Reading Reviews for Prefect selection
  
47 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Padfoot31937 Meeting with the Headmaster

16th June 2014:
I think that it's stories like these that truly help make up the Harry Potter universe. These stories give us so much information in such a tiny amount but contribute so greatly to the plot of Harry Potter. I absolutely loved this piece! Thanks so much for writing it and giving me insight into Dumbledore's mind xx

 Report Review

Review #2, by MyMyMiss Meeting with the Headmaster

14th March 2014:
Hi hun, here for blackout again.

OMG, what is with your writing? why are you so good? You always have such a good writing description, everything you just wrote had me taking back with your perfectness.

Your way of writing the scenery is amazing, I always feel like I am there sitting in the room watching people, or watching a triwizard tournament. You are seriously amazing!

I really like that this story, is center around the prefects. Wwe have never heard much of how the prefects are selected, nor have I seen anything similar to this, so 10/10 for the plot and creativity!!

Kepe up the good work!

~MMM

blackout - 2/20

 Report Review

Review #3, by HEG Meeting with the Headmaster

5th March 2014:
This is a nice little insight of what happened when they were choosing the prefects. You have used good description in your dialogue and have thought of a good plot to base your story on. I like it.

HEG :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by anythingcouldhappen Meeting with the Headmaster

23rd February 2014:
Hi! I'm here from the Gryffindor review tag :)

This was a very interesting one-shot! I really loved seeing the reasoning each head had behind choosing each student. I think you really captured each of the head's personality in the way they addressed the decision. Dumbledore was also very characteristic of himself in all his comments.

I also thought the Hogwarts record book showing something besides each of the names was really cool. It added another level to the story, with some nice foreshadowing. It was interesting to see Dumbledore's reaction to it all too.

The one thing I thought you could add is maybe McGonagall or Dumbledore mentioning something about Harry having enough on his shoulders anyway. That was the reason Dumbledore gave in the OotP and even though I like your focus on Ron individually--not just as not Harry--I think just a passing sentence about that might be good.

Awesome job!

Sam

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this nice review! I'm very pleased that you liked my story and thought I managed to get the Heads of House in character; that was not all that easy!!!

I take your comment into account and will try and work a way to put it in somewhere, you are right, it should have been mentionned, even if only in passing.

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #5, by MissesWeasley123 Meeting with the Headmaster

13th February 2014:
Akussa, hey! You've been leaving so many reviews for the review-a-thon, so I figured that you shouldn't be left out either!

This was really interesting.I loved it a lot. I think one of the most toughest characters to write it Dumbledore and Minerva, but you just did it so well. There was a lot to it. Not only that, but you made it come to a close beautifully. I loved so many things, and it's so well written.

The selection I enjoyed the most was Ravenclaw, hands down. It was warming to see Dumbledore be ever so kind, and he thinks things others wouldn't, and he sees so much more. It was quite funny reading Flitick bash Michael and the others :P That was great.

You characterized Minerva so well too. Everything was great, and I thoroughly loved it. I think when she was talking to Dumbledore, there was this easy comfort and essence that had been poured throughtout their conversation. I enjoyed that. We saw their friendship, which was really cool.

Everything was so canon, and honestly a pleasure to read. Great work!

Author's Response: Aw, thanks so much for thinking of me :)

Dumbledore definitly is a hard character to write; getting into the mind of such a brilliant person isn't all that easy!! The other Heads weren't easy either because we don't see them that much, especially the Hufflpuffs or Ravenclaws.

It's funny how everyone prefers a different selection! All were fun to write but Flitwick was particular, I'll admit that!

Thanks again for taking the time to read and review, plus with all the nice things you said, I'm just over the mood today! Glad you enjoyed and had a good time reading it!


 Report Review

Review #6, by CambAngst Meeting with the Headmaster

30th January 2014:
Hi, Akussa! Long time, no see! It's been really nice to see you back around more often!

I really like your plot concept here. This is one of those very interesting "missing moments" alluded to in OotP. Also, I absolutely loved your ideas about how the Prefect selection process happened. But more on that below.

It made perfect sense that Hufflepuff would be the house that found the greatest difficulty in selecting its Prefects. When you're starting with such a loyal, hard-working lot, leaders aren't likely to emerge in the same sort of high-profile way you'd see in Gryffindor or Slytherin. Professor Sprout's reasoning process was well written and I liked the way that you set up Albus's role in helping her to clearly see the decision she was facing and make a choice. Sometimes being a good leader is more about asking the right questions than telling other people what to do.

I really, really love the idea of this book where Albus records the Prefects' names. It was such a clever touch and it added so much to the mood of the story.

Snape was done really well, with his brief, blunt and very tactical evaluation of his choices. He approaches the problem like a general marshaling his troops, seeking the greatest advantage in the battle against the Dark Lord. I'm curious how you're envisioning Draco ending up as an apothecary, and it was a bit sad to see that Pansy might not have much of a future. Not too sad, mind you, but a bit.

The back-and-forth between Dumbledore and Flitwick felt nice and natural to me. A Ravenclaw would be predisposed to making a decision more based on subjective criteria and with less of an eye toward the human element. In the end, however, Flitwick is pleased to have had his assumptions challenged, which is also a definite Ravenclaw trait.

The conversation between McGonagall and Dumbledore was the best of the entire story, I thought. Both of them know the students involved in the conversation so intimately. They bring slightly different perspectives on how to best help Harry with his challenges. Even after all of Dumbledore's self-admitted mistakes in life, he still suffers from the bias that individual recognition would be the best way to maintain Harry's morale, while McGonagall places more stock in the importance of the support he receives from his friends. In the final analysis, of course, it would appear that she was correct. A very nice bit of characterization all the way around.

I did notice some typos as I was reading, but nothing major:

who do you think would loose less by not being chosen? -- lose less

Sure he boost about being protected by the influence of his father but really, -- boasts about

"Now for the girls, Bulstrod should be expelled," -- Bulstrode

"Same for me, a good day and Iím going to make yours even better by quickly letting you know who the Ravenclaw Prefect will be. -- Prefects will be

"Maybe but in that case, he will loose his best friend," Minerva McGonagall declared as a finality. -- lose his best friend

Nice job with this! It's great to see you writing again and I really look forward to reading more of Ronald's Box when you update!

Author's Response: Hi Dan! It's good to be back as well!!

This story isn't a new one though, I spelled checked (badly, as you pointed out :P ) and re-wrote a couple sentences to make it flow better. I'm curently going through my unanswered reviews and using the CC to improve my existing stories because I cannot write new stuff right now (computer problems) but I'm glad you found this one!

What I take away from this review is that, overall, you thought I represented each house well and that is the best compliment there is! We are so used to the Gryffindors and Slytherins that the other two houses kind of get forgotten and all their great qualities are simply ignored.

Surprisingly, I found Hufflepuff was the easiest for me to relate to and kind of made me rethink my sorting.

I think Draco would be a great apothecary for a couple reasons : he was pretty good at potions during his school years, he would be kind of an essential service to society (everybody needs the apothecary at some point or another and they would have to deal with him), he could stay with his dark ways should he fell like it (helping out with dark potions and plants, or not, depends on how you see him turning out). As for Pansy, it's unclear wether she has a future or not but it is always sad to imagine that a 15 years old might never get to grow into adulthood, I give you that.

As for the conversation between Albus and Flitwick, that was a lot of fun to write. Surprisingly, most people that read this story don't get why Flitwick would be happy to have his idea challenged but you understood precisely what I meant.

And then the Gryffindor conversation. I always felt that Minerva had a thing to do in Ron being a Prefect, Dumbledore wouldn't have chosen him for sure, not because he didn't think he could do it as well as Harry but because he didn't think about him period.

Thanks again for this thourough review and I will check out those typos for sure! As for the next chapter of Ronald's Box, it's half written on paper; as soon as I get my computer back, I'll get to it and finish it for sure!


 Report Review

Review #7, by Rambling HP Debater Meeting with the Headmaster

20th January 2014:
I really liked this story, but I do have to say... I don't really think Ron was a good prefect. Maybe it helped him, maybe it didn't... Personally, he doesn't get good grades, he's rather lazy, and he has zero confidence which the position never really helped with... And his brothers teasing him rather a lot and no one expecting him to be a prefect probably lowered his self confidence. The only time Ron really gets over his issues is in the seventh book after he comes back after leaving (in a jealous fit). So while I like the story, I still can't agree with Ron as a prefect.

Author's Response: Thanks for taking the time to review! Although I have to agree with you on some points about Ron,s abililtes at being a prefect, I have to say that for this story (and pretty much everything I write actually) I went with cannon. I followed JK Rowling's idea but added my twist to it, trying to give an explanation as to why Ron got the badge, no matter how bad he was at it!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Secret Santa Meeting with the Headmaster

6th January 2014:
Ho ho ho!

Secret Santa here :)


So this story really caught my eye on your AP and I'm so happy it did! I can't tell you how much I've enjoyed reading it. Missing moment stories like this are some of my favourites to read.

I really liked the 4 different approaches you gave to the 4 houses as well as some of the background. So, the fact Hufflepuff always took the longest really made me smile. I also liked the fact you really focused on ALL of the houses, making each of the decisions interesting.

You were really clever in the way you allowed your character make their picks... most of the reasons you gave wouldn't have even crossed my mind... Like Greengrass not being picked as their impartial and they don't want to be targeted. And then Dumbledore challenging Flitwick on his choice of Terry Boot, even though Anthony is a good choice. All so cleverly thought out so a big big kudos to you. It made the whole thing even more interesting and also made me completely believe it.

Okay, I can't tell you how much I enjoyed reading the last bit. I was happy you left the Gryffies to the end, but the way McGonagall put her point across about Harry and Ron was fantastic. You're right, Harry would have lost his best friend and things could have been much much different. Nicely played there on your part.

You also had lots of other little points in the story I loved, the spell to make the election official for one, I loved that! Also, the way the official book gives some clue to whats to come was excellent - the majority of the students becoming DA members eventually... perfect!

Once again, this was a great find and a lovely little read. Your characterisations and dialogue are perfect!

Great job!

Love from,
Secret Santa
xxx

Author's Response: Thank you so much Santa (I'm pretending like I don't know who you are yet because I feel bad I didn't have time to answer your awesome reviews earlier).

I'm so glad you chose this story to review, it is one of my personal favorite as well. I enjoy reading stories that present some missing moments of the original stories and I always wondered how the prefects were chosen.

It was a lot of fun to image all the head of houses examining their students and how they come to the decision that one student was in a better postion to take on the role. I like to think that the process to making that decision would be very different from one professor to the other.

I'm so glad you enjoyed this little story, and this review was just amazing, you really made me so very happy with these gifts Santa, Thanks again a milion times!!!


 Report Review

Review #9, by HollyStone73 Meeting with the Headmaster

11th April 2013:
I love this!! This is such a cute piece. I never actually put much thought into the Prefect selection process myself so this was very interesting for me to read. My absolute favorite part of this was Dumbledore's magic log book! That is so ingenious!! And being the huge fan of Snape's that I am I love how he showed concern for Greengrass by not putting her as a Prefect to prevent her from being a target to Voldemort! It shows the side of Snape that we were not permitted to see in the books. All-in-all a very well-written, well thought out piece. I loved it! Great job!

Author's Response: Ok, first, sorry for the delay. I feel horrible but I have to admit that I have not been around much in the past year.

Second, thank you so much for this review! I'm so glad you liked the idea behind this story and especially the log book thing. I had a lot of fun writting this story and trying to show the difference between the way Head of Houses, difference in the way they think, they act and how they come to a decision! Snape was a lot of fun and I wanted to show that he really thought about his students and showed some interest in protecting them.


 Report Review

Review #10, by CherryBoom Meeting with the Headmaster

6th January 2013:
Hi! As a thank you for being such a great Santa this year, here's a review for you in return. =) I enjoyed each one of your presents very much.

I like to write scenes the I feel are missing from HP books as well. It's comforting to know, that even now when there are no more HP books to wait for, one can always read a fanfic like this and feel the magic all over again.

I haven't ever really thought about how prefects were chosen, so this was quite interesting take on it. I agree that most likely the opinions of the heads of each house would be the most important factor, since they know their students much more personally than the headmaster could know.

You portrayed each of the teachers very well. Minerva and Severus were very much like their canon counterparts, and it was interesting to see how carefully Pomona had thought about each one of her candidates before coming to the Dumbledore's office. I liked the reasoning of why Anthony Goldstein was chosen, because I always root for underdogs. Only the reasoning behind Ron becoming a prefect wasn't quite as convincing as with other choices. I have always hoped that his own personal traits and merits without Harry would be enough to choose him. Probably bit like with Ernie and Hannah, he would be the social one, when Hermione is more the intellectual leader of them two. They complement each other in that sense. But that's just my two cents. =)

I love the idea that Dumbledore died with the certainty that Harry and his friends would somehow overthrow Voldemort once and for all.

Your flow was natural and even though this wasn't the shortest of the one-shots, I still could have read more. There were misspelled words here and there (e.g. The plum witch -> plump?, Digory -> Diggory ), so it could use a round of beta reading. But if was a lovely story, and I loved to read it.

Author's Response: Ok, first, sorry for the delay. I feel horrible but I have to admit that I have not been around much in the past year.

Second, thank you so much for this review!
I'm so glad to hear that I'm not the only one that likes those little missing moments from canon! I love reading them and playing with the original story a lot.
When it comes to Ron's selection, I agree with you and my reasonning was similar to yours. I however chose to go with this "storyline" because I didn't want to use the same reason (same as Hufflepuff) to explain the choice of prefects and also, when it came to giving reasons (more social, more laid back...) I always came to the conclusion that Harry exibited those same qualities and, therefore, there was no reason that explained why Ron came over Harry and how Minerva would have convinced Dumbledore.

Thanks for pointing out the mistakes, I'll check them out right now!


 Report Review

Review #11, by MissMdsty Meeting with the Headmaster

17th November 2012:
Hey there!

Wow, this is a really good piece of writting. I enjoyed every word of it.

I really liked how you gave the insight on the reasons why these students became Prefects. It shows a great attention to detail on your part, in regards to the series in general, seeing as you were able to give very accurate descriptions of the characters, even those that are secondary for the story (like the Hufflepuff Prefects, for example).

Originally, I clicked on this story to read about the choice of the Slytherin Prefects and your spin on the reasons why Malfoy and Parkinson got the badge really surprised me. It was a clear, objective reason and one that has never crossed my mind until now, but the more I think about it the more sense it makes.

As for the Gryffindor choice, it was indeed a very smart move on McGonagall's part to push for Ron, seeing as he is the one that is always overshadowed, not just by Harry, but by his more succesfull and outgoing siblings.

A very nice touch that I really liked in this was the appearance of the future occupations of those chosen. It really gives the whole story a sense of foreshadowing that only the Potter series can offer you.

Finally, your description of Dumbledore as a man that feels war is coming and makes all of the preparations necessary in every way he can is really touching. And the details of this fall perfectly into canon. Dumbledore gains an understanding of Draco and plans the events on top of the Astronomy tower, same goes for Ron and he includes him in his will and automatically in his master plan to see this ending from beyond the grave.

Tehnically speaking the writting flows perfectly, the mood is set from the first paragraph and it switches in accordance with the person standing in front of the Headmaster and the grammar is very polished and appropriate.

Great story, keep up the good work!

P.S. Since my last review on your Killian story I've watched the movie and now I'm even more excited to read what happens next! =)

P.P.S. I think this is the longest review I've left. Ever. But you deserve every word of it!

Ral

Author's Response: Hi and thank you so much for this amazing review! I'm really touched that I received your longest review yet!!

It was fun to come up with reasons as to why those particular students were chosen for being prefects. It did ask for a bit of research but not too much, I have to admit that there wasn't that much info on most characters!!

The Slytherins part was so much fun to write and I'm glad you picked up on everything I tried to pass on there. I definitly intended for Snape to give some informations about Draco's family life and the situation he was facing now that Voldemort had come back.

The Gryffindors, well, I'm so pleased you like it! I always thought that there was a reason why Ron had been chosen, a reason deeper than what Dumbledore told Harry at the end of OtP. And Dumbledore being just a man, I do think that he had a clear favorite and that, at that point, he had not really noticed Ron's importance. Dumbledore is a man that acts alone and he probably saw the same for Harry and failed to notice the importance of his friends, something that McGonagall would have picked up on.

The book of the future really just wrote itself. I almost erased it before posting this story and I'm glad I kept it because it really does add to the story. Keeping things optimistic and giving Dumbledore just a little information as to how things might turn out.

I'm really, really touched by your review and you have no idea how happy it made me. Thanks so much!

As for Scott Pilgrim, isn't it a great movie!! The next (and last) chapter is in the work right now :)


 Report Review

Review #12, by Remus Meeting with the Headmaster

20th September 2012:
Heya! Perelandra here with your review!! :D

Alright so this is a moment I would never thought about reading. The choosing of a Prefect! I'm excited to see where this is going to go! :D

The first thing I liked about the first paragraph is Dumbledore not knowing some of the students. Some paint him as a know-it-all so its refreshing to see Dumbledore not knowing some of his students but willing to learn more about them.

On the first part, where Dumbledore is talking to Sprout and he inquires about the choices for her female choices you used the word 'Feminine' which usually is used to describe something that is female. Like a dress, or make up...its something that belongs to the female sex. If you were to change the word to 'Female' it would work and sound much better.

I LOVE the book!! Seriously, it was a great idea! The whole Sergent and Officer titles made me think of an old fic I read DA and the Year of Darkness. So for that alone you get bonus brownie points! Hahaha!

I have come to a decision already, not that it was very difficult considering the idiots that this group holds, --I chocked on my drink! That line was hilarious!! That is something Snape would say!

Snape's entire section was an interesting read. I like how he's telling Dumbledore secrets without outright saying that he's spying for Dumbledore. While Sprout's character you can play a bit when it comes to personality, Snape felt true to canon. His dialogue was, while funny, cruel towards the students. The book revealing nothing of Pansy's future is interesting. Does she die? Does she come a housewife? *curious*

*le gasp* nothing on the Padma? Did you kill her off in this story? *stunned*

I LOVE the reasoning as to why McGonagall chose Ron instead of Harry!! And its so true!

I squealed when Dumbledore read that they were going to be DA Founders and receive the awards. Speaking of Dumbledore, I would like to throw out that his characterization felt very spot on! What his thoughts were...his actions...everything about it felt like the Dumbledore I read in the books.

It made the perfect ending to this story!

Overall, this was a great story! I'm adding it to my faves!!

Thanks for the lovely read!

--Rosie

 Report Review

Review #13, by xelha horse Meeting with the Headmaster

2nd July 2012:
This was absolutely amazing :) two thumbs up kind of awesome! I love your portrayal of all the Heads of Houses especially!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for taking the time to review, I'm glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Cavell Meeting with the Headmaster

13th May 2012:
Oh, wow, I loved the idea of this - it is a very good idea, and I'm extremely glad you decided to write about it. It's interesting to see what the Heads of Houses thought should be Prefect, and I liked the telling-the-future-and-past book, it was a nice touch, and you pulled off the difficult character of Dumbledore very well, so job well done, as not much people are able to do that.

Author's Response: Thank you so munch for this sweet review! I'm glad you liked this story and found it original.

It was a very nice way to explore those adult characters more as well as the students because in the books, we only see them through the eyes of one of their peer which is a biased perception. Dumbledore was horrible to write!! But I'm pleased of how it turned out in the end!

Thanks again for this review, I appreciate it a lot!


 Report Review

Review #15, by Elenia Meeting with the Headmaster

24th April 2012:
Wow! Just wow! Every story I read from you is better than the previous and that's saying a lot because I loved the first one already so much! It's just wow!

The originality of this story! It's just amazing! I always just thought that the headmaster/headmistress chose the prefects and that's it but your idea makes so much more sense! I mean of course, the Heads of Houses would know their students a lot better that Dumbledore, so of course they would give their insight on the subject! Really well done! I've never read anything quite like this!

Loved all the characters. You did a great job keeping everybody canon!

The scene with Sprout was probably my favourite. The way you've portrayed her was very good. I'd imagine her having trouble choosing one student over the other and would need help in making the decision. I also enjoyed her thoughts about the Hufflepuff students, they fit really well to everyone's persona!

Snape! He was so good! Exactly like I imagine he would be. His thoughts about his students were very accurate as well and I liked how he went straight to business, not bothering to make up compliments about the students who didn't make his cut.

And Flitwick! I really liked the thought that Dumbledore managed to change his mind about the choices. I think Filius respected Albus very much and would definitely take his advice into consideration and almost certainly follow it. Nice thinking!

Also McGonagall's scene was fabulous! Funny how it went the other way around than with Flitwick and McGonagall ended up convincing Dumbledore about her choices. Loved her reasoning btw - although I would have wanted to see even a little mention about other Gryffies than just the trio, at least the boys since Hermione was quite obvious choice after all.

The book was such a clever idea also. The thought about the empty spots after their names gives me the chills!

Anyways, another great story you have here. Where do you get your ideas? I'm really enjoying the originality of your work!

Take care!

~Elenia

Author's Response: Again with the blush worthy reviews! You are so kind Elenia, I really appreciate what you are doing; makes me very happy and moer confident with my writting as well.

It was never really discussed how Prefects were chosen and I think the Head of House would have their words to say because no matter how great the Headmaster is, there is no way he (or she) can know every students' potential and abileties.

Writting the professors though, that was something else! Sprout has got to be my favorite as well; I can just imagine her having a close bond with every single one of her student and not being able to chose between them because she sees the good in all of them.
Snape was fun as well because, well, who doesn't like being nasty at times, right??

McGonagall's scene was harder to write though because I wasn't sure how people would react to her intervention in chosing Ron rather than Harry. But it's the way I see it anyway; I think that, no matter how great Dumbledore was, he was partial to Harry and he would skip over the other students at times to see more of Harry.
McGonagall is a bit like Snape in that sense where she won't bother talking about the students that didn't make the cut. She had her mind set when she walked in and did not waste any energy trying to seel the other boys.

Where do I get my ideas? Honestly, I have no clue :) Most of the times, I question myself about a little thing and try to find answers. When I don't find the answers, I decide to write my own perspective. Now the questions, you may ask where they come from, well, that is the main question I've always had! I've always been very curious about the trivial things in life; those little details that aren't important to others are essential to me.

Thanks again for your kind words, you have no idea what it means to me, especially now in this bigger than ever writter's block; gives me confidence that the imagination will come back eventually .


 Report Review

Review #16, by Ashling586 Meeting with the Headmaster

12th March 2012:
March Gryff Review:
I have always wondered how the perfects were picked each year. I had always assumed that it was completely up to the headmaster/head mistress, but I liked how you added the input of the head of houses. I especially liked the insight each of the head of houses had for the students in their houses. Surprising enough I enjoyed Snape's insights on his house the most.
There were two grammar mistakes that I felt I should mention: In the first paragraph there was a small typo so typed "autority" when it should have been "Authority". The other typo was at the beginning of McGonagal's entrance you typed "chait hes collegue" when it probably should be "chair her college".
Other than that the story was a success in my opinion. Great job.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for this lovely review!

I know everyone has their idea of how Prefects are chosen and when I went looking for a story about that, I found none!
Personally, I think that the headmaster has a lot to do and that chosing prefects would fall under the Heads' responsability. They have a lot less pupils to look over and, therefore a lot more time to get to know each and everyone of them whereas the headmaster has the entire school to look over. Some students would most likely fall through the cracks and not get their chance because of that.

Snape hun? He was fun to write; being blunt and bitter is definitly interesting! But he does have a deeper insight in this; bit of forshadowing Voldemort's plans and the need to protect some students.

Thank you very much for pointing out the mistakes, I'll get to them immediatly!
I'm glad you enjoyed and apologize for the delay in my response, like got the best of me... Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #17, by megthechef43 Meeting with the Headmaster

12th March 2012:
Akussa,

This was a nice insight into a day in the life of Dumbledore. It was very thoughtful of the reason behind each prefect that was going to be elected to each position. I loved that Dumbledore still challeges his staff to be better and provide better insight in to the people they nominate.

Dumbledore's elation over his staff's ability to think critically for there students was good to read. Sometimes when I read the books I think Dumbledore was slightly cold towards the end but it makes me happy to read that the was not.

McGonagall's plight for Ron was great. It makes me believe that she played a vital role in the destruction of Voldemort but her simple action of believing in Ron. Which is exactly what he need to have the courage to help Harry when he truly needed it.

I loved the future-telling record book and the realization of what it meant. I wish he knew what DA stood for. He might be a little bit proud.

I can't wait to read more.

Megthechef43

Author's Response: Hi and thank you so much for this kind review!

I think Dumbledore trusts his head of house fully and knows that they are in a better position to make a decision. They have a lot less pupil to look over and therefore, more time to observe and guide each one of them.

I'm glad you liked my little push for Ron! I always imagined McGonagall was the one that rooted for him for this position; she always seemed like someone that, no matter how cold she might seem at times.

The book was a way to show some hope for the future, no matter how dark Dumbledore was seeing things at that time. I'm glad you liked it, thanks again for the review and sorry about the delay in my response!


 Report Review

Review #18, by starryskies55 Meeting with the Headmaster

12th March 2012:
Words cannot describe how much I loved this! It's perfect. I loved that each of the Heads of House were very canon- Sprout was my favourite one, and I really liked Snape as well; 'Well, Bulstrode should be expelled'.

And I am very pleased you made McGonagall the one who put Ron forwards! I was surprised that he was made Prefect, but your McGonagall is perfectly right- he is Harry's rock.

I really liked the touches with the Book as well, showing their future too :D

Awesome! :D

Author's Response: Oh wow, thank you so much for this nice review, I cannot tell you how happy (giddy might be more appropriate) this makes me!

Some of the Heads (Flitwick...) were harder than others but some others, Sprout for example, were so much fun to write! Snape was fun as well; it's nice to have to opportunity to be bitter.

I'm glad you like my take on how Ron became a prefect. I always thought McGonagall had something to do about that; she always seemed to know more about her students than what she let on (that comment about Neviile and what his Gran thought of him always touched me a lot). Ron needed someone to fight for him in that sense and I can definitly imagine she was the one to do it at that moment.

The book was a strange thing that wrote itself before I even realized it. It does give a nice touch of hope to this story. Thanks again and sorry for the late answer!


 Report Review

Review #19, by thecutephoenix Meeting with the Headmaster

17th January 2012:
The chapter is well written but their is a spelling mistake.
In the paragraph where you had mentioned the Triwizard Tournament, you had spelled incorrectly first. You had written 'fist' there.
Otherwise, it is my favourite story.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this nice review, I'm really glad you liked it and that you took the time to let me know!!
I will fix that error right away, thanks for pointing it out!


 Report Review

Review #20, by house elf Meeting with the Headmaster

29th December 2011:
I really enjoyed reading this story. It was original and interesting and the characterization was believable.

I noticed just a few mistakes, like in the 3rd paragraph you put 'plum' instead of 'plump' witch and other little things like that, but overall it was very well written and kept my interest. :)

Author's Response: Thank youso much, glad you found this interesting and, most of all, original; it's quite hard to achieve that here sometimes!!!

Thanks for pointing out the mistakes, I will look at it and correct them as soon as the queue re-opens.


 Report Review

Review #21, by Secret Santa! Meeting with the Headmaster

19th December 2011:
Ho Ho Ho! I'm Back :D

Oh! I love this one aswell! Another story that I'll have to make a favourite after Christmas (if I do it now, then you'll know who I am.. and that's a secret ;) )

This was such a good idea! The meeting to decide who should be prefect, just a fantastic idea. I love that when Albus writes the Prefects names in the book, their future careers or positions comes up aswell! And it's so sad when no career comes up after their names :(

I found your characterisation brilliant, however I've always imagined Albus to be a little wiser, as in, more in tune with his students. It was brilliant, don't get me wrong, but I just feel that Albus would of known Ron a little more? Very minor point!

Also, whilst nit-picking, in the first paragraph you write 'autority' instead or 'authority'. That was all I coud see though.

Really brilliant, you'll hear from me soon :D

Merry Christmas,
Secret Santa

Author's Response: Hello Santa!!!

You are so kind, you're making me blush with excitement when I read your reviews!

This story was hard to write when it comes to the characterization of the teachers but the story in itself, the choices and the book parts, those parts practically wrote themselves.

Your perception of Albus intrigued me. It's not how I wanted him to come off but I will re-read things just to be sure. The way I perceived it, he knew his students very well and had an idea of who to chose but he wanted to let the teachers make their minds. When it comes to Ron and Harry though, I always thought that Albus was like a lot of people, blinded by his love for Harry so that he didn't see Ron next to him. Not because he wasn't wise or was mean, just because he had Harry on a pedestal too high.

I will look for that error and change it as soon as the queue re-opens, thanks for pointing it out!

Thanks again for such a kind review, I really appreciated it!


 Report Review

Review #22, by Your Secret Santa :) Meeting with the Headmaster

18th December 2011:
This was a really good story :) I liked how each of the professors made their choices, and the reasons for which the people were chosen. I liked how the book showed what the future would hold for the kids- that was a nice addition, and orginal. Dumbledore was charcterized wonderfully in this story, so great job, as it's very difficult to get him just right. I liked McGonagall's determination and reasons why Ron waas prefect instead of Harry. Her argument made sense and fit in with what Dumbledore told Harry in the book. I liked Sprout too- how she was sure of her choices, yet unsure of exactly who at the same time. All the characters were in character, which is always nice to read.

Merry Christmas! (Or Happy Holidays :D)

Author's Response: SANTA!

I must thank you so very much for sating that you think I did a good job with the characterization! It was very hard to write those teachers; much harder then I would have imagined before I started!!
The book idea simply wrote itself. I have no idea where it came from and I almost cut it out of the story at first, I'm glad I did though!

Merry Christmas to you as well and a very happy new year!


 Report Review

Review #23, by adluvshp Meeting with the Headmaster

15th December 2011:
Tag!

Well this was a nice and unique piece. I really liked your plot, the idea of prefect selection had always intrigued me so, and I liked the way you portrayed it :) It was a nicely woven piece, and I think the Heads of Houses meeting with Dumbledore to arrive on the decisions was quite believable and interesting. I also liked the reasonings the heads gave to the headmaster; it was nice to see how much they paid attention to their students. The idea of the magical book which shows the prefects' future was a wonderful touch too, and I liked how Dumbledore speculated on them.

The characterization of Minerva and Pomona was quite nicely done. Snape and Flitwick felt a little strange to me, the way they conversed with Dumbledore, but maybe that was just me. Dumbledore's character was also nicely carved.

Over all, this made a nice read with the characterizations, plot and flow written well.

Good work!

9/10

Cheers!
AD
(AditiDraco95)

Merry Christmas from the Slytherin House!

Author's Response: Thanks so much and merry christmas to the Slytherin house (or happy new year considering the delay...)

I was always curious as well as to how they chose the prefects so I decided to write my vision, I'm glad you didn't find it too crazy!!

I have to agree with you on the characterization, particularily on Flitwick; somehow, I can't seem to grasp this character. I will try again later, and try and give him a bit more substance!

Thanks again for your kind words, I appreciate it a lot!


 Report Review

Review #24, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Meeting with the Headmaster

1st December 2011:
Oh wow! This was an excellent read. I thought there would be fighting and it would be tough decisions because I figured that they would all be in a room together and we know how snarky Snape can be. This was a better idea than mine! Haha. I really like how they chose the Prefects, there was so much thought behind it and I've never thought about why or how they chose them. Oh! And I loved Severus's part out of all of them because he was just very snappy, very Snape like! You really got his character spot on and Dumbledore's as well.

I thought the book was a wonderful addition. Especially that he could see what was going to be their path later in life. It's like a reassurance for him that some of his 'favorites' (I use the term loosely) are going to really make something of themselves.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this review, made me blush when I read those kind words!

That would have been a good idea as well, to have them all together and fight for the decisions...
You know, when I started that story, I had no idea how much thought went behind the decisions either... and then I found myself trying to explain every choice and make it believable; I was the first one surprised!

The book idea wrote itself. I almost cut it out because I wasn't sure it would work but in the end, it does help prove that the choices were the right ones after all.

Thanks for this review!


 Report Review

Review #25, by Woodrow Rynne Meeting with the Headmaster

16th November 2011:
I'm gaping at the screen right now. You know why? Because this piece was simply terrific! :D Seriously, I'm starting to love your one-shots. So unique, yet so fantastic!

Every characterisation was jaw-droppingly accurate. I've never seen anyone characterise every canon character so wonderfully! :)

Also, I never thought selecting prefects was such a difficult job. I like the idea that the Professors didn't choose certain students for their own safety- to prevent them from being targetted. :)

And that Ron twist was wonderful. I never imagined /McGonagall/ choosing him. In a way, it was very much canon, and characteristic of her. :)

Loved it. This was brilliant in its simplicity. :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this nice review and I apologize for the delay in my response.

I feel so touched by what you said, I hardly know what to say other than a huge thanks. I'm glad you enjoyed the plot and especially the characterization because that was the hardest part.

I didn't think it was that hard either, choosing the prefects... But as I was writting, all these questions came up as to why this one and not that one and I really got a sense of how important these decisions were.

I always thought Dumbledore was blinded by his affection for Harry, not in a bad way or anything, simply, he wouldn't have seen Ron next to Harry. I thought the best person to see it would be the Head of House and I'm glad you think it works.

Thanks again for those kind words, you really made my day!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>