Reading Reviews for Shattered
  
11 Reviews Found

Review #1, by MargaretLane things fall apart

11th October 2012:
I love the idea for this story. I never thought about how difficult it would be for Ginny to break up with Harry if she ever wanted to, knowing that her brother is his best friend and her parents already consider him part of the family, knowing that even if they do break up, she'll still have to see him regularly for all those reasons and that her family will be split between them. It seems so obvious now you've written it.

And I loved the mention of how he told Ron and Hermione about his promotion first as one of the reasons she doesn't love him. It struck me as a little odd how at the end of Deathly Hallows, there was, I think, some mention of Harry just wanting to be with Ron and Hermione, even though he hadn't really seen Ginny in about nine months. I know he's close to them too, but it seemed like he'd forgotten her completely even though they could finally be together now.

The only thing that seemed very slightly off to me was the description of Molly Weasley as being elderly. Of course, we don't know how old she is, but I would think of elderly in the wizarding world as coming close to a hundred, certainly over eighty and guessing she was somewhere between thirty and forty when she had Ginny and Ginny is probably in her early-to-mid twenties here, Molly is probably only about sixty. Even in our world, I wouldn't consider that elderly. But of course, Ginny might see her that way, if she's only in her early twenties.

Yikes, the ending is slightly creepy. I assumed Molly just believed she really loved Harry. The fact that she knows she doesn't and still pushes her to go through with the wedding is a little worrying.

I'd love to see a sequel to this about how the marriage works afterwards. Does she learn to love him or is she fond enough of him to make it work without actual love or does she remain deeply unhappy in the marriage? How does having his children change her feelings for him? It would make an interesting story.

This is an unusual interpretation of Ginny's relationship with Harry, but a really interesting one (in a good way) and fits very well with what we know from canon.

Author's Response: Can I first just say that your reviews are basically the best thing that happened to me this week? It's such a great feeling to get reviews that you weren't expecting, even more so when the person's reviewing stories you've sort of forgotten you even wrote haha.

I always thought that moment in DH was a bit odd too - there were a lot of moments like that throughout the books where I felt a bit bad for Ginny, because I really do feel like Harry picks Ron and Hermione over her a lot without even realizing it.

I honestly don't even remember using elderly to describe Molly Weasley o__o So I had to go back and find that bit but, now that you mention it, it does seem a bit off. I think I might have been trying to distinguish Molly from Ginny, but in that case 'older' would probably work better. Thanks for catching that!

I didn't intend to make Molly appear malicious or anything (: In my mind, she can sense that Ginny doesn't love him, but she thinks that Ginny will grow to love him and that she just needs some more time - that there's no use making a fuss now if everything will work out perfectly. I think Molly's just a good Mum who wants her daughter to be happy, and like most Mums, she assumes she knows what will make her daughter happy.

I've never been very good at writing Ginny or Harry so I didn't consider turning this into sequel, but if I ever do I will definitely let you know :) It would certainly be interesting.

Thank you so much for this review! I'm so glad you enjoyed this, especially because reading it now makes me a little bit self-conscious hehe. Anyway, you're kind of amazing so thank you!


 Report Review

Review #2, by You Have No Idea Who things fall apart

25th August 2010:
Oh no. I really like this story although Harry/Ginny is one of my favorite pairings and I want them to be happy. I can sort of see this happening though. Poor Ginny. Evil Mrs. Weasley.

Author's Response: I'm glad you decided to give my two sad one-shots a shot (haha, pun). I've never been a big fan of Harry/Ginny, but I didn't write this with that in mind at all. I think that even fans of their ship can see that this might happen, and I'm glad you agree. Poor Ginny, indeed. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #3, by pilargirl things fall apart

19th August 2010:
that's amazing, very well written, but there's a scene missing there...and I want to sse it! No, I'm serious, really good job! :D

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I put a lot of thought into this story and the words I used, so I'm glad you liked it (: Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #4, by momotwins things fall apart

18th August 2010:
Wow. This is a very different perspective on Ginny. I really like it. I can completely believe that she would resent Harry this way, because he really does kind of get priority in her family, and he does put Ron and Hermione ahead of her (I always hope that he grows out of that, but it's often true in canon). It's easy to think she'd grow tired of it. It's a really great characterization. Normally stories like these it's Harry who decides he's not in love. There are hardly any with Ginny as the one thinking this way. It's so sad that she throws over her own wishes so Harry can be happy. What an original idea! I'm so impressed. Great job on this.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review! You're so sweet (: I've never really been a fan of Harry/Ginny, and I've always imagined Ginny might feel this way about their relationship, so I'm glad you find it believable as well. While it's nice to imagine that everything turned out all happy and good in the end, realistically, that's not usually what happens. There's bound to be drawbacks to marrying a hero, eh? ;) Thank you so much! I'm glad you thought so highly of this. It means a lot to me.

 Report Review

Review #5, by DemetersChild things fall apart

12th August 2010:
Have I told you how amazing you are, yet? I don't think I have (enough). Because you're so amazing, haha.

Powerful last short line yay!! I love those. Obviously. Since I use them in like...everything.

But anyway, I really love this story. Even though it makes me sad that Ginny would feel that way and I'm always a fan of happy endings, this is just so much more realistic. She was excluded from a lot of his life and his worries because he wanted to protect her. They all wanted to protect her, but instead they isolated her.

I really hate to think that she married someone she didn't love. But I don't believe that's true. I think she did love Harry, and would continue to love him, but she just isn't as strong as everyone thinks she is. She doesn't have that confidence that everyone believes she does. She's just another self-conscious girl that is unsure of herself and her decisions and her family. And I think her idea that she can't be as good as Harry is really suffocating her love for him. She does love him, but the fact that she can't really look at herself without comparing herself to him makes her despise him.

Ahh, complicated story! It's lovely.

And I really did enjoy seeing another side to Molly. A lot of people think her outburst with Bellatrix and using a curse word was so out of place, but I think it really finished her character. And you did a wonderful job of showing that complete character.

This is an amazing, wonderful, sad, happy, confused story. And I'm honored that you chose to use my banner with it. ^^ And mentioned me in the Author's Note, haha.

Speaking of which, it's funny because the first time I read it, I thought you were telling me specifically to not hesitate to let you know how I felt. xD

Anywho, lovely lovely times a million.

-Dem-

Author's Response: Psssh, only about a billion times because, you know, I am that amazing (; Haha, just kidding. Thanks! You're pretty amazing yourself.

You know what's weird? I love happy endings as well, but whenever I write one shots I am incapable of giving them a happy ending o_O Seriously, I think I have problems...or maybe it's just that I think stories with sad endings are more rare than stories with happy endings so I do that to try and make my stories more original. Who knows?

Yeah, I've never been a big Ginny/Harry fan, but I didn't want to outright say, "Ginny was completely unhappy with her marriage because of that" or something. I liked leaving it up in the air, so people could think she just felt that way for a day or that she had felt that way for years. For some reason, I also like stories that leave the conclusion up to the reader o_O (See Colours of the World? Hahaha).

Yes! Complicated stories are bomb :D

Thanks! I actually felt sort of odd writing Molly that way, like someone might say, "That's not what Molly is like at all!" and I'd cower under their rightness. So it really means a lot to me that you don't think that :)

Haha, of course I did! I always mention you in Author's Notes now. And your banner is gorgeous - why wouldn't I use it?

Bahahaha. I just looked at the note again and it does kind of sound like that. Oh well...I doubt anyone else interpreted it that way.

Thank you! You are lovely lovely times a million as well :D


 Report Review

Review #6, by JLHufflepuff things fall apart

14th July 2010:
Wow! Your writing style makes this a great read! I love the realism of the feelings that you portray in Ginny. At first, it seems as if it's just typical cold feet like many people have experienced on getting married, but then it delves into something more, something a bit darker. We don't really know A LOT about Harry and Ginny's relationship, so for all we know this could be a canon piece. I think it's completely realistic for Ginny to think that her family would pick Harry over her, as well as everyone else. It's not like you can really break up with The Boy Who Lived and be considered a good person?? At the end, it's haunting to think that Ginny is doing her duty to her family in the end. I really enjoyed reading this, CherBer (I just made that strange nickname up)! :)

Author's Response: Thank you! It doesn't really seem like too many people look at Ginny and Harry's relationship as anything other than perfect, so I thought this might be interesting to write and I'm glad you enjoyed it. It is very haunting and depressing to think she married to appease her family, but I think even if that were true she would end up happy, if only because of her children. Haha, your name is harder to give a nickname to. Thanks, JLHuff?

 Report Review

Review #7, by Potter_Princessx3 things fall apart

7th July 2010:
Great job,
I really really like it!
Your fanfiction is amazing i can see everything happing and i can relate to how Ginny feels... it seems (by your story) that Harry is indeed better then her...
8/10
Added you to my faveroites and this story!
- Autumn

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm so pleased you liked this so much as to add it to your favorites, and I'm glad you found the story and Ginny so relatable and understandable. Thanks! :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by GinnyWeasley447 things fall apart

5th July 2010:
I love the raw emotion of this. You are a wonderful writer because you make the reader see and feel everything that is happening. I could see Ginny's hopeless face and Mrs. Weasley's disapproving one; it was simply amazing. Good job!

Author's Response: Thank you! I actually struggled a lot with picking the right words for this, and I'm extremely pleased that you thought my descriptions so excellent. Your review really made me smile, so thanks! :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by Dalek194 things fall apart

4th July 2010:
A very interesting and well-written one-shot. Your uses of descriptive language and similes are excellent, and it is really enjoyable to read. You protray Ginny's emotions of saidness and hurt and rejection excellently.

One thing you haven't explained is why Ginny doesn't love Harry any more. Becuase she knows that Harry loves her, that he doesn't want everyone to love him, he doesn't want to be the Chosen One; he just wants to be normal.

Still, the story makes the reader feel very sorry for both Harry and Ginny, Ginny especially as she is being neglected by her mother. It's so sad as I don't think Molly realises what she's doing, but it is tearing Ginny apart. A very sad, but excellently-written one-shot, well done.

Author's Response: Thank you! I don't generally pride myself on using figurative and descriptive language, and in this I actually thought everything was rather tasteless, so your kind opinion means a lot to me.

I wanted to show how Ginny was feeling - how she had felt since she had really started dating Harry - in the least words possible. And while that's no excuse for not outright explaining why she doesn't love Harry any more, I'm not entirely sure that she doesn't love him. I think that a lot of her doubts here have to do with her just being insecure. No one is confident one hundred percent of the time, least of all Ginny who, since hitting puberty, was described almost constantly as strong and stubborn and confident in the books. And maybe Molly is even right; maybe it's just cold feet, or even just the frustrations she had pent-up over the years. I didn't really write this knowing for sure whether Ginny or Molly was more right about what Ginny was feeling, so I leave that up to you to interpret.

Thank you so much for your review! :D


 Report Review

Review #10, by Abhorsen things fall apart

3rd July 2010:
Wow. I definitely loved that. To pieces actually. Why is it that I always love it best when things fall apart? Your description of the dress was actually quite vivid and interesting.

I liked the characterization of Molly Weasley here. She can't just be that perfect mother figure from the books. She is flawed too, just like any other individual in JKR's work - just like any real human. Kudos on really showing that.

9/10

Author's Response: Thank you so much :) I can sympathize; I love it when things fall apart as well.

I wish I had the talent to write a fanfiction centered on Molly, because I truly believe she is much more complex than many people give her credit for. I think her desire to protect both her children and Harry is almost dangerously strong, and in this I wanted to show the struggle between protecting Harry and protecting Ginny. I think she truly believes that Ginny will be happy with Harry, despite her hesitance. And maybe she's right.

Thank you so much for your review!


 Report Review

Review #11, by redherring things fall apart

3rd July 2010:
Wow. Honestly, this was brilliant! Your writing was amazing - the description at the beginning of her in the wedding dress was particularly good, I thought - but actually the thing I liked most about this was the idea behind it: the idea of Ginny feeling inferior to The Boy Who Lived. It's so simple and so obvious somehow - of course she would feeel that way! - but it's something I don't think I've really seen before. She's usually just portrayed as the fiery, confident Quidditch player who's madly in love with Harry, but this was a really interesting and brilliant take on her.

I also found the line about him telling Ron and Hermione first really interesting - of course she would feel threatened by his closeness to those two, even though she is so close to them as well. Again, it's so simple and obvious but something I haven't really seen done before, and something I've never really thought about either.

It was interesting to see a different side to Molly, as well, one touched on in DH when Ron destroys the locket - the idea of her considering Harry to be her own son so much that her children feel threatened by it. Both she and Ginny were written really well. The whole thing was just amazing, to be honest - I'm blown away! *favourites*

Author's Response: Thank you so much! There's so much discussion about Ginny being a flat perfect character, but I've always thought there's so much more to her than just the typical little sister who fancies the hero. To me, it seems like there's bound to be consequences to be attached to a hero, and I'm glad you thought this somewhat obvious as well.

I know that if I were Ginny, I would definitely feel threatened by the Golden Trio - especially since she was so often excluded from their group during Hogwarts - so I thought that that might play a big part in her hesitance.

I've always thought Molly to be an interesting character as well. In Deathly Hallows we see - as you pointed out - that desire to protect Harry, as well as that famous part where she's determined to protect Ginny from Bellatrix, and I think in this she was trying to protect both. She really thinks that Ginny will be happy with Harry - despite her hesitance - and she absolutely believes the reverse. Thank you so much for this review! I'm extremely pleased you liked this so much.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login