Reading Reviews for Leaping Obstacles
  
339 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Aiedail In The End

28th January 2013:
It's quite depressing to me that Rachel has to go back to school another year, to be around people who're going to pity her and talk about her mercilessly with good intent.

I'm really glad that Rachel seems to be mentally stable, too, let me tell you. This would ruin a weaker person. But I guess that's why she's a Gryffindor. You trust Rachel to make something beautiful out of the energy she gathers mourning, from Ced's memory.

I love the little zoom outward to scenery near the end, and almost feel the story could have ended there, because that invokes the rest of the world, invites other happinesses, other balms.

I don't know what to say other than I am so glad that this has been a part of my fic life. I am so glad that reading it again after having read it before was just as emotional, as real, as close. These characters have really shaped the way I've looked at writing my own; I don't know if I can impress upon you the idea that you've been so influential on my writing. I can't imagine what I'd be doing without having met you ♥

Author's Response: You've made me want to write this small sequel I've got planned more than ever. I really actually miss Rachel and Cedric very much! I'm so excited for you to see it, if it ever gets done. :3

And this is where I know I put her in the right house, just like you said. She's got a huge amount of Hufflepuff qualities, but Rachel is brave when she needs to be, and I don't know if I'm allowed to say things like this about my own story but I'll say them anyway.

I'll repeat myself over and over until the message sinks in, all right? Thank you for your reviews, for re-reading this story IN A NIGHT. Thank you for loving this story and making me love it a little better in return, and for just being so supportive of /all/ my writing. I can't even begin to fathom the thought that this story, of all stories, impacted you even slightly, especially knowing how much I love your writing.

I am so fortunate to count you among my good friends. ♥ ♥ ♥


 Report Review

Review #2, by Aiedail Under The Tree

28th January 2013:
The emotions are so real here. That numbness, which the body creates to protect us from anguish, is anguish and confusion itself; the numbness hurts, contrary to logic. Rachel was so close to him that what she would feel if that dam broke is more than what anyone else would, barring his parents, and maybe other close friends;

This is the hardest part of the story to write--what happens after the end. How to make it real and not overdone and how to make a reader care, believe it. I have always admired these last few chapters best, despite my love for the fluff in earlier ones, because I think they demonstrate just how much this story means to you, that you saw it through to its end; where it should end, not where it was easy.

The bit at the end, here. Perfect. Not overdone. Balanced and real and just raw enough.



Author's Response: A lot of the idea of numbness, if you can believe this, actually came from Sarah -- I remember talking to her around this bit, and she was discussing a dream she had where Marcus died and how she felt, and it was so perfect for this. Obviously I owe most of my writing to her, is what we're getting out of this conversation. And she was so close to him, even in the span of less than nine months; there was a power behind their love, which WAS love, I think, even if they were so young.

Or, you know. I'm biased.

I'm so relieved you think this end strikes a nice balance. ♥ I feel like a lot of people probably stopped reading after the last chapter, because, well... what's left? But it was very important for me to give Rachel closure, and you understand that.

Tears in my eyes now, you wonderful person. YOU have made me see, more than I have made myself see, how important this story was to my own writing. And despite it, like I've said before, I am proud of it. ♥

-more weeping now okay-


 Report Review

Review #3, by Aiedail Through The Maze

28th January 2013:
I am amazed that you could take the time to write about what's going on in the stands, that you're so faithful to rachel's character that you take time to go into detail about the things that matter to her in this moment, watching the canary cream pass around, that a boy is pockmarked, that there is some hilarity at the moment things are about to go their worst; how did you do it? I have sat weeping over my keyboard at times: sometimes it's best to do this or nothing.

The point where I truly lose it in this chapter--because we've known what's been coming--is when Fred, Fred of all people, has to be the one to make it real to her, to tell her in plain language. It's so cruel, in a way, that the jokester has to sober up; but it's also extremely powerful because of that; he's really there for Rachel, right when she feels she doesn't have anyone at all.

xx

Author's Response: The thing I think I remember most about this chapter, and am suitably excited you picked up on, was how /clear/ all the little details were. All the people and what they were doing and saying, they were just inexplicably crystalline in my mind. Does that make any sense? And I think it sort of balances out the fuzzy numb that comes at the end, where she can't make sense of anything.

I can't tell you how I do it; my brain just conjures up things and I write those things down. D: If I had a better explanation, I'd give it to you!

ISN'T THAT HORRIBLE, THAT FRED'S GOT TO BE THE ONE TO ADOPT THE MANTLE OF RESPONSIBILITY. (Worse yet, think of Fred's canon ending. Oh, why did I do this. It should have been George.)

♥ Thank you so much for loving this story so much. You are just incredible. I CANNOT SAY IT IN PROPERLY GRATEFUL WORDS.


 Report Review

Review #4, by Aiedail Tongue-Tied

28th January 2013:
YOU'RE JUST
ARE YOU TRYING TO POKE AT MY HEART WITH A WHITE-HOT DAGGER OF SADNESS
BECAUSE THAT'S WHAT IT FEELS LIKE
ARGH
FEELS

NOOO OOO OOO OOO OOO OOO OOO "Don't rub that in my face," he smirked. "Or I'll predict something awful for you and you'll regret it."
OMG MY HEART
RACHEL
ARGH

ALL THE DIVINATION TALK JUST HURTS

HIS PARENTS
SO PRECIOUS
IT HURTS

omg omg omg omgoamgomgoamsogmsdomg iT'S PHYSICAL PAIN JUST TELL HIM YOU LOVE HIM
rachel
-__-

I CAN'T EVEN SAY WORDS

Author's Response: -hugs- There are lots of white-hot daggers in this story. Some of them you don't even see, which is me just being cruel, if we're being honest. But there are also lots of bandages to patch your wounds, and I don't know where I'm going with this analogy. I'M SORRY. DOES THAT HELP AT ALL.

-cackling because you're picking up on all these little hints- -and now sobbing because they really are mean- I'm just imagining Rachel replaying all these days in her mind and picking up on them herself and now I'm really sad. Oof. And how sad is it that she had to go back to the Muggle world for an entire summer after this, where no one understands and no one can really comfort her and just sldkhfskd. I don't know why I do the things I do.

RACHEL CAN'T SAY WORDS EITHER, APPARENTLY. -ducks rotten produce- ♥


 Report Review

Review #5, by Aiedail The Snitch

28th January 2013:
iTUNES IS PLAYING ME THE SADDEST SONGS FOR THE END OF THIS STORY argh

argh talk of forever slay my heart why don't you

FLUFF ARGH sorry I can't even supply you with a simple sentence I'm too busy mopping up my tears

aiuweryiaowyriaer



Author's Response: More forever talk, honestly. I do not remember including so much of it here. Oops. I'M SORRY, LILY, DO FORGIVE ME.

-mops up your tears for me- Okay, this response is going to be the suckiest of the lot. I promise it won't get worse than this. I JUST HAVE A LOT OF FEELS FROM YOUR FEELS FROM MY STORY.



 Report Review

Review #6, by Aiedail The Edge of the Forest

28th January 2013:
it's just occurred to me that I'm going to need to find something fun to do after I finish this because I have nothing left to do tonight except go to bed and dream of l.b. and me being star-crossed which is what happens in real life anyway le sigh

it just doesn't give you a break, life.

I'm actually already crying help

NONONONONO TIME IS GOING TOO FAST HELP
S.O.S.

omg it hurts, all the eventually talk ARG
and when ced says he just wants it to be over
i am beginning to question why i re-read this at this time in my life

ARGH SAFARI CRASHED RIGHT AFTER I SAID THAT IT'S A SIGN I SHULD GO TO BED
BUT AM I GOING TO LISTEN
NO

leave my body by florence + the machine just came on this is too much oMG

OMG THIS
THESE WHAT ARE THESE
EMOTIONS
AND HOW DO I CONTRL THEM

H E L P

X

Author's Response: Life really does not give you a break. But there is something to be said, really, for how unpredictable life is -- in stories you can often guess a lot of the major plot points, and what's the fun in that? You live a marvelous life, Lily! ♥

And there goes more of Cedric needling his way into foreshadowing. Such feels -- I do not know why I do that to myself or my readers. Maybe it's a copying strategy. Who even knows, man.

IF YOU FIND A WAY OF CONTROLLING YOUR EMOTIONS, LET ME KNOW. IT SOUNDS HELPFUL.



 Report Review

Review #7, by Aiedail Preparations and Promises

28th January 2013:
this chapter just gets real. It's like the beginning of the end because the illusions and sparkles of the relationship are dissipating and people are getting hurt and scared; the way that you've maneuvered this chapter in here after several squealy-shippy chapters is really impressive to me. the more realistic ebb and flow of bliss sets in and of course we all know what it leads to; but we, too, want to sit in this moment of happiness with them all the more because of that.

GOOD OL' GEORGE I LAV YA

and of course the way you make everything make sense; the twins interacting wtih ron and hermione, the way that it's only news where they'll go to little gabrielle; it's just good writing, WHATEVER YOU'D SAY ♥

Author's Response: This chapter seems to have basically gotten across what I /wanted/ it to get across, that things are getting a bit darker even if the characters don't really notice. And I'm still just sitting here in a sort of awe not only because of how much you truly seem to love this story (which I can never thank you enough for), but because of how well you understand it.

I think this was the first time I wrote Snape into this story and is arguably part of the reason I went on to write about him more -- this would have been about the time I was reading ChaNT for the first time and that was what inspired the entirety of Sneth. SO HERE WE GO, OUR FIRST LOOK AT SEVERUS. LET'S PRETEND BETH'S SOMEWHERE LURKING IN THE BACKGROUND OF HIS LIFE.

You are the best. You are making me remember why I wrote this story; I'm falling in love with it all over again. How do you do this?! SORCERY. ♥


 Report Review

Review #8, by Aiedail Cracking the Egg

28th January 2013:
first, allow me to say, I have enjoyed the chapter title much more this time, nearly-midnight and post-wine. I know it just literally describes what they're doing but I can't stop giggling

also I always wished they took that bath together do you catch my drift

COME ON RACHEL HE WANTS TO HAVE SOME MIDNIGHT FUNTIMES IN THE BATH IS THAT TOO MUCH TO ASK

"hesitantly, rachel followed suit, acutely aware of how close their faces were to each other. and then CEDRIC KISSED HER FOREVER"

ah the scary moments of this fic are in the quiet moments; everything foreshadows. it's one of the things that i think makes this ced/oc deal hard, because as readers, we want to forget and we want to remember, and you have a good balance of signals that allow us to be both lost in the current text and projecting the storyline forward. which makes for a lot of feels.

and in perfect execution fred and george appear to ease tension. perf.

KISSES KISSES KISSES I LOVE IT

what has happened to me I don't do romance what is going on help

(h)

Author's Response: LOLOL YOU KNOW I HONESTLY DO NOT THINK I EVER GOT THE PUN IN THE TITLE. IF I EVER DID, I'VE FORGOTTEN IT UNTIL THIS MOMENT. BRB DYING. ♥

Whew, okay, that is enough caps for the time being. Please remind me to show you... I hope I still have it somewhere. Sarah might. But I wrote an alternate bath scene for her once, and it's lovely and cracky and I think that you would enjoy it. Also, if you've ever heard Sarah and/or me say PULSE PULSE PULSE that is where it comes from.

LO is where I started getting the drift of putting in those small, painful things that wouldn't look like much of anything unless you knew the end that was in store. :) I do the same thing in Sneth, with James and Lily and Harry, and it's really mean of me but I take small pride in it all the same. I had something in there once about Harry's smooth, soft baby forehead and cackled for like ten minutes.

KISSES, ALWAYS KISSES. I never realized how hard kisses are to naturally write -- everything leads up to the first one and then it's... normal? I'VE NEVER BEEN KISSED OKAY, I DON'T KNOW HOW THIS WORKS.

Romance for all. ♥


 Report Review

Review #9, by Aiedail The Flying Lesson

28th January 2013:
Gina the Fair once gave me the thought
and I said I would not let it go for naught
to leave my reviews in stanza formation
for your most affable, lovely creation.

But I think, to be fair, that's all I can handle
the rest of my poetry would be a scandal.

"do as I do," he said, "be a hottie."

this part is so smart! you including the scene that makes it make sense when moody goes all proud on harry at the end like, where do you think cedric even got the idea to take a bath harry hm do you think he just came up with that on his own huh?

ARGH AND ANGELINA YOU JUST MAKE IT HURT 'NEXT YEAR' UGH STOP



Author's Response: Please write me more poems. I will gobble up all of your poems forever and ever. "You bottle of air." BUT THAT IS JUST GORGEOUS, DON'T YOU SEE. ♥ Your poetry is never, ever a scandal. Unless brilliance is scandalous.

I just remember being so worried about this chapter, because in that incomplete Charlie/OC I still have lurking around on my computer I had Charlie teach the OC how to fly a broom, and I was so sure it was horrible and cliche and in every fic ever, and people would hate me and ugh.

Harry is kind of dumb in canon. Like, I adore him. He is one of my favorite characters. And obviously they're the HARRY POTTER books. But at the same time... he has no brain. ♥

-small, subtle knives in all the hearts-


 Report Review

Review #10, by Aiedail The Yule Ball

28th January 2013:
HE'S WAITING AT THE FOOT OF THE STAIRS BE STILL MY HEART

PEOPLE ARE ALWAYS INTERRUPTING RACHEL OMG THE UNIVERSE DOES JUST NOT SHIP THIS SHIP

creys

I have always wondered how there were not more people barfing at the yule ball because they eat and then they dance and they don't just eat they feast
how is that a good idea

"'are you okay?' he asked in a husky low voice that was super sexay"

OK not to be annoying BUT BUT BUT in an earlier chapter you may have said that ced's eyes were brown. not that i don't love me a changeable man

YEAH CED WHY DIDN'T YOU CATCH HER excuse me I mean WHY DIDN'T YOU CATCH HER DIGGORS

i wish cedric would ask her to throw dungbombs at filch. one-shot please?

IS THIS
IS IT GONNA
IS IT GONNA HAPPEN
IS MY SHIP GONNA SAIL
IS IT GONNA
ARE THEY
YES IT HAPPEND
YES
CREYS

ahhh even better the second time around. he just REALL IS NOT ONE FOR SMALL TALK HE JSUT GETS IT DONE

hands; that's a motif for you isn't it

KISSED HIM FOR THE THIRD TIME, I BELIEVE.

yes, life is often funny, you little wiseling

xxx

Author's Response: CRYING. THE UNIVERSE REALLY DOES NOT SHIP THIS SHIP but ahem I am getting ahead of myself. -sneaky looks- ♥ Also your brain jumps are delightful, but barf is not really a pretty subject to write about. It's hard to write barf to be appealing.

(I need to find out where I said his eyes are brown, ugh. THEY ARE GREY 5EVER.)

-wind for the sails of Lily's ship- -which is also my ship- -you know, because I wrote the novel-



 Report Review

Review #11, by Aiedail Here Goes Nothing

28th January 2013:
POAR RACHEL O THE PUBLIC HUMILIATION I CAN JUST FEEL IT AND REVEL IN IT but i understand for normal people it just hurts

"worse still, rachel hadn't seen Kendric Diggors since the article had appeared…"

what I want to know is why Rachel doesn't go ninja on the gaggles of giggling girls (oooh) and protect her man. that seems like a socially acceptable thing to do am I wrong

PROFESSOR SPROUT O.M.G. YOU ARE GETTING TO BE A REAL PROBLEM HERE I DON'T THINK YOU SHIP THIS SHIP

RACHEL GO HUNT DOWN YOUR MAN MAKE HIM TALK GET THE POISON OUT TELL 'IM IT AIN'T SO

ok their password would be quail eggs
i don't understand hufflepuffs like they're great but what is going on

C'MON RACHEL YOU MADE IT TO THE PASSWORD YOU CAN'T BE A CHICKEN HERE AND NOW AIN'T NOBODY GOT TIME FOR THAT yeah there you go that wasn't so hard was it ok

AND CEDRIC YEAH GET IT TOGETHER HOW COULD YOU EVER THINK THAT ABOUT YOUR LOVER

yea it seemed like you were off when you decided that rita skeeter knew your girl better than you did you little troll but it's ok i love you still and so does rachel, kendric

diggors

wiueriwryeiuryiwuryiauyerieiru can't breathe

here goes to the rest of your life! i refrain from "the rest of kendric diggor's life" because that is cruel. as it were.



Author's Response: Laughing so much right now at the thought of Rachel turning into a ninja, because you know she is a combination of you + me and really the worst she could do is give them all really mean looks. And then go and kill them all off in a story or something.

I have thought about editing this part of the chapter to make it more canon, since we actually know where the Hufflepuff common room is thanks to Pottermore. But to be honest, I am very partial to my garage-door chef painting. It will stay. :)

You and Kendric Diggors. ♥ I am never not going to think your reaction to that is funny. THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR ALL THE REVIEWS, LILY. I have kind of failed to say that and my responses are less than desirable, but it really does mean so much to me to have your support for this story and I hope that you know that!


 Report Review

Review #12, by Aiedail The Evening Prophet

28th January 2013:
"they're just jealous" is ALWAYS a correct statement

RITA SKEETER U MONSTER GO RACHEL YOU LITTLE LIVERPUDLIAN YOU TELL'ER

KENDRIC DIGGORS!!! I CAN'T HANDLE THIS RITA DIDN'T EVEN TRY OMG I CAN'T BREATHE HELP I HAVE TEARS

"she glanced quickly up the table but saw no sign of Kendric Diggors"

#dead

do I win the award for least mature person to read and review your stories ever thank



Author's Response: Who wouldn't be jealous of Rachel and Cedric, am I right? I'm jealous and I wrote their story. If there is one thing to be learned from fic, it is that it is decidedly not like real life. ~woe~

I AM SO DELIGHTED THAT YOU FOUND KENDRIC DIGGORS SO FUNNY. Mostly because... I think Rita Skeeter was mentioned to have misspelled something in canon and I just thought that would be so funny, and to know that I have made at least one other person laugh by my slightly weird sense of humor is fantastic. I remember being so personally delighted with my wit. :D

Not that I want to sound conceited. -slinks away- ♥


 Report Review

Review #13, by Aiedail Waiting In The Library

28th January 2013:
Rachel almost seems to have adopted a Hufflepuff point of view; because a Gryffindor would care about winning, wouldn't she, that'd be half of the goal, but a Hufflepuff would be really in tune with the human part of it and be glad that he'd made it out. I.E. rachel and cedric are becoming soul mates.

But this is also why it's so perfect that the twins are pushing her to side with her house and reminding her of house loyalty. It's a smart plot-point even if it makes Rachel angry.

ARGH BUT YOU DO KNOW WHAT IT IS. WOVE. TWOO WOVE.

I admire that Rachel's favorite thing to say is shut up, I just thought you should know

A HUFFLEPUFF CALLED SOMEONE STUPID ALERT THE PRESSES

AGAIN, CEDRIC, YOU DON'T WASTE TIME DO YOU. GET RIGHT TO THE MOST IMPORTANT THING. YOU ALWAYS ASK THEM OUT RIGHT AWAY. GOOD FOR YOU. I'M PROUD, SON.

I always want them to kiss here WHY DON'T THEY IT CAN JUST BE A LITTLE ONE

you tell them slytherins, Rach! go go go

ugh your author's note is enough to make me quiver even though I know what's going to happen RAAWRAR

xxx

Author's Response: I was senselessly proud of having Rachel quarrel with Fred and George over Cedric vs. Harry, and of course you point out it's a Hufflepuff sort of thing and you make absolute sense. Rachel would work much, much better as a Hufflepuff, BUT THEN WHERE WOULD MY CAREFULLY-CONSTRUCTED PLOT GO. (-sarcastic laughter abounds-)

Ugh Rachel says 'shut up' so much why. ♥ But you know, it's quite a relief how frank Cedric is in this story, because it's somehow turned a total 180-degree turn in Sneth. Nobody ever says what they're feeling in that story and it just creates a whole boatload of problems for everyone.

I don't think the writerly bit of me's got a brain, really.



 Report Review

Review #14, by Aiedail Deliberations and Dragons

28th January 2013:
poor Rachel, girls are after her man and she's gotta worry about him being safe. that's too much for anybody!!!

ALSO CEDRIC JUST SAY IT DEAR LORD YOU'RE DRIVING ME CRAZY WIURAIUWERIEWUR

I want to kick her too don't worry Rachel; I mean pull yourself together Sprout!!!

rachel has the perfect words ofc I envy her why can't I seduce men the way she can

SLYTHERINS Y U SUCH SLIME HUH HMMM???

also go rachel that is an A+ come-back ahweureurhue i can't

but really, poor girl, because EVEN I AM WORRIED ABOUT CED AND I AM NOT LIVING IN THEIR WORLD ALSO MAYBE I KNOW HOW THIS ENDS BUT WHATEVER THAT IS IRRELEPHANT

I love how Cedric clearly isn't the smartest person but to Rachel he is the absolute standard; he is perfect to her and therefore, thereby, rather, to me.

I like, too, the sense you give us that Rachel can't really clearly see what's going on. I always felt like that must be the case in reality, more so than they made it appear in the films. And it's the thing where you're so intently focused that nothing makes sense at all, which seems counter-intuitive but I think it must be a defence tactic.

darn straight you need to be with him you little fairy princess!!! that's why you can just walk into the champion's tent like it ain't nobody's business~

cedric is happy because adrenaline rush is often confused with sexual attraction when a pretty lady is present. that's a fact, you can look it up and stuff. i'm just saying.

FINALLY SHE HAS ADMITTED TO HERSELF THAT CEDRIC HAS FEELS FOR HER IT ONLY TOOK HER SEVEN CHAPTERS SHEESH



Author's Response: It was probably this point that I realized Rachel was worrying too much (wow, does that sound familiar?) and got frustrated and changed her entirely to worry less. CONSISTENT CHARACTERIZATION, WHAT IS THAT. I remember very much enjoying this chapter, though, when I was writing it, and I'm still quite fond of it now. All of the task chapters were delightful to write, and I think it's because those were some of my favorite parts of GoF. Which is my favorite HP book. TRIVIA TIME.

And then there's my favorite bit, which is straight out of a cheesy romance novel, but she just runs into his arms and he hugs her and help me, I am getting warm feels from my own writing. This is illegal in 37 countries.

BUT SERIOUSLY, MY CHEST IS ALL WARM AND FLUTTERY. H E L P ~


 Report Review

Review #15, by Aiedail Game On

27th January 2013:
UM EXCUSE YOU CEDRIC IS TOTALLY DIFFERENT TO EVERYONE HE IS A GODDESS-BORN PERFECTION OF MAN

you've managed to capture the small-school atmosphere so well, because everyone at Hogwarts is interested in personal details of other people that don't matter to anyone else except for small-school goers. it's just an extended family in which extraordinarily gorgeous boys whom you've never seen before appear and whisk you off your feet.

THEY ARE SO AWKWARD ABOUT THIS I LOVE IT

LUU UURVE SEAT WOO OOO OO

argh this is so frustrating because in that moment NONE OF THE END COULD HAVE HAD TO HAVE HAPPENED ARGH ARGH

ooO Ooo OOO ooo I am giggling a little at her seductive drinking prowess like how do you lift beer to your mouth and watch someone's eyes at the same time those are two hard things to do; i.e. further proof she is a goddess
not that I've mentioned that before

why doesn't Ced ask her about all the clubs? jw

this is like, a legitimate fear of mine, because I do not like sports fanatically like fine I'll sit and watch or whatever but I don't get it and I only like baseball and golf and people don't like those things and all boys like basketball so HOW AM I SUPPOSED TO EVER GET MARRIED

phew

anyway I like how you handle differences and how Cedric is perfect. and now I know the answer is just to go to the library and read about it. perfect.

here's a story for you: once at the library I was handing a pretty boy his book and our fingers hooked onto each other and got stuck for a minute before we both moved in a way to get them untangled but we were holding hands for a minute and it was kind of nice

anyway I thought of it because Rachel and Ced brush fingers :3

YO, CEDRIC, IT'S YOUR HOMEBOY CALLIN, LEGGO OF THAT HOTTIE AND MAKE A CRASH-LANDING ALREADY WE GOT REAL-LIFE TO DEAL WITH YOU KNOW

I'm sorry

darn it ben you ruin everything !!!

ok I don't know about you but after a date with a perfect man I might sit and giggle or cry for a while but Rachel is perfect and therefore capable of productive behavior even on emotional days

how does she do it. tell me her secrets. xxx

Author's Response: That is one of the weird things, I think -- how Hogwarts is supposed to have 1,000 students and how /few/ people we actually see to meet that number. JKR can say what she wants, but I think Hogwarts is a small school; this is what fan fiction is for. (And still Rachel never noticed Cedric?!)

We are very much going to be cat ladies. You can teach me to knit and we'll knit little booties for all the neighborhood kittens and then have to spend a lot on rabies shots. ALSO. I might have laughed entirely too much at your small jab at Benjamin-type persons (and you know if he ever reads this I am deader than dead, so let's hope he doesn't trawl LO for mentions of him in responses. I am so paranoid now).

Secrets of being Rachel: I DON'T KNOW. IF SHE HAD ANY TO TELL, I'D WANT THEM TOO. ♥


 Report Review

Review #16, by Aiedail Rainy Saturday

27th January 2013:
cedric cedric cedric cedric cedric food cedric cedric cedric
am I close to Rachel's thoughts? I think I am

omg don't be coy rachel you guys decided to meet twice a week for secret kisses

you know what though I think I would finish all my homework too if it meant impressing a gorgeous boy

I have always loved this scene. the twins trying to be smooth. FAIL. am I allowed to say that? I just did, so I hope so.

I've always been a wee bit jealous of the four-student herbology class since one of them is a regulation hottie. I was at a small school for middle school and there were five people in half of my classes but they were all girls and I like boys so you can see the major drawbacks

anyway this is a dreamy classroom situation I just wanted to note that

I LOVE THAT HARRY IS PART OF THE GOSSIP MILLS

marmalade on porridge dear lord I have never understood that why why why

and if you don't have anything to do, I agree, walking in the rain is a very pleasant thing. I love this scene :3 I think you describe the feelings of seeing someone walking purposefully towards you PERFECTLY

I have never experienced that in this way, where it's someone I'm in love with, cough

IWRETUAWETRUATEWRUTAWEURY HOGSMEADE HE'S SO POLITE HE'S SO PRETTY OMG THIS IS SO CUTE I CAN'T HANDLE IT HELP I'M GONNA DIE

I also love how Fred and George and all them are such good friends because they really think she should be with someone else but they're just happy that she's happy and maybe it's just that they realise that Ced's a perfect guy because let's be real isn't he

-shoves you bread and butter-

Author's Response: Forget Rachel's thoughts, you are close to mine (and we are seriously going to pretend that that's not my name, I am still so embarrassed about that omg). Let's be real, though, how did she miss him in the first place. HOW DO YOU MISS THE SCHOOL HEARTTHROB. She was probably too busy reading and looking at the ground when she walked, because those are just a few random traits anyone could have, and this author certainly does not.

Ahem.

Still shaking my head too at the fact that I bought into the conversation-in-the-rain-dripping-wet-pulsing-rain-soaked-abs conversation. Ergh ergh ergh. AND I STILL HAVE A FOND PLACE IN MY HEART FOR THIS STORY IN SPITE OF IT. Note to self: Do not get this published ever. I don't want anyone to read this. :D

Except youuu. ♥ -noms bread and butter-


 Report Review

Review #17, by Aiedail Herbology

27th January 2013:
That second paragraph is ME. ME ME ME. stop writing about my life, thank.

this girl. literally hours and she is in love. problems i also share. DTOP STOP

fun fact: during my stay in england I learned the word serviette for napkin.

george will you never learn that you cannot stick out your tongue with food in your mouth??? is that really a hard concept
i do not understand boys

I think it's funny that Rachel notices Slytherins hissing when in the books I think Fred and George were the most obviously disappointed or perhaps that's just the films or maybe I made it up but there you go that's just what I thought

CEDRIC IS SO SMOOTH AND DREAMY
that sounds like he is chocolate pudding sorry

stupid stupid stupid is always the pep talk I give myself after work if you know what I mean

rachel literally has it made she has /class/ with him that is the best thing ever for making friends and then becoming lovers with someone trust me
because i have no idea but i know not having class with people doesn't make it easy

i'm not trying to impress you with my logic don't worry

if I had been rachel though I would have identified with Marcus to the point that I started also stabbing kippers and possibly even dropping them under the table for added effect

but this is the story of rachel who is successful in love hAH

you are thinking this way because you are in love it's not that hard to understand

GIGGLING IS SEXAY

WHY DOESN'T SPROUT SEND THEM TO THE HOSPITAL WING I HAVE ALWAYS WONDERED THIS WHAT IS SHE SOME KIND OF CRAZY LADY

but I was telling Gina this earlier; RC told our class that the best thing for relationships is for stuff to go wrong on dates. this is practically their first date right therefore perfect relationship

GOD CEDRIC ISN'T ONE FOR SMALL TALK IS HE
GETS RIGHT TO THE IMPORTANT STUFF LIKE ASKING PEOPLE OUT

also just for fun baked potato = jacket potato xoxoxo

Author's Response: Cannot stop writing about your life when we are so similar, kthx. ♥ I DON'T EVEN WANT TO THINK ABOUT HOW MANY AMERICANISMS ARE IN THIS STORY. I CANNAE.

It makes me chuckle how quickly Cedchel happened in this story, although then again the ending probably would have been a let-down otherwise. You can see how carefully I thought about this. But I really should show you some of my other stuff sometime, because a Fred/OC short story and an incomplete Charlie/OC something-or-other are definitely still existing on my old dinosaur of a computer back home. SO MUCH SPEEDY ROMANCE. You will want to gouge out your eyeballs.

Clearly Cedric/Rachel have the perfect relationship. That is why they exist at all, ofc. ♥ THEY ARE PLEASED YOU APPROVE OF THEIR WHIRLWIND COURTSHIP.


 Report Review

Review #18, by Aiedail Falling

27th January 2013:
Oh, Rachel. When I first read this, I think you were still updating and I knew you as the girl with the across-the-universe avatar and sig set on the forums who called herself Jane. And now, sometimes, when I consider my best friends, it always takes me out of myself for a moment to realize that we've never met in the flesh (sounds a bit creepy but I'm unapologetic about this particular phrase ehrueurer), because you've always been so encouraging and because, well, it seems we understand each other on a philosophical level--we have major differences but I think our similarities are stronger. I count us as kindred spirits.

I see a lot of you in this character, and because of that, a lot of me, too. Reading this is a pleasure, a kind of simple thing, the sort of novel we all want to write and would if we could hold that inner, pesky editor at bay. Sometimes we produce the best writing not because we're grammatically correct or brilliantly original, but because the subject at hand means something to us. I know how much this story means to you personally; even if, perhaps, because you wrote it so long ago, you've forgotten what it means to you, or, what it means to you has changed. But we have talked enough that the hope and sadness of you as a person are things I recognize as illuminating to this story. I always think of it as a real staple in my HPFF experience, so I thought, I am in a mood to read a good story, and I came back to your page.

Ensuing reviews will not be so substantial, will probably be less-thoughtful and much more spastic, but I just want you to know that for whatever flaws you see in this piece, I think it's fantastic. I think it's great. Sincerely, I do.

Just in terms of this first chapter, I think the way that you've established Rachel clearly as a part of Fred and George's little clan immediately makes me believe her as a character in the series and as fitting in seamlessly--I have always thought this was brilliant, making the tongue-tonne toffees her idea, but that it was a joke. It explains how they get along so well; she can humour them, but for them, it's real business, and I think it balances out because of that.

I also love how she thinks to herself that she's not the type to get crushes on random guys and yet she obviously just developed a pretty big one on Ced in a few moments. Perf. It's so human. Followed by her moment of clumsiness. It all works so well to move the story along plot-wise but also to provide information on your character. There's reasons that we keep reading and they do double-work.

AND OK, HERE IS WHERE I DISSOLVE INTO A MASSIVE BLOB OF FANGIRL JELLY BECAUSE THE WAY YOU HAVE WRITTEN CEDRIC IS VERY DEAR TO MY HEART FOR SEVERAL REASONS I WILL UST LEAVE IT AT THAT

*JUST OOPS

he's seen her around she hasn't seen him therefore he is obviously in love with her. goodnight. I've got this figured out.

Author's Response: -deep breath- This is going to be the toughest response of them all, mostly because I cannot read it without tearing up. BEAR WITH ME, PLEASE. ♥ I will take this moment to fully say that I, too, believe we are kindred spirits, and you are one of my closest friends without a doubt. We are on a very, very similar plane of existence, and if I get nothing else out of my HPFF career (such as it is), I will have people like you and Sarah for great friends, and I can think of nothing better to ask.

Reading this review actually sort of opened up my eyes -- or any similar sort of phrase that sounds less cliche. But I know I moan about this story a lot, and claim how bad it is, etc. And yet for all that, I'm still very proud of it, and it's people like you who help me be proud of it. I wrote this story not to get reviews, not because I thought it was brilliant, not for anything but the fact that I couldn't find one I liked and really just wanted to write this particular story, beginning, middle, and end. There is, I think, a sort of innocence in that, if I can say that without being too pompous, and it's something I'd like to get back, even though another part of me also thinks it's lost somewhere along the way. But that's why I want to write a sequel: I want to return to this world, the first novel I ever completed, the one that essentially started me out and put me where I am now. (We're just being all sentimental up in here, aren't we?)

It really does mean so much to me that you like Rachel, even here in this first chapter -- even through all of it, really. ♥ I don't even have the proper sorts of words to describe this, really, except that your support of this story is truly invaluable. I didn't realize how much you liked it until just this past week, and I'm still reeling a bit.

THANK YOU SO, SO MUCH, LILY. I CANNOT TELL YOU HOW MUCH. ♥ ♥


 Report Review

Review #19, by beapinkie In The End

12th September 2012:
Good story... I wish it could have ended differently but it's understandable.

Author's Response: I went into writing this story knowing that I would kill off Cedric; it was a major plot point from the beginning, and even midway through, when I started having doubts, started wanting him to live -- it just couldn't have been done in this environment. I wish it could have ended differently, too!

Thank you once again for reading this story --like I said, it is a far, far thing from perfect, but I have a very fond place for it in my heart nonetheless. Glad that you enjoyed it, and thank you for reviewing! ♥


 Report Review

Review #20, by beapinkie Under The Tree

12th September 2012:
Liked the detail with the snitch... I wish Rachel didn't just make amends with Cedric but with her friends too. She ignored them pretty much the entire story for Cedric...

Author's Response: Oh, believe me, I have a lot of issues with this story. :D It's a bit complicated to explain, because I've had such massive impacts on my life as a result from fan fiction, but basically this story marks a HUGE transition point in myself as a writer. I won't argue that Rachel spent perhaps more time than normal with Cedric, though I do somewhat agree she might need to 'make amends' with them. :)

There's almost nothing perfect in this story, far less than almost anything else I've written, but I'm proud of it all the same. I'm glad that you seemed to enjoy it, too! Thank you for taking the time to leave me your opinion on it!


 Report Review

Review #21, by AM In The End

26th May 2012:
OMG, made me cry...amazing story :) and would give more than a 10/10 if possible :')

Author's Response: Oh my goodness, this review. Thank you so much for saying such unexpectedly lovely things about this story! Wow, I am in shock. :D

'Leaping Obstacles' holds a very, very dear place in my heart, and I wouldn't change anything about it for the world. That I could evoke such emotion in you is, well, amazing! Thanks so much for making my day with just a few sentences. I am truly grateful. :3


 Report Review

Review #22, by angelicdemon1209 Through The Maze

18th April 2012:
I couldn't read this chapter again.. I love this story, I really do, but...

Author's Response: ♥ I understand -- it's one of the hardest chapters I've ever written, although simultaneously one of my favorites. If I may, I'm really glad it's elicited such emotion from you. :)

Thanks so much, yet again, for re-reading and leaving me all these fantastic reviews this second time around! It's seriously so fantastic of you to do that!


 Report Review

Review #23, by angelicdemon1209 The Choosing of the Champions

17th April 2012:
He seemed to see something in her expression; across his face flicked a curious emotion, a mixture of pain and something like duty.
I love this line! I thought I'll write a review for every chapter, but then I got totally lost into it!
This story is so sweet!

Author's Response: That's one of my favorite lines, too! We are in sync, it seems. :) Definitely don't worry about reviewing every chapter, either. The fact that you've come back to review at all just makes me eternally happy!

Thank you so much for taking the time to do this for me! I cannot even begin to tell you how much I appreciate it, and if there are repetitions in my review responses, it is because you have rendered me virtually speechless. ♥ Thank you for making my day in such a sweet way!


 Report Review

Review #24, by angelicdemon1209 Falling

17th April 2012:
Ohh! This story has a special place in my heart too. I have't ever been able to find Cedric/OCs that are so good. I was watching Harry Potter and The Goblet Of Fire the other day, and I pretty much swooned at the very sight of Cedric? How I love him! And now, Rachel too! Trust me, it's difficult to imagine Cedric with anyone else right now. Plus, I also love how she's best friends with Fred and George. To tell you the truth, long back, when I first read about Cedric, I kind of imagined someone similar in my head. It's amazing that you've given a character in my head this amazing identity! :D
I also like how mild Rachel is. Not in a bad way. She is not ordinary, but she's so simple, nice, and a beautiful person, really.

Author's Response: Wow, I never expected you to return to this -- and somehow I've got warm, fluttery feelings, thinking about you justifying this for a re-read. :) Your reviews totally made my week!

People have asked me if I'd ever consider writing another Cedric/OC, but I've got to agree with you -- it's hard for me to see him with anyone other than Rachel. Which, of course, might warrant a sequel of some sort someday. Who knows? And as for Rachel being mild -- EXACTLY what I was going for. I'm so pleased you seem to have picked up on it!

Thank you so much for such a fabulous review. ♥ And I'm sorry it took me so long to reply to it! Nevertheless, it was very much appreciated, and I cannot thank you enough for your support for this story.


 Report Review

Review #25, by Cath Through The Maze

22nd March 2012:
I wanted you to go AU too...two-way mirror in the snitch pendant so Rachel could save him somehow...ugh...or have her somehow injure him by accident beforehand so he couldn't compete...

Well written though & I've really been enjoying your writing.

I didn't remark on the Growing Up short stories, but I especially loved those too. Thank you!

Author's Response: I thought so long about going AU -- and it might have been easy to do, in retrospect. But I knew that I had to finish the story as I always intended to. :)

If it makes you feel better at all -- I've got the barest beginnings of a sequel worked out in my head. Maybe a novella? I'm totally unsure, and it won't manifest itself until I sort out the details and have less things to work on. A year, at least. But it's there!

Thank you for such a lovely and unexpected review, and I'm really pleased you enjoyed the 'Growing Up' series, too! I'm really glad you stopped by! ♥


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>