Reading Reviews for Whispers of Yesterday
  
18 Reviews Found

Review #1, by 1917farmgirl Whispers of Yesterday

19th August 2013:
BUT, BUT, WHY?

If they love each other that much, WHY do they have to part ways? Why is this their last embrace, last moment together??

UGH!! WAY too emotionally invested in this scene you just painted here. It was beautiful and heartbreaking and so emotional.

But, I just can't get over the thought that was screaming in my mind the whole time as I read it. Why must they part? Surely, whatever caused them to do it the first time could be reconciled if they still have this much love for each other?

Joop, I demand that you fix this and put them back together again! *stomps foot*

Just...please?

And stop breakin' my freakin' heart with your writing, okay?

Author's Response: That is totally up to you to decide. I know that this story really leaves a lot of questions but I like it that way. I like to think that readers have their own version of what happened to Dorcas and Sirius.

You know, I have had their story in my head for years. From the first moment they met right down to Sirius's death. It's a tragic story and I might just get enough energy to write it one day. I don't know at this stage but it has been nagging at me for years. I just might!

Thanks so much for your review!

Jasmine :)


 Report Review

Review #2, by Secret Santa V Whispers of Yesterday

29th December 2011:
Secret Santa V strikes again!

Oh. My. God. You know, I don't have many people listed as "favorite author," but you definitely need to be added to the list. And you will be, once 2012 rolls around.

So obviously once I read "Things Left Unsaid," I needed to read the story that it was a prequel of sorts for, because the "well, they're the same characters, but there's not a clear linear thread connecting them is just my style.

And this did not disappoint.

You have a lovely way of stringing together words to form these vivid, beautiful images. It's almost like watching a movie - I can see the picture in my mind, and I can also just feel the mood. At the very beginning, you're not just telling me that she wants to be alone - you're showing me, too. And then when Sirius shows upÖ

You just have a way of writing that feels so raw and real. You really get to how complicated and messy the human condition really is. Dorcas feeling like she loves him and hates him at the same time works so perfectly, because that's exactly how real people experience emotions. Her anguish and the way that she finally gives into the contact she wanted so badly just felt so honest and real. I loved it.

I also love the way that you often end your one-shots with a peaceful moment rather than everything suddenly being fixed. The magical happy ending often ends up feeling insincere to me, but this works precisely because you haven't said that everything is fixed forever - you're just saying that they've put it aside for a moment of piece. It's really honest, and realistic (I feel like I use that term a lot with you, but it's accurate, so I'll keep using it!).

Loved this. So much.

(I hope you don't feel too angry or offended that so many of your reviews are coming after ChristmasÖ I have been busy, but now I am less busy!)

Also, I just almost posted this under my name... Oops!

Author's Response: I noticed that you have added me as a favourite author of yours and I just... wow. I don't know what to say. I have said 'thank you' so many times that I think its losing its meaning, but I don't know what else to say!

I'm glad that you liked how this fit in with Things Left Unsaid, yet it also didn't. I am itching to write the story in between and I may well one day. I just need to find time and discipline to do so!

The way you described it being like watching a movie... that is how I would describe some of my favourite stories on HPFF. And to think that you think that of me is just... I don't know how to respond to your reviews, you know that? I just sort of sit here and read them and stare and stare so more and then I try to strum together something, anything, that is mildly coherent. Just know that I am so appreciative of everything you say. So, so, SO appreciative.

I have mentioned this before, but I don't think that one-shots can always have the standard makings of a narrative: the beginning, the climax, the resolution and the ending. The way I write them is just a moment in time and that's what I enjoy about writing them. I know that it's not everyone's cup of tea, so when you tell me that you like it, I get so excited! Seriously, I have the biggest grin on my face because it's just nice to know that someone can enjoy my writing and the way that I tend to leave more than a few threads loose at the end of a one-shot.

And how could I possibly be angry or offended that your reviews were after Christmas? The fact that you reviewed me so many times is more than enough for me to build a small shrine to you :P

Thank so much!

Joop.


 Report Review

Review #3, by Secret Santa *hands you a candy cane* Whispers of Yesterday

20th December 2011:
Hello! It's your Secret Santa once again. I'm a bit sad that I'm almost done reading all of your pieces. My original plan, funnily enough was just to pick out a few one-shots and read them but I find myself itching to read your stories and to review them. Reviews are a gift for you but reading your work is a marvelous gift for me.

Normally I don't enjoy Sirius stories anymore for whatever given reason. I think itís because they make him such a randy young man that I cringe because I'm a bit over that. I wish someone would write him as this real awkward nerd but that has nothing to do with this.

I rarely read anything about Dorcas but I was pleasantly surprised with this. She felt kind of familiar even though we know nothing about her. Sirius felt really familiar as well in his actions since words weren't really shared all that much between the two.

Again I'm left with so many questions. Questions that don't even need to be answered. You left us wondering about their relationship. Were they ever really together or were they friends that just decided not to get together because it would ruin everything. Are they at Hogwarts or are they at James/Lily's wedding? Or are they somewhere else? I really like that you tend to keep things open ended so I can sort of answer the questions the way I want and imagine things for them the way I want too.

Do you ever feel like answering the unanswered questions that you create in your stories or do you like the feeling of keeping us guessing?

Author's Response: I'm sad that you are almost done reading them, too. I can't begin to say how much of a rush I get every time I see another review from you! I honestly was just expecting the minimum five reviews from my SS and never imagined it would ever get to this. Thank you, thank you, thank you!

I don't know if Sirius could ever be an awkard nerd, but I do agree that he could definitely be done with a bit of a character makeover. The Casanova persona is just getting a bit old. And, haha, even if it has nothing to do with this, I'm always open for a discussion about Sirius. :P

That's such a compliment that you thought Dorcas was familiar. Not many people write about her so she was effectively an OC in this and it's such a relief that you were able to relate to her.

I am going to be a bit cruel and not answer your questions. I deliberately left this very open ended because I wanted the reader to be asking questions. Originally I had planned on giving a lot of backstory to the relationship, but that was scrapped because I wanted to focus on the moment between Dorcas and Sirius, nothing more.

And as for answering readers' questions, I like to leave them unanswered. I know, I know, it's horrible but I never want to force the reader to think the way that I think. If I leave something open for interpretation, then everyone is going to interpret it differently and I would absolutely hate to be the one manipulating a reader's mind into believing something that is different from what they originally thought.

Thanks so much for this review. Gosh, I sound like a broken record, but I don't know how to express how thankful I am for the amount of effort you have put into them. I am so utterly grateful!

Joop.


 Report Review

Review #4, by Pixileanin Whispers of Yesterday

10th August 2011:
When sheís sitting on the side of the bench, as if hiding from the world, I could so relate to that. If you scoot over far enough, it is like you arenít even there, right? I usually donít enjoy present tense in a story, but this was a great choice. The action is all slow-motion, as if Dorcas is retelling it to herself in a memory, trying to recapture every nuance so she wonít forget what it was like. I think it was a nice way to end, giving her one last moment of comfort. Even though they couldnít be together for whatever reason, he cared enough about her to show his concern. It was a beautiful moment. Thank you.

Pixileanin (Gryffindor)

Author's Response: I tend to do that - I like curling up in corners or on the edge of things because it really does feel like you have blended into the background, and I imagine that that was what Dorcas wanted.

The present tense is an interesting part of this story. I honestly didn't even realise I was writing in present tense until I read over it once I had finished. I think it fits but I know that a lot of people don't enjoy reading it - you have no idea how relieving it is when someone drops by to tell me that they didn't mind it too much, so thank you so much for that!

I never thought of this as being in slow motion but I think it's a lovely choice of words and I can see why you thought that - hopefully it wasn't too slow for you, though! I know that there isn't much action in this at all, but it was all about Dorcas and Sirius living in that moment and everything they were feeling at the time.

I know it is not made clear why they were together but I suppose it, again, goes back to this being just one moment between them. I originally did have a lot of backstory but I took it out while editing. Hopefully it wasn't too frustrating for you while reading this!

And, yes, Sirius was absolutely lovely in this. I purposely made him that way (I'm not ashamed to admit that it was a bit of indulgence on my part) and I loved writing him and this story.

Thanks so much for your review!
Joop.


 Report Review

Review #5, by _Leo_ Whispers of Yesterday

6th April 2011:
So beautiful and yet so sad.
Sirius/OC was the first pairing I read on HPFF (well, with a bit of Lily/James mixed in) and I loved this piece. Knowing what life, or JKR, has in store for him, any romance for him will have to end at some point, at least if you stick to canon.
We don't know what happened before between them, or why they can't be, but I think we also don't need to; this was just perfect the way it was. So bittersweet.
Loved it! xxx Leo

Author's Response: I really struggled with how much backstory I wanted to give while writing this. Originally, I had planned to explain their entire relationship and how it came to this moment but, in the end, I decided to just focus on the moment. It's always reassuring when a reader like you drops a line to say that it worked. So thank you for saying that!

Thanks for the review.

Joop.


 Report Review

Review #6, by Owlpost68 Whispers of Yesterday

4th April 2011:
This was beautifully written. I really like it. There are loads of questions that pop up though. I don't really know if they even matter if I look at it from a certain point of view though. But the questions I think of though are, where are they? I'm guessing they could conceivably be at James and Lily's wedding. Then the questions are: why were they apart before, and why can't they be together now? Part of me wants to think that maybe it's because Voldemort makes the time so dangerous, and could use the other to get information, but James and Lily managed, and so did Arthur and Molly. Granted James and Lily had tragic endings, but they had a very unique circumstance of having a prophecy filled. So I just wonder what else could have been the problem between the 2 of them.
Whether any of this matters is really up to the reader though. I can just accept it as a great dramatic story, but the other part of me wants details of the past and future ideas. The present ones were all in the moment, and perfect for the story. I'm just wondering if there are background details that could be too.
Great job! Really got me thinking and feeling all at the same time.

Author's Response: You're probably going to hate me for saying this but, to be perfectly honest? I'm as confused as you are. Sure, I have some vague idea in my head about what happened between the two and why they can't be together, but it is nothing concrete. I did originally plan to give a lot more detail but I found that focusing on the moment worked more.

So I don't know where they are. I don't know how old they are. I don't know what happened for their relationship to come to this. Maybe they are at James and Lily's wedding. Maybe they can't be together because of Voldemort. I don't really know. I know it must be frustrating to read this without really knowing what is going on, but I feel that adding in more detail won't work. I have tried to edit this and put detail in, but I gave up. Maybe one day I will go back and write their story in full, maybe I won't.

Thank you for your review!

Joop.


 Report Review

Review #7, by Mintleaf Whispers of Yesterday

2nd April 2011:
I'll get the bad bits out of the way first I think... I hate to say this but I think I would have enjoyed this tenfold more if it was not in the present tense. I do see what it lends to a story like this though, so I see why you did it!

But on a more positive note, that's all the bad things I have to say about it! It was beautifully written with some charming description. The emotion was very real and the while situation seemed believable! I liked it very much :)

Author's Response: Never feel bad for stating what you think. It is your opinion and you should never feel hesitant to express it.

You're not the first to bring up tense. I was quite honestly baffled when a previous reviewer said they did not enjoy present tense. Perhaps it was my naivety, but I never realised that people had tense preferences.

I understand that you did not like the tense. Again, I don't hate you at all for saying you didn't like it.

When writing this, I did not pay much attention to the tense. It just came out and I only realised it was present tense once I went back and read over the entire thing once I had finished. Do I think the tense works? I think so. I'm not saying that you're wrong, I just think that it does. Again, though, that is just my opinion!

I also find it interesting that you find this believable. I find it horribly cliche (it was difficult, considering the challenge was to write a story about a couple dancing in the rain) but it's lovely to know that you thought it was believable! I really struggled to not cringe while writing parts of it and I can't tell you how many paragraphs did not make the final cut.

The emotion was also hard. It was a lot rawer than I have ever had to write, but I'm glad that you liked it!

Thank you so much for your review,
Joop.


 Report Review

Review #8, by bostongurll33 Whispers of Yesterday

12th January 2011:
So, here is my other review. I just finished reading this, and I'm not sure which story I liked most, your prequel or this one. This one was just as lovely, but so much more sad that I could easily feel the genuine emotions from Sirius and Dorcas. You gave just enough information to make the reader understand what happened, but witheld enough to make me want to read so much more. Once again, you've done a lovely job, and this is one of my favorite Sirius/OC one-shots, honestly. Wonderful job!

Author's Response: Wow, I didn't actually expect you to read any of my other work. Thanks so much, two in one day - this has put me in such a good mood!

The writing style in this is different to that of Things Left Unsaid. This was more emotionally charged while Things Left Unsaid was more just me having a bit of fun. I'm glad that you could feel the emotions from Sirius and Dorcas in this, though - I struggled with them and it's always nice to know that a reader could understand what I was trying to portray.

To be honest, I'm not entirely sure myself why Sirius and Dorcas are in this situation. I originally had an entire backstory to this but then decided to cut it all out because it wasn't working. I like the intrigue and mystery, and I'm glad that you did, too!

This is your favourite Sirius/OC one-shot? I can't believe that. Thank you so much for saying that! I know that there are definitely better ones out there than this, so that is such a huge compliment. (Just to let you know, Dorcas Meadowes is actually a canon character, though).

Thanks so much for this review!

Joop :)


 Report Review

Review #9, by Akussa Whispers of Yesterday

30th October 2010:
That was such a sweet love story.
The way you wrote it, all the details to scenery and emotions made it feel so real, like we are right there with the lovebirds.
Good job, I had a good time reading it.

Author's Response: Glad that you had a good time reading it, because I had a good time writing it!

I was scared that the emotions and the details were a bit overkill - but, hey, if they added to your experience, I'm happy! Thanks so much for saying that it felt real, that means so much.

Thanks for your lovely review!
Joop :)


 Report Review

Review #10, by CessZ Whispers of Yesterday

27th October 2010:
WOW!!
that was SO romantic and yet so sad...the dance, the romance, the emotions are very well dealt with!
Amazing!!

~CessZ

Author's Response: It was sad, wasn't it? I swear, I'm actually a very happy person. I don't know why I write some very sad, emotional things, haha.

That's sweet of you say that you thought the dance, romance and emotions were dealt well with - it didn't feel that way while writing it, so it's always so humbling to know that a reader liked them!

Thanks so much,
Joop :)


 Report Review

Review #11, by CallusedSilk Whispers of Yesterday

26th October 2010:
Absolutely stunning work. The imagery is magical and the emotional depth is astounding. I can't say enough good things about this one-shot because it's just that good.

Author's Response: Wow. This review stunned me a little bit and I wasn't really sure how to respond to it. 'Thank you' simply is not an adequate response.

You used the word 'magical'. And 'stunning'. And you said the emotional depth is 'astounding'. I don't... I don't know what to say in response to that. Thank you so much for saying that! While I am in a bit of awe, I can't deny that I am smiling like an idiot while reading those words. I particularly had a hard time with the emotions in this story so it's such a relief and compliment when a reader say that they worked.

Thank you so much for this review. So much.
Joop :)


 Report Review

Review #12, by SeverusLove Whispers of Yesterday

26th October 2010:
blueirony,

Heyooo!!! It's Sevvy from the forums here to say that your story is in this week's TWH.

I thought this story was really sweet. The plot was great, and well thought of. A bit cliche, but honestly, who cares. :P My cousin once told me that Romance is ALWAYS cliche. :P

Flow was good. A bit slow, but just a tiny bit. The characterization was okay, and so was the spelling/grammar.

Here are a few slip-ups I've found though.

Her gaze is unfocussed --it's supposed to be spelled 'unfocused'.

She has focussed all her energy --it's 'focused'.

along her lip to crass her jaw. --do you actually mean 'crass' or 'caress'? I'm not so sure... :/

the two are almost soaked to the skin(,) the grass is becoming wetter by the second and the wetness is slowly seeping into their shoes.

I know, I should've warned you earlier in case you wanted to change it before the TWH. So sorry, procrastination got a hold of me. :P

See ya!!! and Enjoy!!!
~ Sevvy :)

Author's Response: I can't thank you enough for putting this in TWH! It means a lot!

Hahaha, romance is a bit cliche, isn't it? And so it this. I was well aware of that when I wrote it but I suppose I just threw that out the window and enjoyed writing it in all of its unabashed cliche-ness. :P I'm glad that you weren't dying underneath the excessive cliche or anything, though!

Argh. I struggled with flow. And I agree that it is slow. Very slow. It was troubling while I was writing it and I think it's something that I need to revisit.

You know, I always thought that 'focused' had a double letter. I am absolutely appalling at spelling words with double letters (case in point: I just now misspelled 'appalling', haha). Thanks so much for pointing that out, as well as the slip-up in crass/caress and the comma that I left out! I'll come back to them and fix them when I have some time.

This was a lovely review, thanks!

Joop :)


 Report Review

Review #13, by theelderwand Whispers of Yesterday

21st August 2010:
Joop, that was so heartwrenchingly powerful, I'm having a hard time properly praising it.

Your powers of description NEVER cease to amaze. From the scene itself to the absolute anguish Dorcas is experienceing. Stellar.

And then there's this, which has to be my favorite line:

"She loves him for it. And she hates him for it. She loves him because she knows that if he sat closer, the pain inside her would grow. And she hates him because she wants nothing than for him to envelope her into his warm embrace and soothe her, the way that only he can."

Whimsical, nonsenisical, painful and oh so true of anything related to a broken heart. Amazing.

But why? Why can't they be together? What happened? Can't it be fixed?

Look at that. Two-thousand words and you've got me completely emotionally invested in an OC I didn't even know 20 minutes ago. That, Joop, is powerful writing.

This rates up there with Raindrops, in my book, as your best fic.

Your talent is thoroughly impressive.

Eldy

Author's Response: Ah, Eldy, I always stumble when trying to respond to your reviews because they are so full of praise and it's almost a bit daunting, not to mention that anything I write in response always pales in comparison. You are too kind.

I was really scared that this story was toeing the line between description and purple prose so it means a lot that you thought the description worked!

It's interesting that you mention that line of all to quote back to me because it was probably one of the hardest to write - so it's good to know that the hard work paid off on my part!

Why can't they be together? What happened? Can't it be fixed? The answers to those questions are all ones that you can imagine for yourself. Is it because they are too young? Is it family differences? Is it that one of them is leaving? Is it because they feel as though they are danger? I don't know. I know that, as the author, I probably should have, at least, SOME idea, but I honestly don't. I like being as mystified as you, the reader, are on this one, haha.

Dorcas isn't actually an OC, she is canon, but that is me being nit-picky. I'm glad that you managed to connect with Dorcas, considering how little characterisation I have of her in here.

Thank you so, so, SO much for the review!
Joop :]


 Report Review

Review #14, by Friday_Star Whispers of Yesterday

17th August 2010:
I'm going to ramble while I get my breath back. That was so, so, so amazing! The descriptions at the beginning of Dorcas just sitting there, hiding from the world just broke my heart! And then when Sirius came out, just ARGH.

I'm going to say this again - your descriptions make me drool :D.
I did this challenge too and your entry is so different to mine, mine pales in comparison! Great work, I'm so blown away :D

xx

Author's Response: That description of Dorcas at the beginning, while it did not give me the most grief in this, certainly was one that I struggled with. So I'm glad that you thought it worked!

My descriptions made you drool? Haha, I don't know if that's a good or bad thing, but I suppose it's a good thing? I've never had anyone say that to me, before. Lol.

You did an entry for this, too? Well I must go read it, then! And I highly doubt it pales in comparison to this old thing, and I will prove it to you!

Thank you so much for your kind words,
Joop :]


 Report Review

Review #15, by ericajen Whispers of Yesterday

17th August 2010:
And you said you were a closet romantic. Lies!

Words can hardly describe how lovely this is, Joop. It's beautiful and romantic and touching and it's heartbreaking and devastating and tragic all at the same time. It's all of those things. The sad recognition between them everything they were doing was for the last time was utterly horrible and yet so romantic and lovely. You captured the feeling flawlessly.

The descriptions were to die for. The way you described rain was like nothing else. It was beautiful. You did amazing. The flow of the story was brilliant.

Another thing I very much liked was that you didn't drown we, the reader, in background information. Some people like to know the full story, but people like me only want to live in the moment with the characters. I don't care how they got to that point. I don't care what happened to make them part ways like that. I only care about the moment they are sharing. So I love that that was how you kept it in the story.

This is something you should be very, very proud of, Joop. You amaze me(:

Erica

Author's Response: I actually am a closet romantic. This is really the only place that all of this mushy lovey stuff gets out. Maybe that's why everything I write is so emotionally charged. Hm.

The words you used to describe this just made me smile so widely, you have no idea. I almost don't think that this is worthy of all you said it to be!

I'm with you on not knowing the entire backstory in some fics. I think this was, more than anything, a stolent moment in time. And I suppose I wanted to capture the feelings of the moment, rather than ramble on about everything that had happened to get the characters to the moment. I'm glad you thought it worked!

YOU amaze me with your reviews, thank you!
Joop :]


 Report Review

Review #16, by Jazzeh Turnip Whispers of Yesterday

16th August 2010:
People seem to dislike Sirius/OC fics, but every once in a while something like this will pop up and do the pairing justice. -applauds-

Present tense? Very interesting. But I like it. It really works and you haven't slipped up anywhere. I think that might be why this Sirius/OC works so well, because you've taken a pairing considered "cliche" and turned it into something different.

First of all, I really like the name Dorcas for an OC in the HP world. It's weird, just like HP character names are so it makes the OC seem more believable. You wrote about her relationship with Sirius beautifully too. I like how you didn't give us a whole backstory on it, because I think the information you have given is just enough to feel something for the characters but to still wonder why they're in their current situation. What can I say, I like a little bit of the unknown in my fics sometimes ^.^

You write beautifully. The opening paragraph is just lovely and how you write about the rain is just so stunning too, despite it's simplicity.

I love the bittersweet ending. It's fantastic. All of this is and I love you style of writing and how unique this is in the world of Sirius/OC.

10/10

Lorren.

Author's Response: I toyed between using present and past tense in this. In the end, present won out because I think it can capture emotions a little bit better. And I'm glad you thought that it worked!

Sirius/OC can definitely have some cliche moments in it. And, to be honest, I'm surprised you didn't think this was cliche. Dancing in the rain. Lots of emotionally charged angst. But, hey, I'm happy that you liked it!

Dorcas Meadowes is actually a canon character. She served in the first Order of the Phoenix but was killed. I have always liked the idea that she and Sirius were together during their younger years.

The original draft to this had a lot of the backstory in it. I went into painstaking detail about why they weren't together but I decided to scrap it. Like you, I like a little bit of loose ends while reading. I'm glad that you thought it wasn't too mysterious!

Thank you so much for all your kind words about my writing, it means a lot!
Joop :]


 Report Review

Review #17, by Galawen Whispers of Yesterday

16th August 2010:
".this rain is gentle, softly caressing the bare skin of her shoulders. This rain is gentle, like the feel of silk brushing across naked skin. This rain is light, as light as the feet of a dancer. This rain is soothing, like the fingers of a loved one brushing across a forehead."

First of all I have to say that these are some of the most beautiful words I've ever read in a fanfiction. They cover such a range of emotions its almost dizzying and yet theres no overlapping or overpowering; they just flow perfectly together. The rest of the story is much the same. I have a slight annoyance for couples who clearly love each other but for some reason don't think they can be together and whilst I felt a slight amount of that reading this story I still couldn't help but admire your writing style and the gentle sadness that covers the entire piece. I shouldn't like this, it has as its plot one my pet peeves and yet I do. And I think that says alot about your writing so very well done. :)

Author's Response: I'm blushing at all your compliments. Seriously, waking up and reading this absolutely made my day, so thank you!

It's interesting that you say that the idea that couples who so obviously love each other but are not together annoys you. I'm quite the opposite, I thrive off that type of angst. But I'm glad that you didn't hate this! Interestingly enough, I don't particularly like stories where couples dance in the rain, so taking on this challenge was definitely difficult!

It warms me to know that, even though you don't particularly like these types of stories, you still managed to like this one. That means so much to me.

Thank you so much for your review,
Joop :]


 Report Review

Review #18, by MrsKatieGrint Whispers of Yesterday

8th July 2010:
Aww. Wow. This was well worth the wait.

It was so sweet, yet heartbreaking at the same time. You got everything so perfectly described and everything just feels so right. I love it!:D

Anywho, good luck in my challenge, and awesome job! :D

Author's Response: I'm glad that you thought it was worth the wait; I really am glad that you still accepted this, even though it was so late!

Sweet, yet heartbreaking. That is what I was hoping to convey, a sort of bittersweet moment and I'm glad that you thought it worked to that extent!

Thank you very much for your review,

Joop :]


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login