Reading Reviews for The Red Box
  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Singularity The Red Box

13th August 2011:
Aww, *sniffles* This was very sweet. You wrote this story exceedingly well. All of the detail at the beginning, with Lucy focused soley on getting to that box was very well done. It really drew me in and made me want to know what was in that box that she was so determined to get to.

You portrayed her innocent naivety absolutely beautifully. I think I actually "aw'd" out loud at the "Can Mommy or Daddy stick it on you?" line. That is just so beyond sweet. I love little kids and their simplistic solutions to problems. So very, very sweet.

This story is another great example of the HP theme that love is the greatest form of magic. Great job.

~Singularity
(Ravenclaw)

 Report Review

Review #2, by charlottetrips The Red Box

8th August 2011:
OK, so I’m already thinking it’s a bad idea for me to be reading this so late at night as I should be sleeping as I have to get up early tomorrow AND you have this in your summary: “3rd place in EmeraldCity's "Make Me Cry" Challenge” – I’m going to cry myself to sleep tonight, aren’t I?

I like how you don’t say the girl’s name. I do that, too!! For some reason, I like how the reader has to use their brains to get who the person is. It seems fitting that just as JKR challenged our minds, we should challenge others’.

Tee, hee (this may be an inappropriate response to your story but I haven’t finished it yet), you put “the blue box”, tee hee. (Doctor Who anyone?)

Gosh darn it, I was so engrossed in reading the rest of it, trying to find out what exactly little Lucy was doing that that beautiful ending just about snuck up on me and smacked me in the face. Demmit. These tears. (I’ll have you know I just watched DH2 a second time so the Pensieve scene totally worked me up prior to me reading this, just so I’m not one of those “cry at everything” readers – though I admit, this story on it’s own would’ve had me tear up!)

So so so so wonderful. That is totally what family is about and I LOVE it!! (Honestly, I thought it was going to be scary and creepy or something awful [as in terrifying] but it wasn’t and I realize that it’s rated 15+ and not M.)

I loved how you took me through all the careful motions this little girl was concentrating on and so determined to do. Such a Weasley and such a great moment!

charlottetrips [Ravenclaw]

 Report Review

Review #3, by forsakenphoenix The Red Box

5th August 2011:
Oh, this was just so beautiful and precious. I was a little wary when I saw what challenge this was for because I don't like to cry when I read fanfics, but oh, I'm glad I read this. You describe the struggles of a young girl who must overcome every day obstacles to reach her goal, how she must find a way to get to the red box because all she wants to do is help her sister.

You have a knack for writing sibling dynamic so very well. I'm envious of your ability to put into words what I feel on an every day basis with my siblings. It's beautiful to read.

If anything made me tear up, it was this line right here: “Can Mommy or Daddy stick it on you?” Just, oh my god, the naivety of a young girl is so so precious and she just wants to help her sister by giving her hair.

This line broke my heart too: She was bruised in places on her legs and arms where stronger children would not have been hurt. - because Lucy understands her sister's illness in only the way a young child can.

I just adored this to pieces, and I love your writing so much. Your descriptions are fantastic. :)

forsakenphoenix (ravenclaw)

 Report Review

Review #4, by flozoeoreo The Red Box

27th March 2011:
Oh, my God. That was so beautiful :)
At first I had no idea what was going on (I assume that was your intention, so no criticism there--in fact, quite the contrary) but when I did I realized I would have done the same for my sister, though she may not have done the same for me :) It's lovely, the things sisters do for each other, isn't it? If someone messes with my sister, I go for blood (she's younger than I am). Truthfully I think this deserves first place in EmeraldCity's Make Me Cry challenge, but as I am not EmeraldCity I cannot make that decision. Unfortunately. But no offense intended, EmeraldCity.
100,000,000,000,000,000,000,000/10
~Flora

Author's Response: Thank you so much for all of your reviews. I'm glad to hear that this story captured the essence of sisterhood for you. I don't have a sister myself, but I feel the same love for my brother.

 Report Review

Review #5, by Cosette24601 The Red Box

6th November 2010:
Oh my goodness, this has to be one of the sweetest stroies I have read, so touching and well written. Beautiful. 10/10

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #6, by prettywishes The Red Box

3rd July 2010:
I thought that was such a wonderful thing for Lucy to do for her sister, and how much she loved her sister was evident. I loved the way that you didn't reveal the reasons behind her actions until the end, because it made it hard to stop reading.

 Report Review

Review #7, by BookloverTori The Red Box

2nd July 2010:
Aww I love it, so very sweet. :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by SearchingForLuna The Red Box

2nd July 2010:
That's so beautiful:) It made me smile... tearfully...

Your flow was excellent and you really showed me several dimensions of Lucy, following along with what I think is one of the themes of the story--that little children are often more than they appear. It's a brilliant one-shot.

Keep writing!!!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login