ron. Well, at least not yet. I reserve judgement until we see what Dean conveys to Ron and if Ron reacts.

So relieved that Harry visited Moiraine and will finally enlighten Ginny. I feel like he has been leading her on just a bit. Although I understand why, I just won't be suprised if is on the receiving end of some of that Weasley temper.

Looking forward to the next chapter. Happy Writing!! ~Lauraf68

Author's Response: Hi, thanks for the review. Really appreciate your thoughts. The next chapter should be up soon. :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by lauraf68 Chapter 7

15th January 2011:
Wow! Great Chapter!! 9/10

Loved the Mrs. Weasley moment, the Malfoy dissmissal, and the Luna observation (very interesting, waiting to see where that goes).

I think I am understanding the link between the two stories a little more too. Although I thought the sorting and walk into the hall seemed a bit strained.

Also, I had thought that "Rand" would plan to hold off being "friendly" with Ginny. I just never expected Ginny to instigate the first move and so soon. SILLY ME!! This IS Ginny and he IS Harry. She can feel their connection she just doesn't understand it yet. (Right?)

Thanks for a good read, looking forward to more. Happy Writing, Lauraf68

Author's Response: Hi, the whole sorting thing was a bit strained, but it needed to be there. Harry definitely wanted to wait, but you know... life never plays along with ones plans. Thank you for the review, and thank you for reading.

 Report Review

Review #18, by Brinker Chapter 6

24th December 2010:
Excellent story! Love the disguise of Harry so that Ginny can't recognize him and I like the relationship between Moiraine and Harry; like brother and sister.
Please keep writing. I can't wait to see what happens next. The sexual tension between H&G keeps me wanting more!

Author's Response: Thank you! Glad your enjoying it. Will post the next one as soon as the site allows.

 Report Review

Review #19, by lauraf68 Chapter 6

23rd December 2010:
Hello st122,

I'm sorry I didn't review at Chapter 5, I got a little behind in my reading. I have to admit I was a little lost in your reference to WoT and the verbage specific to that story. So I looked it up (don't you just love Google?).

While I am still trying to figure some of it out, I am really enjoying it and figure that as the chapters tic by it will all come together.

Within your writing I can feel Harry's anguish of not being able to tell the truth of what happened to him with Ginny and the others. I find it intriguing that Ginny can sense him, but am sad that she doesn't know that it is him and feels the conflicts of wanting to like Rand.

I look forward to more of your story. Happy Writing!! ~Lauraf68

Author's Response: Unfortunately, there are a lot of terms in th WoT. I will try to keep them to a minimum. The rest of the story will reveal much, while also raising more questions. Thanks for reading and reviewing. Appreciate it.

 Report Review

Review #20, by lauraf68 Chapter 4

4th December 2010:
Dear st122,

Oh-h-h-h my!!! Have Ginny and Harry formed a bond???
Oh-h-h-h my!!! Where did Harry go???

Poor Ginny, I feel so bad for her right now, AND good grief what about that prat of a brother!!! I'm so disgusted with Ron I could Bat Bogey him myself!!! Not too thrilled with Hermione right now either.

I'm so totally on the edge of my chair you wouldn't believe it. Very well written, this chapter deserves a 10/10. Keep up the good work, I look forward to the next chapter and hoping for a little explanation.

Happy Writing!! ~Lauraf68

Author's Response: Hi, Ron comes out a bit harsh in this part. Glad you're enjoying the story. There will be a lot of explaining as the story develops. But I think the next chapter will confuse you even more, and then things will begin to unravel slowly. Just posted the next chapter so it should be up in a few days.

 Report Review

Review #21, by lauraf68 Chapter 3

4th December 2010:
Dear st122,

Wonderful Chapter, 8/10. Sorry I haven't kept up on my FF reading recently. So when I had time tonight and found that there were two unread chapters I was happy.

I really like how you are developing H/G relationship. I hope soon that he will start confiding in her a little more. Plus I hope that Ron will come to grips with his anger. I think that Ron is fearfull for Ginny's safety. Just seemed to get that vibe after the Cho incident.

I am so glad you kept the Luna aspect to this phase of the story, too. LOVE Luna!! Plus I am glad you mentioned that Ginny's parents know of their romance too. Wondering, You haven't mentioned the twins. They should be around, shouldn't they?

Well--Onto the next chapter. ~Lauraf68

Author's Response: Hi. Glad you like Luna. She will definitly play a much bigger role later. A little bit in this story, but more in the planned sequel. Thanks for reading. I am off to your next review

 Report Review

Review #22, by lauraf68 Chapter 2

6th November 2010:
Dear st122,

Found your story today and read all 3 chapters. I find it promising, full of angst, and definetly full of unanswered questions. I'm not sure I really understand the Prologue but figure (and hope) your ideas start explaining themselves.

You have my attention, but I find it interesting that there isn't very much "adult supervision". Plus where are the rest of the Weasley's? Especially Fred and George. I give you a 6/10 for very solid ideas and I especially adore the early budding of Ginny-Harry relationship.

I am looking forward to seeing what you do with what seems like a very cannon-esque AU story. Happy Writing! ~Lauraf68

Author's Response: The prologue is a hint to who Harry is and that it is a crossover. Though this is a crossover, it will remain in the HP world. Some of the things will start to expain themselves, and some more question will arise. Thank you for the review.



 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login