Reading Reviews for Capturing Laughter
  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Aiedail Exposure to the Weasleys

14th February 2011:
I love this little scene :) I think that the way that Lucy casually takes stock of her extensive family is believable, and I love the banter. I like that Teddy here just seems like a goofy, silly guy, not angsty or full of anything, like I often see. I like that he and Dom are friends, and that all the family seems to get along well.

Poor Scorpius! Though it looks like he was asking for it ;)

I like that all the bellowing was on Ronís end of things, too. Seems like him. I think that the part about the Brazillian grandparents made me laugh out loud--just the way that I could imagine the conversation, rapid-fire, people cutting each other off and getting distracted. It was well-done.

Really, the whole time I was smiling. Thereís a sort of glowing innocence about this story that is very refreshing. And on top of that, itís just a ridiculous, but believable cavort. When large families all get together (Iím thinking of mine on thanksgiving...) capers ensue :)

I like the name of this chapter too--you always have a little clever, play on words type of thing :)

Charmed, as always.

--lily
(rose petals this time?!)

Author's Response: When I first got to hpff, I wrote a lot of fluff. That was mainly because I didn't quite know what I wanted to write. Then I drifted into angst, briefly into romance, back to angst, skipping to unhappy endings. . . whatever the pattern was. I don't write much fluff now, because it's just painfully empty. That's probably why I can't dredge up as much excitement over this as I do for other stories.

Here, at last, is a title I like! And a chapter title as well. You can always tell, with a one shot at least, when I can't decide on a title. I stick one of them on the story, and the other on the chapter. :P

Thank you SO much!


 Report Review

Review #2, by marauderqueen Exposure to the Weasleys

8th November 2010:
Ha THIS. WAS. BRILLIANT!
I thought Teddy made a exellent. I think my favourite bit was when he was doing the hip thing and he said he thought he was a good girl. That was great!
I loved your characters of Lucy, Teddy and Dominique. She was just as I imagined her, I imagine Victoire as a bit more uptight and Dom her antidote as such and Louis the fun brother :P
I loved loved loved it!
~Izzy

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! The great thing about Next Gen is that the characters have very few limits, as JK wrote so little about them. Everyone imagines them a bit differently; even I don't yet have one personality for each character, but rather several different people I can see each turning into.

 Report Review

Review #3, by Canadian_Hogwarts Exposure to the Weasleys

11th September 2010:
Hehehehehe great story, great story. I just keep reading it and re-reading it. I love it all. That's all I can say. 10/10

Author's Response: Thanks for the review, I'm glad you enjoyed it so much. ;)

 Report Review

Review #4, by Misty_Rey Exposure to the Weasleys

16th July 2010:
My goodness that was some twisted stuff! Teddy/Teagan! Wow xD. That was a Marauder-worthy prank, honestly. Poor Scorpius though. But the thought of him licking his fingers to smooth his hair in order hit on Teddy... Priceless! This was a really nice glimpse into a Weasley get-together and I really liked how almost everyone was nicely and simply characterised without seeming overwhelming. The part where Harry compares Lucy to Colin Creevey was especially sweet and touching. Nicely done!

~Misty

Author's Response: Marauder worthy? That's a high compliment! Thanks! I tried hard to give a general overview of the family, keeping the canon characters true to themselves and give the kids some memorable personalities that would stick out amongst all the prose. And I added the Colin part because whenever someone brings out a camera in hpff I think of him. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #5, by karinapotter Exposure to the Weasleys

7th July 2010:
Oh dear! That was FUNNY! Haha, it was written wonderfully! Teddy becoming a girl! AHA, what a sight! (: I like your twist with Scorpius, usually he's with Rose and they're doing...hehe, other things, but you have him here as the butt of Lucy's joke! I was just wondering about a couple of things, one, is Lucy's camera Muggle or Wizard? Because she wouldn't be able to see the Ron's face changing colors since the film's in Black&White. And two, how old's Lucy? I mean, she should at least be a sixth year yes? Oh details, details.

Anyways, fabulous job! Light and airy, loved it. (:
OH, and great descriptions of all the things Lucy took pictures of, they were wonderful!

10/10 :D

Author's Response: Haha, I think I'm a little bit unfair to Scoroses because they remind me of Dramiones and I'm an anti-Dramione fan. So I do my best to pair Scorpius with anyone BUT Rose. Oh well.

Lucy's camera is a wizard one, but she doesn't necessarily have to capture Ron's color change; his expression probably says it all, don't you think? :D

And I pictured Lucy to be somewhere between fifth and seventh year, if it helps. Thanks for the great review!


 Report Review

Review #6, by JLHufflepuff Exposure to the Weasleys

2nd July 2010:
This cracks me up! I love your ease in portraying a lot of next-gen mischief goodness. Even though I've always imagined Metamorphmagii could do a lot of awesomely hilarious tricks with their abilities, I don't think I've ever seen a story with one doing something just plain funny. I love the originality of Teddy's little transformation in this, and the way Scorpius reacts is just perfect, as well as the way the other guys respond.

One of my favorite parts is the situation with Ron getting mad that Scorpius is there. I love Ron-Scorpius tension! It just makes my day for some reason. It's also really fun that George kind of ruins the prank. Takes one to know one.

I think your characterization of everyone really works here. :)

Author's Response: You know, people always write about Ron or Harry having trouble with Scorpius, and I can easily see Ron having no tolerance for the poor kid. I'm glad you enjoyed that! The ending was unplanned, but I realized I had to give some closure and decided to let the prank end. Thanks for the review, I really appreciate it. It was a fun challenge. ;)

 Report Review

Review #7, by BookloverTori Exposure to the Weasleys

2nd July 2010:
One of the Funniest stories I have made me laugh so hard XD

Author's Response: I'm glad! Humor is not my thing at all, far from it actually. Thanks.

 Report Review

Review #8, by prettywishes Exposure to the Weasleys

2nd July 2010:
I really liked how this showed a glimpse of the Weasley family, and antics that I'm not surprised about. I thought it was well written and very funny.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. Are any Weasley antics EVER surprising? :P

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login