Reading Reviews for Fields of Gold
  
11 Reviews Found

Review #1, by classicblack the jealous sun

22nd September 2011:
A little weird. A little random. But descriptive and well-written. I don't really know what my opinion is. Is this supposed to be a dream?
~classicblack

 Report Review

Review #2, by Elysium the jealous sun

12th January 2011:
Hi there!! Sorry I'm so dreadfully late with the promised reviews, I've been plague-ridden with the flu which is my best excuse. In any case, this was a gorgeous first piece to read... and since I've never encountered your work before I was totally delighted by your deft touch with the descriptive writing. The imagery is evocative and quite delicate, so that I felt like I was there with her, amidst the barley and the breeze.

I've very little experience in reading this ship, despite its popularity, but the thing that I loved about the way you portrayed them here is that whilst it is clearly capturing the last moments of James & Lily... there's a universal sort of quality to the depiction... like it could be any two people coming together in that moment.

I love that sort of ambiguity in writing. This was both wistful and bittersweet, and above all else, lovely.

Your Secret Santa,

Kylie

 Report Review

Review #3, by A TGS Christmas Elf the jealous sun

22nd December 2010:
Molly!!

This is a gorgeous fic. I've read it before but never left a review. Now having read it a second time, I've determined that this one shot is like a good wine. It's gotten better with age. I love your Lily/James to pieces. and while reading this, I imagined the scene from Gladiator when Maximus is walking through the wheat fields to his wife. I'm not sure if you intended James and Lily to be dead here, but it was a beautiful image of it if you did.

Well done!
Have a very Merry Christmas!

 Report Review

Review #4, by butterbeergal the jealous sun

28th July 2010:
Molly, darling. ♥

I envy you for the stunning imagery that you've created here. I'm very much familiar with Sting's Fields of Gold. However, I will have to admit that I listen to Eva Cassidy's version more often because it makes me feel so calm and relaxed and light - which is also what reading this made me feel.

This was absolute gorgeousness and it made me wish so badly that I was the one seeing and feeling all of this. That I was Lily in that moment.

He stayed exactly where he was in the middle of the barley field, shadowed by the setting sun. -- This line, oh my god, this line made me MELT. Gah.

Absolutely stunning story, my dear.


Gill

 Report Review

Review #5, by Jellyman the jealous sun

7th July 2010:
Prettiness ♥

Completely stunning imagery, flowed like a dream! I loved the way you compared what they had to painting, very clever and worked really well.

Have I ever told you I am insanely jealous of you?

 Report Review

Review #6, by bespontaneous the jealous sun

1st July 2010:
your descriptions are to die for,
and the comparison to a piece of art was brilliant
i loved it.

 Report Review

Review #7, by LoveTomRiddle the jealous sun

29th June 2010:
Aw, that was sweet!

You did a perfect description of basically everything in the beginning, the barley hitting against her shins was a perfect little detail. That was brilliant!

Have an awesome day!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Ellerina the jealous sun

27th June 2010:
*fangirl squeals* So beautiful Molly! I can't get over your description! The colors, everything! (as you can see, I have nothing constructive to say.) One of my favorite lines was:

"The thin wisps tickled the palm of her hand, the sensation crawling up the length of her arm and spreading until it dissipated just above her heart, floating but not sinking in."

I don't even know what to say about it, I liked it so much. Great writing! I WANTZ MORE OF ZIS!!

Annie

 Report Review

Review #9, by Musicbox the jealous sun

27th June 2010:
Oh my, this is absolutely beautiful! There's a field just like this right by my house - although I'm not sure it's barley (not that that is even relevant!) - and you really captured the environment perfectly. It certainly tempted me to take a run through the long stalks, even if I won't have the pleasure of James Potter's company :P Back to the point, though, this is so lovely and bittersweet! The line about James prising her open was particularly poignant to me. I suppose I can't be too terribly melancholy about James' and Lily's deaths if this is how they get to spend eternity :) Wonderful story.

 Report Review

Review #10, by Inti the jealous sun

27th June 2010:
I WAS GOING TO SAY IS THIS STING? And then I saw your A/N which kind of stole my awesome guess work away :P

I honestly don't know how you manage this kind of piece, it's just so gloriously melty and perfect and light and sunny and then you realise it's L/J and they're about to die and then it's just SO SADFACE.

At it's best Lily/James is spectacularly bittersweet, without the awful bitterness sinking in until you sought of recover from the amazing sweetness sort of goes away. Well, to me anyway :P Anyway, the whole point of that was to say I really do think you do this better than anyone.

Really truly one of the great L/J writers - as always, I can't tell you how much I loved it!

Author's Response: OMG!

You totally got the gist of the story - it was their last moments together! GO JACK! ONE HUNDRED POINTS FOR YOU!

Anyway, thank you thank you thank you for your insanely complimentary review. I don't deserve half of it, but still, it's nice to see every once in a while. :P



 Report Review

Review #11, by Indigo Seas the jealous sun

27th June 2010:
Molly! This is lovely! -squish-

I really, really love all the imagery you have here. The sun, the field, the embrace. It just makes my heart melt. And, though maybe it's just me, I LOVE a lot of imagery. So really, really nice job there, my dear.

I can never write Lily/James. They haunt me. In my sleep. Every night. XD But you, lovely, have written them beautifully. I'm very jealous. Very.

10/10

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login