Reading Reviews for Just Hold It In
  
11 Reviews Found

Review #1, by NaidatheRavenclaw Just Hold It In

12th August 2011:
I loved this!

It really was adorable. Slughorn is exactly the kind of character that I could see this happening to. He's definitely awkward enough. And I think you captured his personality so well in this one shot! As a kid, I could definitely imagine him being this way.

It was hilarious, too. It's different than a lot of the humor pieces I see, but I loved it all the same. I sat here laughing for a few minutes before writing this XD

Great job! And happy staff/prefect Friday! Thanks for all you do for the site! *hugs*
-NaidatheRavenclaw, Ravenclaw

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed the story enough to leave a review! That always makes my day better. And thank you for complimenting the humor, its not my normal thing, so I really appreciate it! Thanks again :)

-Drecklin


 Report Review

Review #2, by Debra20 Just Hold It In

11th August 2011:
This was an amazing Horace story! I enjoyed reading him so much in the books and when written like you have, it's an even bigger pleasure to encounter him in fanfiction. I don't know why there aren't more fics on him :(

Who would have thought talented, easy-going Horace Slughorn could have feared exams so much? It must have been something else rather than his lack of knowledge. Despite his bubbling and rather vain personality that he develops into later in life, I have always believed him a man of skill and this little story proves how much of a nuisance extreme emotions can be.

It was a very funny piece to read. Both Albus and Horace seemed well kept in character, even though I still find this particular feat incredibly difficult. I especially enjoyed reading Horace's views on Dumbledore. How he felt him intimidating and hiding more than he let others know. If only Slughorn guessed that they would become such good friends later on :)


House Cup 2011, End of an Era Review Extravaganza
Forum name: Derba20
House: Gryffindor

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked this story too! It always makes me smile! And I'm really glad you found both Horace and Albus in character- that is always a challenge for me. Thanks again for such an uplifting review.

 Report Review

Review #3, by Alopex Just Hold It In

8th August 2011:
Hey, Drecklin! I was scrolling down your page, and although the first piece being a Founders story (did you know when I first started reading fanfiction, I would only read Founders?) caught my eye, I decided since you had over 30 stories I should look for other interesting ones. I went right past the next gen and Regulus stuff and then this bit about Slughorn caught my eye, and I couldn't resist.

I'm actually quite amused by this story. I never would have pegged Horace Slughorn for someone suffering from such extreme test-taking anxiety, but hey, why not? Also, I thought the final line was really funny, because he was making such an effort to follow Dumbledore's advice, but he couldn't overcome his anxiety with deep breaths. Poor boy, interrupting the exam to be sick!

Horace definitely felt different without his mature, adult bluster, but there seemed to be glimpses of his older self nevertheless. I can picture Professor Slughorn with weak, wobbly knees, a bit nervous and jumpy, anxious thoughts (like the transfiguration thing) racing around in his mind.

Overall, I found this a fun little story. You say you had fun writing it, and I think it shows. :)

Alopex, Ravenclaw

Author's Response: Thank you so so much for the review! It always means so much to me. I'm glad you were able to see a bit of older Horace in this younger version, that always makes me smile. Thanks again for the great review!

 Report Review

Review #4, by winterbaby Just Hold It In

20th December 2010:
This is so funny! And your writing is really well done! Good job! :)

BTW, does he ever finish up that test? ;)

Author's Response: Thank you for the compliments! And, considering he became a future Professor we can assume he finished the test :P Hopefully ;)

-Sarah


 Report Review

Review #5, by xxFlutterStutterBOOMBOOMxx Just Hold It In

29th September 2010:
Hilarious, especially for me because on a semi-similar note, I have this terrible cold-almost-flu thing going on right now, so I took some medicine before I left for school this morning. Turns out, they actually mean it when they say 'Drowsiness May Occur'. Who knew, right? Anyway, I had a test first period, and I was just nodding off. When you were talking about him staring at the test cross-eyed- well, I was so tired the entire page kept blurring in front of me, so I had to keep waiting for it to come back into focus so that I didn't end up making a circle on some random spot on the page, instead of over the answer. LOL, just my lil' anecdote there. Good story!

Author's Response: Haha! That is pretty funny how it matched up with something going on in your life :) Thank you for the amusing review, it made me smile!

-Sarah


 Report Review

Review #6, by Akussa Just Hold It In

29th September 2010:
I saw this as a featured story and it truly deservs to be featured! A nice, cute little "moment in the life of". I loved how you presented such a different Slughorn than the overconfident one we know of! Oh and the part where he makes his house proud by sporting a green tinge cracked me up!!

Author's Response: Wow, that was so nice of you to say!! Your review made me smile from ear to ear and I can't thank you enough for this!

-Sarah


 Report Review

Review #7, by hufflypuff Just Hold It In

13th September 2010:
aw - sweet and original :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much :)

-Sarah


 Report Review

Review #8, by krazyboutharryginny Just Hold It In

22nd August 2010:
Oh, poor ol' Sluggy. *smirks*

I love Dumbledore though, he's cool! I love how he's nice to a younger student!!!

Great job!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this review :) I'm glad you liked it!

-Sarah


 Report Review

Review #9, by In The Shadows I Dwell Just Hold It In

18th August 2010:
I must say, I enjoyed this piece immensely. It offered such a great insight into the mind of Horace, one which we rarely get to see. However I believe you characterization of him was absolutely perfect, this was something I could actually imagine him doing as it seems to fit in entirely with the character we have come to know from the books. I must also say, your Dumbledore was absolutely perfect, that is just something he would do! I could not help but think that as I read through this fic, and I must say the reference to the twinkle in his eyes was simply perfect as it really tied in one of the many aspects about Dumbledore that we are often reminded of! This was a very well written piece and I loved reading it! Well done!

Author's Response: Thank you so, so much for this review! It really made me smile with the knowledge that I was able to execute their personalities well! That is always a struggle when writing well known canon characters. So this review was absolutely brilliant and very uplifting, I can't thank you enough!

-Sarah


 Report Review

Review #10, by daliha Just Hold It In

11th July 2010:
I actually found this pretty funny. At least to me the adult Slughorn seems confident and quite stuck up if I do say so myself, but here...I really can't find the words to say it...I guess I mean Slughorn would have been a nervous wreck as a teen when you come to think about it, and to have teen Dumbledore's guidance would explain his friendship to the Hogwarts Headmaster. I like this, I really did so here's a 10/10 :)

Author's Response: Well I am so glad you liked this and gave it such a high rating, it means a lot to me! And I'm so glad it makes sense, all in all- thank you for this review!

-Sarah


 Report Review

Review #11, by GoCalgaryFlamesGo Just Hold It In

26th June 2010:
Daw! Pooor ickle Horace!


He sucked in as much air as he could hold before letting it out in the noisiest way possible. Every other fifth year in the room was giving him dirty looks, his breathing clearly disrupting their work.


I so started picturing that and dying! And the ending, yeah it's perfect

Author's Response: Bahahaha thank you Sami, your review means so much to me ^__^ ily!

-Sarah


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login