Reading Reviews for Forgettable Me
  
57 Reviews Found

Review #1, by wolfgirl17 Forgettable Me

6th November 2014:
Hi Tanya,

I absolutely loved this story! It's so. there aren't even words. It's like you've captured that feeling that I think anyone who's ever had a one night stand will perfectly understand, and then you cloaked it in the feeling of loving someone from afar and knowing they'll never love you back. I've not read a story so capable of eliciting such an emotional response from me in quite some time, to be honest.

I find myself suddenly recalling my high-school crush, and feel as though you've expertly put into words the feelings I so often felt whilst lusting after him and loving him and knowing nothing would ever come of my infatuation.

Thank you so much for writing this Tanya, and as this was actually your first fanfiction story (I stalked you MTA page) massive kudos on your writing skills and such a poignant and memorable debut!

xx-Wolfgirl17

 Report Review

Review #2, by randomwriter Forgettable Me

10th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

Tanyaa! Here to review for the House Cup! I think you Puffs have been doing really well, congrats! Anyway, I'm favouriting this story right away!

It was nice to see things in reverse for once. Well, not reverse exactly, but yeah. You're right in your author's note. The girl usually manages to win him over, so it was nice to read something from the point of view of a girl who didn't manage that. I found it very relatable and I think that your idea is fantastic!

This was so beautifully written. Are you sure it's your first story, Tanya? I'm not :p The writing has this seasoned finesse that I wouldn't expect to find in anybody's first shot! This is nothing short of perfection, and I can't believe you managed to deliver all these emotions in less than thousand words.

I love the tone and narration. It's as if she's addressing Sirius, but telling a reader about him at the same time. I thought that the way she was talking about him was both sweet, and sad at the same time. Her emotions are so heart-breaking, and you've written this beautifully! I have tonnes of lines I loved! But this one -->The truth is, you may have used me for one night, but I used you my entire life.-- was somehow so raw and real. It just made me stop for a second and think. Apart from that, there were a lot of ,lines that really left an impact on me. Your choice of words was amazing and you managed to deliver this is the best possible way. This is going to stick with me. What a lovely read! :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by LightLeviosa5443 Forgettable Me

4th February 2014:
Hi!

So I decided to stop by because I read your status.

I. Loved. This.

I didn't expect it to be a one-shot, so I was completely ready to review bomb you. But this was so much better in less than a 1000 words than I think a novel you had written about it would've been.

This story was so beautifully written. I honestly can't believe it was your first! I love the way you've voiced it, I think it's fantastic. The way that she's remembering him, but talking to him at the same time. It has an eerily realistic aire to it, almost as if she's standing as his grave, or she's written a letter to him. Or maybe even a diary entry. I don't know, it was just lovely.

I honestly don't think I could pick out a single thing about this that I didn't like. I liked the way you talked about how she felt about her brief relationship with Sirius. I like the way you set it, by stating all of the things that had happened to him.

And most of all, I loved the way you ended it. I think that that was the most beautiful part of it all. I'm favoriting this and recommending it to my friends.

Beautiful job, Tanya!

xoxo Sarah

Author's Response: Sarah! Gah, you are far too kind! Thank you so much! I'm just absolutely ecstatic that you loved it so much! :-D

Ooo, did you really? I wonder why you thought that? hehehe It's funny, I couldn't really imagine it as a novel, and I'm super stoked that you found it's short length and simplicity so compelling! That's always incredible to hear!

*blushes* Far too kind, I'm telling you! *hugs* Thank you, I'm so glad you enjoyed the writing - especially seeing as it was my first! Ah, that's so great that you said that! I actually imagined it taking place at Sirius' 'grave', even though, seeing as he fell through the veil, there was no body, and therefore no funeral or grave... but still, in my head, that's the sort presence I was experimenting with, so yay! I'm just thrilled that it came across that way!

That never gets old, I tell you. It blows me away, though, and I can't thank you enough for feeling that way about it. It's just brilliant that you enjoyed all of the different facets of the story. :)

This makes me so happy! It's funny, though, because the end of this story is the most heavily debated thing: I'd say about half the reviews LOVE the way I ended it, while the other half wishes I'd left out her name in its entirety! I feel on the fence about it, like I can see both sides, but either way, I'm just thrilled that you liked it! And *squee* That's so nice of you; thank you! :-D

Ah, this review is just so, so fantastic. You're absolutely wonderful for having taken the time to leave it. ^.^


 Report Review

Review #4, by Maelody Forgettable Me

13th January 2014:
Sweet and innocently beautiful. I read it while listening to the podcast, so it was made all the more sweet. :) I love Sirius as a character, too, and always felt really bad for him from the get-go. Though he was never a complainer, was he? Very sweet story, and a job well done! :)

~Mae

Author's Response: You, my dear, are just far too good to me. *hugs* I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed this story! And I love that you listened to the podcast as well; jazzeh_turnip, who read for it, did just phenomenally! I completely agree with you about Sirius; I love the complexity of him as a character, but it's sad that there is so much dark history for him. I'm so happy you liked this and just endlessly thankful that you left such a kind review! Thank you so, so much. :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by Misty_Rey Forgettable Me

10th January 2014:
It was simple but wonderfully written! Is Marian DeLacy original or part of HP canon? Either way, without revealing a concrete backstory, you still crafted this character that's just brimming with complex emotions that go hand-in-hand with unrequited love. I can't decide if this is a tragic comedy or comedic tragedy but either way, you wrote the emotions in a way that felt (painfully) familiar. More than anything, the character's personality and spirit really shone through with how she perceived and handled her love of Sirius, that she could display such poignant optimism, that like Icarus she flew too close to the sun, got burnt but was glad and grateful to have experienced it at all.

This was a fantastic read. :D
~Misty

Author's Response: Ah, thank you so much! What a gorgeous review!

Marian is an OC and not canon at all! hehehe I'm glad she felt real and developed enough to bring that into question, though! I'm just thrilled that this felt so accurate to you based on your own experience - and trust me, I can relate as well - though I'm sorry we've both been through it! *hugs* And what a wonderful comparison! I'm glad that though the subject matter is not particularly happy, Marian's ability to hold onto that silver lining shows through so that it is almost not so sad.

This review is just so very lovely. Thank you so much for taking the time to write it! :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by UnluckyStar57 Forgettable Me

7th January 2014:
Hello! I'm here for the Twelfth Day of the Twelve Days of Reviewing. :)

Awww, unrequited love. I can totally relate to that, but it would seem that Marian has it worse than I ever did. She obviously felt things for Sirius Black that were far beyond the normal scope of teenage love, and he obviously had no clue. She never had any chance to tell him, did she? And even if she did, he would've laughed and brushed her aside for the next pair of legs that came along. That's really unfortunate, and I think that you've captured that really well in a relatively small amount of words.

Why does she pine after him so? Did she never meet someone else who caught her eye? What a terrible thing it must be, to spend one's life longing for a person one can never have! Will she die lonely, the memory of Sirius Black still etched in her mind?

I thought that this was beautifully written. I think you did a really good job with characterization of both Marian AND Sirius, even though Sirius wasn't actually in the story. The fact that it's addressed to him is just incredibly sad, because he'll probably never hear or read the things that she said. He'll never know how much she loves him, confessed with words that were chosen so carefully by you. :)

Wonderful story! I know it has a lot of reviews, but I'm just helping you get to 100 on this one. (That would be a cool achievement!) Happy Twelve Days of Reviewing!

~UnluckyStar57

Author's Response: Hi, hi, hi and thank you so much for leaving this wonderful review! :-D

hehe I had a feeling when I wrote this that most people could probably relate to unrequited love, unfortunate a thought as that is (but yeah, Marian kind of took it to a new extreme - hehehe)! And you've hit the nail on the head! I'm so glad you could garner all of that from this story; that tells me that even with its simplicity, there was still some depth to it - which yay! haha

I imagine that some people, try as they might and close as they come to falling for a new person, still find themselves unable to let go of the past. It's really quite sad, but people truly experience that sort of thin, and Marian just... doesn't know how to move on completely. I love that you have these future questions though about her life! And truthfully, I've never actually thought past this moment! I like to think she'd be happy someday... :)

Aw, thank you! That's always so lovely to hear about my writing! And I'm thrilled that both Marian and Sirius were well-done! It is sad to think about that, but I'm so happy you liked the way Marian made her confession! *hugs*

Ah, you're wonderful; thank you so, so much! And hahaha! That would be INSANE! I was blown away that it even reached 50! 100 would be just crazy amazing! Ah, thank you again for taking the time to leave such a kind comment! :-D


 Report Review

Review #7, by signedheart Forgettable Me

6th January 2014:
This is just so good! I actually clicked the podcast version of it because I thought that was neat. The girl reading it has a perfect voice for readings. I read along and loved it. This is so clever. New favorite author? I think so!

Author's Response: Ahh, thank you so much!!! I'm, like, bouncing up and down right now with pure joy! I've been stuck at 16 favorite author's forever - it's so amazing to see that number go up! *hugs* And I'm just absolutely thrilled that you enjoyed this story, too! And yes! jazzeh_turnip read it and she did phenomenally! I was blown away the first time I heard it! She's wonderful, and so are you! Thank you so much for leaving another brilliant and kind review! It is endlessly appreciated! :-D

 Report Review

Review #8, by Secret Santa 2013! Forgettable Me

23rd December 2013:
Hello! Ho ho ho and all that jazz, Iím your Secret Santa this year!

This one-shot, from the word go seems very good. Iíve never read something from the point of view of a girl who didnít get the guy, and who didnít, I donít knew, find a replacement or something and itís just new and different and Iím excited to read it!

The poor girl, sheís just, a mix of emotions and just confusion and hate and love and annoyance and everything in between that anyoneís ever felt when theyíve liked someone that hasnít liked them back and I just feel terrible for her, but at the same time, itís a bit like, she needs to move on. I know sheís infatuated by Sirius and this and that but really, at the end it says that she wrote this after Sirius had died, meaning it had been how long since sheíd even seen him? Twenty?

But at the end, thatís a small bit heart-breaking. Thanking him for letting her love him even though he didnít even know and just itís, yeah. The poor girl. She seems a little obsessive, but still, the poor thing.

Iíll see you in the next story! Bye!

Author's Response: Santa! :-D Does this review mean that I'm on your nice list? *knee slap* :-p

Yay! I love hearing that a story of mine is sort of immediately well received right from the top! Woot! And I'm really glad that this was a unique story for you! Back when I wrote it, I too had only ever read stories where the main couple ends up together happily too, which is exactly why I chose to sort of flip the switch for this story!

Ah, I know, I feel so bad for writing her in such a sad state! Poor thing. But you're exactly right: She's going through every contradicting emotion possible, but is finally taking her moment to let go so that she can (hopefully) move on. It's a rather pathetic situation she's been keeping herself in, but I think the fact of the matter is that some people in the world truly are unable to let go of certain things, and for Marian, letting go of Sirius - regardless of how much time has passed and how little interest he ever showed her - feels impossible.

Hahaha Obsessive is kind of the perfect word, yeah. It's funny to have this balance of feeling bad for her and also feeling like she's sort of pathetic. She's a poor little thing indeed. *pets*

Anyway, thank you so much for the great review, Santa! Also, since I have yet to find out who you are, the riddle-hunting, secret-busting stalker in me has been trying to crack the code before you unveil yourself, so I wanted to take a guess at who you might be! After a little creeping and comparing, I'm going to say that you are... Siriusly89? *ponders more* ^.^


 Report Review

Review #9, by ReeBee Forgettable Me

7th December 2013:
Gah! Tanya! I literally have no CC! LITERALLY! Do u know how bad this makes me feel... ;) Just kidding! But, seriously, no CC! Perfection, you come to me in a one shot of just less than 1000 words :)

The emotion, the heartbreak, the bittersweetness, everything! Everything was visible through your writing. I have nothing to say! It was perfect. The lack of characterisation and description contributed to the greatness of the fic! Please don't take that as a flaw- it was a positive! The raw emotion was beautiful!!

Loved it! Hopefully u got that from the previous two paragraphs...

Cant wait to read more of your writing!!! :D

-ReeBee

Author's Response: Ah, such a sweet review!!! :-D Wow, I'm blown away! Should I apologize for the no CC, then? hehehe My bad. ;) You're wonderful!!!

*melts* You are just too good to me. It's just thrilling to hear that the simplicity of the piece added to the raw emotions rather than detracting from it! And I love that it made you feel her feelings, too! Yay!

You're honestly just so sweet. This review has completely made my day and it's not even noon yet! haha Thank you!!! *hugs*

Tanya


 Report Review

Review #10, by melpell Forgettable Me

21st August 2013:
Fantastic, heartfelt, simple, and complex. It's so beautifully written like everything you write, but this feels so real, so true, so relatable. Sirius is probably my favorite HP character and its because he doesn't have to love Harry, he doesn't have to care about him but he chooses to anyway. Being abandoned by family or unwanted is hard to cope with and I feel that's the reason Sirius left behind numbers and notches and not names. It doesn't make it forgivable but to me, it at least makes it understandable. In my mind, I forgive Sirius for doing this to others. But your story makes me mad at Sirius all over again. During that time, growing up, finding who he is, he makes a mess but he is a mess. I feel he kind of fixes it with his love for Harry. Or starts to. I thoroughly enjoyed reading this and I like that you included her name and definitely feel Sirius would be sorry for making her feel this way. This was so bittersweet, so many contradictory feelings, so perfectly written. Thanks for a different light to look at Sirius with, it's great : )

Author's Response: You give such lovely reviews! Really, they've totally made my day! I agree completely with everything you said about Sirius; his heart is in the right place, despite his past, and that's part of what makes him such a great character (one of my favorites as well!). Not quite forgivable, but understandable - perfectly said. And I love that even in such a short amount of time I could make you feel so strongly for Marian and her side! Man, with the grasp on Sirius that you have, I vote that you start writing fanfic, girl! Get it! haha Be warned: it's addicting! hehehe So basically you're wonderful and this review makes me so very, very happy! Thank you for taking the time to write it up!

 Report Review

Review #11, by MrsJaydeMalfoy Forgettable Me

8th August 2012:
Wow. This piece is short and sweet, but VERY emotionally complex. I've read TONS of stories where Sirius runs around chasing after a different girl every day, but you never really see a story from the girl's point of view! So this was a real treat; kudos to you for originality! :)

I loved how you showed the complexity of Marian's feelings. I think we can all go through that sometimes; she hates Sirius, but she loves him at the same time... it's very realistic. You made it very easy to sympathize with Marian, as well; after all this time and how she was ignored, she still just wants to thank Sirius for allowing her to love him... it's so sad!

All in all, this was a great piece! The flow was perfect, and it was just the right length, not too long and not too short. Didn't see any spelling or grammar issues either; great job! 10/10!

Author's Response: Jayde! Ah, I'm so late to respond to this incredible review! Endless buckets of apologies unto you, my dear! Eep! ^.^

You are far too kind. haha I'm so, so happy to hear that the story, while very simple, was still able to evoke emotion! And it's also great that you enjoyed hearing this sort of story from the opposite POV than it's usually told in! I really wanted it to be unique in that way, so I'm releived that it paid off and wasn't just a silly idea! Thank you!

Mhmm, I am so right there with you. I've definitely experienced the roller-coaster ride that is boys. haha It's great to hear that Marian was so easy to relate to. There are so many stories out there in which the guy gets the girl and vice-versa, but in life that's, more often than not, not the case. I understand that stories are sometimes a place we go to escape real life, to find happiness and hope, but I just wanted to be realistic here, and I'm really glad it was worth the risk!

All in all, you're the best, this review is wonderful, and I am endlessly grateful that you took the time to leave it! Thank you, Jayde! *hugs*


 Report Review

Review #12, by louise_loves_hp Forgettable Me

28th April 2012:
WOW! Its just so powerful.
So I just listened to the podcast and I had to come here to tell you that I love this story. Its just a small insite to Marian thoughts but its just so wow. This has so much emotion behind it. You say its rather simple, I say that you have really over thought that its just a lovely pieces. This is really a different side to the whole Sirius/OC that I have even read. Its written really well. I not sure if you got this or not but I really loved this story.

Author's Response: Gosh, you've made me blush! Thank you so much for this beautiful review! And I'm so happy the podcast brought you here! Doesn't jazzeh_turnip do a brilliant job with the voice? She made it so much better than it truly is, but I'm so glad you enjoyed my written version, too! hehehe I'm so happy you found this story different from most Sirius/OC's - I was really going for that, so it's great that it came across that way! Basically, thank you for this lovely review as it has really made my day! ^.^

 Report Review

Review #13, by megthechef43 Forgettable Me

9th March 2012:
Tanya,

This was an awesome insight. It was like reading someone else's journal and living in their shoes for a few moments. It was passionate and heartwarming.

I loved when she admitted that she had used him. Her long introduction was awesome.

I enjoyed reading this.

SHPFFO

Author's Response: Oh wow, this is such a kind review! I'm blown away by how personal it felt to you - like a diary or something, that's so incredible! I'm really glad that line stood out to you; it's one of my favorites as well. Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a beautiful review, you've completely made my day! ^.^

 Report Review

Review #14, by foreverfleur Forgettable Me

2nd March 2012:
This was just... lovely. It was so simple, yet so powerful. I'm so happy that I stumbled across this little gem of a one-shot. It was the absolute perfect study-break and actually has given me a lot to think about in terms of Sirius's overall characterization. This was just a side of Sirius--more than Marian--that I have never really considered. So thank you for that, for opening this door!

One thing I did think about, however, as I was reading this is how even more powerful it would have been if you had left it anonymous--if you hadn't given Marian a name in the end but rather let the story speak to all the notches Sirius left unanswered. Anyways just a thought, but overall, I really, really loved this story!

Wonderful job!

-ffleur

Author's Response: Awww, thank you so much! It's really great hearing that the simplicity still allowed it to make an impact on you! I think it's great that my story made you rethink Sirius' character! I actually see Sirius in a few different ways and this was just one of them, but it's awesome that it gave you something to think about! And I'm so happy you stumbled upon my story, too! ^.^

It's so funny that you bring that up! I've actually had about half of my comments tell me a similar suggestion while the other half have told me that they loved that line! I agree that it could work both ways, but I think the reason I originally wrote it with her saying her name is because I saw it as sort of her last attempt at making her name stick with him, at not continuing to be just a notch. Does that make sense? Hahaha Maybe if it weren't a podcast and recorded forever in the original text, I might go back and see the effect it has with the name taken out!

Thank you so much for this review! It was very, very kind of you to take the time to write it and I truly appreciate it! :-D


 Report Review

Review #15, by TheNewMalfoyMistress Forgettable Me

16th January 2012:
Ahhh I really enjoyed reading this! :) You have written it so well and it was so detailed... Love it! If you have any spare time, could you please read over my stories and let me know what you think? Thank you and well done again! :) xx

Author's Response: You're so kind! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this beautiful review! I'm so happy that you enjoyed it! If I find myself with some free time, I'll do my best to check your stories out as well. :-) Thank you again for the lovely review!

 Report Review

Review #16, by Livi_777 Forgettable Me

20th December 2011:
Oh gosh, this is really gorgeous! Really, really gorgeous! I just love the originality of it all, it's entirely delectable! I could almost gobble this whole story up whole and munch it down! The emotions that you pour out into this story are so heartfelt and raw that they brought tears to my eyes. There are so many people (including me) who can relate to this sort of feeling. The feeling of being invisible to the one person who lights up your life. I love the un cliche-ness of it all!
Beautiful! I can't find a bad word to say!

Author's Response: Eee, thank you!!! This review made me smile, and I definitely laughed out loud at your gobbling it up comment! :-D I'm so happy you liked it! And I'm especially happy that you found it original, as I really was trying to write a story that isn't common, so yay! I'm sorry about the tears, but I'm so flattered that the story touched you on such an emotional level, and I too can relate to the feeling, which is exactly why I wrote it! haha

Seriously, this is such a kind review! Its completely made my day, so thank you so much for taking the time to leave it! *hugs*


 Report Review

Review #17, by Miss Muggle Forgettable Me

18th December 2011:
This is incredible. There is a ton of emotion in there; I really feel sad for Marian DeLacy.
I love how you took the cliche of Sirius being a player and spun it in a different direction. It is always refreshing to read about it this way, instead of Sirius and his friends laughing at some poor broken hearted girl's feelings.

Author's Response: Oh, wow! Thank you so much for the lovely review! I'm incredibly flattered! I'm really glad to hear that the piece moved you, that it made you feel for Marian! And I'm always happy to hear that I avoided the cliche's! YAY! It was definitely a goal I had, to do something not done too often, so I really appreciate you mentioning that! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this review! :-)

 Report Review

Review #18, by Lizzfizz Forgettable Me

8th October 2011:
Aww, that was so so sweet. I was on the verge of tears it was one of the most moving and sweet things I have ever read. It's so perfect and sad but not too sad because she's just so content with just loving Sirius and not getting anything back for her whole life.
Thanks for writing it,
Lizzfizz

Author's Response: *blushes* This is such a sweet review. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave it. I truly appreciate it. :-)

I'm sorry to have almost made you cry, but I have to say that that is one of the most beautiful praises I could ever ask for, that my piece was so real to you that it could effect you so deeply. I'm really quite blown away, so thank you. I'm really happy to hear that you found such a sweet balance between the sad and pathetic side of this story with the content and accepting side.

This is just such a great review! Thank you endlessly for leaving it. :-)


 Report Review

Review #19, by Drecklin Forgettable Me

12th August 2011:
I... I don't really know what to say about this. I liked it, of course, but it was so sad... and yet hopeful at the same time, which shouldn't really be possible should it? I guess this story makes me feel like Marian described in the first part of this, saying how Sirius made her feel every emotion. I feel bittersweet about this, which is two conflicting emotions :P Anyways, this was very well written. I'm not much of a person for stories without action in them, but this is just so well written and nice- I'm genuinely glad I stumbled upon on!

You did such a great job on this, wonderful story :) Like you said, it was rather simple- but it's simplicity makes it special. And this is a special story!

Forum Name: Drecklin
House: Slytherin

Author's Response: Every time I read this review, I always start of thinking 'Ah, she must've hated it...' and then it turns into a really wonderful review! And I'm all like 'Psych!'... Yeah.

Anywhooo... Hi Drecklin!!! ^.^ I'm so sorry it's taken me so long to respond to this truly lovely review! I love how the story is such a contradiction that it actually left you feeling like one yourself! But I think bittersweet is absolutely something I was going for - that balance of sad and pathetic, but still sweet and hopeful. I'm incredibly flattered that you enjoyed the writing itself! I was very nervous to post this as my first one-shot (I almost removed it from the queue three times, actually)! It's great to hear that you're glad to have found it! Yay!!! :-D

You're so sweet. Thank you for the review, it's so lovely. I'm very grateful to hear this simple story called special - you've really made me smile! *hugs*


 Report Review

Review #20, by Debra20 Forgettable Me

12th August 2011:
Happy Staff/Prefect Friday!!

Oh how I loved this little one shot Tanya. I loved that you chose to break the pattern and go for the girls that did not end up with Sirius falling in love with them. Being portrayed as a young man who had had pretty good luck with girls, it's always fascinating to hear the stories of those who loved him but were not loved in return.

When I read about original characters handled so well, with so much depth and personality, I wonder if I will ever be able to write them equally well. I have to confess myself very attached to Marian. I am almost ready to bet my life that at least once we have had an unrequited love. So we can easily relate to her feelings and emotions. You know how I pictured this entire story? Marian standing in front of his grave (if Harry has ever built one for him) or in her room looking outside her window at the starless sky. Crying and thanking him. I think he would also cry if he knew someone had felt like that about him.

I absolutely loved how intense her emotions felt. How mixed she felt about him. How tragic her romantic past had been, knowing that she was never loved in return. What really sealed my love and admiration for her feelings must have been the fact that she believed Sirius didn't even know her name. That she was just a number. We don't often realize this but the worst dehumanization is others not knowing our names. Our names represent who we are. They are a part of us. Imagine being called by a number every day. It's the worst mistreatment anyone could receive.


House Cup 2011, End of an Era Review Extravaganza
Forum name: Debra20
House: Gryffindor

Author's Response: Awww, thank you Debra20! It's so sweet you participated in the event and I'm really happy you came to my page, too!

I'm so sorry it's taken so long to respond to this, but gosh this is such a sweet review! I'm really so happy to hear that you like the idea of a story that's not the usual happy ending! I'd been reading a lot of Sirius/OC fics before I wrote this and I noticed that they all had such happy endings, the formerly unnoticed girl ends up with the most wanted guy, and I just felt like breaking the pattern! I was nervous to post, though, because a lot of people love the happy ending, so it's really so great to hear that you liked the idea! YAY! :-D

*blushes* Ah, you're way too nice to me! I'm so flattered, but I'm absolutely positive you could write an OC that I would love just as much! And yes, unrequited love... it really is so relatable. And I love the imagery you gathered, because mine was so similar! That's so wonderful that what I pictured came across to you as well! And that's so sweet - I think Sirius would have felt overwhelmed knowing someone loved him so dearly, too.

I love this last section. I agree so much. And I can't even imagine if someone I cared so deeply for didn't even know what my name was! And that's exactly why those mixed emotions come into play - because you feel so strongly, but do you even want to feel that way if the circumstances are that of Marian's and Sirius'? Ah, it's such an unfortunate scenario, but one that I think a lot of people can sympathize with.

Debra20, thank you so much for this truly beautiful review. *hugs*


 Report Review

Review #21, by NaidatheRavenclaw Forgettable Me

12th August 2011:
I remember listening to this story as a podcast and just thinking about how much I liked the story, and now I get to come and tell you here too!

The idea for this story is my favorite part. A story about all those brokenhearted fangirls who don't end up with Sirius. And while a lot of them must move on, I love that yours, Marian, continued to love him. But she didn't try and force it, or get mad at him, or break down crying. And I loved that.

You really captured the emotions perfectly in this, I think. It was a sad story, but it wasn't dripping with angst, but again, I liked that. You showed that you can convey sorrow and death without making a story really heavy. Great job!

Happy staff/prefects Friday and thank you so much for the summer! *hugs*

-NaidatheRavenclaw, Ravenclaw

Author's Response: Aw, thank you!!! Yes, the podcast of this truly exceeded all expectations. Jazzeh_Turnip was so perfect with it, she even made a believer out of me, who tried to pull this story from the queue three times! hehehe

I'm so happy you like the idea. Honestly, I was a bit afraid because most stories end up with the girl getting the guy, and I was afraid that without that happy ending, my story would be frowned upon. I'm so thrilled you approve, though! And even more so that you like the way she dealt with the heartbreak! Thank you so much! I'm so flattered! :-D

I'm so glad you think I found the perfect balance between sad and hopeful, between angst and acceptance. It's definitely the key ingredient for this story, that sort of paradox, and I'm really happy it came through! Yay!!!

And Awesome! Thank you so much for celebrating the Staff/Prefect day during the House Cup! Sorry it took so long for me to respond, but I really do love this review! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave it! *hugs*


 Report Review

Review #22, by WeasleyTwins Forgettable Me

9th August 2011:
Hi, WeasleyTwins here for the review extravaganza! Happy Hufflepuff Tuesday!

Okay, I must admit that I'm not one for the whole 'Sirius was a -err- harlot in male form.' Be that as it may, I believe you have given such depth to the idea. This piece is classy and just perfect. You have taken the thoughts and emotions of thousands, perhaps millions of girls and women on this planet and translated them -rather brilliantly- into words. I could totally and completely sympathize with your main character, and that's what made the piece so real for me. Your style is simple, but expressive and descriptive. I absolutely enjoyed this - a delightful read.

WeasleyTwins
Gryffindor

Author's Response: Yay! Thank you for celebrating Hufflepuff Tuesday and for coming to my page, as well! :-D

LOL To be honest, I don't particularly see Sirius that way either. I wrote this one-shot originally just on a whim and it had nothing to do with the world of Harry Potter at all. When I finished it, I decided I wanted to post it on the site, since I had nothing posted yet, and so I had to simply find a character who could possibly fit the description, and Sirius was just a character who I knew had the potential to make sense, so I used him! But I sort of love that Sirius can be so different!

Anyway, I'm rambling! I'm so happy that even though you see Sirius as strictly the better guy version, I'm really grateful that you still found enjoyment in this story! "Classy and just perfect" - Gah, THANK YOU! That's such a beautiful compliment, I'm beyond flattered! And it's really great to hear how people are relating to the idea, too. I know I've been there as well, and so it's really wonderful to hear that I'm doing the experience justice.

Really, thank you so much for taking the time to leave this gorgeous review! *hugs*


 Report Review

Review #23, by Akussa Forgettable Me

9th August 2011:
Hello!

That was a wonderful, wonderful story. I felt my heart was about to explode with the pain this story made me feel. Her love was so strong and the boy, a tad to conceit, couldn't see it. I just loved this trip into this girl's feelings!

I particularily like the fact that you wrote this at the first person; gives the story an even closer and personal feel. I thought you also did an amazing job at putting words on this horrible things that is unrequited love. I could feel the pain of that just as much as the pleasure she felt.

I had to look very hard to find something to criticize becasure the beauty of your writting had me under your spell. In the end though, there is one thing and it is a very personal opinion so feel free to throw it out the window, ok?
Personaly, the very last line bothered me a little. I would have prefered if she'd stayed anonymous to us just as much as she was to Sirius. I like the idea of her love being unknown to Sirius and her name being unknown to us. Like I said, this is a personal opinion so you can do whatever you want of it! It doesn't take away the beaty of this piece or the powerful words and emotions that I was left with after my read. Gerat, great work, I enjoyed this a lot!

Akussa (Gryffindor)

Author's Response: Eep! Thank you so much!!! I hope your heart made it through without any injuries! :-D I'm so flattered at how strongly this made you feel, though! Wow... *hugs*

I'm so happy that the first person perspective worked for you! I know that when I was writing it, it felt more personal than third person would have, too, so it's great to hear that it transitioned well! And I've been there with unrequited love, so I could relate to her as well! haha I'm so glad I put it into words in a way that worked! Thank you so much!!!

hehehe That last line, yes, I get about 50% of people who just love the last line and 50% who think I should have left it anonymous! And to be honest, I'm completely torn! I see it working both ways! And I definitely appreciate your opinion on that line! It's so fun to see how differently people take that last line! I think I originally chose to do it that way because I wanted Marian to put her last stamp effort at being remembered as more than a notch by saying who she was, you know? But I can absolutely see how leaving it anonymous would leave that almost chilling effect of this person who knew she was invisible to Sirius also being invisible to the readers! hehehe I might even have changed it if it weren't already a podcast! LOL

Thank you so much for this beautiful review! Really, it's so lovely and I'm so thankful you left it for me! Also, I'm SO sorry for how long it's taken me to respond! Eep! But please know that my tardiness is no reflection on how wonderful I found this review to be! Thank you so much! :-D


 Report Review

Review #24, by Prongs05JP Forgettable Me

9th August 2011:
Wow. Just wow. This was awesome Tanya! Literally enjoyed this the whole way through - short, simple, but really well done! A fantastic concept, too. I suppose when I write Sirius I never really think about the next notch on the bedpost, or even the affect being a notch could have on them. I mean, obviously, Marian was a rather nice notch- *pauses. crosses out.* NAME, but there might've been others who weren't so thankful.

The whole writing style was lurvely here! I could feel the kind of.. nostalgic peace that she was speaking in, and I could literally imagine someone saying it, just like that. Baha, guess all I can say is I really loved it.
I usually put in some constructive criticism here, but, ah... can't really think of anything to criticize...

10/10 Fantastiiic!
--Jamesxx

__
End of an Era Review Extravaganza: House Cup 2011
Forum Name: Prongs05JP
House: Hufflepuff

Author's Response: JAMSIE! :-D Ah! I'm SO sorry for how long it's taken me to respond to this review!!! I have no good excuse at all... Forgive me??? *gives cookies and innocent eyes* :-p

Gosh, this is such a lovely review! I'm so flattered! THANK YOU!!! I'm really glad that the short length and the simplicity of the piece still allowed for it to be enjoyable throughout!! And yes, I always feel bad for my Marian... It's so much more difficult to see a kind person suffer, and her ending, while not devastating, was never exactly a happy one.

Awww, no criticisms? You're so good to me! ^.^ I'm so flattered to hear that you enjoyed my writing style here! That's such a compliment, I beyond appreciate you saying that!

You're Fantastiiic, Jamsie!!! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this beautiful review. You're the best! :-)


 Report Review

Review #25, by Cleopatraa Forgettable Me

5th August 2011:
Well wow didnít expect this. It was so deep to tell you the truth I expected something much more shallow. Sorry but thatís what I truly expected I expected a great but a lot more shallower (sp?) story. The story was in a way quite poetic and I like the fact itís so simple but still so incredible powerfull. Every word just hits the mark. I mean I could feel with you character I could place myself in her shoes and thatís something a lot of writers canít pull off. So kudos for you on that! Hmm I just realized the story is a podcast and I can see exactly why such a simple but still such a complex story.


I think itís great she didnít get him. That she didnít get her happy end. I mean yes itís sad and harsh but life usually is. Harsh I mean. Reality isnít that you get the perfect guy and the perfect life ( otherwise they skipped me) So yes itís great she didnít hget him and he didnít put much thought on her I always thought Sirius found his friend much more important then his flings.


You know as youíve seen throughout my review that I think this was amazing but I think the story would be greater, in my opinion, well if she had stayed anonymous It would fit the whole one night stand, a number on a list or a notch in your bedpost thing that was going one. It was something I immensely enjoyed while most of the theme I hate it when a writer portrays Sirius does that. So I have to say well done on that you made me like something I dislike.


Well I truly enjoyed your story! Good luck with any future work!

Author's Response: This review has gone unanswered for over two years! Am I the worst, or what? I'm so sorry! *sends flowers*

Even though I never did manage to write up a response until now, please know that that in no way lessens how wonderful it's been to have received such a lovely review! I'm so, so happy that I was able to change your initial expectations about this story! It can be really hard to change a person's mind when they've already sort of settled on an idea of what's to come, so I'm incredibly flattered that my writing was able to do just that for you! And I love hearing that the story came off as almost poetic - I know there's a fine line between simplistic and boring and it's great to hear the style worked out!

Mmm, so true about unhappy endings. They're far too common in real life and far too uncommon in fanfiction. And I can definitely understand that even though he is an incredible friend, it would take a very special someone to make him a good boyfriend! haha

Ah, yes, the ending! It's so intriguing to me that there's such a vast number of differing views on my naming the character at the end! Some people loved it and were really glad that I put it in, but others agreed with you! I believe that the reason I decided to name her is because it felt like this was her last chance to be remembered, you know? It was her last chance to sort of just say 'I do have a name and I am not just a notch.' But sometimes I wish I'd tried it the other way, too! haha Either way, I'm thrilled to hear that I made you like something you usually dislike! Woot! Normally I don't see Sirius as a big player, but it was just fitting in this circumstance, so I just went with it. :-p

Anyway, thank you again for the great review! I sincerely appreciate it! :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>